WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Ben-Hur" Remake in the Works

Posted: January 15th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Ben-Hur" Remake in the WorksSubmit Comment
MGM is planning to develop a remake of "Ben-Hur." The studio released the 1959 version, but ended up selling the rights to Ted Turner in the 1980s. So while the new film will be a remake, it will be based on Lew Wallace's 1880 novel "Ben-Hur: A Tale of the Christ," which is public domain, meaning that no one owns the copyright.

At the time of the release, the book outsold every other book but The Bible, until it was beaten by "Gone With the Wind." To make the new film, MGM acquired a script by Keith Clarke, who recently worked on "The Way Back."

"It's one of the great stories of friendship and betrayal, and faith, that works in the context of a big onscreen action thriller for a global audience," producer Sean Daniel said of the Wallace novel.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 7:31:17 AM

I hope Mel Gibson will portray Jesus.
trailertrash writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 7:32:33 AM

For all Ted Turner has a achieved in the Film Biz over the years, I bet his one regret was not getting Jane Fonda in her prime ....

As for this i'm looking forward to the Blu Ray release in a couple of weeks more than the remake.
McQueen writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 7:33:03 AM

Touching the untouchable, shame on you, you lazy f*ck! I hope it will bomb until they go bankrupt! Besides, I really don't know who can possibly be a match to Charlton Heston, noyt even Daniel Day-Lewis. Stop f*cking around with the very few legends you have for God's sake!

I was 16 y/o when I read this book in secondary school and I was overwhelmed by the story and even more when I knew that it was written by a general of the US army. One of the greatest novel I have read in my life.
biniwoo writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 7:37:04 AM

What a great f*cking movie
Džeko writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 8:08:09 AM

I am guessing Casablanca and Citizen Kane are going to be next...
pornfly writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 8:14:42 AM

Thx TRAILER
I will be lookin out for the blu ray as well
trailertrash writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 8:17:46 AM

Bullit

Mr Epic's shoes will be tough to fill mate thats for sure.

He was one of those actors where less was always more with his acting, Never over played anything and could give one look deliver a line and that would say more than a whole page of dialogue.

Heston sure did make some big movies back in the 50's and 60's.

Wonder how many people on here have ever seen the Heston version ?
trailertrash writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 8:18:48 AM

porn - No worries mate ...
Crazyhorse writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 8:23:25 AM

Ben Hur was one of the best films I ever saw
McQueen writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 8:41:44 AM

Trailer

Agreed there 100% mate.

Even with such an athletic figure, he was perfect in dramatic roles. So much presence, charisma and emotions were coming out from that big fella. I always liked him in most of his films. One of my fav film of his but less known to most moviegoers nowadays is "The Agony And The Ecstasy" where he plays Michelangelo. Pure Art and never gets old.

Also in the opening scene of The Omega Man with the empty streets of L.A. was quite impressive.
trailertrash writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 9:17:56 AM

Bullit

Agree Love those opening shots in The Omega Man of Heston driving around the city.

Said this before on here Arnold should remade that movie in the early 90's, Would have been Awesome unlike I am Legend which was pretty crap IMO

You look at Hestons career he went from Biblical Epic to Sci Fi Epic to Disaster Epic and exceled in each genre.

Don't think i have seen The Agony And The Ecstasy but will keep an eye out for it.
McQueen writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 9:33:34 AM

Trailer

In addition with what you said, I find it even more preposterous to reboot such a masterpiece. It's like a painter that looks vaguely like Van Gogh and pretends to paint better than the original artist: totally useless.

ps: The Agony and Ecstasy is focused on the relationship between Heston and Rex Harrison who plays the pope. Must watch.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 10:33:42 AM

When they do the 10 Commandments remake, will the twist be that God is an alien this time?
bandolero999 writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 10:36:16 AM

Starring TOM CRUISE
Mark whalberg
Channing Tatum
Bradley Cooper
trailertrash writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 10:59:54 AM

Bullit

Their thinking must be that the film is that old most people under 30 won't have seen it so there is a new market they maybe able to tap into.

You know Hollywood remake it or reset the movie in Space, lol
McQueen writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 11:12:11 AM

lol,
Ranger writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 1:27:41 PM

This movie does NOT need to be re-made.

The original is timeless.
Wallace writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 1:28:15 PM

I believe it when I see it...
Ranger writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 2:34:18 PM

@BC - well... technically, God is an alien.


lol.
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 2:34:55 PM

You can remake SO much sh*t, but you f*cking turds at hollywood decide to f*ck this gem up?

You could have remade The Goonies or some sh*t.
Bastards.
minkowski writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 2:54:22 PM

Cue lots of green screen and Gerald Butler screaming this..is..Rome!

Yeah, no thanks.
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 3:00:39 PM

I f*cking hate Hollywood.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 3:04:09 PM

I'd be lying if I told you I'd seen Ben Hur all the way through. Outside of the chariot race that film has always bored me to tears. They better jazz up this remake with a lot of blood and guts Passion style to make a splash at the BO.
Ranger writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 3:10:24 PM

@mink - lol.

@SAC - never thought of it that way. OK... THAT would be a fab. re-make.
minkowski writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 3:22:03 PM

@Ranger: cool. What would you think if they did it like Scott's Gladiator, instead of 300? That's where they should go, if they want to make a quality film.
Ranger writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 3:28:12 PM

@mink - I'd be on that like a fat kid on a Smartie!
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 3:40:24 PM

Ranger - yup, better call in Giorgio tsoukolas, or however you spell his last name.
DeVries writes:
on January 15th, 2013 at 10:59:54 PM

@boogiel : this. Gibson.
Dre-EL writes:
on January 16th, 2013 at 9:19:26 AM

@ Trailer

Ben-Hur has been on Blu Ray for over a year. Check out the 50th aniversary edition, it also has the original silent movie version. This movie is classic that will never die.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved