WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer Coming in December
Oct 25th, 2014
New "Ant-Man" Set Photos are Possible Spoilers
Oct 25th, 2014
Disney's "John Carter" Actually Cost Over $300 Million to Make
Oct 25th, 2014
"Wonder Woman" Searching for Female Director
Oct 24th, 2014
"The Mummy" Reboot to Follow Navy SEAL in Iraq?
Oct 24th, 2014
Noomi Rapace Discusses "Prometheus 2" Storyline
Oct 24th, 2014
Christian Bale Confirmed For Steve Jobs Biopic, To Appear in Every Frame of the Film
Oct 24th, 2014
"Insidious Chapter 3" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"The Hobbit" Trilogy Becomes Most Expensive Production of All Time
Oct 23rd, 2014
Quicksilver to Return For "X-Men: Apocalypse" and Maybe Solo Film
Oct 23rd, 2014
Restricted Trailer For Mark Wahlberg's "The Gambler" Thriller
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Evangeline Lilly as Hope Pym on Marvel's "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 23rd, 2014
New Trailer for "The Woman in Black" Sequel
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Johnny Depp as The Wolf in Disney's "Into the Woods"
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!
Oct 22nd, 2014
"John Carter" Reboot in the Works, Disney Not Involved
Oct 22nd, 2014
James Wan to Direct "The Conjuring 2," May Direct DC Superhero Film
Oct 22nd, 2014
Ghostface Will NOT Appear in "Scream" TV Series
Oct 22nd, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Oct 22nd, 2014
Adam McKay Plans to Make "Step Brothers 2" in a Few Years
Oct 22nd, 2014
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Academy Awards Voter Says NOT to Vote for "Zero Dark Thirty"

Posted: January 13th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Academy Awards Voter Says NOT to Vote for "Zero Dark Thirty"Submit Comment
Despite already winning many awards and being nominated for the Best Picture Oscar, "Zero Dark Thirty" continues to be trashed by lots of people in Hollywood and US Congress, mostly for its waterboarding scenes.

Now Academy member/actor David Clennon (J. Edgar, "Ghost Whisperer") has stated that he will purposely vote against "Zero Dark Thirty," which he says promotes torture. "At the risk of being expelled for disclosing my intentions, I will not be voting for 'Zero Dark Thirty in any Academy Awards category," he wrote. "I cannot vote for a film that makes heroes of Americans who commit the crime of torture."

Sony Pictures has now responded, stating: "'Zero Dark Thirty' does not advocate torture. To not include that part of history would have been irresponsible and inaccurate. We are outraged that any responsible member of the Academy would use their voting status as a platform to advance their own political agenda. The film should be judged free of partisanship. To punish an artist's right of expression is abhorrent. This community, more than any other, should know how reprehensible that is."

Click here to read our "Zero Dark Thirty" review.

Source: Various


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 47 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
McQueen writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 7:39:55 AM

Expect the Navy Seals knocking on your door in the next few days...

He obviously didn't loose any member of his family on 9/11.

Any form of torture is justifiable when you kill 3000 innocent civilians, you prick!
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 8:03:24 AM

Spot in mate!!

How about we waterboard that s.o.b?
McQueen writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 8:08:09 AM

Hell yeah! Instead of water I'll be using some bleach just to wash his dirty mouth!
SACdaddy writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 9:00:33 AM

I guess this idiot has never seen and episode of 24 before. Torture apparently works every time unless you're doing it to Jack Bauer :)
pornfly writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 9:17:01 AM

This guy would be wearing 'I heart WaterBoarding' t-shirts
if his husband was in one of those towers,planes,Pentagon,ground zero.

Shouldnt his anus be bleeding instead of his heart?

GO MOVE TO FRANCE HOMO
pornfly writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 9:26:25 AM

This guy made Ghost Whisperer
He should talk to the 30,000 ghosts of the people that died

I bet they wish they were being waterboarded instead of being dead
Rambo writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 11:03:36 AM

none of them was planning to vote for it anyhow since it doesn't have any gay innuendos
Ranger writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 11:51:18 AM

Mr. p*ssy f*ck, c*nt, *sshole David Clennon should keep his c*cksucker shut, and take his rose colored glasses off and realize the REAL world (outside of the comfort of his Academy) has WALLS!

Sure Jack gives this fictitious speech... but the REAL point is there. Not TWO days ago I had a lady friend over. The conversation lead to some things I've done. And Ms. Precious comes back with 'I'm not comfortable with how this conversation is going.' Then, later tells me she feels she's dumped too much emotional baggage on her dog, and next day was doing some healing crystal energy work. Are you f*cking kidding me bitch?! Needless to say, I didn't give her an early birthday present by giving her Ranger's 'poop n' wash' (bum to mouth). Reality... the REAL reality sucks sometimes people (David Clennon). Deal with it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hopNAI8Pefg

Ranger writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 11:59:09 AM

Maybe David Clennon thinks we should put these terrorists up at The Ritz, and buy them flowers and candy... maybe he'd think differently (as a prev. post already said) if a plane flew into his trailer with his mother in it.

f*cking goof!

Heroes are those that get righteous justice done. Not self-righteous Academy Board Members.
Ranger writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 12:00:30 PM

The p*ssy even has a 'talent' manager:

michael@greenetalent.com
mrstretch writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 12:13:25 PM

What a little fag
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 12:47:44 PM

What they said^ lol
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 2:33:05 PM

Strange then, they they nominated Schindler's List for advocating genocide.

This guy just wants attention.

Anyway, waterboarding hasn't really led to useful information. I'm not against it as long as the people being "tortured" have earned it by being monsters, but if it only makes the tortured say what the torturers want to hear, whats the point?

It's like capital punishment. I'm not against the state putting down some rabid dog, but if it doesn't bring the dead back, if it doesn't deter other killers, what's the point, other than saving the taxpayer some money?

Anyway, this guy needs to grow up and shut up.
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 2:37:21 PM

"This guy would be wearing 'I heart WaterBoarding' t-shirts if his husband was in one of those towers,planes,Pentagon,ground zero."

Actually....maybe, probably, not.

Quite a few families of 9-11 victims have spoken against torture, which, in this day and age, really just means simulated drowning, and although very unpleasant, isn't fatal. Doesn't even leave a scar.

Surprisingly, most of the people vociferously supporting waterboarding don't even known anyone who lost anyone on 9-11.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 2:44:11 PM



jessica chastain

http://www.worstpreviews.com/images/headlines/temp/temp3874.jpg
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 2:47:12 PM



zero dark lost her shirtyy

http://www.worstpreviews.com/images/headlines/temp/temp3874.jpg
Ranger writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 2:49:21 PM

David sounds like the gerbil broke off the string and is stuck in his ass.
Ranger writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 2:50:42 PM

Nothing beats a nice set of tits (I always say).
Ranger writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 2:52:57 PM

@mink - that's the main reason I do like capital punishment. It saves on the tax-payer.
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 3:02:50 PM

@ranger: capital punishment for Congress, then. Just imagine the savings...
Ranger writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 3:06:55 PM

No sh*t!
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 3:08:29 PM

"Anyway, waterboarding hasn't really led to useful information. I'm not against it as long as the people being "tortured" have earned it by being monsters, but if it only makes the tortured say what the torturers want to hear, whats the point?"

Gotta agree. I think the uncomfortable truth the film brings up is that torture does inevitably lead to some useful information, but is it worth torturing innocent people over? There are plenty of horror stories of people snatched from their homelands and tossed into Guantanamo, forced to squat shackled hand and foot to the floor, blasted for days with heavy metal, shiver uncontrollably in a freezing cell (made freezing intentionally) and obviously waterboarded, FOR YEARS, before being released back to their countries without charge. Do stories like that scare off potential terrorists, or convince more potential terrorists America IS evil and rally them to the cause?

Also, is it worth condoning torture publicly so that countries with far more dubious human rights records get the free pass to do their own 'enhanced interrogations'?

It makes me think of a scene in the book A Feast For Crows where Queen Cersei is chopping off the fingers of a singer, and he's saying "No, No! I never bedded her!!" and she says "Now now, we want the TRUTH" and after enough torture she gets the 'truth' out of him. Of course hes broken and insane after but she got the 'intel' she wanted.
Ranger writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 3:20:13 PM

I'd like to water-board Charliez Theron with my man spray.
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 3:27:35 PM

@MoneyHayabusa: All very true, but the question that comes to mind is: how many of them are truly innocent? Sure, the media made a huge deal out of it when Bush was president, but the very same media hasn't run very many similar stories since 2009. Odd, and the CIA hasn't exactly ended rendition.

Reminds me of the Innocent Project, which is an organization, quite liberal but that's perhaps beside the point, dedicated to setting "innocent" men free. The thing is, the innocent men are often only technically innocent. They were convicted in a court of law by a jury of their peers, but perhaps before DNA. So the IP will go in and see if there's DNA evidence to test after the fact. Often there isn't any, which then leads to IP petitioning the court to set the original conviction aside, which means the men in question may very well be guilty, only that IP has generated enough speculation they are not, a sympathetic appeals court then agrees and a beleaguered and over-worked DA's office declines to retry the case.

In most cases, or the of the ones I've heard, the "innocent" men are only technically innocent. Very rarely are they innocent in the sense DNA conclusively proved someone else did the deed, but the media, which is often hostile to capital punishment, plays it like that's the case.

Kind of the same thing, perhaps, in the case of rendition, not that I'm saying the CIA and the American military don't abuse their power.
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 4:27:25 PM

Waterboarding.

Sounds like Kate Moss taking a shower.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 5:18:19 PM



the academy don't love TDKR either

http://www.movie2k.to/Batman-The-Dark-Knight-Returns-Part-2-watch-movie-2389841.html
pornfly writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 5:58:51 PM

I heard my buddy getting waterboarded during S.E.R.E. school and Im sure hes fine today

Lets Stop The Bitchin
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 6:59:18 PM

David Clennon created the show Ghost Whisperer and J. Edgar.



What the f*ck does this incipit fool know? Just another c*nt who needs to get the gimp.
Stapes writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 7:33:50 PM

True, pornfly. Sere school is not all its cracked up to be. Mando waterboarding. Nice to see a fellow swabby on here.
pornfly writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 7:48:12 PM

STAPES
waterboarding was only for the guys who couldnt remember their training
If that happened you basically failed
They had to come out of character for another buddy of mine
When it was all over he cried like a baby and sobbed all over me
salute bud
Stapes writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 8:01:15 PM

Pornfly, when I say swabby i didnt mean to imply that you got wayerboarded, i was just assuming you were navy. It was just my experience that most sere school guys happened to have been navy. An assumption, my bad. Hooah, hooyah, hoorah, aim high. Whichever applies to you.
jdl107 writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 8:24:23 PM

The Golden Globes are pretty predictable so far. Lol, but when are they not?

I do have to be honest though, Tina Fey is looking rather extravagant tonight. Never thought I'd say that.
jdl107 writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 8:25:46 PM

Oh, yeah. *OT

Anyway, on-topic. f*ck this guy. Sony's response was surprising, I liked it.
Ranger writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 8:28:37 PM

I'd f*ck all of Tina's wounds.

That girl give's me a 6+ on The Expendables-class of boners.
jdl107 writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 8:30:05 PM

"but if it only makes the tortured say what the torturers want to hear, whats the point"

Mhm.

I liken this to the cop torture scene in Reservoir Dogs (Whoa, ironic... Creepy) when Chris Penn says they could beat him all night and eventually he'd tell thenm who "started the Chicago Fire but that don't make f*cking so". Just thought I'd add that since it seems fitting.

Anyway, cheers mate.
jdl107 writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 8:33:45 PM

"I'd f*ck all of Tina's wounds.

That girl give's me a 6+ on The Expendables-class of boners."

Oooh, Ranger, you bad boy. Calm yourself. Next thing you know you'll be telling me about the doo-doo butter milkshakes you'd concoct out of that. And I'm eating, thank you very much.

So, pace yourself.
Ranger writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 8:50:00 PM

nom, nom, nom, nom...
Ranger writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 8:50:33 PM

Mmmm... Tina... that battle scar (above her waist line)... Mmmm...
jdl107 writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 8:56:44 PM

f*cking c*mberbatch better win for Sherlock!

What an unexpected nomination!
jdl107 writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 8:58:08 PM

c*mberbatch lost, but Costner wins for Hatfields & McCoys. I'm happy for you Kevin, but goddamnit. That was a snub and a half.

Either way, good for you, Kevin. That's awesome.
struck21 writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 10:06:03 PM

This movie is winning awards on it's subject matter more so then how good of a movie it is. I am surprised that Syfy didn't toss one out a few months ago, it would of won all the awards it was put up for.

The director has done two movies that I have seen and both so far were less then "great". Hurt Locker was boring, I was about to fall asleep part way through, this one is about a subject matter that we have heard 85%+ of the details in the media and who she made half her movie up for Hollywood. Didn't deserve the nom let alone to win anything.
Gnarkill writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 10:55:54 PM

Its insane that everyone bitchs about every little thing i mean look at spike lee and kat williams its racist bla bla ! EVERYONE should be equals that means NO hate crimes womens and gay rights all that sh*t thrown out the window.. i should be able to punch a woman in the face if she kicks me in the nuts without going to jail...
jdl107 writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 11:55:52 PM

Its insane that everyone bitchs about every little thing i mean look at spike lee and kat williams its racist bla bla ! EVERYONE should be equals that means NO hate crimes womens and gay rights all that sh*t thrown out the window.. i should be able to punch a woman in the face if she kicks me in the nuts without going to jail...

You don't even know what you're talking about, take that sh*t somewhere else.
jdl107 writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 11:56:17 PM

Forgot my quotations, my bad.
pornfly writes:
on January 14th, 2013 at 1:46:30 AM

STAPES
I understood you perfectly
fuggettaboutit
biniwoo writes:
on January 14th, 2013 at 5:23:34 AM


It can't be more torture than watching Ghost Whisperer
The First Rule writes:
on January 14th, 2013 at 11:57:40 AM

What a sick collection of individuals this community is.

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer

Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved