WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
New Trailer for "The Conjuring" Spin-Off "Annabelle"
Aug 22nd, 2014
New Trailer for "Young Ones" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Nicholas Hoult
Aug 22nd, 2014
New Trailer For Jake Gyllenhaal's "Nightcrawler" Thriller
Aug 21st, 2014
Trailer for Shailene Woodley's "White Bird in a Blizzard" Thriller
Aug 21st, 2014
Photo: Better Look at Henry Cavill in His Superman Costume on Set of "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 21st, 2014
Teaser Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" Leaked Online
Aug 21st, 2014
Trailer for Nicolas Cage's Insane "Outcast" Film
Aug 21st, 2014
Christian Bale and Cate Blanchett Join "Jungle Book: Origins"
Aug 21st, 2014
Trailer: Katie Holmes is a Vigilante in "Miss Meadows"
Aug 21st, 2014
Pierce Brosnan Was Offered Lead in Tim Burton's "Batman," Thought It Was a Joke
Aug 20th, 2014
Trailer for Antonio Banderas' "Automata" Sci-Fi Film
Aug 20th, 2014
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "Men, Women and Children," Directed by Jason Reitman
Aug 20th, 2014
Daughters of Johnny Depp and Kevin Smith to Star in "Yoga Hosers"
Aug 20th, 2014
Photo: Is Scoot McNairy Playing The Flash in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Aug 20th, 2014
Trailer For "A Good Marriage" Thriller, Based on Stephen King's Short Story
Aug 20th, 2014
New Trailer For "Ouija" Supernatural Thriller, Based on Board Game
Aug 20th, 2014
Benedict Cumberbatch is Shere Khan in "The Jungle Book" Film
Aug 20th, 2014
First Look at Paul Rudd in Marvel's "Ant-Man"
Aug 20th, 2014
Mark Wahlberg in Talks for "Deepwater Horizon" BP Oil Disaster Film
Aug 20th, 2014
Photos of Henry Cavill as Superman on Set of "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 19th, 2014
Alfred Molina Wants to Return as Spider-Man Villain Doctor Octopus in "Sinister Six"
Aug 19th, 2014
Trailer for Lifetime's "Saved By the Bell" Movie
Aug 19th, 2014
"Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel Hires Director, Filming to Begin in October
Aug 19th, 2014
"The Fault in Our Stars" Director in Talks for Anne Rice's "Lestat" Vampire Film
Aug 19th, 2014
Milla Jovovich is Pregnant, "Resident Evil: The Final Chapter" Gets Delayed
Aug 18th, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Star Wants More Money, May Get Replaced
Aug 18th, 2014
"The Devil's Advocate" to Become a TV Series
Aug 18th, 2014
Photo: Marc Webb Unveils Concept Art From "The Amazing Spider-Man" Spin-Off "Sinister Six"
Aug 18th, 2014
Video: Robin Williams Recorded Message of Hope For Terminally Ill Woman
Aug 18th, 2014
First Posters for Antonio Banderas' "Automata" Sci-Fi Film
Aug 18th, 2014
"The Expendables 3" Bombs at the Box Office, "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Still On Top
Aug 17th, 2014
Concept Art of Main Villain and Han Solo From "Star Wars: Episode VII"
Aug 17th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio, Tom Hardy and Tobey Maguire Sign On for Animal Poaching Film
Aug 17th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Al Sharpton Calls "Django Unchained" Toys Offensive, Weinstein Company Removes Them from Stores

Posted: January 18th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Al Sharpton Calls "Django Unchained" Toys Offensive, Weinstein Company Removes Them from StoresSubmit Comment
After the success of Quentin Tarantino's "Django Unchained," the Weinstein Company teamed up with NECA to make action figures based on the characters in the movie, including Django (Jamie Foxx), Calvin Candie (Leonardo DiCaprio), King Schultz (Christoph Waltz), Stephen (Samuel L Jackson) and Broomhilda (Kerry Washington).

The studio has done this before with "Inglourious Basterds" by making figurines of Nazi Col. Hans Landa (Christopher Waltz) and Lt. Aldo Raine (Brad Pitt). But this time, Al Sharpton and the civil rights group Project Islamic Hope have come forward stating that "Django" toys are offensive and have called for a boycott of them.

The Weinstein Company has now decided not to proceed with making the toys. "In light of the reaction to the 'Django Unchained' action figures, we are removing them from distribution," said the company. "We have tremendous respect for the audience and it was never our intent to offend anyone. They were meant to be collectibles for people 17 years and older, which is the audience for the film."

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 60 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on January 18th, 2013 at 9:42:18 PM

Yes, These toys ARE offensive because they are crap.

xtlhogciao writes:
on January 18th, 2013 at 9:48:51 PM

Why single out Sharpton, as if he was the only one upset about it?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on January 18th, 2013 at 9:49:44 PM

I wasn't going to buy them because I wasn't a fan of the clothing on them, but now I want to buy them just to spite these f*cking oversensitive crybabies, god damn it.
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 18th, 2013 at 9:52:01 PM

Oh, lighten up a bit you over-reacting negros.
Ranger writes:
on January 18th, 2013 at 10:00:42 PM

Let off some steam Al. Go steal a car.

BadChadB33 writes:
on January 18th, 2013 at 10:03:15 PM

^
Or rob a 7-11
Ranger writes:
on January 18th, 2013 at 10:04:39 PM

^ Or violate your parole.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 18th, 2013 at 10:10:05 PM

^ or rape a white woman
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 18th, 2013 at 10:11:09 PM

I'm pals with Al, as a matter of fact we just robbed a 7 eleven and gangraped Kate Upton just last week!
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 18th, 2013 at 10:12:10 PM

That's awesome, was it taped?
Ranger writes:
on January 18th, 2013 at 10:14:35 PM

Taped rape is the best!
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 18th, 2013 at 10:15:50 PM

Nope, we didn't want Tarantino to use it in his next film.



"Chocolate Lightning", co-starring Spike Lee and Sammy Jackson as "Cobra"
Ranger writes:
on January 18th, 2013 at 10:15:59 PM

And you stole my 'white woman' line.

R U BLEK?!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e3A3NIWn_a4
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 18th, 2013 at 10:16:27 PM

We will next time we do typical n*gger-ish things!
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 18th, 2013 at 10:17:13 PM

Yes, I am black. Blacker than the back of Forest Whitaker's neck.
Ranger writes:
on January 18th, 2013 at 10:19:19 PM

Run Whitaker, Runnnn (from da cops!).
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 18th, 2013 at 10:21:12 PM

aye gurl. i saw dat u wanted dat choklat cobra.








u wan sum fuk gurl? mmm yea guurl
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 18th, 2013 at 10:24:14 PM

I wanna go to South Africa.
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 18th, 2013 at 10:25:01 PM

Al Sharptonia a fat n*gger faggot and these toys should be everywhere
Fat n*gger faggot.
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 18th, 2013 at 10:27:51 PM

Tarantino fan 101 ^
Ranger writes:
on January 18th, 2013 at 10:30:56 PM

lol.
DirtyMartini writes:
on January 18th, 2013 at 11:14:10 PM

i want me a darky doll.
minkowski writes:
on January 18th, 2013 at 11:14:31 PM

Must have been really hard for the Weinsteins.

Caught between making an easy buck and surrendering to fascism is always a tough dichotomy for the Jew.
Quidd writes:
on January 18th, 2013 at 11:15:42 PM

Just goes to show that now black people are the man. White people fear blacks and what they think and say. Most people would rather be called a murderer or a rapist then a racist now a days.
sedibus writes:
on January 18th, 2013 at 11:17:09 PM

Or how about this instead,

You found a way to make a successful business career and then some f*cking idiot full of envy tries to f*ck you up straight up into your pocket as if he/she was a modern day "robin-hood".

Then in a story like this, this Group bastards and people like the good old and nice Weinstein's decided to apply into some sick publicity stunt like this and f*ck other people's ideas before their going to plant the seed of their own work.

Which in any case it wont offend nor hurt anybody but themselves.

So, way to go, friendly people, way to go.
minkowski writes:
on January 18th, 2013 at 11:34:09 PM

Wait till they see the toys for Hasbro's upcoming Hangman movie.
pornfly writes:
on January 18th, 2013 at 11:51:19 PM

They shouldve made the black dolls light skinned
That wouldve really pissed them off
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 12:01:53 AM

Lol no just saying. Stop whining about irrelevance.
Ranger writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 12:15:13 AM

Or my line of KKK dolls.

http://tinyurl.com/TheRangerKKKcollection
Ranger writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 12:16:15 AM

Do you know why Barbie never had a black friend?

Because he was in jail.
minkowski writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 12:19:25 AM

^^Those are from that unreleased line of Civil War GI JOES, right?

Anyway. Jamie Foxx labels Spike "Bigtime *sshole" Lee "irresponsible", "shady".

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/01/18/jamie-foxx-spike-lee-django-unchained-criticism_n_2505894.html

More fodder for the fire...
Fightclub1 writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 12:22:22 AM

Black people are the TRUE racist in this country now
Ranger writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 12:23:23 AM

And my fav... my mummy.

http://tinyurl.com/RangersAuntJemimaMUMMY
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 12:26:30 AM

http://youtu.be/9mTshBwONXM
minkowski writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 12:28:24 AM

That's the worst picture of Oprah Winfrey I've ever seen, Ranger.
minkowski writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 12:30:53 AM

"Black people are the TRUE racist in this country now"

Amen.
Ranger writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 12:31:06 AM

The outfit wasn't very flattering.
minkowski writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 12:36:23 AM

Nope. Looked like someone took a sh*t in Willie Nelson's bandana.
andthebabymakes3 writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 12:53:47 AM

I find Al Sharpton offensive and would like him to go away...
Osiris3eagle writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 12:55:04 AM

Those are going to be worth a lot of money in a few years.
KaloVisor writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 1:10:14 AM

and what is offensive about them exactly??
Ranger writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 1:25:51 AM

Some are blek.
Ranger writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 1:32:13 AM

PS: The Avengers parody at The Hut really needs some audio.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 3:45:44 AM



oh for f*ck sake !!!

if nobody got shot this year
they would all tell the truth...
those toys are beauty full and funny
and a real collectors item

just like chewy bacca or hans solo action figures
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 3:47:52 AM



Al Sharpton
and the civil rights group Project Islamic Hope have called for a boycott of them

islam ???

those c*nts shot Malcom X
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 3:52:20 AM



@ KaloVisor

and what is offensive about them exactly??

nothing
not one single thing full stop

just because a black man was elected
they think they have a right
to tell everybody what is right
and what is wrong
if Bush was president right now
they wouldn't be afraid to say it out loud

YOU ARE USING THE GUN VICTIMS TO MAKE YOURSELF LOOK GOOD !!!!!

f*ckin sc*m bag
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 3:54:46 AM



get ready to laugh
are you ready ??
now... look at this

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_i_3_7?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=django+action+figures&sprefix=django+%2Caps%2C1022
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 3:58:23 AM



better watch it while you can
before some cotton pickin watermelon chewing self righteous ni**** bans the movie too !!!

http://www.movie2k.to/Django-Unchained-watch-movie-2379131.html
Avirex writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 3:59:08 AM

Al Sharpton doesn't represent the black community anymore than Larry the Cable Guy represents white America. Though Sharpton is a bigger *sshole for pretending he does. I heard he actually worked as an informant as a young man for the FBI against political black groups.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 4:03:22 AM


oscar nominee
BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR

http://www.putlocker.ch/file/d68be3662714bb0a0f7c20d87204053a/#
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 4:05:13 AM



maybe they should boycott the oscars too
we wouldn't want
to offend anyone would we ??

http://www.sockshare.ws/file/nw12uT94Kfz4lZEl#
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 4:11:06 AM



@ Avirex

''political black groups''

what are the odds ??

i was just thinking
Eddie Murphy should play a bad guy
like a razor sharp bail bonds man or a black guerilla maybe

his best performance
in my opinion was 48 HRS

he needs to go back to that gritty kinda role

what were those groups like ???

THE COMPANY YOU KEEP kinda stuff

only problem is..
if he played a bail bondsman
people would see it
as ripoff of robert forster in Jackie Brown
Ranger writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 7:30:35 AM

48 Hours and Trading Places.

All down hill from there.

cress writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 7:57:07 AM

You want offensive, check out the line of Human Centipede toys. Actually comes with "real human fecal matter" accessory.
Stapes writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 9:21:33 AM

Jesus Christ, first you complain about not having enough afro centric toys, now you want the few produced pulled from shelves. You just cant win with you people. Lesson is, stop making black toys. Sgt. Stalker and Roadblock were always the first Joes to die anyway.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 2:00:02 PM



@ Stapes

''you just cant win with you people''

YOU people ????

ha ha ha
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 4:57:04 PM

I fully concur with Bane even if his enter key is haunted.
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 4:57:04 PM

I fully concur with Bane even if his enter key is haunted.
TonyWalnuts writes:
on January 19th, 2013 at 11:50:25 PM

@deaft0ne I have to say that haunted comment was absolutely hilarious. I guffawed reading it.
Tsingtao44 writes:
on January 20th, 2013 at 4:24:30 AM

I can't f*ckin stand it.anymore!!!! f*ck Al Sharpton and anyone else who is.offended by anything! Lighten the f*ck.up and f*ck off America is a bunch of pussies!wahhhhh racism wahhhh violence wahhhh sex wahhhhh there's no black NFL coaches ...enough bitches

"Sharknado 2" Breaks Records with 3.9 Million Viewers

Ronda Rousey Says She Should Have Been Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

TJ Miller Explains Why He'll Never Work With Director Michael Bay Again

Bruce Wayne's Age in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed

Robin Williams' Cause of Death Revealed

Anthony Mackie Says He's Ready to Become Captain America

"The Expendables 3" Bombs at the Box Office, "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Still On Top

James Gunn Says "Guardians and the Galaxy" and "Avengers" Superheroes May Soon Meet

"Batman v Superman" Director Zack Snyder Defends Aquaman's Powers

Jackie Chan Discusses "The Expendables 4" and "Rush Hour 4"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved