WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Photo of Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy in "Victor Frankenstein"
Jul 4th, 2015
Two More Photos From "Deadpool" Comic Book Film
Jul 4th, 2015
"Hello Kitty" to Become $200 Million Movie
Jul 4th, 2015
New Photos From "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies"
Jul 4th, 2015
Lots of New "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Photos and Story Details
Jul 3rd, 2015
New Photo From Ryan Reynolds' "Deadpool" Comic Book Film
Jul 3rd, 2015
"Monopoly" Movie Hires "The Truman Show" Writer
Jul 3rd, 2015
New Photo From Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight"
Jul 3rd, 2015
"Terminator Genisys" - What Did You Think?
Jul 2nd, 2015
New Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Steve Jobs" Biopic is Here!
Jul 2nd, 2015
New Trailer for "Transporter" Reboot
Jul 2nd, 2015
Trailer for "Rocky" Spin-Off "Creed"
Jul 1st, 2015
Trailer for Gerard Butler's "Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel, "London Has Fallen"
Jul 1st, 2015
Marlon Wayans Threatening to Make "White Chicks" Sequel
Jul 1st, 2015
Teaser Trailer for Oliver Stone's "Snowden" Film, with Joseph Gordon-Levitt
Jul 1st, 2015
Robert Zemeckis Says He'll Stop Any "Back to the Future" Reboot
Jun 30th, 2015
Titles for "Star Trek 3" and "Guardians of the Galaxy 2" Revealed
Jun 30th, 2015
First Look at Costumes From "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Jun 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Ten Thousand Saints," with Ethan Hawke and Asa Butterfield
Jun 30th, 2015
"Ted 2" Underperforms at Box Office, "Jurassic World" Continues to Dominate
Jun 29th, 2015
"Lucy" and "Colombiana" Sequels in the Works
Jun 27th, 2015
Steven Spielberg Acquires Michael Crichton's "Micro" Novel
Jun 27th, 2015
New "Heroes Reborn" Trailer Arrives Online
Jun 26th, 2015
Photos From New Episodes of "The X-Files"
Jun 26th, 2015
New Trailer for Tom Hardy's "Legend" Thriller
Jun 26th, 2015
Adrian Grenier Would Make "Aquaman" Cameo
Jun 26th, 2015
Shia LaBeouf Hospitalized After Sustaining a Head Injury on Set
Jun 25th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Rampage" Video Game Movie
Jun 25th, 2015
First Look at Gerard Butler in "London Has Fallen"
Jun 25th, 2015
Emma Watson Joins Tom Hanks in "The Circle" Thriller
Jun 25th, 2015
"Spider-Man" Reboot Announces Actor and Director
Jun 24th, 2015
First Trailer for "Paranormal Activity: The Ghost Dimension"
Jun 24th, 2015
Channing Tatum Says He Hates "GI Joe: The Rise of Cobra"
Jun 24th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Lost Ending to "The Shining" is Found

Posted: January 25th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Lost Ending to "The Shining" is FoundSubmit Comment
After Stanley Kubrick's "The Shining" was released in limited theaters, the director decided to cut two minutes from the ending. He ordered all reels to be returned to Warner Bros to make sure that the footage would be destroyed.

Even though we'll likely never see the original ending, "Toy Story 3" director Lee Unkrich, who is a huge fan of "The Shining," tracked down the script for the film and posted the final, four-page scene in its entirety.

Diane Johnson, who helped write the screenplay for "The Shining," explained what's in the cut footage and why it was cut. "Kubrick had filmed a final scene that was cut, where Wendy and Danny are recovering from the shock in a hospital and where Ullman visits them," she explained. "Kubrick felt that we should see them in the hospital so we would know that they were all right. He had a soft spot for Wendy and Danny and thought that, at the end of a horror film, the audience should be reassured that everything was back to normal."

The final scene takes place after the events at the Overlook Hotel, with Mr. Ullman in a hospital telling Wendy that Jack's body was never found. The scene ends with Ullman throwing a yellow ball to Danny.

Check out the final script pages below, in addition to three photos from the cut scene.

Script - Final Four Pages: (click to enlarge)


Final Scene Photos: (click to enlarge)


Source: The Overlook Hotel, PeliBlog.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 47 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 7:02:24 AM

Thank Christ this never happened.
McQueen writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 7:18:03 AM

Redrum, redrum, redrum...
pornfly writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 7:27:40 AM

Wheres the sex scene with Scatman Coruthers and the ol' lady?
cress writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 7:41:26 AM

I would like to see a phantom edit of The Shining where Shelley Duvall is not even in the film. She was terrible. I bet Nicholson really did want to chop her up by the end of shooting.
pornfly writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 7:58:11 AM

Shelley had a love child with Robin Williams during the filming of Popeye.
They named it Khloe and dumped it in the Kardashians shower drain, where she was fished out with the Turbo Snake and groomed/raised as their own.
pornfly writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 8:13:49 AM

OH YEAH? Well i found the long lost Bob Dylan 'Its Friday' cover-song
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9FISHEO3gsM&feature=youtube_gdata_player
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 8:16:22 AM



wait till
the guy who directed
the doc*mentary ROOM 237 hears about this

he will be in movie heaven : )
cress writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 8:16:38 AM

lol porn
cress writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 8:22:34 AM

I hear the little kid that played Danny Torrance grew up to do porn films. His tagline in every film was "Do you like how I shine? Cause I'm about to shine all over your face "
pornfly writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 8:25:30 AM

CRESS
I heard he teamed up with that kid from A Christmas Story/The Toy called 'I Triple-Dog Dare You To Lick My Shiny Pole'
cress writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 8:33:28 AM

lol--you are one funny cat Pornfly
pornfly writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 8:37:40 AM

Hoohoohoo CRESS
RRROW!
*nohomo*
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 8:42:45 AM

Was Scatman still going over what's in the pantry and walk-in freezer on his death bed?
cress writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 8:44:28 AM

lol..all while an ax is buried in his chest
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 9:33:10 AM

I haven't seen this movie in ages.
McQueen writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 9:55:54 AM

@Bad

But have you seen this recently?

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-2267373/What-slip-Nicole-Scherzinger-reveals-nipple-black-dress-NTAs.html
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 10:09:19 AM

Did anyone read the review for "movie 43"? It sounds like the director has been a regular member on this site and put the most sick and twisted jokes of this site and made a movie out of it. He did sanely leave lohag out of it since the movie would bomb if she were atttached.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 10:22:28 AM

Bullit- god damn, thank you my friend. As ironic as it sounds a friend of mine's cousin was her roommate at Wright State her in Ohio. she said she was the nastiest bitch and stuck up c*nt that she ever dealt with and that was before Eden's Crush. Can't imagine what she would be like today.
i124q writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 10:26:18 AM

More to the point, have they found the lost Lost ending yet? (Sorry, I couldn't resist).
McQueen writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 11:33:45 AM

@Bad

I heard quite a few time now that she's pretty much like that. Poor Lewis Hamilton! No wonder he did so many f*ck-ups during last season. Still, the bitch has nice nipples though...
Ranger writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 11:42:56 AM

@jeff - link please.

As for this news...

I guess this is no better or worse than: 'Shining ending to Lost is found.'
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 12:40:23 PM

http://www.worstpreviews.com/review.php?id=1836§ion=review
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 1:11:35 PM

That's some truly awesome dialogue!
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 1:22:43 PM

Finally I can watch Flight. Only took two weeks to download that movie. Phew. Life is hard.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 1:27:17 PM

shut the f*ck up! there's an additional ending to one of my favorite horror films of all time!?

okay, i gotta read it... brb :P
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 1:27:46 PM

Mink- Flight was pretty good, no?
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 1:32:40 PM

actually wasn't that bad.. i think they could have added this small scene into the movie and it would have fit nicely
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 1:38:46 PM

I thought the circ*mcised ending was pretty good too, other than the dialogue, which could have used a little sprucing up.



And yes, tanny baby**, Flight is pretty f*cking great.






**no homo. I'm going to start referring to all you cool people with mobsterish nicknames, just because.
pornfly writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 1:46:23 PM

Come awn CHAD
you know girls are notorious for hatin on hot chics
Even if theyr hot themselves
That fact was cemented when i used to watch that dating show The Fifth Wheel
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lbCyElB-gFc&feature=youtube_gdata_player
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 3:29:48 PM

Fact is truly stranger than fiction.


LEGO accused of racism because of Star Wars set.


http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/europe/austria/9820517/Lego-accused-of-racism-with-Star-Wars-set.html




“The terrorist Jabba the Hutt likes to smoke a hookah and have his victims killed,” said the statement posted on the organisation’s website.

“It is clear that the ugly figure of Jabba and the whole scene smacks of racial prejudice and vulgar insinuations against Asians and Orientals as people with deceitful and criminal personalities.”




I prefer hookahs to smoke me, tbh.
trailertrash writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 4:55:03 PM

Always thought Jabba was a Turk !
trailertrash writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 4:57:14 PM

Shelley Duvall was the scariest thing about The Shining
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 5:06:26 PM

Re: Flight

Bob Zemeckis knocked it out of the f*cking park for his first live-action film in almost a decade and Denzel was no slouch either.

Also he and John Goodman have not acted together since the underrated Fallen and Goodman kills it even though he has less than 5 mins of screen time.

Flight, more like DAMN RIGHT!
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 5:24:37 PM

Bruce Greenwood doesn't slack either.
pornfly writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 5:37:28 PM

RANGER
Just read your post about Amanda Pays
Did you know her husband cheated on her while on their honeymoon?
When she married that L.A. Law/Major League guy
His name just left my head
trailertrash writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 5:39:14 PM

^ Corbin Bernsen
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 6:16:35 PM

@mink

Yeah Bruce Greenwood was good too. Did you ever see Nowhere Man back in the day on UPN? One of the eeriest shows ever.
Jarmiez writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 6:33:30 PM

i read on bloodydisgusting that this wasnt the ending necessarily, you see torrance frozen to death then this scene then the pass down the hallway to the july 1921 party with nicholsons face
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 6:34:48 PM

Yep. I remember that show. Lasted what, one season? lol. Good old UPN.
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 6:46:39 PM

@mink

Yeah and it got progressively terrifying how f*cked he was over taking that photo.

The Dean Stockwell ep was a def standout.
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 6:48:49 PM

Quantum Leap and The Pretender are 2 other shows I miss a lot.
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 6:50:06 PM

MillenniuM, Profiler.

K ima stop.
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 7:32:46 PM

The real Woz criticizes jOBS

http://gizmodo.com/5978777

Not close...we never had such interaction and roles...I'm not even sure what it's getting at...personalities are very wrong although mine is closer...don't forget that my purpose was inspired by the values of the Homebrew Computer Club along with ideas of the value of such machines and Steve J. wasn't around and didn't attend the club so he was the one learning about such social impact of the future.
Rambo writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 7:48:09 PM

what to expect of the new star wars:

http://www.buzzfeed.com/donnad/jj-abrams-taking-over-star-wars-what-we-might
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2013 at 8:16:20 PM

lol!
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 1:14:48 AM

Tabby baby... I like it!

Minkydoodle! :)
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2013 at 1:28:32 AM

And JB is tubby baby.

Hugh Jackman on Quitting Wolverine and Making "Deadpool" Cameo

Hugh Jackman Quit Wolverine Role Because of Jerry Seinfeld

It's Official: "Jurassic World" Beats "The Avengers" for Biggest Box Office Opening

Marvel and Sony Can't Agree on Which Actor Should Play Spider-Man

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

"Jurassic World" is a Massive Hit, Chris Pratt to Return for Sequel

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Plot Synopsis Revealed

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase

Targon Egerton Wants to Replace Hugh Jackman as Wolverine
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved