WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Captain America: Civil War" Concept Art Shows Two Avengers Teams
Aug 30th, 2015
First Look at Michael Fassbender in "Assassin's Creed" Video Game Movie
Aug 29th, 2015
Matt Damon Reveals "Bourne" Sequel Plot Details
Aug 29th, 2015
New Trailer for Jack Black's "Goosebumps"
Aug 29th, 2015
Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Schumer Working on New Comedy
Aug 27th, 2015
Christopher Meloni Joins "Holding Patterns"
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Love the Coopers" Comedy, with John Goodman, Ed Helms and Olivia Wilde
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for Nicholas Hoult's "Kill Your Friends" Crime Thriller
Aug 26th, 2015
James Franco is a Tech Billionaire in "Why Him" Comedy
Aug 26th, 2015
General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 20th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Jungle Cruise," Based on Disney's Theme Park Ride
Aug 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Blunt Force Trauma," with Mickey Rourke and Freida Pinto
Aug 20th, 2015
First Trailer for "Victor Frankenstein," with Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy
Aug 19th, 2015
"Prometheus 2" Delaying Neill Blomkamp's "Alien 5"
Aug 19th, 2015
Freddie Highmore and Odeya Rush Join "Holding Patterns"
Aug 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Matt Damon's "The Martian" is Here!
Aug 19th, 2015
Post-Apocalyptic "Zorro" Reboot is Moving Forward
Aug 19th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for "Star Wars: The Force Awakens"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at "Star Wars: Rogue One" Spin-Off Film
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Aug 18th, 2015
New Photo From Pixar's "Finding Dory"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for "Carol," with Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for Kevin Hart's "Ride Along" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
First Posters for "Alice in Wonderland" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
Bradley Cooper is a Chef in "Burnt" Trailer
Aug 15th, 2015
First Look at Black Panther on "Captain America: Civil War" Set
Aug 13th, 2015
First Look at Dolph Lundgren in "Kindergarten Cop" Sequel
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" is Here!
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Life," with Dane DeHaan as James Dean
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Trumbo," with Bryan Cranston and Helen Mirren
Aug 13th, 2015
Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?
Aug 9th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Justice League of America" Movie Depends on "Man of Steel" Box Office Performance

Posted: January 29th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Justice League of America" Movie Depends on "Man of Steel" Box Office PerformanceSubmit Comment
Warner Bros has been planning to make a "Justice League of America" for many years, but it wasn't until Marvel's "The Avengers" became the highest-grossing film of 2012 that the studio decided it's finally time to move forward.

Then a California judge ruled that Warner Bros can proceed with a "Justice League" movie without any more litigation from the heirs of Superman co-creators Jerry Siegel and Joe Schuster. The studio immediately set a Summer 2015 release date with plans of getting the cameras rolling this year. Now nothing can stop "Justice League" from happening. Not quite.

Variety has learned that since "Green Lantern" was a box office disaster and "Superman Returns" barely made any money, Warner Bros will wait to see how "Man of Steel" performs before officially committing to "Justice League."

"Man of Steel" has a massive budget. And if the film doesn't become profitable, it will be a while before we see another DC Comics superhero, outside of Batman, on the big screen. "Man of Steel" is set to hit theaters on June 14th and Warner Bros is looking for an opening of around $70 million.

Click here to read more about "Justice League of America."

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 7:24:48 AM

I beg to differ, alex. Those jackholes at WB doesn't have a clue on how to handle their DC character properties. That's the real problem.
Avirex writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:20:06 AM

Superman Returns did $200 million domestic and roughly $400 million overall at the box office. Not a blockbuster by any means, (somewhere between Thor and Captain America global numebers) but not the giant flop everyone seems to think. At least not financially. The problem is WB had unrealistic expectations, probably assuming it would cash Spider-Man numbers (which was making like $800 million per film roughly).

By comparison Tron Legacy performed similarly overall and yet its still getting a sequel. Disney didn't quite treat it like the unwanted bastard child WB treated Superman Returns. Suppose it helped some people actually liked Tron.
Avirex writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:23:01 AM

I see WB once again placing unrealistic pressure and expectations on the Man of Steel to perform. Kind of like when I lost my virginity.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:23:11 AM

Well, now I hope Man Of Steel fails miserably.
alexgi writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:25:24 AM

@Avirex: Actually "Superman Returns" cost $270 million and grossed $391 million globally. If you factor in the massive marketing campaign, the film cost roughly $400 million. And don't forget that Warner Bros has to split its earnings with theaters. So that $391 million is likely about $300 million. Plus, fans hated the movie. And yet, Warner Bros still rebooted it.
Avirex writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:36:33 AM

@Alex

Yes, BoxOfficeMojo huh Alex. Budget numbers are always wildly all over the place. When the film was released everyone was reporting numbers from $150-$300 million. I doubt the actual production budget was that high though. $160-$210 million seems more realistic, unless Kevin Spacey was snorting coke made of diamonds on the set. You also have to remember WB is the same studio that reported a financial loss on one of the Harry Potter films that grossed a billion or something around that figure.

Anyway, like I said Tron Legacy had a high budget and large marketing campaign as well and performed similarly yet gained a sequel. Difference is Disney at least was more realistic about their expectations. WB was all or nothing.
Crazyhorse writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:37:52 AM

Green Latern was a failure cause the actor they chose has played in more comedy roles than serious ones.
Avirex writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:43:23 AM

Also, Returns made slightly over $80 million in DVD sales.
Crazyhorse writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:44:06 AM

Superman Returns would have been a hit if they had left out all the scenes with the wasted drama of Lois's boyfriend, her kid and chose another vilian instead of Luthor and added more action scenes
SACdaddy writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 9:02:09 AM

@crazyhorse: Using comedic actors for action or superhero roles is not exactly a recipe for disaster.

Michael Keaton - Batman
Eddie Murphy - Beverly Hills Cop
Hugh Jackman - Wolverine
Jamie Foxx - Django/Collateral
RDJ - Iron Man
Chris Evans - Captain America

Green Lantern failed because it was just a sh*tty movie. No single actor could have saved it.


FBO writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 10:19:46 AM

I am with Avirex and SAC on this one
Rambo writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 10:37:30 AM

I can't really see this becoming a huge hit.main reason is Henry Cavill.the guy has no charisma.plus from the trailer it seems the first half of the movie will be telling for the 1000'th time the story of the childhood of clark...YAWN.
Rambo writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 10:40:01 AM

I can't really see this becoming a huge hit.main reason is Henry Cavill.the guy has no charisma.plus from the trailer it seems the first half of the movie will be telling for the 1000'th time the story of the childhood of clark...YAWN.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 10:44:06 AM

JLA will still come out and it'll suck more c*ck than Coc, Vindy and Jane at a sandwich eating contest.
Ranger writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 11:30:55 AM

More cluster-f*cking from the studio. They set a JLA release date, then we hear (who knows if this is in the correct order... let's just assume it is, for now), now a JLA movie is dependent on Supes sales. Why? The Avengers wasn't dependent on a crappy Hulk movie. WB... covering their ass and being their typical non-commital. I hope Marvel continues beating the sh*t out of them.
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:08:35 PM

If Man of Steel is a make or break moment for their comic book movie franchise, if Man of Steel has to blow away the BO in order to get DC's version of The Avengers onto the big screen, if Man of Steel, Superman, DC's second of their absolute top two characters, can't get theatrical traction, and if Batman, which they've pretty much exhausted for the next five years, at least, can't help re-invigorate the struggling cinematic DCU, then DC has f*cked their comic book pooch right out of the dog house and into on-coming traffic.

I don't think I've seen a franchise/property f*ckup of this magnitude since, since, well, never probably, given the enormity of the material DC had at their disposal.

DC should rename their company to SNAFU Comics.
KaloVisor writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 4:12:39 PM

Well, there is an awful lot of hype for Man of Steel, and quite a bit of general interest. but I mean, Marvel made Characters like "Thor and "Captain America" profitable mostly cause they were trying to please the fans. WB tries to please everyone else.. sort of. just make it good stay true to the source Materiel. and make it for the FANS. green Lantern wasn't as horrible as some people make it out to be but it could have been sooo much better. and characters.. the characters make sh movies don't scew them up.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 4:28:53 PM

Man of Steel will be successful because it's got Christopher Nolans whorish name all over it. Add the 3D sales and the boner the world has over comic book films at the moment and I don't see this film not being successful.

I won't be adding my 10 odd quid in to that figure though I'll be waiting for a good copy to come out online and then being sick over my computer screen as the slow motion CGI mind f*cks me into oblivion.
Ranger writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 4:42:00 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=46r4aRs_zLI
Cinemaisdead writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 5:09:39 PM

Ranger- Haha, love it. That's the only film I've seen P Diddy where he doesn't annoy the f*ck out of me. Geezers a bell end!
Ranger writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 5:13:08 PM

lol.

'You can't outright me... I'M BLACK!'

'Get him to the Greek' was funny all over. But then again... I'm a Brand fan.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 5:46:24 PM

I have a hard time imagining MOS not beening a huge success. Snyder's eye, Nolan's experience, and Supe's fanbase should be more than enough make it a hit. Superman will never be as dynamic from a character standpoint but a good actor in the lead and decent writing can more than make up for Supe's somewhat boyscout persona.

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved