WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Why is This "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Poster So Offensive?
Jul 30th, 2014
TJ Miller Explains Why He'll Never Work With Director Michael Bay Again
Jul 30th, 2014
New Trailer For "Maze Runner" Sci-Fi Thriller
Jul 30th, 2014
Zoe Saldana Gives an Update on "Avatar" Sequels
Jul 30th, 2014
Trailer for "The Longest Week" Comedy, with Jason Bateman and Olivia Wilde
Jul 30th, 2014
Watch 5 Minutes From "The Simpsons" and "Family Guy" Crossover Episode
Jul 29th, 2014
Sam Raimi and Bruce Campbell Developing "Evil Dead" TV Series
Jul 29th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel Makes Offer to "Attack the Block" Director Joe Cornish
Jul 29th, 2014
Jodie Foster to Direct George Clooney in "Money Monster" Thriller
Jul 29th, 2014
Trailer For The Asylum's "The Expendables" Rip-Off, With Brigitte Nielsen and Vivica A. Fox
Jul 29th, 2014
New Poster for "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies"
Jul 29th, 2014
Extended Restricted Trailer for "Sin City 2: A Dame to Kill For"
Jul 29th, 2014
First Photos From Ben Stiller's "Night at the Museum 3"
Jul 29th, 2014
Photos: Lots of "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Props On Display at Comic-Con
Jul 28th, 2014
"Deadpool" Movie Test Footage Leaked Online
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
"Mad Max: Fury Road" Comic-Con Trailer is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "Air" Sci-Fi Film, From Creator of "The Walking Dead"
Jul 28th, 2014
New Trailer for "Batman" Prequel TV Series "Gotham"
Jul 28th, 2014
Comic-Con Trailer For DC's "Constantine" TV Series
Jul 28th, 2014
"Lucy" Destroys "Hercules" at the Box Office
Jul 27th, 2014
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Comic-Con Trailer Leaked Online!
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 27th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel "Skull Island" Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
Full "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Banner Revealed
Jul 27th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Sequel Confirmed, Release Date Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
"Godzilla 2" Announced, Three Monsters Revealed
Jul 27th, 2014
Four Character Posters for Tom Hardy's "Mad Max: Fury Road"
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at The Thing From "Fantastic Four" Reboot?
Jul 26th, 2014
Trailer for Kevin Smith's "Tusk" Horror Film
Jul 26th, 2014
Chris Pratt Wants to Kill Iron Man in Future Marvel Film
Jul 26th, 2014
New Trailer for Daniel Radcliffe's "Horns" Supernatural Thriller
Jul 26th, 2014
First Bizarre Photo From "SpongeBob SquarePants: Sponge Out of Water" Movie
Jul 26th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Lost Ending to "The Shining" is Found

Posted: January 25th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Lost Ending to "The Shining" is FoundSubmit Comment
After Stanley Kubrick's "The Shining" was released in limited theaters, the director decided to cut two minutes from the ending. He ordered all reels to be returned to Warner Bros to make sure that the footage would be destroyed.

Even though we'll likely never see the original ending, "Toy Story 3" director Lee Unkrich, who is a huge fan of "The Shining," tracked down the script for the film and posted the final, four-page scene in its entirety.

Diane Johnson, who helped write the screenplay for "The Shining," explained what's in the cut footage and why it was cut. "Kubrick had filmed a final scene that was cut, where Wendy and Danny are recovering from the shock in a hospital and where Ullman visits them," she explained. "Kubrick felt that we should see them in the hospital so we would know that they were all right. He had a soft spot for Wendy and Danny and thought that, at the end of a horror film, the audience should be reassured that everything was back to normal."

The final scene takes place after the events at the Overlook Hotel, with Mr. Ullman in a hospital telling Wendy that Jack's body was never found. The scene ends with Ullman throwing a yellow ball to Danny.

Check out the final script pages below, in addition to three photos from the cut scene.

Script - Final Four Pages: (click to enlarge)


Final Scene Photos: (click to enlarge)


Source: The Overlook Hotel, PeliBlog.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 47 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 7:02:24 AM

Thank Christ this never happened.
McQueen writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 7:18:03 AM

Redrum, redrum, redrum...
pornfly writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 7:27:40 AM

Wheres the sex scene with Scatman Coruthers and the ol' lady?
cress writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 7:41:26 AM

I would like to see a phantom edit of The Shining where Shelley Duvall is not even in the film. She was terrible. I bet Nicholson really did want to chop her up by the end of shooting.
pornfly writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 7:58:11 AM

Shelley had a love child with Robin Williams during the filming of Popeye.
They named it Khloe and dumped it in the Kardashians shower drain, where she was fished out with the Turbo Snake and groomed/raised as their own.
pornfly writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 8:13:49 AM

OH YEAH? Well i found the long lost Bob Dylan 'Its Friday' cover-song
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9FISHEO3gsM&feature=youtube_gdata_player
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 8:16:22 AM



wait till
the guy who directed
the doc*mentary ROOM 237 hears about this

he will be in movie heaven : )
cress writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 8:16:38 AM

lol porn
cress writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 8:22:34 AM

I hear the little kid that played Danny Torrance grew up to do porn films. His tagline in every film was "Do you like how I shine? Cause I'm about to shine all over your face "
pornfly writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 8:25:30 AM

CRESS
I heard he teamed up with that kid from A Christmas Story/The Toy called 'I Triple-Dog Dare You To Lick My Shiny Pole'
cress writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 8:33:28 AM

lol--you are one funny cat Pornfly
pornfly writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 8:37:40 AM

Hoohoohoo CRESS
RRROW!
*nohomo*
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 8:42:45 AM

Was Scatman still going over what's in the pantry and walk-in freezer on his death bed?
cress writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 8:44:28 AM

lol..all while an ax is buried in his chest
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 9:33:10 AM

I haven't seen this movie in ages.
McQueen writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 9:55:54 AM

@Bad

But have you seen this recently?

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-2267373/What-slip-Nicole-Scherzinger-reveals-nipple-black-dress-NTAs.html
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 10:09:19 AM

Did anyone read the review for "movie 43"? It sounds like the director has been a regular member on this site and put the most sick and twisted jokes of this site and made a movie out of it. He did sanely leave lohag out of it since the movie would bomb if she were atttached.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 10:22:28 AM

Bullit- god damn, thank you my friend. As ironic as it sounds a friend of mine's cousin was her roommate at Wright State her in Ohio. she said she was the nastiest bitch and stuck up c*nt that she ever dealt with and that was before Eden's Crush. Can't imagine what she would be like today.
i124q writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 10:26:18 AM

More to the point, have they found the lost Lost ending yet? (Sorry, I couldn't resist).
McQueen writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 11:33:45 AM

@Bad

I heard quite a few time now that she's pretty much like that. Poor Lewis Hamilton! No wonder he did so many f*ck-ups during last season. Still, the bitch has nice nipples though...
Ranger writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 11:42:56 AM

@jeff - link please.

As for this news...

I guess this is no better or worse than: 'Shining ending to Lost is found.'
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 12:40:23 PM

http://www.worstpreviews.com/review.php?id=1836§ion=review
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 1:11:35 PM

That's some truly awesome dialogue!
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 1:22:43 PM

Finally I can watch Flight. Only took two weeks to download that movie. Phew. Life is hard.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 1:27:17 PM

shut the f*ck up! there's an additional ending to one of my favorite horror films of all time!?

okay, i gotta read it... brb :P
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 1:27:46 PM

Mink- Flight was pretty good, no?
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 1:32:40 PM

actually wasn't that bad.. i think they could have added this small scene into the movie and it would have fit nicely
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 1:38:46 PM

I thought the circ*mcised ending was pretty good too, other than the dialogue, which could have used a little sprucing up.



And yes, tanny baby**, Flight is pretty f*cking great.






**no homo. I'm going to start referring to all you cool people with mobsterish nicknames, just because.
pornfly writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 1:46:23 PM

Come awn CHAD
you know girls are notorious for hatin on hot chics
Even if theyr hot themselves
That fact was cemented when i used to watch that dating show The Fifth Wheel
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lbCyElB-gFc&feature=youtube_gdata_player
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 3:29:48 PM

Fact is truly stranger than fiction.


LEGO accused of racism because of Star Wars set.


http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/europe/austria/9820517/Lego-accused-of-racism-with-Star-Wars-set.html




“The terrorist Jabba the Hutt likes to smoke a hookah and have his victims killed,” said the statement posted on the organisation’s website.

“It is clear that the ugly figure of Jabba and the whole scene smacks of racial prejudice and vulgar insinuations against Asians and Orientals as people with deceitful and criminal personalities.”




I prefer hookahs to smoke me, tbh.
trailertrash writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 4:55:03 PM

Always thought Jabba was a Turk !
trailertrash writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 4:57:14 PM

Shelley Duvall was the scariest thing about The Shining
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 5:06:26 PM

Re: Flight

Bob Zemeckis knocked it out of the f*cking park for his first live-action film in almost a decade and Denzel was no slouch either.

Also he and John Goodman have not acted together since the underrated Fallen and Goodman kills it even though he has less than 5 mins of screen time.

Flight, more like DAMN RIGHT!
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 5:24:37 PM

Bruce Greenwood doesn't slack either.
pornfly writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 5:37:28 PM

RANGER
Just read your post about Amanda Pays
Did you know her husband cheated on her while on their honeymoon?
When she married that L.A. Law/Major League guy
His name just left my head
trailertrash writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 5:39:14 PM

^ Corbin Bernsen
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 6:16:35 PM

@mink

Yeah Bruce Greenwood was good too. Did you ever see Nowhere Man back in the day on UPN? One of the eeriest shows ever.
Jarmiez writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 6:33:30 PM

i read on bloodydisgusting that this wasnt the ending necessarily, you see torrance frozen to death then this scene then the pass down the hallway to the july 1921 party with nicholsons face
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 6:34:48 PM

Yep. I remember that show. Lasted what, one season? lol. Good old UPN.
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 6:46:39 PM

@mink

Yeah and it got progressively terrifying how f*cked he was over taking that photo.

The Dean Stockwell ep was a def standout.
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 6:48:49 PM

Quantum Leap and The Pretender are 2 other shows I miss a lot.
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 6:50:06 PM

MillenniuM, Profiler.

K ima stop.
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 7:32:46 PM

The real Woz criticizes jOBS

http://gizmodo.com/5978777

Not close...we never had such interaction and roles...I'm not even sure what it's getting at...personalities are very wrong although mine is closer...don't forget that my purpose was inspired by the values of the Homebrew Computer Club along with ideas of the value of such machines and Steve J. wasn't around and didn't attend the club so he was the one learning about such social impact of the future.
Rambo writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 7:48:09 PM

what to expect of the new star wars:

http://www.buzzfeed.com/donnad/jj-abrams-taking-over-star-wars-what-we-might
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 8:16:20 PM

lol!
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 1:14:48 AM

Tabby baby... I like it!

Minkydoodle! :)
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 1:28:32 AM

And JB is tubby baby.

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Joaquin Phoenix in Talks for Marvel's "Doctor Strange"

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility

Gary Oldman Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved