WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First "Terminator Genisys" Photos, Plot Details Revealed
Oct 30th, 2014
Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot
Oct 30th, 2014
Michael Bay to Direct "13 Hours" Benghazi Film
Oct 30th, 2014
Final Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Oct 30th, 2014
First Poster for Alex Garcia's "Ex Machina" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 30th, 2014
Keanu Reeves' Next Film is "Replicas" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 30th, 2014
"Avengers: Infinity War" Trailer Leaked Online
Oct 29th, 2014
First "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Clip is Here!
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Explains Why "Hulk" and "Black Widow" Films are NOT Happening
Oct 29th, 2014
First Look at "Black Panther" Costume
Oct 29th, 2014
"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed
Oct 29th, 2014
"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Unveils Titles, Logos and Release Dates For All Phase 3 Films
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team
Oct 28th, 2014
David Goyer Writing Superman Prequel TV Series "Krypton"?
Oct 28th, 2014
First Look at Emma Watson in "Colonia" Cult Thriller
Oct 28th, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Trailer Coming This Year?
Oct 28th, 2014
Ewan McGregor Says "Trainspotting" Sequel to Shoot in 2016
Oct 28th, 2014
Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in Marvel's "Doctor Strange"!
Oct 27th, 2014
"Furious 7" Unveils Second Poster
Oct 27th, 2014
Jesse Eisenberg May Return as Lex Luthor in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film
Oct 27th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Unveils Title and Poster, Trailer Coming Soon
Oct 27th, 2014
Photos: "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" to Show Funeral of Bruce Wayne's Parents?
Oct 27th, 2014
"Ouija" Easily Beat Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" at Box Office
Oct 27th, 2014
Russell Brand is Quitting Acting Because He's Scared of Money
Oct 27th, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says He Wanted to Play Wolverine and Batman
Oct 26th, 2014
Christopher Nolan No Longer Involved With Warner Bros' Superhero Films
Oct 26th, 2014
Trailer for Lee Daniels' "Empire" Hip-Hop TV Series, with Terrence Howard
Oct 26th, 2014
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer Coming in December
Oct 25th, 2014
New "Ant-Man" Set Photos are Possible Spoilers
Oct 25th, 2014
Disney's "John Carter" Actually Cost Over $300 Million to Make
Oct 25th, 2014
"Wonder Woman" Searching for Female Director
Oct 24th, 2014
"The Mummy" Reboot to Follow Navy SEAL in Iraq?
Oct 24th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Bryan Singer Got Time-Traveling Advice from James Cameron for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Posted: January 28th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Bryan Singer Got Time-Traveling Advice from James Cameron for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"Submit Comment
Empire magazine caught up with director Bryan Singer to talk about "X-Men: Days of Future Past," which is a sequel to "X-Men: First Class," but due to a time-traveling element, it will also include many of the characters/actors from the original "X-Men" trilogy.

"I don't think people realize how big this movie is going to be. We get to bring both casts together," said Singer, adding that the he had to reach out to James Cameron (Terminator) to figure out the time-traveling angle. "We've cracked it in a way that it makes sense. I had a two-hour conversation with James Cameron about time travel. You have to create your rules and stick with them. That's why 'Terminator' and 'Back To The Future' work so well. And there are certain mechanisms in 'X-Men,' certain powers that make this possible."

The director went on to say that his goal is to connect all the "X-Men" movies, including "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" and "X-Men 3." "I'm taking into account every movie I'm not just grabbing my first two movies and 'First Class' and smashing them together," he explained. "I'm taking into account the entire universe as it's been laid out so far on the screen, and really respecting it and trying to work with that. People took things in various directions, so there's some clean-up. But ultimately I'm not just ignoring them."

Source: Empire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
TGDirector writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:14:16 PM

I'll ignore you if you screw this up, Singer.

Not to say my hopes haven't been destroyed with every single X-Men movie that's come out.

Except maybe, just maybe 1 & 2 which Singer did direct. So maybe his words might have some merits here.

I am not getting my hopes up though. This relationship has been pretty abusive so far.
TMD writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:18:13 PM

Singer is back man! Have faith!
Fightclub1 writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:24:21 PM

This sounds like to tough of a task but Ill stop being negative and just wait and see
minkowski writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:36:32 PM

...because Terminator 1 and 2 made sense in the time travel area?

Why didn't he talk to someone else, or did he think he would need to brag about talking to Jimbo to get some hype for his movie?

It's like some low rent hotel saying some mobster slept there one time decades ago, just to drum up some business.

"Al Capone sh*t here!"

Like that.
30YoVirgin writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:39:09 PM

make it like "Bill and Ted" and I'll watch it
cress writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:56:52 PM

Sounds similar to what Marc Webb did with the "The Amazing Spiderman." He interviewed several employees of a septic treatment facility to get a handle on what it's like to work with pure sh*t.
Avirex writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:57:30 PM

All the X-Men films have been sh*t. Not even a shadow of what they could have been.
KillerCOck writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 7:02:59 PM

^This!

f*ck Singer!
pornfly writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 7:12:55 PM

He builds a better case than Michael Bay i know that much.

And i get the feeling Cameron will bitch slaps him for associating him with this movie to just f*ck it off anyway
-Chewy- writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 7:26:56 PM

No. Terminator and Back to the future don't work.

This movie is going to be filled with plot holes.

It might still be good, but don't shout in advance how great the time travel works in your movie. It won't.
blumpkin4 writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 8:00:38 PM

what about the new wolverine movie? does it take place before or after the first class sequel?
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 8:34:30 PM

@blumpkin4
Wolverine is taking place after X3. I think the writers figured it was pointless to tell the story as a prequel because inevitably it will just try and connect all the dots to the original series like how Cyclops was in the film for no particular reason and Patrick Stewarts really awkward CGI appearance.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 8:42:39 PM

Personally I am completely excited for this film. While I find Lawrence to be an overrated, one-dimensional moron of an actress (FYI Lawrence you didn't Meryl the Academy did in promoting your ass as the next big thing) I thought McVoy and Fassbender did an amazing job is telling the origin of these characters ideals but at the same time connected to the older versions we all know. Although I have to admit my problem lies with the younger actor of Beast as well. In most adaptations, even before his mutation, he was a pretty big guy. In one version a gym teacher even so I didn't really appreciate making him a stereotypical nerd who gains a pair from the mutation. Plus none can deny Kelsey Grammar, with all the other flaws of X3, kind of nailed the character.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 8:52:18 PM

beat meryl*
minkowski writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 10:19:44 PM

Whatever. Just as long as Singer doesn't get marriage advice from Cameron, I think Bryan will be okay.
Stapes writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 10:28:04 PM

He should have gotten directing advice aswell. Believe it or not the terminator movies all pretty much hold true to theoretical rules of time travel.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 11:03:05 PM

@mink
At least Singer doesn't break the spirits of all the people on his movie sets. LOL Means we don't have to worry about hearing about the movie 20 years later from the main actress about how awful he was if the movie fails.
KillerCOck writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 11:16:00 PM

No he just tickles all the balls on the guys on set instead. Thats why all the actors in his X-men films are gay.
minkowski writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 11:29:03 PM

"Believe it or not the terminator movies all pretty much hold true to theoretical rules of time travel."

No they don't. If they did, if Jimbo had read Einstein, if Cameron had taken a course in General Relativity upon which all time travel theories are based, like the one I took from Leonard Susskind, he'd know the future is set, and nothing Sarah and John did would have changed anything.

The only way out, and trust me on this as I've read the actual mathematical texts versus pop-cultural sh*t, is for John and Sarah to have been located in a separate universe in which the war with the machines never occurred.

Or, in other words, Skynet somehow managed to send his Terminators not just back in time but into an entirely different but virtually identical universe.

Anyway, I'm not going to argue with you, stapes, on the matter, and I think we've done this dance before. I have absolutely no desire whatsoever to kindle any animosity, but unlike you, and I would say probably 99% of the people babbling way on the internet about time-travel, I've read the actual pain-in-the ass math, the physics, and not garbage like the sh*t Kip Thorne and that whack job Michio Kaku peddle to people who don't know any better.
minkowski writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 11:29:39 PM

@sleuth: no sh*t bud. Cameron's a harsh mistress.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 11:31:58 PM

@mink
Harsh! I think tyrants in third world countries are nicer than him! LOL
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 11:32:27 PM

@mink
Question is: Who would be Kate Winslet this time around?
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 12:21:32 AM

@Sleuth: Either Hugh Jackman or Ian McKellan. Whichever has the fattest p*ssy.
Rambo writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 12:29:19 AM

Just don't make another superman return you faggot...
KillerCOck writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 12:29:50 AM

hahaha Jackman for sure!
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 12:37:43 AM

I've got a bad feeling about this.
i124q writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 2:57:06 AM

*sigh*

Time travel is and never will be possible. Hawking has already proven it with his party invitation experiment.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=elah3i_WiFI
Mr. Blonde writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:19:48 AM

Bryan Singer has it all wrong. He should have consulted Kirk and Spock about time travel - not Cameron. After all, they saved the earth and managed to repopulate the humpback whale species from mankind's short sightedness. Now I'm talking about Shatner and Nimoy - not those other two recent clowns.

Now if you want to learn about taking a lonely voyage to the bottom of the sea just to take pretty pictures of microscopic glowing plankton, scratch your nuts and jack off in a deep sea submersible (just to see if your jiz tastes the same far below the ocean as it does on land), then Cameron is your guy.
sedibus writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:31:50 AM

Time Travel in a way that makes sense. I once ate a few mushrooms a while ago, and the effects told to me that Time-travel as it is that who ever tell you about, is because they are full of the kind of sh*t that not even a real alchemist can't turn into gold.

So, thank you very much, Mr. Singer.

Keep singing your songs, mate.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:52:00 AM

Also if you can fly really really fast and circle the globe in the opposite direction of it's orbital spin then you can go back in time and reverse all events from happening. I would imagine if you fly really really fast and go in the direction of the spinning earth then you can go into the future. Singer just needs to rewatch the Superman I and II. Oh, I forgot he did that already. And look how well that turned out. Nevermind.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:22:13 AM

What the f*ck does Cameron know about time travel? He created a paradox in T2. He knows as the average popcorn muncher does.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:22:50 AM

as much as*

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer

"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!

Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved