WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for Will Smith's "Concussion" Football Drama
Sep 3rd, 2015
Trailer: Eddie Redmayne is First Transgender Person in "The Danish Girl"
Sep 3rd, 2015
Vincent Cassel is Main Villain in New "Jason Bourne" Film
Sep 3rd, 2015
Trailer for Chloe Moretz's "The 5th Wave" Sci-Fi Thriller
Sep 3rd, 2015
Trailer for Nicolas Cage's "Pay the Ghost" Thriller
Sep 3rd, 2015
"Captain America: Civil War" Concept Art Shows Two Avengers Teams
Aug 30th, 2015
First Look at Michael Fassbender in "Assassin's Creed" Video Game Movie
Aug 29th, 2015
Matt Damon Reveals "Bourne" Sequel Plot Details
Aug 29th, 2015
New Trailer for Jack Black's "Goosebumps"
Aug 29th, 2015
Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Schumer Working on New Comedy
Aug 27th, 2015
Christopher Meloni Joins "Holding Patterns"
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Love the Coopers" Comedy, with John Goodman, Ed Helms and Olivia Wilde
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for Nicholas Hoult's "Kill Your Friends" Crime Thriller
Aug 26th, 2015
James Franco is a Tech Billionaire in "Why Him" Comedy
Aug 26th, 2015
General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 20th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Jungle Cruise," Based on Disney's Theme Park Ride
Aug 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Blunt Force Trauma," with Mickey Rourke and Freida Pinto
Aug 20th, 2015
First Trailer for "Victor Frankenstein," with Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy
Aug 19th, 2015
"Prometheus 2" Delaying Neill Blomkamp's "Alien 5"
Aug 19th, 2015
Freddie Highmore and Odeya Rush Join "Holding Patterns"
Aug 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Matt Damon's "The Martian" is Here!
Aug 19th, 2015
Post-Apocalyptic "Zorro" Reboot is Moving Forward
Aug 19th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for "Star Wars: The Force Awakens"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at "Star Wars: Rogue One" Spin-Off Film
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Aug 18th, 2015
New Photo From Pixar's "Finding Dory"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for "Carol," with Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for Kevin Hart's "Ride Along" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
First Posters for "Alice in Wonderland" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
Bradley Cooper is a Chef in "Burnt" Trailer
Aug 15th, 2015
First Look at Black Panther on "Captain America: Civil War" Set
Aug 13th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Bryan Singer Got Time-Traveling Advice from James Cameron for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Posted: January 28th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Bryan Singer Got Time-Traveling Advice from James Cameron for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"Submit Comment
Empire magazine caught up with director Bryan Singer to talk about "X-Men: Days of Future Past," which is a sequel to "X-Men: First Class," but due to a time-traveling element, it will also include many of the characters/actors from the original "X-Men" trilogy.

"I don't think people realize how big this movie is going to be. We get to bring both casts together," said Singer, adding that the he had to reach out to James Cameron (Terminator) to figure out the time-traveling angle. "We've cracked it in a way that it makes sense. I had a two-hour conversation with James Cameron about time travel. You have to create your rules and stick with them. That's why 'Terminator' and 'Back To The Future' work so well. And there are certain mechanisms in 'X-Men,' certain powers that make this possible."

The director went on to say that his goal is to connect all the "X-Men" movies, including "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" and "X-Men 3." "I'm taking into account every movie I'm not just grabbing my first two movies and 'First Class' and smashing them together," he explained. "I'm taking into account the entire universe as it's been laid out so far on the screen, and really respecting it and trying to work with that. People took things in various directions, so there's some clean-up. But ultimately I'm not just ignoring them."

Source: Empire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
TGDirector writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:14:16 PM

I'll ignore you if you screw this up, Singer.

Not to say my hopes haven't been destroyed with every single X-Men movie that's come out.

Except maybe, just maybe 1 & 2 which Singer did direct. So maybe his words might have some merits here.

I am not getting my hopes up though. This relationship has been pretty abusive so far.
TMD writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:18:13 PM

Singer is back man! Have faith!
Fightclub1 writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:24:21 PM

This sounds like to tough of a task but Ill stop being negative and just wait and see
minkowski writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:36:32 PM

...because Terminator 1 and 2 made sense in the time travel area?

Why didn't he talk to someone else, or did he think he would need to brag about talking to Jimbo to get some hype for his movie?

It's like some low rent hotel saying some mobster slept there one time decades ago, just to drum up some business.

"Al Capone sh*t here!"

Like that.
30YoVirgin writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:39:09 PM

make it like "Bill and Ted" and I'll watch it
cress writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:56:52 PM

Sounds similar to what Marc Webb did with the "The Amazing Spiderman." He interviewed several employees of a septic treatment facility to get a handle on what it's like to work with pure sh*t.
Avirex writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:57:30 PM

All the X-Men films have been sh*t. Not even a shadow of what they could have been.
KillerCOck writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 7:02:59 PM

^This!

f*ck Singer!
pornfly writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 7:12:55 PM

He builds a better case than Michael Bay i know that much.

And i get the feeling Cameron will bitch slaps him for associating him with this movie to just f*ck it off anyway
-Chewy- writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 7:26:56 PM

No. Terminator and Back to the future don't work.

This movie is going to be filled with plot holes.

It might still be good, but don't shout in advance how great the time travel works in your movie. It won't.
blumpkin4 writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 8:00:38 PM

what about the new wolverine movie? does it take place before or after the first class sequel?
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 8:34:30 PM

@blumpkin4
Wolverine is taking place after X3. I think the writers figured it was pointless to tell the story as a prequel because inevitably it will just try and connect all the dots to the original series like how Cyclops was in the film for no particular reason and Patrick Stewarts really awkward CGI appearance.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 8:42:39 PM

Personally I am completely excited for this film. While I find Lawrence to be an overrated, one-dimensional moron of an actress (FYI Lawrence you didn't Meryl the Academy did in promoting your ass as the next big thing) I thought McVoy and Fassbender did an amazing job is telling the origin of these characters ideals but at the same time connected to the older versions we all know. Although I have to admit my problem lies with the younger actor of Beast as well. In most adaptations, even before his mutation, he was a pretty big guy. In one version a gym teacher even so I didn't really appreciate making him a stereotypical nerd who gains a pair from the mutation. Plus none can deny Kelsey Grammar, with all the other flaws of X3, kind of nailed the character.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 8:52:18 PM

beat meryl*
minkowski writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 10:19:44 PM

Whatever. Just as long as Singer doesn't get marriage advice from Cameron, I think Bryan will be okay.
Stapes writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 10:28:04 PM

He should have gotten directing advice aswell. Believe it or not the terminator movies all pretty much hold true to theoretical rules of time travel.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 11:03:05 PM

@mink
At least Singer doesn't break the spirits of all the people on his movie sets. LOL Means we don't have to worry about hearing about the movie 20 years later from the main actress about how awful he was if the movie fails.
KillerCOck writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 11:16:00 PM

No he just tickles all the balls on the guys on set instead. Thats why all the actors in his X-men films are gay.
minkowski writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 11:29:03 PM

"Believe it or not the terminator movies all pretty much hold true to theoretical rules of time travel."

No they don't. If they did, if Jimbo had read Einstein, if Cameron had taken a course in General Relativity upon which all time travel theories are based, like the one I took from Leonard Susskind, he'd know the future is set, and nothing Sarah and John did would have changed anything.

The only way out, and trust me on this as I've read the actual mathematical texts versus pop-cultural sh*t, is for John and Sarah to have been located in a separate universe in which the war with the machines never occurred.

Or, in other words, Skynet somehow managed to send his Terminators not just back in time but into an entirely different but virtually identical universe.

Anyway, I'm not going to argue with you, stapes, on the matter, and I think we've done this dance before. I have absolutely no desire whatsoever to kindle any animosity, but unlike you, and I would say probably 99% of the people babbling way on the internet about time-travel, I've read the actual pain-in-the ass math, the physics, and not garbage like the sh*t Kip Thorne and that whack job Michio Kaku peddle to people who don't know any better.
minkowski writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 11:29:39 PM

@sleuth: no sh*t bud. Cameron's a harsh mistress.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 11:31:58 PM

@mink
Harsh! I think tyrants in third world countries are nicer than him! LOL
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 11:32:27 PM

@mink
Question is: Who would be Kate Winslet this time around?
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 12:21:32 AM

@Sleuth: Either Hugh Jackman or Ian McKellan. Whichever has the fattest p*ssy.
Rambo writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 12:29:19 AM

Just don't make another superman return you faggot...
KillerCOck writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 12:29:50 AM

hahaha Jackman for sure!
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 12:37:43 AM

I've got a bad feeling about this.
i124q writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 2:57:06 AM

*sigh*

Time travel is and never will be possible. Hawking has already proven it with his party invitation experiment.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=elah3i_WiFI
Mr. Blonde writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:19:48 AM

Bryan Singer has it all wrong. He should have consulted Kirk and Spock about time travel - not Cameron. After all, they saved the earth and managed to repopulate the humpback whale species from mankind's short sightedness. Now I'm talking about Shatner and Nimoy - not those other two recent clowns.

Now if you want to learn about taking a lonely voyage to the bottom of the sea just to take pretty pictures of microscopic glowing plankton, scratch your nuts and jack off in a deep sea submersible (just to see if your jiz tastes the same far below the ocean as it does on land), then Cameron is your guy.
sedibus writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:31:50 AM

Time Travel in a way that makes sense. I once ate a few mushrooms a while ago, and the effects told to me that Time-travel as it is that who ever tell you about, is because they are full of the kind of sh*t that not even a real alchemist can't turn into gold.

So, thank you very much, Mr. Singer.

Keep singing your songs, mate.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:52:00 AM

Also if you can fly really really fast and circle the globe in the opposite direction of it's orbital spin then you can go back in time and reverse all events from happening. I would imagine if you fly really really fast and go in the direction of the spinning earth then you can go into the future. Singer just needs to rewatch the Superman I and II. Oh, I forgot he did that already. And look how well that turned out. Nevermind.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:22:13 AM

What the f*ck does Cameron know about time travel? He created a paradox in T2. He knows as the average popcorn muncher does.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:22:50 AM

as much as*

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved