WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Zoolander 2" Teaser Trailer Arrives Online
Aug 1st, 2015
First Look at Robert Redford as Dan Rather in "Truth"
Aug 1st, 2015
New Photos of Emma Watson in "Colonia" Cult Thriller
Aug 1st, 2015
"They Live" Actor and WWE Star "Rowdy" Roddy Piper Dead at 61
Aug 1st, 2015
First Look at Jake Gyllenhaal in "Demolition," From Director of "Dallas Buyers Club"
Jul 31st, 2015
New Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass"
Jul 31st, 2015
Trailer for "The Night Before" Comedy, with Seth Rogen, Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Anthony Mackie
Jul 30th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Bay's "13 Hours" Benghazi Thriller
Jul 30th, 2015
Channing Tatum Quitting "Gambit" Film?
Jul 30th, 2015
Trailer for Mark Ruffalo's "Spotlight," About Pedophile Priests
Jul 30th, 2015
New Trailer for "Sicario" Thriller, with Emily Blunt and Josh Brolin
Jul 30th, 2015
Vince Vaughn Joins Mel Gibson's "Hacksaw Ridge" WWII Film
Jul 30th, 2015
Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals
Jul 25th, 2015
Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
Jul 25th, 2015
New Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
Jul 25th, 2015
"Jurassic World" Sequel Gets Release Date, Chris Pratt to Return
Jul 24th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson's "Baywatch" Movie Hires "Horrible Bosses" Director
Jul 24th, 2015
Russell Crowe in Talks to Join "King Kong" Prequel
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2" is Here!
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
Jul 24th, 2015
LeBron James Signs Deal with Warner Bros, "Space Jam 2" Happening?
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "Mississippi Grind" Poker Film
Jul 23rd, 2015
Final Restricted Trailer for "Vacation" Sequel
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Patrick Wilson's "Zipper" Thriller
Jul 23rd, 2015
Full Trailer for "Spectre" James Bond Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for Pixar's "The Good Dinosaur" Animated Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Kung Fu Panda" Director Making "Emoji" Movie
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Pacific Rim 2" to Begin Filming in November
Jul 22nd, 2015
Backstreet Boys and 'NSync Members Unite for "Dead 7" Low-Budget Horror Film
Jul 21st, 2015
Benicio Del Toro May Play Villain in "Star Wars: Episode VIII"
Jul 21st, 2015
Trailer for "Before We Go," Chris Evans' Directorial Debut
Jul 21st, 2015
"The Godfather" Actor Alex Rocco Dead at 79
Jul 21st, 2015
New Trailer for "American Ultra," with Jesse Eisenberg and Kristen Stewart
Jul 21st, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Death Wish" Director Dies

Posted: January 21st, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Death Wish" Director DiesSubmit Comment
British director Michael Winner, best known for helming the controversial 1974 "Death Wish" thriller, starring Charles Bronson, as well as its two sequels, has died. He was 77 years old.

Winner was sick for a while. And last summer, doctors gave him only eighteen months to live. His career spanned five decades and he worked with such actors as Burt Lancaster, Marlon Brando, Sophia Loren and Michael Caine.

Despite directing many other movies, last year he told The Big Issue: "When I die, it's going to be 'Death Wish director dies.' I don't mind though. [It's] the first film in the history of cinema where the hero kills other civilians. It had never been done before. Since then it has been the most copied film ever. Tarantino put it in his top 10 films ever made."

Source: PeliBlog.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on January 21st, 2013 at 6:04:34 PM

Let the puns begin!
pornfly writes:
on January 21st, 2013 at 6:25:19 PM

After directing Sophia Loren he had a bust a nut all over her face then she rubs it all over her cleavage wish.

Thx for all the good cinema
R.I.P.
Electro Rock writes:
on January 21st, 2013 at 6:47:02 PM

I wonder if he believes in Jesus.....cuz he's about to meet him.
Rambo writes:
on January 21st, 2013 at 6:47:18 PM

Death wish 6 : Death for real
minkowski writes:
on January 21st, 2013 at 7:04:51 PM

He should've asked to watch Star Trek 2 before he died, and then someone could make a movie about it.

Death Wish.
bandolero999 writes:
on January 21st, 2013 at 7:46:27 PM

Sorry but death wish is poop.overrated as f*ck
cress writes:
on January 21st, 2013 at 8:10:19 PM

He tried unsuccessfully in the 80s to create "The Make-A-Death-Wish" Foundation, where Charles Bronson woukd come to your house and blow your f*cking head off as you lay in bed dying.
minkowski writes:
on January 21st, 2013 at 8:13:41 PM

What if you wanted to die The Mechanic way? You know...clever.
cress writes:
on January 21st, 2013 at 8:22:50 PM

^^^Jan Michael Vincent could come over and perform a one man play in front of the dying. Twenty minutes of his acting would be enough to kill anyone.
minkowski writes:
on January 21st, 2013 at 8:24:24 PM

I'll take the bullet instead.
30YoVirgin writes:
on January 21st, 2013 at 9:49:08 PM

@bando just watched movie starring your buddy Colin Farrell. movie was crap with the exception of Sam Rockwell and Christopher Walken. but there was an epic moment that's almost makes this movie worth watching. Abbie Cornish wet T-Shirt boobs nipples hard!!! I know it's doesn't sound like much but trust me it was GLORIOUS
Ranger writes:
on January 21st, 2013 at 9:50:05 PM

My homage to Tony Scott:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J5Sf2fZWjzQ
Ranger writes:
on January 21st, 2013 at 9:50:32 PM

Oh, and RIP Michael W.
minkowski writes:
on January 21st, 2013 at 10:00:01 PM

And here's planet earth's companion homage to Tony "splatterhead" Scott

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k7in-9E3ImQ
cress writes:
on January 21st, 2013 at 10:00:08 PM

@Ranger. lol. Here's my Scott tribute...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XCDKJQ3Z8bU&feature=youtube_gdata_player



Ranger writes:
on January 21st, 2013 at 10:49:59 PM

lol. Jesus, we're a sensitive bunch.
Kurskij writes:
on January 21st, 2013 at 11:09:42 PM

"When I die, it's going to be 'Death Wish director dies.'

Alex is on a roll.

@ranger/cress

lol,

http://youtu.be/LebpTjCyLfQ?t=18s
Ranger writes:
on January 21st, 2013 at 11:28:09 PM

... sniffle...

Tony would have loved that.
pornfly writes:
on January 21st, 2013 at 11:44:47 PM

I do
minkowski writes:
on January 21st, 2013 at 11:50:48 PM

"Tarantino put it in his top 10 films ever made."

Dude was one of those guys who catches a minnow and says he caught a trout. Next year it's a bass, the year after the f*cking whale that swallowed Jonah and f*cked up Ahab's life.

Fact is, not that anyone cares as I'm just making noise, Tarantino supposedly said he was a "big fan" of DW, from what Winners said on Piers Morgan's Life Stories show. How that went from being a big fan to one of the best movies ever made, I have no idea.

Furthermore, I can't find Death Wish on a single Top Ten or Top Twenty QT Favorites list anywhere.

Even so, QT lists sh*t like Boogie Nights, so obviously favorite doesn't mean the same thing as best made.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 12:19:51 AM

RIP mate!!

Every time someone passes away I can't help but think, Is Gary still on that stool in Heaven to where he can't fall off this time? f*ck you Shannon Price!!!!!
Electro Rock writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 1:27:38 AM

Ah heaven.....where we can gather around and watch a good street fight between Charles Bronson and Jack Palance. Winner gets to fight Ernest Borgnine.
Ranger writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 2:27:33 AM

Shannon Price. f*ck... that Sasquatch must suck a pretty mean pole to have stayed off getting charged.
trailertrash writes:
on January 22nd, 2013 at 3:35:48 AM

Michael Winner AKA the guy that f*cked the girl from the kids show Grange Hill

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X1VgcxE9Lpw


RIP !!

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase

"Spider-Man" Reboot Announces Actor and Director

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

"The Amazing Spider-Man 3" Would Have Brought Characters Back From the Dead
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved