WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Joss Whedon Wanted to Direct "Star Wars: Episode VII"

Posted: January 15th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Joss Whedon Wanted to Direct "Star Wars: Episode VII"Submit Comment
We already know that Guillermo Del Toro and JJ Abrams were offered the chance to direct the new "Star Wars" movie, but they turned it down. We also recently heard a rumor that Zack Snyder is in talks to take the job, but he personally denied the report.

Now, in an interview with CNN, Joss Whedon revealed that he wanted to direct "Star Wars: Episode VII," but is too busy with "The Avengers" sequel and "SHIELD" TV series.

He explained: "When I heard [about 'Star Wars: Episode VII'] I was like, 'I wonder... no, I really can't do that. I already have a job.' I wouldn't [be able to make] 'Avengers 2.' I'm having so much fun with that sequel right now, just with the script, that I couldn't imagine not doing it."

It sounds like Disney never actually made an official offer for Whedon to direct "Star Wars," but since he recently turned "The Avengers" into the highest-grossing film of 2012 for the studio, it's certainly something Disney strongly considered.

Source: CNN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 7:14:54 AM

f*ck off you overrated tv director
biniwoo writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 7:31:10 AM


Yeah, and I bet you wanted to f*ck Scarlett Johansson as well.
trailertrash writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 7:43:24 AM

Someone that would direct the new Star Wars movie but still won't be directing cause he's busy, Seems like another way to say no thanks to me.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 7:49:44 AM

@biniwoo Man, I f*cking miss the hell out of Deadwood...
Cannon writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 8:37:33 AM

Jesus Christ. Talk about dodging a f*cking CANNONBALL...

Whedon is possibly one of the worst people to consider for directing a Star Wars movie. I don't give a sh*t how commercially successful The Avengers was. This guy's visual style/storytelling sensibility amounts to a made-for-Syfy-movie, which is what The Avengers looked like, despite its 200 million plus budget.

Whedon is an amateurish technical director, period. He has no business helming Star Wars. Not even his pithy-hip, self-aware, pop-referential writing style is right for these films.

Tanman32123 writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 9:26:46 AM

LOL good luck with that
biniwoo writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 9:30:08 AM

@The5thBeatle5

That makes two of us. My favourite tv show (though the last season of Boardwalk Empire comes close)!
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 10:37:59 AM

So what's directors are left? Uwe Boll and Tom Six?
ozzie writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 10:39:09 AM

Man, I really hope this guy doesn't get a big head and turns into a pretentious douchebag. That being said, I liked the avengers(mainly because of the hulk), but it's overrated, you ask me.
biniwoo writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 11:10:44 AM

In the picture he looks like if Will Patton would've eaten Ron Howard
Cinemaisdead writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 11:48:04 AM

Joss Whedon is a brilliant writer. If they let him do the new trilogy script or even basic story and let someone else direct they could have a recipe for success.
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 2:27:28 PM

Goddamnit, Joss. Can you just f*cking ditch The Avengers and revive Star Wars? One of the greatest franchises of all time?


Your choice, I guess.
Kiddie Popcorn flick > Greatest Franchise of all time.
ALIsuperstar writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 2:27:29 PM

Well alot of people saying that its a crappy movie, but all of those people went to see it in the thetre don't they? or WP has an special place for people that didn't saw this sh*t? what thell.
minkowski writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 3:00:34 PM

Doesn't sounds like he wanted to do direct Star Wars VII, sounds more like h ethought he'd bbe the first person they'd call, and unfortunately for them, he's just too busy.

I'd say Whedon has a big head, but that would be both literal and redundant.
minkowski writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 3:01:42 PM

"Man, I really hope this guy doesn't get a big head and turns into a pretentious douchebag."

Apparently, too late.
Man in Black writes:
on January 16th, 2013 at 1:00:20 AM

Just keep Andrew Stanton ( John Carter ) away from it .
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 16th, 2013 at 9:36:32 PM

Andrew Stanton is actually a really talented director, in the animation aspect of course.

Wall-E, A Bug's Life, Finding Nemo, etc.
President Baltar writes:
on January 17th, 2013 at 12:23:39 PM

He already did one sci-fi film to perfection (in my opinion), I don't see the need for doing Star Wars as well. And I guess he's not, anyway.
The Avengers grew on me a lot the second time I watched it.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved