WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Jena Malone is Female Robin in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Oct 18th, 2014
Marvel in Talks with Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in "Doctor Strange"
Oct 18th, 2014
Channing Tatum Not Sure We Need "23 Jump Street"
Oct 18th, 2014
Poster For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Oct 18th, 2014
Photos: Nicolas Cage Protesting Against His "Dying of the Light" Movie
Oct 17th, 2014
James Cameron Discusses Getting "Terminator" Rights Back in 2019
Oct 17th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro Says "Pacific Rim 2" Sets Up "Pacific Rim 3"
Oct 17th, 2014
New Trailer For Angelina Jolie's "Unbroken" World War II Drama
Oct 17th, 2014
Scarlett Johansson Offered $10 Million to Star in "Ghost in the Shell"
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer For Chris Rock's "Top Five" Comedy
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer: Chris Hemsworth Fights a Whale in Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea"
Oct 16th, 2014
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in Ron Howard's "Heart of the Sea" Survival Film
Oct 16th, 2014
James Wan May Direct Another "Saw" Film in 2016
Oct 16th, 2014
Channing Tatum Provides "Gambit" Update
Oct 16th, 2014
Christian Bale in Talks to Star in Steve Jobs Biopic
Oct 16th, 2014
New Teaser For "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Oct 16th, 2014
Warner Bros Announces "The Flash," "Aquaman," "Justice League" and "Green Lantern" Movies
Oct 16th, 2014
Trailer for Nicolas Cage's "Dying of the Light" Thriller
Oct 16th, 2014
Edward Norton Says Today's Movies are Just As Good as Films From 1960s
Oct 15th, 2014
Photos: Michael Douglas is Hank Pym on "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 15th, 2014
Javier Bardem in Talks to Play Main Villain in "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"
Oct 15th, 2014
Trailer: Katie Holmes Kills Lots of People in "Miss Meadows"
Oct 15th, 2014
Ninth Character Poster For "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies," Features Bilbo Baggins Again
Oct 15th, 2014
New "Jurassic World" Poster Arrives Online
Oct 15th, 2014
New "Toy Story That Time Forgot" Poster Features the Battlesaurs
Oct 15th, 2014
Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive
Oct 14th, 2014
See Concept Art of Krang, Bebop and Rocksteady For "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles"
Oct 14th, 2014
Ben Affleck Was Studio's First and Only Choice to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Oct 14th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Justice League of America" Movie Depends on "Man of Steel" Box Office Performance

Posted: January 29th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Justice League of America" Movie Depends on "Man of Steel" Box Office PerformanceSubmit Comment
Warner Bros has been planning to make a "Justice League of America" for many years, but it wasn't until Marvel's "The Avengers" became the highest-grossing film of 2012 that the studio decided it's finally time to move forward.

Then a California judge ruled that Warner Bros can proceed with a "Justice League" movie without any more litigation from the heirs of Superman co-creators Jerry Siegel and Joe Schuster. The studio immediately set a Summer 2015 release date with plans of getting the cameras rolling this year. Now nothing can stop "Justice League" from happening. Not quite.

Variety has learned that since "Green Lantern" was a box office disaster and "Superman Returns" barely made any money, Warner Bros will wait to see how "Man of Steel" performs before officially committing to "Justice League."

"Man of Steel" has a massive budget. And if the film doesn't become profitable, it will be a while before we see another DC Comics superhero, outside of Batman, on the big screen. "Man of Steel" is set to hit theaters on June 14th and Warner Bros is looking for an opening of around $70 million.

Click here to read more about "Justice League of America."

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 7:24:48 AM

I beg to differ, alex. Those jackholes at WB doesn't have a clue on how to handle their DC character properties. That's the real problem.
Avirex writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:20:06 AM

Superman Returns did $200 million domestic and roughly $400 million overall at the box office. Not a blockbuster by any means, (somewhere between Thor and Captain America global numebers) but not the giant flop everyone seems to think. At least not financially. The problem is WB had unrealistic expectations, probably assuming it would cash Spider-Man numbers (which was making like $800 million per film roughly).

By comparison Tron Legacy performed similarly overall and yet its still getting a sequel. Disney didn't quite treat it like the unwanted bastard child WB treated Superman Returns. Suppose it helped some people actually liked Tron.
Avirex writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:23:01 AM

I see WB once again placing unrealistic pressure and expectations on the Man of Steel to perform. Kind of like when I lost my virginity.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:23:11 AM

Well, now I hope Man Of Steel fails miserably.
alexgi writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:25:24 AM

@Avirex: Actually "Superman Returns" cost $270 million and grossed $391 million globally. If you factor in the massive marketing campaign, the film cost roughly $400 million. And don't forget that Warner Bros has to split its earnings with theaters. So that $391 million is likely about $300 million. Plus, fans hated the movie. And yet, Warner Bros still rebooted it.
Avirex writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:36:33 AM

@Alex

Yes, BoxOfficeMojo huh Alex. Budget numbers are always wildly all over the place. When the film was released everyone was reporting numbers from $150-$300 million. I doubt the actual production budget was that high though. $160-$210 million seems more realistic, unless Kevin Spacey was snorting coke made of diamonds on the set. You also have to remember WB is the same studio that reported a financial loss on one of the Harry Potter films that grossed a billion or something around that figure.

Anyway, like I said Tron Legacy had a high budget and large marketing campaign as well and performed similarly yet gained a sequel. Difference is Disney at least was more realistic about their expectations. WB was all or nothing.
Crazyhorse writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:37:52 AM

Green Latern was a failure cause the actor they chose has played in more comedy roles than serious ones.
Avirex writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:43:23 AM

Also, Returns made slightly over $80 million in DVD sales.
Crazyhorse writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:44:06 AM

Superman Returns would have been a hit if they had left out all the scenes with the wasted drama of Lois's boyfriend, her kid and chose another vilian instead of Luthor and added more action scenes
SACdaddy writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 9:02:09 AM

@crazyhorse: Using comedic actors for action or superhero roles is not exactly a recipe for disaster.

Michael Keaton - Batman
Eddie Murphy - Beverly Hills Cop
Hugh Jackman - Wolverine
Jamie Foxx - Django/Collateral
RDJ - Iron Man
Chris Evans - Captain America

Green Lantern failed because it was just a sh*tty movie. No single actor could have saved it.


FBO writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 10:19:46 AM

I am with Avirex and SAC on this one
Rambo writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 10:37:30 AM

I can't really see this becoming a huge hit.main reason is Henry Cavill.the guy has no charisma.plus from the trailer it seems the first half of the movie will be telling for the 1000'th time the story of the childhood of clark...YAWN.
Rambo writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 10:40:01 AM

I can't really see this becoming a huge hit.main reason is Henry Cavill.the guy has no charisma.plus from the trailer it seems the first half of the movie will be telling for the 1000'th time the story of the childhood of clark...YAWN.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 10:44:06 AM

JLA will still come out and it'll suck more c*ck than Coc, Vindy and Jane at a sandwich eating contest.
Ranger writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 11:30:55 AM

More cluster-f*cking from the studio. They set a JLA release date, then we hear (who knows if this is in the correct order... let's just assume it is, for now), now a JLA movie is dependent on Supes sales. Why? The Avengers wasn't dependent on a crappy Hulk movie. WB... covering their ass and being their typical non-commital. I hope Marvel continues beating the sh*t out of them.
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:08:35 PM

If Man of Steel is a make or break moment for their comic book movie franchise, if Man of Steel has to blow away the BO in order to get DC's version of The Avengers onto the big screen, if Man of Steel, Superman, DC's second of their absolute top two characters, can't get theatrical traction, and if Batman, which they've pretty much exhausted for the next five years, at least, can't help re-invigorate the struggling cinematic DCU, then DC has f*cked their comic book pooch right out of the dog house and into on-coming traffic.

I don't think I've seen a franchise/property f*ckup of this magnitude since, since, well, never probably, given the enormity of the material DC had at their disposal.

DC should rename their company to SNAFU Comics.
KaloVisor writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 4:12:39 PM

Well, there is an awful lot of hype for Man of Steel, and quite a bit of general interest. but I mean, Marvel made Characters like "Thor and "Captain America" profitable mostly cause they were trying to please the fans. WB tries to please everyone else.. sort of. just make it good stay true to the source Materiel. and make it for the FANS. green Lantern wasn't as horrible as some people make it out to be but it could have been sooo much better. and characters.. the characters make sh movies don't scew them up.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 4:28:53 PM

Man of Steel will be successful because it's got Christopher Nolans whorish name all over it. Add the 3D sales and the boner the world has over comic book films at the moment and I don't see this film not being successful.

I won't be adding my 10 odd quid in to that figure though I'll be waiting for a good copy to come out online and then being sick over my computer screen as the slow motion CGI mind f*cks me into oblivion.
Ranger writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 4:42:00 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=46r4aRs_zLI
Cinemaisdead writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 5:09:39 PM

Ranger- Haha, love it. That's the only film I've seen P Diddy where he doesn't annoy the f*ck out of me. Geezers a bell end!
Ranger writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 5:13:08 PM

lol.

'You can't outright me... I'M BLACK!'

'Get him to the Greek' was funny all over. But then again... I'm a Brand fan.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 5:46:24 PM

I have a hard time imagining MOS not beening a huge success. Snyder's eye, Nolan's experience, and Supe's fanbase should be more than enough make it a hit. Superman will never be as dynamic from a character standpoint but a good actor in the lead and decent writing can more than make up for Supe's somewhat boyscout persona.

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved