WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Zero Dark Thirty" Takes First Place at Box Office, "A Haunted House" Beats "Gangster Squad"

Posted: January 13th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Zero Dark Thirty" Takes First Place at Box Office, "A Haunted House" Beats "Gangster Squad"Submit Comment
Now that Academy Awards announced the Best Picture nominees, many of the films on the list ended up getting a boost at the domestic box office.

Taking first place was Kathryn Bigelow's "Zero Dark Thirty," which expanded to a wide release and earned $24 million. The new movie has now earned a total of $35 million world wide. It cost $40 million to make and has an impressive 93% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

Coming in second was Marlon Wayans' "A Haunted House," which is a spoof of the "Paranormal Activity" franchise. The comedy grossed $18.8 million on a budget of just $2.5 million, but has a fresh rating of 9%.

"Gangster Squad," which has a cast comprised of Josh Brolin, Ryan Gosling, Sean Penn and Emma Stone, settled for third place with a $16.7 million opening. The gangster film was originally set to open in September, but was delayed to remove a theater-shooting scene. It has a fresh rating of 34%.

The most bizarre part of the weekend was that "Texas Chainsaw 3D" dropped all the way to ninth place in its second week, after taking first place during its opening weekend. No word if that will hurt sequel plans.

Click here to read our "Zero Dark Thirty" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
AYT BALL writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 9:33:11 PM

Zero Dark Thirty.....meh, was ok, i wasnt gripped or anything, dont imagine id watch it again in a hurry. Maybe suffered from too much hype.
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 9:40:56 PM

Gangster Squad was solid. I'd give it about a....7.5/10. Kind of a shame Scary Movie 4.3 beat it.
Zero Dark Thirty was okay. Not good, not bad, okay. I'd give it an easy 6.5/10
vincere01 writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 10:33:02 PM

I think bigelow must be a personal favor slave to the old dudes in the academy. They moved up the announcement of oscar noms to give her movie some hype
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 10:41:08 PM

Great news. Just great.

I'm gonna go jackoff with a Brillo pad now.
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 10:54:41 PM

So I hear Jodie Foster came out of the closet, sort of, at the Golden Globes.

I bet John Hinckley's feeling like the world's biggest f*cking idiot right now.
vincere01 writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 11:32:15 PM

^^^^ nah, just said her comany line, same one for years. Just respect privacy yada yada yada
vincere01 writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 11:32:38 PM

*company
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 14th, 2013 at 12:01:07 AM

Watermelon flavored chicken was the only thing that got people to go see A Haunted House.
minkowski writes:
on January 14th, 2013 at 12:06:13 AM

lol.
Ranger writes:
on January 14th, 2013 at 12:30:09 AM

I actually had watermelon today (and I'm white).

You can buy it in this container... no rinds, just watermelon... like one huge block of it. Damn, it's (it was) good.

Are we talkin' 'bout the same thing here?
Ranger writes:
on January 14th, 2013 at 12:31:31 AM

PS: unrelated to the watermelon... I had pasta today, and my farts are out of control.

1. I don't think they're supposed to have lumps, and...

2. Looking for a crochet hook to tuck some intestine back up my ass.
pornfly writes:
on January 14th, 2013 at 1:25:07 AM

Just now ate KFC

@4:55
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wOoc-ZGE1Kk&feature=youtube_gdata_player
pornfly writes:
on January 14th, 2013 at 1:29:46 AM

RANGER
you might wanna sit on some ice
Or stop using the toilets on your yacht, theyre killers
Ranger writes:
on January 14th, 2013 at 1:36:32 AM

Yacht... lol.
james236 writes:
on January 14th, 2013 at 1:46:15 AM

I am having a really slow painful sh*t right now. Too much drinking and eating. Too much football. They are long painful turds.
KillerCOck writes:
on January 14th, 2013 at 1:52:30 AM

Gangster Squad is just straight solid entertainment. I really liked it, even its soundtrack surprised me.
pornfly writes:
on January 14th, 2013 at 1:56:39 AM

Lonely gay men take stool hardeners when theyre horny
holtlt writes:
on January 14th, 2013 at 1:56:47 AM

Gangster Squad was good and entertaining, but if it wasn't for the director it could've been Oscar material. The main thing that saved the film was the cast and the stylized theme of the film. I'm kinda bummed that more people watched A Haunted House.
pornfly writes:
on January 14th, 2013 at 2:15:32 AM

Yea Gangster Squad shouldve had more fart jokes
Johnnyb writes:
on January 14th, 2013 at 2:58:28 PM

Texas Chainsaw 3D simply drop it to the toilet not because it was bad, but the mouth to mouth of many who couldn't stand anymore the film!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved