WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer is Here!
Mar 5th, 2015
Warner Bros CEO Says DC Films are Edgier Than Marvel Films
Mar 5th, 2015
Trailer for "Self/Less" Sci-Fi Thriller, with Ryan Reynolds and Ben Kingsley
Mar 5th, 2015
Ian McKellen is Sherlock Holmes in "Mr. Holmes" Trailer
Mar 5th, 2015
Jessie Usher to Star in "Independence Day 2" as Will Smith's Son
Mar 4th, 2015
First Look at Joseph Gordon-Levitt in Oliver Stone's "Snowden"
Mar 4th, 2015
"Tron: Legacy" Director in Talks for "Gran Turismo" Video Game Film
Mar 4th, 2015
New Trailer for Alex Garland's "Ex Machina" Sci-Fi Thriller
Mar 4th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Captain America Poster
Mar 4th, 2015
"Spider-Man" Reboot in Talks with "Cabin in the Woods" Director
Mar 3rd, 2015
Hugh Jackman Open to "Deadpool" Cameo
Mar 3rd, 2015
Restricted Trailer for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Mar 3rd, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Hawkeye Poster
Mar 3rd, 2015
Mark Cuban is US President in "Sharknado 3," Ann Coulter is Vice President
Mar 3rd, 2015
Ethan Hawke Re-Teams with Denzel Washington for "The Magnificent Seven" Remake
Mar 3rd, 2015
Will Smith's "Focus" Takes Top Spot at Box Office
Mar 2nd, 2015
Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment
Mar 1st, 2015
"Star Trek" Actor Leonard Nimoy Dead at 83
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Black Widow, Thor and Nick Fury Posters
Feb 28th, 2015
First Look at Eddie Redmayne as First Transgender Person in "The Danish Girl"
Feb 28th, 2015
Leonardo DiCaprio to Have 24 Personalities in "The Crowded Room"
Feb 28th, 2015
"Brewster's Millions" Remake Gets a Director
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils The Hulk Poster
Feb 27th, 2015
Director Neill Blomkamp Says His "Elysium" Film is Not Very Good
Feb 27th, 2015
Harrison Ford Confirmed for "Blade Runner 2," Director Announced
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp Clarifies His "Alien 5" Comments
Feb 27th, 2015
"Red Sonja" is Happening Again
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp's "Alien" Sequel Will Give Ripley a Proper Ending
Feb 26th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Iron Man Poster
Feb 26th, 2015
Official "Creed" Plot Synopsis Hints at Rocky's Health Issues
Feb 26th, 2015
Four New Photos From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Feb 26th, 2015
"Tomb Raider" Reboot Hires "Divergent" Writer
Feb 26th, 2015
Poster for Marvel's "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Feb 25th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Disney Cancels 3D Re-Releases of "Star Wars" Films

Posted: January 28th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Disney Cancels 3D Re-Releases of "Star Wars" FilmsSubmit Comment
20th Century Fox and Lucasfilm have been planning to convert all six "Star Wars" films to 3D and then re-release them in 3D theaters. The companies accomplished that with "Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace" a year ago, but the movie debuted to a disappointing $23 million domestically.

Disney has since acquired Lucasfilm. And even though "Star Wars: Episode II - Attack of the Clones 3D" has been set to hit theaters on September 20th, and "Star Wars: Episode III: Revenge of the Sith 3D" has been set for October 11th, Disney decided to cancel both releases.

The studio only wants to focus on rebooting the franchise. It has already hired director JJ Abrams for "Star Wars: Episode VII" and has plans to develop a new trilogy, in addition to spin-off films focusing on specific characters.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
TMD writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:16:58 PM

I was looking forward to laughing during episode 3. Oh well!
Rambo writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:19:22 PM

good move.
minkowski writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:38:24 PM

Maybe they should release the FIRST three films FIRST, and leave the sh*tty second trilogy for a for a box office pity f*ck.
minkowski writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:38:49 PM

Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!


Had to get that in before someone else did.
matternm58 writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:40:10 PM

This kinda pisses me off. Of course the movie did bad. for one it's a re release; most people already have this movie, plus not to mention not too many fans liked the movie anyway, and look at the competition that came out at the time they re released it, there were other interests at the time. I think it would be a great idea to keep this going because obviously for me being fan would love to see the original trilogy at least in the theaters because I've never seen those on the big screen and it would hype me up for this new one. Maybe they should just re release the original trilogy. More people would come.
minkowski writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:50:43 PM

I hear Warner Brothers wants to re-release Matrix Revolutions in 3D at the same time Avengers 2 comes out.
ProfMovies writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:51:14 PM

Thank the Gods of Cinema! There is some intelligent life at the studios!
Avirex writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 7:01:35 PM

Can they also cancel all the Hollywood re-releases, reboots, remakes, re-imaginings, sequels, prequels and spin-offs?

No you say?

Too much money to make?

Carry on then.
cress writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 7:09:35 PM

I'm cool with this. As a Star Wars fan(and a f*cking idiot), I went to see Phantom Menace 3D. It was the worst 3D post conversion I've seen. But I was still going to see these other prequel releases this fall( did I mention I'm a f*cking idiot?). But with new films coming out, which may or may not be shot in 3D, there really is no point to release them now. Why settle for a dash of new paint on an old car when you can drive a brand new one in a few years? Plus, audiences being reminded of the prequels so close to the release of Episode 7 is not in Disney's best interest. I'm sure that was a factor in this decision. Plus, let the Star Wars hoopla die down a bit before Episode 7. Oversaturation of anything can have negative effects. Except Log Cabin syrup. Poor that sh*t on as much as you want, cause it's all good.
pornfly writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 7:19:54 PM

Either way we're getting raped

Will all this extra revenue bring down the prices of Disney food?
cress writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 7:36:52 PM

Or will it bring down the prices for Disney hookers? Snow White charges way too much for tartar sauce swapping with the Little Mermaid.
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 8:09:36 PM

Thank GOD. Good move, Disney.
Ranger writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 9:39:31 PM

@mink - agreed. I have no use for the 2nd trilogy (parts 1-3).
minkowski writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 11:32:32 PM

@Ranger: you and I would have if we had needed to pay the rent back in 1999, like George Lucas.
Ranger writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 11:42:31 PM

Oh certainly. Were I George and owned this franchise I would have whored it out more than my mother's beaver.
minkowski writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 11:48:12 PM

Lol. Or Plastic Man's....oh never mind.
Ranger writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 12:01:43 AM

lol... I like your sense of nostalgia.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 12:21:48 AM

Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo Body cares...
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 12:38:52 AM

^^lol@Ranger.

@Tanny baby: already did that, bro, but you did get creative. +1 for you. :D
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 12:46:37 AM

yay points for me!

and you only said "Nooo" i added in the "Body cares"
i124q writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:02:11 AM

Is this a game anyone can play?

Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo body does it better.....

Who's next? Lol.
i124q writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:04:33 AM

I wonder how many people are now singing that in their head? Lol.

Carly Simon, yeh I'd have gone Lionel Richie on her (All Night Long) back in the day.
sedibus writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:21:12 AM

@Mink:
right after yoµr comment aboµt Matrix Revolµtions, I remember how sh*tty that movie is. What a shame, indeed.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:58:54 AM

@i124q - now Barbara Bach, there was a hottie Bond girl for you. That shower scene in the submarine was the biggest c*ck tease ever. Can't believe she hooked up with a muppet like Ringo Starr. Lucky bloke.
pH0u57 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 4:00:25 AM

Actually good move, Disney.
Kurskij writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 4:01:55 AM

ok
Mr. Blonde writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 4:02:28 AM

Disney cancels 3D releases of Star Wars Films. Because no matter how much 3D effects they employ, Natalie Portman's tits will still be flat. Yes, Disney continues to make sound judgement on the future of the Star Wars franchise.

Joss Whedon Blames Edgar Wright for Not Having Ant-Man in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

Will Smith Trashes "Another Earth," Vince Vaughn Trashes "The Internship"

More Details on Marvel's Spider-Man Deal, New Spider-Man to be Younger

Mark Ruffalo Discusses The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" and in New Solo Film

Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?

It's Official: Spider-Man to Appear in Marvel Films

Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment

Matthew Vaughn Reveals His Version of Quicksilver Scene in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Director Matthew Vaughn Wanted Two Wolverines in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Confirmed: Neill Blomkamp Will Direct New "Alien" Film
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved