WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Nicolas Cage Turned Down Lead Role in "Lord of the Rings"
Oct 5th, 2015
First Look at Matthew McConaughey in "Gold"
Oct 5th, 2015
"Thor 3" Found Its Director
Oct 5th, 2015
"Power Rangers" Reboot is Testing These Eight Actors
Oct 5th, 2015
James McAvoy in Talks for M. Night Shyamalan's New Supernatural Thriller
Oct 5th, 2015
Final Trailer for "Spectre" James Bond Film
Oct 3rd, 2015
Trailer for Kurt Russell's "Bone Tomahawk" Western
Oct 3rd, 2015
Reboot of "MacGyver" TV Series in the Works with James Wan
Oct 3rd, 2015
Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Oct 2nd, 2015
Final Poster for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2"
Oct 2nd, 2015
Trailer for "The Forest" Supernatural Thriller
Oct 2nd, 2015
New Trailer for Leonardo DiCaprio's "The Revenant" Thriller
Oct 1st, 2015
First Look: Andrew Garfield in Mel Gibson's "Hacksaw Ridge"
Oct 1st, 2015
Matthew Vaughn to Direct "I Am Pilgrim" Thriller
Oct 1st, 2015
Vin Diesel Says "Furious 8" is Part of Last Trilogy
Sep 29th, 2015
Danny Boyle to Shoot "Trainspotting" Sequel Next Summer
Sep 29th, 2015
Matt Damon Would Play Daredevil if Christopher Nolan Directed
Sep 27th, 2015
Ridley Scott Says "Prometheus 2" Will Have Connections to Ripley
Sep 27th, 2015
Sigourney Weaver Joins "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Sep 27th, 2015
Matt Damon Discusses "Bourne" Plot Details
Sep 27th, 2015
First Look at Woody Harrelson as President Johnson in "LBJ" Biopic
Sep 27th, 2015
Title of "Prometheus" Sequel Revealed
Sep 26th, 2015
New "Men in Black" Film Moving Forward Without Will Smith
Sep 26th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Wants Tom Hardy to Replace Him as Wolverine
Sep 26th, 2015
Trailer for "Truth," with Robert Redford and Cate Blanchett
Sep 26th, 2015
Trailer for "Angry Birds" Movie is Here!
Sep 24th, 2015
Trailer for "The Big Short," with Christian Bale, Brad Pitt, Ryan Gosling and Steve Carell
Sep 24th, 2015
Ridley Scott Planning Three "Prometheus" Sequels
Sep 23rd, 2015
"John Wick 2" to Shoot this Fall, Keanu Reeves Will Return
Sep 23rd, 2015
New Trailer for "The Peanuts Movie"
Sep 23rd, 2015
Liam Neeson's "Taken" Franchise to Become a Prequel TV Series
Sep 21st, 2015
Brie Larson Joins Steve Carell in "Battle of the Sexes" Tennis Drama
Sep 21st, 2015
"Hardcore" Sells to STX for $10 Million After Week-Long Bidding War
Sep 19th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Bryan Singer Got Time-Traveling Advice from James Cameron for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Posted: January 28th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Bryan Singer Got Time-Traveling Advice from James Cameron for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"Submit Comment
Empire magazine caught up with director Bryan Singer to talk about "X-Men: Days of Future Past," which is a sequel to "X-Men: First Class," but due to a time-traveling element, it will also include many of the characters/actors from the original "X-Men" trilogy.

"I don't think people realize how big this movie is going to be. We get to bring both casts together," said Singer, adding that the he had to reach out to James Cameron (Terminator) to figure out the time-traveling angle. "We've cracked it in a way that it makes sense. I had a two-hour conversation with James Cameron about time travel. You have to create your rules and stick with them. That's why 'Terminator' and 'Back To The Future' work so well. And there are certain mechanisms in 'X-Men,' certain powers that make this possible."

The director went on to say that his goal is to connect all the "X-Men" movies, including "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" and "X-Men 3." "I'm taking into account every movie I'm not just grabbing my first two movies and 'First Class' and smashing them together," he explained. "I'm taking into account the entire universe as it's been laid out so far on the screen, and really respecting it and trying to work with that. People took things in various directions, so there's some clean-up. But ultimately I'm not just ignoring them."

Source: Empire

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
TGDirector writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:14:16 PM

I'll ignore you if you screw this up, Singer.

Not to say my hopes haven't been destroyed with every single X-Men movie that's come out.

Except maybe, just maybe 1 & 2 which Singer did direct. So maybe his words might have some merits here.

I am not getting my hopes up though. This relationship has been pretty abusive so far.
TMD writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:18:13 PM

Singer is back man! Have faith!
Fightclub1 writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:24:21 PM

This sounds like to tough of a task but Ill stop being negative and just wait and see
minkowski writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:36:32 PM

...because Terminator 1 and 2 made sense in the time travel area?

Why didn't he talk to someone else, or did he think he would need to brag about talking to Jimbo to get some hype for his movie?

It's like some low rent hotel saying some mobster slept there one time decades ago, just to drum up some business.

"Al Capone sh*t here!"

Like that.
30YoVirgin writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:39:09 PM

make it like "Bill and Ted" and I'll watch it
cress writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:56:52 PM

Sounds similar to what Marc Webb did with the "The Amazing Spiderman." He interviewed several employees of a septic treatment facility to get a handle on what it's like to work with pure sh*t.
Avirex writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 6:57:30 PM

All the X-Men films have been sh*t. Not even a shadow of what they could have been.
KillerCOck writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 7:02:59 PM


f*ck Singer!
pornfly writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 7:12:55 PM

He builds a better case than Michael Bay i know that much.

And i get the feeling Cameron will bitch slaps him for associating him with this movie to just f*ck it off anyway
-Chewy- writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 7:26:56 PM

No. Terminator and Back to the future don't work.

This movie is going to be filled with plot holes.

It might still be good, but don't shout in advance how great the time travel works in your movie. It won't.
blumpkin4 writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 8:00:38 PM

what about the new wolverine movie? does it take place before or after the first class sequel?
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 8:34:30 PM

Wolverine is taking place after X3. I think the writers figured it was pointless to tell the story as a prequel because inevitably it will just try and connect all the dots to the original series like how Cyclops was in the film for no particular reason and Patrick Stewarts really awkward CGI appearance.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 8:42:39 PM

Personally I am completely excited for this film. While I find Lawrence to be an overrated, one-dimensional moron of an actress (FYI Lawrence you didn't Meryl the Academy did in promoting your ass as the next big thing) I thought McVoy and Fassbender did an amazing job is telling the origin of these characters ideals but at the same time connected to the older versions we all know. Although I have to admit my problem lies with the younger actor of Beast as well. In most adaptations, even before his mutation, he was a pretty big guy. In one version a gym teacher even so I didn't really appreciate making him a stereotypical nerd who gains a pair from the mutation. Plus none can deny Kelsey Grammar, with all the other flaws of X3, kind of nailed the character.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 8:52:18 PM

beat meryl*
minkowski writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 10:19:44 PM

Whatever. Just as long as Singer doesn't get marriage advice from Cameron, I think Bryan will be okay.
Stapes writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 10:28:04 PM

He should have gotten directing advice aswell. Believe it or not the terminator movies all pretty much hold true to theoretical rules of time travel.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 11:03:05 PM

At least Singer doesn't break the spirits of all the people on his movie sets. LOL Means we don't have to worry about hearing about the movie 20 years later from the main actress about how awful he was if the movie fails.
KillerCOck writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 11:16:00 PM

No he just tickles all the balls on the guys on set instead. Thats why all the actors in his X-men films are gay.
minkowski writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 11:29:03 PM

"Believe it or not the terminator movies all pretty much hold true to theoretical rules of time travel."

No they don't. If they did, if Jimbo had read Einstein, if Cameron had taken a course in General Relativity upon which all time travel theories are based, like the one I took from Leonard Susskind, he'd know the future is set, and nothing Sarah and John did would have changed anything.

The only way out, and trust me on this as I've read the actual mathematical texts versus pop-cultural sh*t, is for John and Sarah to have been located in a separate universe in which the war with the machines never occurred.

Or, in other words, Skynet somehow managed to send his Terminators not just back in time but into an entirely different but virtually identical universe.

Anyway, I'm not going to argue with you, stapes, on the matter, and I think we've done this dance before. I have absolutely no desire whatsoever to kindle any animosity, but unlike you, and I would say probably 99% of the people babbling way on the internet about time-travel, I've read the actual pain-in-the ass math, the physics, and not garbage like the sh*t Kip Thorne and that whack job Michio Kaku peddle to people who don't know any better.
minkowski writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 11:29:39 PM

@sleuth: no sh*t bud. Cameron's a harsh mistress.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 11:31:58 PM

Harsh! I think tyrants in third world countries are nicer than him! LOL
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 11:32:27 PM

Question is: Who would be Kate Winslet this time around?
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 12:21:32 AM

@Sleuth: Either Hugh Jackman or Ian McKellan. Whichever has the fattest p*ssy.
Rambo writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 12:29:19 AM

Just don't make another superman return you faggot...
KillerCOck writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 12:29:50 AM

hahaha Jackman for sure!
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 12:37:43 AM

I've got a bad feeling about this.
i124q writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 2:57:06 AM


Time travel is and never will be possible. Hawking has already proven it with his party invitation experiment.

Mr. Blonde writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:19:48 AM

Bryan Singer has it all wrong. He should have consulted Kirk and Spock about time travel - not Cameron. After all, they saved the earth and managed to repopulate the humpback whale species from mankind's short sightedness. Now I'm talking about Shatner and Nimoy - not those other two recent clowns.

Now if you want to learn about taking a lonely voyage to the bottom of the sea just to take pretty pictures of microscopic glowing plankton, scratch your nuts and jack off in a deep sea submersible (just to see if your jiz tastes the same far below the ocean as it does on land), then Cameron is your guy.
sedibus writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:31:50 AM

Time Travel in a way that makes sense. I once ate a few mushrooms a while ago, and the effects told to me that Time-travel as it is that who ever tell you about, is because they are full of the kind of sh*t that not even a real alchemist can't turn into gold.

So, thank you very much, Mr. Singer.

Keep singing your songs, mate.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:52:00 AM

Also if you can fly really really fast and circle the globe in the opposite direction of it's orbital spin then you can go back in time and reverse all events from happening. I would imagine if you fly really really fast and go in the direction of the spinning earth then you can go into the future. Singer just needs to rewatch the Superman I and II. Oh, I forgot he did that already. And look how well that turned out. Nevermind.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:22:13 AM

What the f*ck does Cameron know about time travel? He created a paradox in T2. He knows as the average popcorn muncher does.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:22:50 AM

as much as*

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Universal Pictures Already Broke the Record for Highest-Grossing Year

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved