WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First "Terminator Genisys" Photos, Plot Details Revealed
Oct 30th, 2014
Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot
Oct 30th, 2014
Michael Bay to Direct "13 Hours" Benghazi Film
Oct 30th, 2014
Final Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Oct 30th, 2014
First Poster for Alex Garcia's "Ex Machina" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 30th, 2014
Keanu Reeves' Next Film is "Replicas" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 30th, 2014
"Avengers: Infinity War" Trailer Leaked Online
Oct 29th, 2014
First "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Clip is Here!
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Explains Why "Hulk" and "Black Widow" Films are NOT Happening
Oct 29th, 2014
First Look at "Black Panther" Costume
Oct 29th, 2014
"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed
Oct 29th, 2014
"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Unveils Titles, Logos and Release Dates For All Phase 3 Films
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team
Oct 28th, 2014
David Goyer Writing Superman Prequel TV Series "Krypton"?
Oct 28th, 2014
First Look at Emma Watson in "Colonia" Cult Thriller
Oct 28th, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Trailer Coming This Year?
Oct 28th, 2014
Ewan McGregor Says "Trainspotting" Sequel to Shoot in 2016
Oct 28th, 2014
Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in Marvel's "Doctor Strange"!
Oct 27th, 2014
"Furious 7" Unveils Second Poster
Oct 27th, 2014
Jesse Eisenberg May Return as Lex Luthor in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film
Oct 27th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Unveils Title and Poster, Trailer Coming Soon
Oct 27th, 2014
Photos: "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" to Show Funeral of Bruce Wayne's Parents?
Oct 27th, 2014
"Ouija" Easily Beat Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" at Box Office
Oct 27th, 2014
Russell Brand is Quitting Acting Because He's Scared of Money
Oct 27th, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says He Wanted to Play Wolverine and Batman
Oct 26th, 2014
Christopher Nolan No Longer Involved With Warner Bros' Superhero Films
Oct 26th, 2014
Trailer for Lee Daniels' "Empire" Hip-Hop TV Series, with Terrence Howard
Oct 26th, 2014
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer Coming in December
Oct 25th, 2014
New "Ant-Man" Set Photos are Possible Spoilers
Oct 25th, 2014
Disney's "John Carter" Actually Cost Over $300 Million to Make
Oct 25th, 2014
"Wonder Woman" Searching for Female Director
Oct 24th, 2014
"The Mummy" Reboot to Follow Navy SEAL in Iraq?
Oct 24th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Disney Confirms JJ Abrams Will Direct "Star Wars: Episode VII," Abrams to Produce "Star Trek 3"

Posted: January 26th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Disney Confirms JJ Abrams Will Direct "Star Wars: Episode VII," Abrams to Produce "Star Trek 3"Submit Comment
On Thursday, several sources learned that Disney hired JJ Abrams to direct "Star Wars: Episode VII." The studio has now confirmed the news with an official statement.

"I've consistently been impressed with JJ as a filmmaker and storyteller," said George Lucas. "He's an ideal choice to direct the new Star Wars film and the legacy couldn't be in better hands."

Abrams added: "To be a part of the next chapter of the 'Star Wars' saga, to collaborate with [producer] Kathy Kennedy and this remarkable group of people, is an absolute honor. I may be even more grateful to George Lucas now than I was as a kid."

Consulting on the project are Lawrence Kasdan and Simon Kinberg. Kasdan has a long history with Lucasfilm, as screenwriter on "The Empire Strikes Back," "Raiders of the Lost Ark" and "Return of the Jedi." Kinberg was writer on "Sherlock Holmes" and "Mr. and Mrs. Smith."

Meanwhile, LA Times has learned that Abrams will also continue work on the "Star Trek" franchise. He won't return to direct "Star Trek 3," but will remain as a producer.

Source: Disney, LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 49 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Detrimental writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 3:14:10 AM

Disney: "I saw you flirting with me when you were with that other bitch."

Abrams: "I was just... using R2D2 as an easter egg."

Disney: "Well, it's too late now. I likes ya. And I wants ya. Now, we can do this the easy way. Or the hard way."

Abrams: "But I already said I wasn't going to--"
Disney: *The hard way*

[cue vigorous anal rape, contorting rectum, gaping with hot spills of ejaculate mixed foamily with the bloody remains of eviscerated bowels]

Abrams: *Filed for divorce to Star Trek; agrees to pay alimony*
yoshi187 writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 4:04:37 AM

^LOL^

I thought he didn't wanna do it cos Star Trek was his thing? f*cking chump. Oh well, they could do a lot worse but like most people I would've been happy to see someone that hadn't spent the last 5 years sucking off Spock in the back of the Enterprise "take control" of ep 7.

Not yet cautious optimism has begun.
c-prime writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 4:07:13 AM

@ Detrimental: Outstanding reference to "The Boondocks". I applaud you on a hauntingly hysterical post.
pornfly writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 5:00:05 AM

Saw a teenage kid explain the plot of Total Recall to his dad at the video store today
*i hate people*
Kurskij writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 5:19:54 AM

@detrimental

That was noice
Dreamcast writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 5:24:00 AM

Let the 'light saber lens flare' jokes commence.
boogiel writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 6:33:51 AM

Well, I guess it's official now. I still don't know how should I feel about this news.


Rambo writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 6:52:34 AM

A good choice considering there aren't many better picks around.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 7:01:36 AM

Just don't end it like you ended Lost...
cress writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 7:48:18 AM

Abrams had nothing to do with how LOST ended. He kicked it off in 2004, then sat back and took a producing credit from there on out. It was Damon Lindeloff and Carlton Cuse who were the creative stewards of that show. And Lindeloff was the one responsible for that "sh*t the bed" terrible finale.
cress writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 8:20:33 AM

Hasn't anyone checked on Jon Favreau since the news broke? He may have drowned in his own tears. Poor liitle guy. That's what happens when you make two subpar sci-fi action flicks in a row. You get passed up on the potential director list by a guy who hasn't even made one--Ben Affleck.
TRUEMAN writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 8:55:22 AM

f*ck f*ck THIS sh*t f*ckING sh*t NO WAY f*ck DISNEY f*ck THIS CRAP EAT MY BALLS LUCAS f*ck THIS sh*t !!! FUUUUUUUUCKKKKKK NOOOOOOOOOOOOO
MOTHER f*ckERS!!!!! HERESY HERESY FUCCCCKKKKKK HE CAN DIRECT STWARS AND THR TREKCY sh*t NOOOOOOOOOO FUUUUUCK, SO THE R2D2 IN STAR TRECK WAS A SING??? NOOOOOOOOOOO f*ck NO THE CRAP AND THE FOOD DOESN'T MIX.

THEY ARE RAPING MY CHILDHOOD LIKE IN SOUTH PARK THEY RAPED INDIANA JONES!!!!

ARGHHH f*ck THIS sh*t, sh*t NO f*ck DISNEY f*ckING SAM THE "c*nt" WORTHINGTON FUUUUUUUUUUCKKKKKKKKK YOOUUUUUUUUUU I HATED YOU DISNEY FUUUUUUUUCK YOUUUUU!!!!!!!


TRUEMAN writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 8:55:54 AM

HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY HERESY
cress writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 9:00:16 AM

Trueman, no one raped your childhood except your father. Just admit that to yourself, and let the healing begin. God bless...
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 9:08:28 AM

This'll be interesting nonetheless.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 9:09:52 AM

Cress- Jon's probably all coked up and knee deep in hookers.
cress writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 9:12:02 AM

Your probably right BC.
cress writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 9:12:50 AM

You're
Rambo writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 11:44:29 AM

@cress

It would have been better if they ended Lost somewhere in mid season 5
swoooop writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 12:20:24 PM

What? No posts from Mink? Is he to buzzy photoshopping his stupied avatar?
cress writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 12:21:42 PM

@Rambo. I agree. I was really invested into Season 6, enjoyed all the episodes---until the series finale. That finale made the entire season a waste of my time in my eyes. It was f*cking pointless. I hated the finale. But I still love the show.
Rambo writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 1:20:43 PM

yep,it made the whole show stupid.they were dead all along.great.what was the f*cking point of showing us 6 seasons of after life mumbo jumbo?
TRUEMAN writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 3:11:12 PM

cress f*ck YOU! MY FATHER WAS DARH VADER AND HE RAPED YOUR MOTHER WITH HIS LIGTHSABER SO THATS MAKE US BROTHER AND I WILL KILL YOU WHEN YOU ARE SLEEP AND TAKE ALL YOUR MONEY AND RAPED YOU MOTHER WITH MY LIGHTSABER TOO FUUUUUUUCCCCCCKKKKKKK JJ! FUUUUUUUUCKKKKKK NO THIS SHIIIIIIIT
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 4:11:46 PM

I liked Jack Shepherds 300-esque jump to bitchsmack and Terry O'Win as Smokesies though.
Damon242 writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 4:43:05 PM

@cress

How was season 6 rendered "pointless" after the finale?

I hope you're not just talking about the Flash Sideways, because a lot of people base the entire season on that and it's all they discuss, never once referring to the island storyline.
cress writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 4:45:15 PM

Trueman, I....I am stunned by this news.
I...never knew...that I had a brother.
I only have one thing to say...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cbeR6uYxU50&feature=youtube_gdata_player


cress writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 5:08:01 PM

@Damon242. I think we've been around the block on this before. I hated the flash sideways for that season because of the gimmick of them being in purgatory sometime way off into the distant future. Whatever happened on the island happened a long time ago, and now they're meeting up in the afterlife to work sh*t out before moving on.
Bullsh*t. I hated that idea. It seemed like a "bait and
switch," because it seemed like the reason they couldn't
remember anything about the island was because of
something that happened on the island, which I thought was going to be in revealed in some big dramatic fashion.
But it wasn't.
And speakingof the island, they wrapped thibgs up about
as bad as my wrap-job on Xmas presents---terribly.
Nothing was explained about "the light". Who were the
original inhabitants of the island? What's with all the
Egyptian symbology? How is Jacob on and off the island all the time? Widmore went out like a bitch. Smokey Licke went out like a bitch. Jacob's cabin, the cave, the lighthouse, that business of Jack and Desmond "corking" it up, and on and on. All things touched upon but never explained. They kept posing mysteries instead of wrapping ones up they had. And ABC ran promos all seaon proclaiming viewers would get their answers. The ones we got were either vague or unsatiisfying. I still love the series, though, but I still can't swallow that ending.
Quatro writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 5:24:25 PM

Rambo writes:

"what was the f*cking point of showing us 6 seasons of after life mumbo jumbo?"

You clearly didnt understand the finale if you are under the impression that all 6 seasons of the show were the 'after life'. Because thats totally incorrect.

No wonder so many people hated the ending. They didnt get it.
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 5:41:35 PM

I concur with cress.

The entire flash-sideways gimmick was blatantly disingenuous and I knew it was an "afterlife' thing by the 2nd hour of the premiere of season 6.

Fool me once and all that jazz. Don't gonna get fooled again! - Dubya
cress writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 5:53:07 PM

There are two camps with the LOST finale. You are in the camp that was satisfied by how it ended, didn't need everything answered, and thought it was beautiful. I'm in the camp that hated the purgatory storyline, wanted some clear-cut answers, and was dissatisfied with the ones I got. Lindelof has said that if they gave answers to everything, people would still complain about what they got. That's probably true to a certain extent. But to be so goddamn vague in almost everything seemed to me to be an cop-out. Either the writers were lazy, didn't care what the viewers thought, or thought the viewers wouldn't "get it." Give me some Spock analytical and rational explanations somewhere in the narrative. About the only one we got was between Hurley and Michael and their conversation about the dead on the island(which I thought was a poorly conceived scene). It was a polarizing finale to say the least. But I still see references to that finale in other pop culture works, and they're usually bashing it.
cress writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 5:58:09 PM

^^^Sorry DeaftOne. That comment was for Damon242.
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 6:31:54 PM

Lol it's cool cress and I know exactly what you mean regarding/in regards to your assessment of what L O S T did over it's entire run.

The first rule of any puzzle is to make solvable or winnable or it's bot a puzzle. You are only designing a misnomer and an exercise in confusion if you ingnore this critically important rule.

L O S T was a hell of a time for the great cast and some truly genuine moments of brilliance and emotion. NOT PENNYS BOAT, Desmond's phone call with Penny, John Locke breaking down over how conplex his father was and that he still loved him even though he betrayed him in the most vile ways imaginable. The list goes on and on.

But what the writers forgot to do along with all the inspired character building was to have and give GENUINE answers to the overarching story they were so intent to make feel epic.

We never got those answers at the end and that is why L O S T remains a bittersweet experience for this guy and i'm sure many others.
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 6:33:32 PM

it/not/ignore^
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 6:35:55 PM

Complex^ f*cking virtual keyboardsĄ
cress writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 7:00:17 PM

@DeaftOne. Well said, and great examples.
Arti writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 7:46:26 PM

The problem with the LOST finale was never the lack of answers given, because at that point most answers had been given, even if most of them were lame.

The problem was that in all their communication (and mostly podcasts, for the hardcore fans), Lindelof and Cuse made it very clear that they had a big plan, they gloated about it, made it sound smart, thriving from people's questions every week, loving to say things that would suggest there was something huge coming up. And the finale of LOST was what it was, the end of the show, so also the end of all hope that that big plan might still happen, which some fans still believed until the end.

I don't hold against Lindelof and Cuse that they created some mysteries that they didn't have the answers to at the time. I don't hold it against them that they had a lot of cliffanghers that were actually dead-ends. I don't even hold it against them that Season 6 was the most terrible piece of writing I'd seen in years and I couldn't believe such a weak season after the first five. I would forgive all that because they tried something amazing with LOST, a show that had balls and that did something that no one else had ever done. But I will never forgive them for lying so much about what the show was, just to keep people watching. Lying inside and outside the show, actually.

Was it the fans fault for getting roused up about all this? Or the writers' fault for letting everyone believe they had something huge coming up? Probably a bit of both. In any case, they could have done without spending most of their time during season 6 doing stupid videos and interviews about the finale, and if they'd spend a little bit more time in the writers room instead, they could still have come up with a decent final season. Given the corner they were in, I'd say the finale playing on emotion and using the characters' card was the best thing they could do to get out alive, and it worked, if you see how many people bought their bullsh*t that the show was always about characters (there are far better shows for that out there, and if someone believed that they really are naive, because Lindelof's stories are NEVER about the characters, and all about the plot).

I agree with the bittersweet statement, it's a perfect word for LOST, I both love and hate LOST, it's been years and I still can't make a decision about the value of this show. Most amazing things I've seen on TV, by far. But also the most outrageous, stupid, dishonest and unethical writing I've seen as a whole.

If you follow Lindelof a little though, and listen closely to what he says about writing, he is perfectly aware that isn't a major writer, he doesn't think he's very good, and the reason is just that, he's great at having "cool ideas" but he's terrible at making them solid. He'd sacrifice coherence every time for a little bit of "a cool thing." It sums up LOST.
cress writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 7:52:11 PM

^^^Thumbs up
CelluloidMan writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 8:04:15 PM

If Abram's work on M:I III is gauged of how he handles a mainstream franchises, then I foresee Abram's SW version to be solid, but not epic...

Which is still good in my book, 'cus the original trilogy are pretty big ass clown shoes to fill. I can only imagine the pressure Abrams will have & be put on himself to make this first entry memorable for a new generation.
Dark8 writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 9:15:16 PM

@ranger STFU....
Dark8 writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 9:15:18 PM

@ranger STFU....
Arti writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 9:21:23 PM

Thing is, we can't not separate his work from Michael Arndt's, on MI:3, Super 8 and Star Trek, if I'm not mistaken he was one of the screenwriters and put in the films some of the things that are in all of his works, I'm not sure how much he'll be able to do that on Star Wars if he's not writing the script. But hopefully now that he's on board the both of them will be working together to write it.
Personally I don't think anyone could have been a better choice, and as mentioned by someone before, when you see what's been done with the past 3 SW films, I think we're all going to be gasping in relief when we see the first images of the film in 2 years, it will be such an improvement no matter what. Damn Lucas for having such a big heard for so long.
mariachi writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 10:59:45 PM

@CelluloidMan
AGREED
Rambo writes:
on January 27th, 2013 at 12:23:47 AM

For me Lost should have ended with the season 5 finale...it was an awesome episode bringing up the john locke twist...part of the reason season 6 sucked was that we didn't care anymore about John Locke because it wasn't him anymore.
PrettyBoyFloyd writes:
on January 27th, 2013 at 3:55:33 AM

I just hope the film isn't rushed.
Biz Malarkey writes:
on January 27th, 2013 at 2:19:12 PM

Cress - thanks for explaining the show to someone who has never watched an episode.

So does this mean George will direct and jj will collect?
minkowski writes:
on January 27th, 2013 at 2:28:46 PM

Pretty great news.
BlackDynamite writes:
on January 27th, 2013 at 2:41:34 PM

I can just imagine the lens flare on every lightsaber.
cress writes:
on January 27th, 2013 at 9:15:27 PM

@Biz. No problem. Though I really didn't explain anything much except Season 6. I would often describe LOST to friends as "a plane crashes on an island somewhere in The Twilight Zone." It's a great show, with great plot twists, great character development, and just damn good stories. It renewed my faith in what television could be---high quality, almost cinematic experiences. Don't let my bashing of the series finale dissuade you from checking it out.
Johnnyb writes:
on January 28th, 2013 at 3:15:54 PM

Already foreseen a bad fate for this ala Xmen franchise, remember?!

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer

"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!

Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved