WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer Coming in December
Oct 25th, 2014
New "Ant-Man" Set Photos are Possible Spoilers
Oct 25th, 2014
Disney's "John Carter" Actually Cost Over $300 Million to Make
Oct 25th, 2014
"Wonder Woman" Searching for Female Director
Oct 24th, 2014
"The Mummy" Reboot to Follow Navy SEAL in Iraq?
Oct 24th, 2014
Noomi Rapace Discusses "Prometheus 2" Storyline
Oct 24th, 2014
Christian Bale Confirmed For Steve Jobs Biopic, To Appear in Every Frame of the Film
Oct 24th, 2014
"Insidious Chapter 3" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"The Hobbit" Trilogy Becomes Most Expensive Production of All Time
Oct 23rd, 2014
Quicksilver to Return For "X-Men: Apocalypse" and Maybe Solo Film
Oct 23rd, 2014
Restricted Trailer For Mark Wahlberg's "The Gambler" Thriller
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Evangeline Lilly as Hope Pym on Marvel's "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 23rd, 2014
New Trailer for "The Woman in Black" Sequel
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Johnny Depp as The Wolf in Disney's "Into the Woods"
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!
Oct 22nd, 2014
"John Carter" Reboot in the Works, Disney Not Involved
Oct 22nd, 2014
James Wan to Direct "The Conjuring 2," May Direct DC Superhero Film
Oct 22nd, 2014
Ghostface Will NOT Appear in "Scream" TV Series
Oct 22nd, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Oct 22nd, 2014
Adam McKay Plans to Make "Step Brothers 2" in a Few Years
Oct 22nd, 2014
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Steven Spielberg and Tom Hanks Re-Team for Third WWII Mini-Series

Posted: January 19th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Steven Spielberg and Tom Hanks Re-Team for Third WWII Mini-SeriesSubmit Comment
Steven Spielberg and Tom Hanks previously worked with HBO on "Band of Brothers" and "Pacific" World War II mini-series. And now comes word that all three parties are re-teaming for a third one.

Spielberg and Hanks acquired the rights to "Masters of The Air: America's Bomber Boys Who Fought the Air War Against Nazi Germany," a book by Donald Miller. The story will follow a group of officers and other enlisted men who served in the Eighth Air Force and fought in the air war against Germany.

Based in England, the men of the "Mighty Eighth" faced unprecedented physical, psychological and moral challenges. Hanks and Spielberg are producing. No word when filming will begin.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Fat Guy in a Little Coat writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 6:59:54 AM

Yesssssssssssss
Gates writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 7:25:03 AM

^^ I love your avatar.
pornfly writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 7:36:41 AM

Would rather see a sub movie
Ranger writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 7:40:23 AM

Thank God Spielberg and Hanks don't need the ca$h or careers and have kept their sex tape to themselves.

I watched both, Band of Brothers (fantastic), and Pacific, great story, but didn't have the magic 'BoB's' did.

So, looking forward to this new project.

***** SPOILER ALERT! *****





The Germans lose.


cress writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 8:12:59 AM

@Ranger. The Germans didn't lose. They escaped to the moon in their flying saucers that Werner Von Braun helped build.

*on a side note, I'm a f*cking idiot.
Cannon writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 8:38:32 AM


Always the one aspect of America's involvement with WWII that fascinated me the most; even more than the fighter pilots who flew in both theaters, there's something particularly cool and frightening about the self-contained universe of those bomber planes.

With today's FX and the budget that will follow the names Spielberg and Hanks, I'm expecting this to be thrilling and well done.

Ranger writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 8:50:37 AM

@cress - I've seen, read some of those theories... lol.

@Cannon - well said. Hope you're crafty one of your golden dialogues for the Arnie thread.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 9:02:11 AM

Memphis Belle redux
Stapes writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 9:13:49 AM

Seriously? The Navy gets last billing with these two chickensh*ts? Screw you elitest douches.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 9:48:47 AM

I say we clone Hitler and let him have another crack at it.
vincere01 writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 11:26:39 AM

I too enjoyed BoB and pacific. I also enjoyed the movie Memphis Belle as Sac eluded to. Mix the talents of those involved, the budget, and a great mix of those shows and that movie and I see another golden success. Now I gotta find a website that has good quality hbo programming for free. I ain't paying for that sh*t no matter how good it is. Maybe hbo should bring about a single series on demand subscription service. Hmmmm I think I just had a really great idea.....
buttabean writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 11:27:54 AM

Awesome. Loved BOB's, action characters, true heroes.

I wasn't a big fan of Pacific because it's dark reality of how devastating war can be on a person. Really depressing.

I'm curious what the tone and theme they will choose to focus on in this series... possibly how detrimental it was for the bombers to go back over the lines to get the job done.
trailertrash writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 12:24:57 PM

I own both of these series but have yet to watch them !
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 1:55:52 PM

Steven, sell your soul to HBO and never make a bad film again.


Trust me, after almost 6 YEARS of sh*t, you need to make the transfer.
minkowski writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 2:04:20 PM

Land (BoB) sea (Pacific) and air. Naturally this one would be last. they're following the time-honored pattern. Duh.


"there's something particularly cool and frightening about the self-contained universe of those bomber planes."

That would be subs, really. Submariners were under the water for days, weeks, even months. Bomber pilots were up and away and back comparatively quickly. Bombers simply couldn't go that far back then, and couldn't carry enough fuel to stay aloft very long.

Hell, IIRC, it was one of the reasons the Tokyo bombing run, revenge for Pearl Harbor, ended with the bombers crashing inside China, because of the fact they wouldn't have enough fuel to fly back.

Also, being inside a tank, say during the Battle of Kursk, the largest tank battle in history, was a hell of a lot more frighteningly self-contained, and many of those men died, melted inside their tight tin cans.
Cannon writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 3:42:20 PM

@Mink:

All good points, but I wasnít suggesting that the bomber crews had it the worst. Every faction of the war is fascinating (and horrific) in its own right. I also agree that more films or a strong cable series about sub-warfare of the time would be cool. I mean, what do we really have so far?

Das Boot is the only memorable film depicting such events. U-571 was a descent story but mediocre movie. They could go on forever telling stories about all different types of battle that went on. They also need more good films or shows about the North African theater.

But for me Iím a romantic about flying, and thereís something about the bombers; the fact that those men were cramped together high in the sky.

Ranger writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 4:49:00 PM

Agree on Das Boot. Almost had you feeling for the Germans.

@mink - my dad was a tank driver. Crazy sh*t. Anyone firing at you was usually using a weapon that would destroy tanks.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Panzerfaust
Their far superior Tiger tank.

And when you're a tank, and a target... good luck with hiding.

But the submariners. Craziest sh*t of them all!
Rambo writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 5:13:56 PM

Steven Spielberg...remember the days this guy made good movies?
pornfly writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 5:17:00 PM

A pre-nuke era sub movie would be more entertaining.
Only for the fact that nuke subs can go dead silent forever thus making for a boring movie and not that much technical data could be shown(its all classified secret trust me)
Diesel engine subs are only owned (bought from the russians) by third world countries ALL having their own sound signatures due to emergency battery powered engines,communication freqs and diesel engine sound signatures.
All making for a good sub-hunting movie
Search
Localization
Attack
Counter maneuvers
Johnnyb writes:
on January 20th, 2013 at 1:44:22 PM

So we already see them battling in land, on the pacific and now on air? What's next? battle underwater!!!!! No thanks, enough with Spielberg obsession with WWII, just let it go man and make something fresh. Do not starting milking the WWII era like your friend Lucas did with Star Wars! C'mon!!!!!
OneTime writes:
on January 21st, 2013 at 12:05:00 AM

nice
Crash_Nemesis writes:
on January 21st, 2013 at 3:22:56 AM

Reply to PornFly... There is an independent sub film about a crew of RAF bomber pilots that get shot down over Germany. You can see a work in progress trailer here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J3am9oxF8zk

Film is called Angel of the Skies

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer

Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved