WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Dominates at Box Office, Hits Franchise Low
Nov 23rd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Director Says Shared Cinematic Universes Can Be a Mistake
Nov 23rd, 2014
Town Bans Winnie the Pooh for Being Half-Naked
Nov 23rd, 2014
First Poster for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Nov 22nd, 2014
Angelina Jolie Will Quit Acting to Focus on Directing
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for George Lucas' Animated "Strange Magic" Film
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "Pitch Perfect 2" Arrives Online
Nov 21st, 2014
"Zoolander 2" is Moving Forward, Penelope Cruz Joins Cast
Nov 21st, 2014
Stephen King's "The Stand" to Become Four Movies
Nov 21st, 2014
First Look: Patrick Stewart is a White Supremacist in "Green Room" Thriller
Nov 21st, 2014
Mel Gibson May Direct "Hacksaw Ridge," with Andrew Garfield to Star
Nov 21st, 2014
Ridley Scott Promises "a Fresher Form of Alien" in "Prometheus 2"
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Nov 20th, 2014
Trailer for "American Heist" Thriller with Hayden Christensen and Adrien Brody
Nov 20th, 2014
Melissa McCarthy to Star in Live-Action "Tinker Bell" Comedy
Nov 20th, 2014
Al Pacino is an Aging Rock Star in "Danny Collins" Trailer
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for "Peter Pan Live" Musical, with Christopher Walken as Captain Hook
Nov 20th, 2014
Six Actors in Talks for Cyclops and Jean Grey in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 19th, 2014
How Do Horror Fans Choose Movies? Not By Plot or Cast
Nov 19th, 2014
Will Ferrell Bench Presses Kevin Hart in First "Get Hard" Photos
Nov 19th, 2014
Trailer for Ewan McGregor's "Son of a Gun" Crime Thriller
Nov 19th, 2014
Snoopy and Charlie Brown are Back in "The Peanuts Movie" Trailer
Nov 19th, 2014
Trailer for "Project Almanac" Time-Traveling Thriller
Nov 18th, 2014
"Jurassic World" Unveils New Photos, Trailer Coming Next Week
Nov 18th, 2014
Arnold Schwarzenegger Says "Running Man" Sequel is Happening
Nov 18th, 2014
New Images of Snoopy and Charlie Brown From "The Peanuts Movie"
Nov 18th, 2014
See "Interstellar" as Many Times as You Want for One Price
Nov 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Jeff Bridges' "Seventh Son" Fantasy Film
Nov 18th, 2014
Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy
Nov 17th, 2014
"Captain America 2" Directors May Take Over "The Avengers" Franchise
Nov 17th, 2014
Oscar-Winning "The Hurt Locker" Writer Hired for "Uncharted" Video Game Film
Nov 17th, 2014
"Dumb and Dumber To" Takes First Place at Box Office with $38 Million
Nov 16th, 2014
"Battlestar Galactice" and "Knight Rider" Creator Glen A. Larson Dead at 77
Nov 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Disney Cancels 3D Re-Releases of "Star Wars" Films

Posted: January 28th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Disney Cancels 3D Re-Releases of "Star Wars" FilmsSubmit Comment
20th Century Fox and Lucasfilm have been planning to convert all six "Star Wars" films to 3D and then re-release them in 3D theaters. The companies accomplished that with "Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace" a year ago, but the movie debuted to a disappointing $23 million domestically.

Disney has since acquired Lucasfilm. And even though "Star Wars: Episode II - Attack of the Clones 3D" has been set to hit theaters on September 20th, and "Star Wars: Episode III: Revenge of the Sith 3D" has been set for October 11th, Disney decided to cancel both releases.

The studio only wants to focus on rebooting the franchise. It has already hired director JJ Abrams for "Star Wars: Episode VII" and has plans to develop a new trilogy, in addition to spin-off films focusing on specific characters.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
TMD writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:16:58 PM

I was looking forward to laughing during episode 3. Oh well!
Rambo writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:19:22 PM

good move.
minkowski writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:38:24 PM

Maybe they should release the FIRST three films FIRST, and leave the sh*tty second trilogy for a for a box office pity f*ck.
minkowski writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:38:49 PM

Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!


Had to get that in before someone else did.
matternm58 writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:40:10 PM

This kinda pisses me off. Of course the movie did bad. for one it's a re release; most people already have this movie, plus not to mention not too many fans liked the movie anyway, and look at the competition that came out at the time they re released it, there were other interests at the time. I think it would be a great idea to keep this going because obviously for me being fan would love to see the original trilogy at least in the theaters because I've never seen those on the big screen and it would hype me up for this new one. Maybe they should just re release the original trilogy. More people would come.
minkowski writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:50:43 PM

I hear Warner Brothers wants to re-release Matrix Revolutions in 3D at the same time Avengers 2 comes out.
ProfMovies writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:51:14 PM

Thank the Gods of Cinema! There is some intelligent life at the studios!
Avirex writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 7:01:35 PM

Can they also cancel all the Hollywood re-releases, reboots, remakes, re-imaginings, sequels, prequels and spin-offs?

No you say?

Too much money to make?

Carry on then.
cress writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 7:09:35 PM

I'm cool with this. As a Star Wars fan(and a f*cking idiot), I went to see Phantom Menace 3D. It was the worst 3D post conversion I've seen. But I was still going to see these other prequel releases this fall( did I mention I'm a f*cking idiot?). But with new films coming out, which may or may not be shot in 3D, there really is no point to release them now. Why settle for a dash of new paint on an old car when you can drive a brand new one in a few years? Plus, audiences being reminded of the prequels so close to the release of Episode 7 is not in Disney's best interest. I'm sure that was a factor in this decision. Plus, let the Star Wars hoopla die down a bit before Episode 7. Oversaturation of anything can have negative effects. Except Log Cabin syrup. Poor that sh*t on as much as you want, cause it's all good.
pornfly writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 7:19:54 PM

Either way we're getting raped

Will all this extra revenue bring down the prices of Disney food?
cress writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 7:36:52 PM

Or will it bring down the prices for Disney hookers? Snow White charges way too much for tartar sauce swapping with the Little Mermaid.
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 8:09:36 PM

Thank GOD. Good move, Disney.
Ranger writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 9:39:31 PM

@mink - agreed. I have no use for the 2nd trilogy (parts 1-3).
minkowski writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 11:32:32 PM

@Ranger: you and I would have if we had needed to pay the rent back in 1999, like George Lucas.
Ranger writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 11:42:31 PM

Oh certainly. Were I George and owned this franchise I would have whored it out more than my mother's beaver.
minkowski writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 11:48:12 PM

Lol. Or Plastic Man's....oh never mind.
Ranger writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 12:01:43 AM

lol... I like your sense of nostalgia.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 12:21:48 AM

Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo Body cares...
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 12:38:52 AM

^^lol@Ranger.

@Tanny baby: already did that, bro, but you did get creative. +1 for you. :D
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 12:46:37 AM

yay points for me!

and you only said "Nooo" i added in the "Body cares"
i124q writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:02:11 AM

Is this a game anyone can play?

Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo body does it better.....

Who's next? Lol.
i124q writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:04:33 AM

I wonder how many people are now singing that in their head? Lol.

Carly Simon, yeh I'd have gone Lionel Richie on her (All Night Long) back in the day.
sedibus writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:21:12 AM

@Mink:
right after yoµr comment aboµt Matrix Revolµtions, I remember how sh*tty that movie is. What a shame, indeed.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:58:54 AM

@i124q - now Barbara Bach, there was a hottie Bond girl for you. That shower scene in the submarine was the biggest c*ck tease ever. Can't believe she hooked up with a muppet like Ringo Starr. Lucky bloke.
pH0u57 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 4:00:25 AM

Actually good move, Disney.
Kurskij writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 4:01:55 AM

ok
Mr. Blonde writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 4:02:28 AM

Disney cancels 3D releases of Star Wars Films. Because no matter how much 3D effects they employ, Natalie Portman's tits will still be flat. Yes, Disney continues to make sound judgement on the future of the Star Wars franchise.

It's Official! Channing Tatum to Star in "Gambit" Spin-Off

Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team

Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot

Christopher Nolan Hates Post-Credits Scenes, Here's Why

"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed

Daniel Bruhl is Villain in "Captain America 3" and "Doctor Strange"

Margot Robbie is Harley Quinn in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film

Jared Leto May Play The Joker in "Suicide Squad"

Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy

"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved