WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Peter Jackson Unveils New Title for "The Hobbit 3"
Apr 25th, 2014
First Look: Director Duncan Jones on "World of Warcraft" Set
Apr 25th, 2014
Trailer for "As Above So Below" Horror Film, From Directors of "Quarantine" and "Devil"
Apr 25th, 2014
Trailer for "Jessabelle" Horror Film, From Producers of "Paranormal Activity"
Apr 24th, 2014
New Trailer for "Godzilla" Reboot, On Track to Earn $60 Million on Opening Weekend
Apr 24th, 2014
Photos: Woman Gives Homeless Man a Bag of Food, That Homeless Man is Richard Gere
Apr 24th, 2014
Japanese Trailer for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 24th, 2014
Scarlett Johansson and Lupita Nyong'o in Talks for "The Jungle Book"
Apr 24th, 2014
First Photo From Set of "Pitch Perfect 2"
Apr 24th, 2014
Jessica Chastain May Play Female Lead in "Mission: Impossible 5"
Apr 24th, 2014
First Look: Arnold Schwarzenegger on "Terminator: Genesis" Set
Apr 23rd, 2014
First Photos From "Jurassic World" Set
Apr 23rd, 2014
Sony Working on a Live-Action "Barbie" Movie
Apr 23rd, 2014
Eric Roberts Says "Human Centipede 3" is Really Horrible
Apr 23rd, 2014
Disney is NOT Working on "Frozen" Sequel
Apr 23rd, 2014
Disney is Considering Moving "Captain America 3" To a Different Release Date
Apr 23rd, 2014
Lou Ferrigno Will Return to Voice The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Apr 23rd, 2014
Peeps Candy to Become a Movie
Apr 23rd, 2014
Disney Turning "It's a Small World" Ride Into a Movie
Apr 23rd, 2014
"Pirates of the Caribbean 5" Still Doesn't Have a Script
Apr 23rd, 2014
"Bad Boys 3" Hasn't Happened Due to Bad Timing
Apr 23rd, 2014
First Look: Robert Downey Jr on "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Set
Apr 23rd, 2014
New Photos From Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 22nd, 2014
Bill Paxton Will Do Anything to Join "Avatar 2"
Apr 22nd, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Will ONLY Be Based on First Six "Star Wars" Films
Apr 22nd, 2014
Paul WS Anderson Reveals Title for New "Resident Evil" Film
Apr 22nd, 2014
Watch First Five Minutes From "How to Train Your Dragon 2"
Apr 22nd, 2014
"Terminator" Reboot is Officially Filming
Apr 22nd, 2014
Marc Webb Wants J. Jonah Jameson in "The Amazing Spider-Man 3"
Apr 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "The Grand Seduction," with Taylor Kitsch and Brendan Gleeson
Apr 22nd, 2014
First Look: Paul Walker's Brothers on "Fast and Furious 7" Set
Apr 22nd, 2014
Danny Boyle and Leonardo DiCaprio in Talks for Steve Jobs Biopic
Apr 22nd, 2014
Steven Spielberg Wrote the Story for "The Goonies" Sequel
Apr 22nd, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Disney Cancels 3D Re-Releases of "Star Wars" Films

Posted: January 28th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Disney Cancels 3D Re-Releases of "Star Wars" FilmsSubmit Comment
20th Century Fox and Lucasfilm have been planning to convert all six "Star Wars" films to 3D and then re-release them in 3D theaters. The companies accomplished that with "Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace" a year ago, but the movie debuted to a disappointing $23 million domestically.

Disney has since acquired Lucasfilm. And even though "Star Wars: Episode II - Attack of the Clones 3D" has been set to hit theaters on September 20th, and "Star Wars: Episode III: Revenge of the Sith 3D" has been set for October 11th, Disney decided to cancel both releases.

The studio only wants to focus on rebooting the franchise. It has already hired director JJ Abrams for "Star Wars: Episode VII" and has plans to develop a new trilogy, in addition to spin-off films focusing on specific characters.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
TMD writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:16:58 PM

I was looking forward to laughing during episode 3. Oh well!
Rambo writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:19:22 PM

good move.
minkowski writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:38:24 PM

Maybe they should release the FIRST three films FIRST, and leave the sh*tty second trilogy for a for a box office pity f*ck.
minkowski writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:38:49 PM

Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!


Had to get that in before someone else did.
matternm58 writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:40:10 PM

This kinda pisses me off. Of course the movie did bad. for one it's a re release; most people already have this movie, plus not to mention not too many fans liked the movie anyway, and look at the competition that came out at the time they re released it, there were other interests at the time. I think it would be a great idea to keep this going because obviously for me being fan would love to see the original trilogy at least in the theaters because I've never seen those on the big screen and it would hype me up for this new one. Maybe they should just re release the original trilogy. More people would come.
minkowski writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:50:43 PM

I hear Warner Brothers wants to re-release Matrix Revolutions in 3D at the same time Avengers 2 comes out.
ProfMovies writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:51:14 PM

Thank the Gods of Cinema! There is some intelligent life at the studios!
Avirex writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 7:01:35 PM

Can they also cancel all the Hollywood re-releases, reboots, remakes, re-imaginings, sequels, prequels and spin-offs?

No you say?

Too much money to make?

Carry on then.
cress writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 7:09:35 PM

I'm cool with this. As a Star Wars fan(and a f*cking idiot), I went to see Phantom Menace 3D. It was the worst 3D post conversion I've seen. But I was still going to see these other prequel releases this fall( did I mention I'm a f*cking idiot?). But with new films coming out, which may or may not be shot in 3D, there really is no point to release them now. Why settle for a dash of new paint on an old car when you can drive a brand new one in a few years? Plus, audiences being reminded of the prequels so close to the release of Episode 7 is not in Disney's best interest. I'm sure that was a factor in this decision. Plus, let the Star Wars hoopla die down a bit before Episode 7. Oversaturation of anything can have negative effects. Except Log Cabin syrup. Poor that sh*t on as much as you want, cause it's all good.
pornfly writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 7:19:54 PM

Either way we're getting raped

Will all this extra revenue bring down the prices of Disney food?
cress writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 7:36:52 PM

Or will it bring down the prices for Disney hookers? Snow White charges way too much for tartar sauce swapping with the Little Mermaid.
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 8:09:36 PM

Thank GOD. Good move, Disney.
Ranger writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 9:39:31 PM

@mink - agreed. I have no use for the 2nd trilogy (parts 1-3).
minkowski writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 11:32:32 PM

@Ranger: you and I would have if we had needed to pay the rent back in 1999, like George Lucas.
Ranger writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 11:42:31 PM

Oh certainly. Were I George and owned this franchise I would have whored it out more than my mother's beaver.
minkowski writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 11:48:12 PM

Lol. Or Plastic Man's....oh never mind.
Ranger writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 12:01:43 AM

lol... I like your sense of nostalgia.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 12:21:48 AM

Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo Body cares...
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 12:38:52 AM

^^lol@Ranger.

@Tanny baby: already did that, bro, but you did get creative. +1 for you. :D
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 12:46:37 AM

yay points for me!

and you only said "Nooo" i added in the "Body cares"
i124q writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:02:11 AM

Is this a game anyone can play?

Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo body does it better.....

Who's next? Lol.
i124q writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:04:33 AM

I wonder how many people are now singing that in their head? Lol.

Carly Simon, yeh I'd have gone Lionel Richie on her (All Night Long) back in the day.
sedibus writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:21:12 AM

@Mink:
right after yoµr comment aboµt Matrix Revolµtions, I remember how sh*tty that movie is. What a shame, indeed.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:58:54 AM

@i124q - now Barbara Bach, there was a hottie Bond girl for you. That shower scene in the submarine was the biggest c*ck tease ever. Can't believe she hooked up with a muppet like Ringo Starr. Lucky bloke.
pH0u57 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 4:00:25 AM

Actually good move, Disney.
Kurskij writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 4:01:55 AM

ok
Mr. Blonde writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 4:02:28 AM

Disney cancels 3D releases of Star Wars Films. Because no matter how much 3D effects they employ, Natalie Portman's tits will still be flat. Yes, Disney continues to make sound judgement on the future of the Star Wars franchise.

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage

"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy

Zack Snyder Explains Why Batman is in "Man of Steel" Sequel

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

"Star Wars: Episode VII" Will ONLY Be Based on First Six "Star Wars" Films

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Mrs. Doubtfire" Actress Wants Nothing to Do With Sequel

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved