WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Joaquin Phoenix No Longer Thinks Oscars are Stupid

Posted: January 22nd, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Joaquin Phoenix No Longer Thinks Oscars are StupidSubmit Comment
Back in October, many thought that Joaquin Phoenix had a good chance of being nominated for the Best Actor Oscar for his performance in "The Master." But the actor revealed that he doesn't want to win the Oscar. In fact, he wants nothing to do with the event.

"I think it's bullsh*t and I don't want to be a part of it," he said. "It's totally subjective. Pitting people against each other... It's the stupidest thing in the whole world. It was one of the most uncomfortable periods of my life when 'Walk the Line' was going through all the awards stuff. I never want to have that experience again."

But it seems that Phoenix will have to experience this again, because he ended up being nominated. Since that happened, the actor softened his stance on winning awards and might actually be looking forward to it.

"I struggle with the idea of winning awards for acting. Stating I'm Best Actor for something as subjective as film seems strange to me," he said in a new interview. "It implies I'm solely responsible for the creation and implementation of the character. I am not. [But] for me this award is an encouragement to continue my lifelong passion of being an actor. I will not squander this high regard."

Source: HuffingtonPost


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
McQueen writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 7:14:54 AM

First it was bullsh*t and now he doesn't want to squander it!

After you spat and sh*t in the soup, now you're willing to drink & eat it.

Way to go Joaquin, you're one weird son of a bitch.
McQueen writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 7:19:57 AM

But I think it's already too late as the Academy has more respect for a person like Daniel Day-Lewis than a hypocritical bastard like you Phoenix.
pornfly writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 7:27:59 AM

Good thing i dont care what actors think about anything

Fix yo lip nigga
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 7:47:46 AM



@ McQueen

it's too late
as the Academy's head is up obama's ass

therefore day lewis will win
any other year joaquin would win
he gives the kinda performance
deniro used to give
McQueen writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 8:08:28 AM

Yeah but he obviously forgot the adage: think before you speak.

I don't care if people are willing to sh*t around but for any actor the Oscars is the holy grail for them so I find it a bit pretentious to say the the least and now all of sudden he just realised whats he's going to miss. Obama or not.

Either you stick with you said or you don't and his move was quite sleazy to me. Being a good actor is one thing but being a twisted d*ckhead is another.
cress writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 9:26:24 AM

Joaquin still thinks the twist ending to "The Village" is stupid, though.
Cannon writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 9:32:15 AM


His brother is dead.

cress writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 9:41:09 AM

Cry Me a River
McQueen writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 10:02:25 AM

Lol
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 10:10:34 AM

Even Bradley Pooper in Silver Linings Playbook and Denzel in Flight gave better performances than DDL in Lincoln. It was just a slow,plodding,boring trudge of a movie. Phoenix should win because hecwas FANTAASTIK!
Avirex writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 10:11:59 AM

His lip would have made him the perfect Two-Face.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 10:19:47 AM

What a weirdo!!
Patrick Bateman writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 11:45:44 AM

phoenix deserves to win but he wont even if you dont liek him cant deny he pulls off some good roles here and there
Ranger writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 12:33:19 PM

So... I'll go against the grain on this one. When I read the headlines, knowing how eccentric this guy is...

He's back-peddling for sure. But if read clearly, he's really tweaking what he said in his first (more blunt) statement. The new one... he's clarifying (more... 'gentlemanly' lol).

Many of us don't like the political crap that surrounds The Oscar's. But maybe JP is learning that a win for him, is a win for everyone involved in the movie. More DVD sales, more cable deals. The grunts on the crew can put it on their resumes and get more work etc.

Maybe he's growing up and bit, and learning... when in Rome (Russell Crowe will kick your ass!).
Ranger writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 12:37:24 PM

PS: He's right. The Oscars are stupid.
Dark8 writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 12:46:41 PM

Ranger is sooooo boring......
Ranger writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 12:56:43 PM

Yes I am.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 1:45:01 PM

@ Patrick Bateman

phoenix deserves to win but he wont
he pulls off some good roles

we own the night
two lovers
U Turn
walk the line
the yards
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 1:48:31 PM



@ Deaft0ne

Lincoln was a slow,plodding,boring movie

if bush was still president..
people would all agree with you
but with saint obama being black and all

i guess ''everybody'' has to love the movie
trailertrash writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 1:51:03 PM

Stupid is as Stupid does, I guess .....
vincere01 writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 1:58:24 PM

When he loses people will find him hours later wandering the auditorium muttering " I'm luke skywalker, I have to use the force..." anyone get that reference.....?
Rambo writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 3:26:55 PM

Slave!!! you will remove your helmet and tell me your name...
Dark8 writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 4:12:01 PM

ranger <3 8=========D
Kurskij writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 4:40:11 PM

Translation "Harvey Weinstein is holding me by the balls and having one p*ssy is enough. When it's on yoFace!"

minkowski writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 4:58:50 PM

More than likely, he said that because he thought he had no chance to win or be nominated. Kind of like anticipating failure. Now that he's not thinking like a loser, he's a bit more optimistic.

*shrug*



@Dark: Ranger is greater than 38, which is extra extra equal to the letter D?

You never make a lick of sense, son.
Kurskij writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 5:09:56 PM

btw "Olympus Has Fallen" trailer is out

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=sMZyJLcHwmo
james236 writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 5:25:07 PM

I really liked that film he did "we own the night".
ProfMovies writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 5:41:45 PM

He stands an ice cube's chance in hell of winning anyway.
THE MASTER was a movie that NO ONE wanted to see, and, even after the award nods...STILL DON'T!!
Harvey Weinstein was wise in not trying to ride this one to the Oscars!
Instead, he's going with SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK, and he stands a much better chance of taking home some gold.
Rambo writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 7:15:55 PM

@kurskij

looks solid although it will probably flop...I mean - Butler,Eckhart and the asian villain from die another day?

would be awesome though if kiefer sutherland pops up for a cameo and shouts 'Damn it !'
Rambo writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 7:30:14 PM

it's interesting that 2 upcoming movies present plot to assassinate the president...a sign for real coming events?
Kurskij writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 7:30:32 PM

^true, though I'd say it looks ok, not exactly solid (it's rumored to have cost about $80 mil.) - CG is sh*tty in typical Nu Image fashion.

Fuqua delivered a solid action movie in "Shooter" so I won't write this off just yet.

Kiefer better finally pop up with a "24" movie.
Rambo writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 7:38:22 PM

hopefully with a kim bauer gang bang scene
bandolero999 writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 7:44:45 PM

Who the f*ck is anselmojones?
He posted 4x how much he loves us on the vin diesel thread
Rambo writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 8:07:15 PM

probably dark
Jedimax writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 8:23:19 PM

I agree with Ranger 100%,

He really is only tweaking a tiny bit, I have seen a great deal of academy award campaigning 1st hand, and I can easily see how for actors/directors it can seem like grueling BS experience to put aside 3 months to go to festival/industry screenings, do a million Q&A's with networks/magazine/newspapers, attend the other award shows, and then after all that know that your chances of winning that year are slim at best given the way the academy votes, and you don't really get too much of a choice he must have had it a lot harder with Fox running the campaign for Walk the Line, then the Weinstein company that basically conceded The Master was only their 3rd most likely picture to bring in awards and they would much rather devote the money and time to having their PR firm campaign for Django and SPB.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved