WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Jurassic World" Trailer is Here!
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Hugh Jackman's "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 26th, 2014
Ridley Scott Won't Direct "Blade Runner 2," Reveals Story Details
Nov 26th, 2014
Michael Fassbender to Star in Danny Boyle's "Steve Jobs" Biopic
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Jennifer Aniston's "Cake" Arrives Online
Nov 26th, 2014
Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 25th, 2014
Michelle MacLaren Will Direct "Wonder Woman" Film
Nov 25th, 2014
Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Nov 25th, 2014
New Trailer For "The Interview" Comedy, with James Franco and Seth Rogen
Nov 25th, 2014
First Posters and Photos of Hugh Jackman in "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 25th, 2014
Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Nov 24th, 2014
First Footage From "Jurassic World" Arrives Online
Nov 24th, 2014
"Wanted" Producer Says Sequel is Still Happening
Nov 24th, 2014
New Photo of Arnold Schwazenegger as T-800 From "Terminator Genisys"
Nov 24th, 2014
"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Dominates at Box Office, Hits Franchise Low
Nov 23rd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Director Says Shared Cinematic Universes Can Be a Mistake
Nov 23rd, 2014
Town Bans Winnie the Pooh for Being Half-Naked
Nov 23rd, 2014
First Poster for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Nov 22nd, 2014
Angelina Jolie Will Quit Acting to Focus on Directing
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for George Lucas' Animated "Strange Magic" Film
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "Pitch Perfect 2" Arrives Online
Nov 21st, 2014
"Zoolander 2" is Moving Forward, Penelope Cruz Joins Cast
Nov 21st, 2014
Stephen King's "The Stand" to Become Four Movies
Nov 21st, 2014
First Look: Patrick Stewart is a White Supremacist in "Green Room" Thriller
Nov 21st, 2014
Mel Gibson May Direct "Hacksaw Ridge," with Andrew Garfield to Star
Nov 21st, 2014
Ridley Scott Promises "a Fresher Form of Alien" in "Prometheus 2"
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Nov 20th, 2014
Trailer for "American Heist" Thriller with Hayden Christensen and Adrien Brody
Nov 20th, 2014
Melissa McCarthy to Star in Live-Action "Tinker Bell" Comedy
Nov 20th, 2014
Al Pacino is an Aging Rock Star in "Danny Collins" Trailer
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for "Peter Pan Live" Musical, with Christopher Walken as Captain Hook
Nov 20th, 2014
Six Actors in Talks for Cyclops and Jean Grey in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 19th, 2014
How Do Horror Fans Choose Movies? Not By Plot or Cast
Nov 19th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jason Momoa Blames "Conan the Barbarian" Script for Awful Box Office Results

Posted: January 17th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jason Momoa Blames "Conan the Barbarian" Script for Awful Box Office ResultsSubmit Comment
While promoting his new movie "Bullet to the Head," actor Jason Momoa also spoke about his "Conan the Barbarian" movie, which bombed in theaters, grossing only $48 million worldwide on a budget of $90 million.

"The script just wasn't there," he said. "I just wanted take a stab at doing Conan and it's out of your control, you can only do so much. I feel like I bled over, and over and over to do the best I could. I feel like we represented [Conan] very well. The movie fell short, [but] you can only show up as an actor and be the best you can be."

Momoa went on to praise director Marcus Nispel, calling him "amazing." And since he feels he did a great job, obviously he feels the script was the only problem. But if you read what the critics had to say (23% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes), most of them believe that the script, directing and acting were all equally terrible.

Source: PhilStar, CBM


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on January 17th, 2013 at 6:18:39 AM

Ah
The ol' bait and switch

They fooled poor Jason with a good script then replaced it
boogiel writes:
on January 17th, 2013 at 6:34:34 AM

At some point, I agree with momoa. It was the script and a terrible director. You hire sh*t, you get sh*t. Period.
Taco writes:
on January 17th, 2013 at 7:22:25 AM

I guess they all forgot that the director did "Pathfinder" perhaps if they had known. ..
SACdaddy writes:
on January 17th, 2013 at 8:12:27 AM

God I can't wait to see Stallone pant an axe right in the middle of Mimosa's giant forehead in Bullet to the Head. That film needs to come out like right now!!!
TRUEMAN writes:
on January 17th, 2013 at 8:18:38 AM

jason , my friend the problem wasn't the scrip it was your acting, you see you can't act for sh*t!
trailertrash writes:
on January 17th, 2013 at 8:23:12 AM

porn

Glad you liked Harry Brown and (lol) those English Rozzers were a little wet, But i guess dealing with all those Chavs every day will do that to a man.
trailertrash writes:
on January 17th, 2013 at 8:24:56 AM

Momoa your best just wasn't good enough, Deal with it you f*ckin p*ssy
Avirex writes:
on January 17th, 2013 at 8:44:59 AM

Everyone who worked on that thing was to blame, even the caterers.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 17th, 2013 at 8:45:49 AM

The whole thing was destined to fail from the get go, Homoa your career in Hollywood after Bullet to the head is over. Start applying to Taco Bell now.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 17th, 2013 at 9:05:01 AM



the bad tradesman always blames his tools

bad actor blames the script
Kurskij writes:
on January 17th, 2013 at 10:10:28 AM

Well, obviously $90 mil. wasn't the real budget for this movie (because Avi Lerner).

Momoa was decent as Conan (he really was), production design was pretty good. Direction, editing, those f*cking grainy-golden filters were all awful.
CelluloidMan writes:
on January 17th, 2013 at 11:04:55 AM

I gotta agree with Kurskij on this one....

The plot of CONAN was sub par. I know what Mamoa is saying, but his scenery chewing could be overlooked more with a good plot...the direction was solid IMO. It should have been a by the numbers popcorn flick, but it was still f*cked up...

My question was how could a movie be so mediocre when the stories of the source material was so vast?! They couldn't adapt or semi adapt one badass story? Recreate great scenery/ characters from the late, great John Buscema's artwork?...

Also while the rated R was a good indicator, it was misused. C'mon sticking a finger in the hole where somebody had his nose? Excessive CGI blood? That's it? That's the R rated...but don't get me wrong, he topless scenes were good though...LOL.

Overall, it was botched and a let down. Mamoa was a solid Conan & would have liked a sequel...only with a solid screenplay.
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 17th, 2013 at 11:13:17 AM

What's even more hilarious is Momo said that he wrote a sequel even though he didn't write the remake.
billofill writes:
on January 17th, 2013 at 11:20:22 AM

They should of combined a couple of Conan Stories and forgot about the sh*tty Arnold movies that was the first f*cking thing they should of did, the second if you hire a guy to rewrite the script cause it was kind of meh you dont go back to the original script and say f*ck it. The Novelization was 10 times the story the mediocre movie was.
sedibus writes:
on January 17th, 2013 at 11:29:37 AM

Yeah, Harry Brown, I've seen that too. Looks like an everyday dealing stuff between different kinds of people in many parts of the world, not only in England.

That kind of shows, yeah. This guys. But anyway, imparting justice is quite something incredible, mainly if you do that in that way, mister Cane's character did. Of course is some obscure subject matter of some sorts.

Obviously, yes it is a good British flick, although for some reason I though and felt this film was all a charade.
Biz Malarkey writes:
on January 17th, 2013 at 11:32:43 AM

Did you forget that Stan lee had to put his finger in and spoil the sh*t at the end
President Baltar writes:
on January 17th, 2013 at 11:47:15 AM

Khal Drogo is not pleased with the script...
Ranger writes:
on January 17th, 2013 at 12:13:52 PM

WHAT is with ALL the p*ssy-assed BLAMING these days?! ALL these actors and directors take NO accountability. So it sucked. DEAL WITH IT! Finger-pointing p*ssy! Man-up!

Actors say it's the script (never their acting), Directors say it's the actors (never their directing). And everyone blames the script. Some movies suck, like Lindsay - getting rent money from her dad. Or Bruce Jenner sucking his wife's d*ck.
vincere01 writes:
on January 17th, 2013 at 12:23:19 PM

They should start arnolds new conan with jason killing a bunch of dudes and then yelling I AM CONAN while covered in they're blood. Only to have arnold slowly walking up behind him holding his huge sword. And in one fell swing lop his noggin off. And say, No- I am the true destroyer, bitch.
vincere01 writes:
on January 17th, 2013 at 12:28:09 PM

@Ranger I think a lot of actors these days can learn something from the last indiana jones. Specificly Fords response to shia bad mouthing the movie afterwards.

He said something to the effect of they pay you to be in this movie, pay you to promote it. They don't pay you to talk sh*t about it. If you don't like the movie keep your mouth shut you little sh*t.

Even though most people know he did not really care for the star wars movies, he never ever publicly stated that they were not any good, bad story, acting etc. He would always say something like I wouod rather play real world characters and stories these days etc. Class act that ford guy
minkowski writes:
on January 17th, 2013 at 1:34:41 PM

It was Conan. People aren't interesting in seeing Conan the Barbarian.They weren't interested in seeing back then when King Arnold was headlining. Even then, it still didn't blow the doors off the box-office, and then you try to remake it thirty years later with someone no one knows, well what the hell did you expect? And then, the marketing, which was next to non-existent.

Hell, people 'know anything about the script. Most people don't go to see a film based on the scripts word of mouth reputation. They don't know the script sucks till they see the film.

Take a look at other awful films that did well. Terrible scripts, terrible acting and plot, yet people still go see them? Why? Perhaps a recognizable lead. Perhaps some pervasive and persuasive marketing. Perhaps it panders to what the masses want at the moment. Conan did NONE of that. That's why it failed.

Momoa, you're an idiot.
minkowski writes:
on January 17th, 2013 at 1:37:06 PM

"those f*cking grainy-golden filters were all awful"

Probably not filters unless they were using gels. Maybe. Haven't seen it, but I'd suspect it was all post-process grading and someone had a very heavy hand.
Ranger writes:
on January 17th, 2013 at 1:39:48 PM

@Vin - exactly re: Shia the sh*t, and Ford the gentleman. The worst I've heard him say about Star Wars is that he wouldn't be interested in playing Han Solo again. That's it.

I think (looking back over the decades) of why Star Trek has succeeded (partly), because people on that show take responsibility (even for fictional characters). Hey... I f*cked up, let's get over that and deal with the problem at hand.

Accountability. To those that don't know what it means... GOOGLE IT!
Ranger writes:
on January 17th, 2013 at 1:48:55 PM

PS: Dear Abby is dead.
minkowski writes:
on January 17th, 2013 at 2:10:11 PM

I just hope Dr. Ruth isn't next!
sedibus writes:
on January 17th, 2013 at 3:48:04 PM

And I'm starting to believe that they put Robert E. Howard an uncredited "credit". Then again, doing a collage and taking some bits from here and there doesn't quite make a successful story.

I'm of the point of view that they should had adapted one single story. There are more than 10 Conan stories, for christ-sakes.

Man, right now I'm watching Star Wars First trilogy, I'm going to see right now Return of the Jedi. And this proof nothing more that how sh*tty and f*cked up the sequel-prequels are but that out there are books with no illustration or any other kind of visual stuff but words that are far more great and fascinating that any of this space-opera-myth-science fiction hollywood movies.

After this I'm watching Apocalypse Now (they at first didn't acknowledge Conrad's novel mainly beacuse the film itself was vastly different) then the Matrix Trilogy (including Animatrix) then The Crow, then Sword of Doom and finally Hour of the Wolf.

Thank you.
Ranger writes:
on January 17th, 2013 at 4:43:55 PM

Anyone else see: 'reverse gangbang' at The Hut today? Sweet.
trailertrash writes:
on January 17th, 2013 at 5:16:55 PM

^ I have now !!

The guy talking at the start sounded like the French dude in True Lies, lol
Kurskij writes:
on January 17th, 2013 at 5:36:26 PM

"Probably not filters unless they were using gels. Maybe. Haven't seen it, but I'd suspect it was all post-process grading and someone had a very heavy hand"

Could've been any of those cause it was filmed in world famous Nu Boyana Studios. Probably post-production color grading.
Ranger writes:
on January 17th, 2013 at 6:02:36 PM

@tt - lol.
Johnnyb writes:
on January 17th, 2013 at 7:44:21 PM

Really momo the script? This days you are good at nothing, not even with your upcoming film with sly!
DirtyMartini writes:
on January 20th, 2013 at 12:45:51 AM

dothraki sc*m
Flattbutt1 writes:
on January 20th, 2013 at 12:04:52 PM

I agree the Script SUCKED! Also, no way they spent $90 million on the film not sure where the writer got that. Game of Thrones looks bigger budget. I thought Jason was a pretty good choice. Loved him in Game of Thrones! The movie looks visually cool,the artwork and fantasy creatures are good.
Indyfilmz writes:
on January 20th, 2013 at 12:18:41 PM

Ummm...It was produced by Avi Lerner and Danny Lerner the guys who brought you hits like "Shark in Venice"! They have made like eighty really bad films. Not sure these guys should be making "Conan".

It's Official! Channing Tatum to Star in "Gambit" Spin-Off

Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot

Christopher Nolan Hates Post-Credits Scenes, Here's Why

"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Daniel Bruhl is Villain in "Captain America 3" and "Doctor Strange"

Margot Robbie is Harley Quinn in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film

Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy

Jared Leto May Play The Joker in "Suicide Squad"

"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved