WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment
Mar 1st, 2015
"Star Trek" Actor Leonard Nimoy Dead at 83
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Black Widow, Thor and Nick Fury Posters
Feb 28th, 2015
First Look at Eddie Redmayne as First Transgender Person in "The Danish Girl"
Feb 28th, 2015
Leonardo DiCaprio to Have 24 Personalities in "The Crowded Room"
Feb 28th, 2015
"Brewster's Millions" Remake Gets a Director
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils The Hulk Poster
Feb 27th, 2015
Director Neill Blomkamp Says His "Elysium" Film is Not Very Good
Feb 27th, 2015
Harrison Ford Confirmed for "Blade Runner 2," Director Announced
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp Clarifies His "Alien 5" Comments
Feb 27th, 2015
"Red Sonja" is Happening Again
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp's "Alien" Sequel Will Give Ripley a Proper Ending
Feb 26th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Iron Man Poster
Feb 26th, 2015
Official "Creed" Plot Synopsis Hints at Rocky's Health Issues
Feb 26th, 2015
Four New Photos From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Feb 26th, 2015
"Tomb Raider" Reboot Hires "Divergent" Writer
Feb 26th, 2015
Poster for Marvel's "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Feb 25th, 2015
Arnold Schwarzenegger Says He'll Return For "Terminator Genisys" Sequel
Feb 25th, 2015
Dark "Power Rangers" Short Film with James Van Der Beek
Feb 25th, 2015
"The LEGO Movie" Sequel Announces Director
Feb 25th, 2015
Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?
Feb 24th, 2015
Chris Pratt Comments on Starring in "Indiana Jones 5"
Feb 24th, 2015
Rooney Mara Says "Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" Sequel is Dead
Feb 24th, 2015
New Trailer for Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Action Film, From Director of "Taken"
Feb 24th, 2015
"Fifty Shades of Grey" Still First at Box Office, "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" Bombs
Feb 23rd, 2015
Academy Award Winners Announced!
Feb 22nd, 2015
Steven Spielberg May Direct Chris Pratt in "Indiana Jones 5"
Feb 22nd, 2015
Hugh Jackman Wants to Play Wolverine Until He Dies
Feb 22nd, 2015
"Wonder Woman" Set to Begin Filming This Fall
Feb 22nd, 2015
2015 Razzie Winners Announced!
Feb 22nd, 2015
Trailer for "Infinitely Polar Bear," with Mark Ruffalo and Zoe Saldana
Feb 22nd, 2015
First Look: Jason Momoa is Aquaman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Feb 21st, 2015
Joss Whedon Blames Edgar Wright for Not Having Ant-Man in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Feb 21st, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Steven Spielberg and Tom Hanks Re-Team for Third WWII Mini-Series

Posted: January 19th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Steven Spielberg and Tom Hanks Re-Team for Third WWII Mini-SeriesSubmit Comment
Steven Spielberg and Tom Hanks previously worked with HBO on "Band of Brothers" and "Pacific" World War II mini-series. And now comes word that all three parties are re-teaming for a third one.

Spielberg and Hanks acquired the rights to "Masters of The Air: America's Bomber Boys Who Fought the Air War Against Nazi Germany," a book by Donald Miller. The story will follow a group of officers and other enlisted men who served in the Eighth Air Force and fought in the air war against Germany.

Based in England, the men of the "Mighty Eighth" faced unprecedented physical, psychological and moral challenges. Hanks and Spielberg are producing. No word when filming will begin.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Fat Guy in a Little Coat writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 6:59:54 AM

Yesssssssssssss
Gates writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 7:25:03 AM

^^ I love your avatar.
pornfly writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 7:36:41 AM

Would rather see a sub movie
Ranger writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 7:40:23 AM

Thank God Spielberg and Hanks don't need the ca$h or careers and have kept their sex tape to themselves.

I watched both, Band of Brothers (fantastic), and Pacific, great story, but didn't have the magic 'BoB's' did.

So, looking forward to this new project.

***** SPOILER ALERT! *****





The Germans lose.


cress writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 8:12:59 AM

@Ranger. The Germans didn't lose. They escaped to the moon in their flying saucers that Werner Von Braun helped build.

*on a side note, I'm a f*cking idiot.
Cannon writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 8:38:32 AM


Always the one aspect of America's involvement with WWII that fascinated me the most; even more than the fighter pilots who flew in both theaters, there's something particularly cool and frightening about the self-contained universe of those bomber planes.

With today's FX and the budget that will follow the names Spielberg and Hanks, I'm expecting this to be thrilling and well done.

Ranger writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 8:50:37 AM

@cress - I've seen, read some of those theories... lol.

@Cannon - well said. Hope you're crafty one of your golden dialogues for the Arnie thread.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 9:02:11 AM

Memphis Belle redux
Stapes writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 9:13:49 AM

Seriously? The Navy gets last billing with these two chickensh*ts? Screw you elitest douches.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 9:48:47 AM

I say we clone Hitler and let him have another crack at it.
vincere01 writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 11:26:39 AM

I too enjoyed BoB and pacific. I also enjoyed the movie Memphis Belle as Sac eluded to. Mix the talents of those involved, the budget, and a great mix of those shows and that movie and I see another golden success. Now I gotta find a website that has good quality hbo programming for free. I ain't paying for that sh*t no matter how good it is. Maybe hbo should bring about a single series on demand subscription service. Hmmmm I think I just had a really great idea.....
buttabean writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 11:27:54 AM

Awesome. Loved BOB's, action characters, true heroes.

I wasn't a big fan of Pacific because it's dark reality of how devastating war can be on a person. Really depressing.

I'm curious what the tone and theme they will choose to focus on in this series... possibly how detrimental it was for the bombers to go back over the lines to get the job done.
trailertrash writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 12:24:57 PM

I own both of these series but have yet to watch them !
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 1:55:52 PM

Steven, sell your soul to HBO and never make a bad film again.


Trust me, after almost 6 YEARS of sh*t, you need to make the transfer.
minkowski writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 2:04:20 PM

Land (BoB) sea (Pacific) and air. Naturally this one would be last. they're following the time-honored pattern. Duh.


"there's something particularly cool and frightening about the self-contained universe of those bomber planes."

That would be subs, really. Submariners were under the water for days, weeks, even months. Bomber pilots were up and away and back comparatively quickly. Bombers simply couldn't go that far back then, and couldn't carry enough fuel to stay aloft very long.

Hell, IIRC, it was one of the reasons the Tokyo bombing run, revenge for Pearl Harbor, ended with the bombers crashing inside China, because of the fact they wouldn't have enough fuel to fly back.

Also, being inside a tank, say during the Battle of Kursk, the largest tank battle in history, was a hell of a lot more frighteningly self-contained, and many of those men died, melted inside their tight tin cans.
Cannon writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 3:42:20 PM

@Mink:

All good points, but I wasnít suggesting that the bomber crews had it the worst. Every faction of the war is fascinating (and horrific) in its own right. I also agree that more films or a strong cable series about sub-warfare of the time would be cool. I mean, what do we really have so far?

Das Boot is the only memorable film depicting such events. U-571 was a descent story but mediocre movie. They could go on forever telling stories about all different types of battle that went on. They also need more good films or shows about the North African theater.

But for me Iím a romantic about flying, and thereís something about the bombers; the fact that those men were cramped together high in the sky.

Ranger writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 4:49:00 PM

Agree on Das Boot. Almost had you feeling for the Germans.

@mink - my dad was a tank driver. Crazy sh*t. Anyone firing at you was usually using a weapon that would destroy tanks.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Panzerfaust
Their far superior Tiger tank.

And when you're a tank, and a target... good luck with hiding.

But the submariners. Craziest sh*t of them all!
Rambo writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 5:13:56 PM

Steven Spielberg...remember the days this guy made good movies?
pornfly writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 5:17:00 PM

A pre-nuke era sub movie would be more entertaining.
Only for the fact that nuke subs can go dead silent forever thus making for a boring movie and not that much technical data could be shown(its all classified secret trust me)
Diesel engine subs are only owned (bought from the russians) by third world countries ALL having their own sound signatures due to emergency battery powered engines,communication freqs and diesel engine sound signatures.
All making for a good sub-hunting movie
Search
Localization
Attack
Counter maneuvers
Johnnyb writes:
on January 20th, 2013 at 1:44:22 PM

So we already see them battling in land, on the pacific and now on air? What's next? battle underwater!!!!! No thanks, enough with Spielberg obsession with WWII, just let it go man and make something fresh. Do not starting milking the WWII era like your friend Lucas did with Star Wars! C'mon!!!!!
OneTime writes:
on January 21st, 2013 at 12:05:00 AM

nice
Crash_Nemesis writes:
on January 21st, 2013 at 3:22:56 AM

Reply to PornFly... There is an independent sub film about a crew of RAF bomber pilots that get shot down over Germany. You can see a work in progress trailer here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J3am9oxF8zk

Film is called Angel of the Skies

Joss Whedon Blames Edgar Wright for Not Having Ant-Man in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

Will Smith Trashes "Another Earth," Vince Vaughn Trashes "The Internship"

More Details on Marvel's Spider-Man Deal, New Spider-Man to be Younger

Mark Ruffalo Discusses The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" and in New Solo Film

It's Official: Spider-Man to Appear in Marvel Films

Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?

Matthew Vaughn Reveals His Version of Quicksilver Scene in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Director Matthew Vaughn Wanted Two Wolverines in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Confirmed: Neill Blomkamp Will Direct New "Alien" Film

Jared Leto Talks Playing The Joker in "Suicide Squad"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved