WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Jurassic World" Trailer is Here!
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Hugh Jackman's "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 26th, 2014
Ridley Scott Won't Direct "Blade Runner 2," Reveals Story Details
Nov 26th, 2014
Michael Fassbender to Star in Danny Boyle's "Steve Jobs" Biopic
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Jennifer Aniston's "Cake" Arrives Online
Nov 26th, 2014
Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 25th, 2014
Michelle MacLaren Will Direct "Wonder Woman" Film
Nov 25th, 2014
Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Nov 25th, 2014
New Trailer For "The Interview" Comedy, with James Franco and Seth Rogen
Nov 25th, 2014
First Posters and Photos of Hugh Jackman in "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 25th, 2014
Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Nov 24th, 2014
First Footage From "Jurassic World" Arrives Online
Nov 24th, 2014
"Wanted" Producer Says Sequel is Still Happening
Nov 24th, 2014
New Photo of Arnold Schwazenegger as T-800 From "Terminator Genisys"
Nov 24th, 2014
"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Dominates at Box Office, Hits Franchise Low
Nov 23rd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Director Says Shared Cinematic Universes Can Be a Mistake
Nov 23rd, 2014
Town Bans Winnie the Pooh for Being Half-Naked
Nov 23rd, 2014
First Poster for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Nov 22nd, 2014
Angelina Jolie Will Quit Acting to Focus on Directing
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for George Lucas' Animated "Strange Magic" Film
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "Pitch Perfect 2" Arrives Online
Nov 21st, 2014
"Zoolander 2" is Moving Forward, Penelope Cruz Joins Cast
Nov 21st, 2014
Stephen King's "The Stand" to Become Four Movies
Nov 21st, 2014
First Look: Patrick Stewart is a White Supremacist in "Green Room" Thriller
Nov 21st, 2014
Mel Gibson May Direct "Hacksaw Ridge," with Andrew Garfield to Star
Nov 21st, 2014
Ridley Scott Promises "a Fresher Form of Alien" in "Prometheus 2"
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Nov 20th, 2014
Trailer for "American Heist" Thriller with Hayden Christensen and Adrien Brody
Nov 20th, 2014
Melissa McCarthy to Star in Live-Action "Tinker Bell" Comedy
Nov 20th, 2014
Al Pacino is an Aging Rock Star in "Danny Collins" Trailer
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for "Peter Pan Live" Musical, with Christopher Walken as Captain Hook
Nov 20th, 2014
Six Actors in Talks for Cyclops and Jean Grey in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 19th, 2014
How Do Horror Fans Choose Movies? Not By Plot or Cast
Nov 19th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Academy Awards Voter Says NOT to Vote for "Zero Dark Thirty"

Posted: January 13th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Academy Awards Voter Says NOT to Vote for "Zero Dark Thirty"Submit Comment
Despite already winning many awards and being nominated for the Best Picture Oscar, "Zero Dark Thirty" continues to be trashed by lots of people in Hollywood and US Congress, mostly for its waterboarding scenes.

Now Academy member/actor David Clennon (J. Edgar, "Ghost Whisperer") has stated that he will purposely vote against "Zero Dark Thirty," which he says promotes torture. "At the risk of being expelled for disclosing my intentions, I will not be voting for 'Zero Dark Thirty in any Academy Awards category," he wrote. "I cannot vote for a film that makes heroes of Americans who commit the crime of torture."

Sony Pictures has now responded, stating: "'Zero Dark Thirty' does not advocate torture. To not include that part of history would have been irresponsible and inaccurate. We are outraged that any responsible member of the Academy would use their voting status as a platform to advance their own political agenda. The film should be judged free of partisanship. To punish an artist's right of expression is abhorrent. This community, more than any other, should know how reprehensible that is."

Click here to read our "Zero Dark Thirty" review.

Source: Various


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 47 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
McQueen writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 7:39:55 AM

Expect the Navy Seals knocking on your door in the next few days...

He obviously didn't loose any member of his family on 9/11.

Any form of torture is justifiable when you kill 3000 innocent civilians, you prick!
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 8:03:24 AM

Spot in mate!!

How about we waterboard that s.o.b?
McQueen writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 8:08:09 AM

Hell yeah! Instead of water I'll be using some bleach just to wash his dirty mouth!
SACdaddy writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 9:00:33 AM

I guess this idiot has never seen and episode of 24 before. Torture apparently works every time unless you're doing it to Jack Bauer :)
pornfly writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 9:17:01 AM

This guy would be wearing 'I heart WaterBoarding' t-shirts
if his husband was in one of those towers,planes,Pentagon,ground zero.

Shouldnt his anus be bleeding instead of his heart?

GO MOVE TO FRANCE HOMO
pornfly writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 9:26:25 AM

This guy made Ghost Whisperer
He should talk to the 30,000 ghosts of the people that died

I bet they wish they were being waterboarded instead of being dead
Rambo writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 11:03:36 AM

none of them was planning to vote for it anyhow since it doesn't have any gay innuendos
Ranger writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 11:51:18 AM

Mr. p*ssy f*ck, c*nt, *sshole David Clennon should keep his c*cksucker shut, and take his rose colored glasses off and realize the REAL world (outside of the comfort of his Academy) has WALLS!

Sure Jack gives this fictitious speech... but the REAL point is there. Not TWO days ago I had a lady friend over. The conversation lead to some things I've done. And Ms. Precious comes back with 'I'm not comfortable with how this conversation is going.' Then, later tells me she feels she's dumped too much emotional baggage on her dog, and next day was doing some healing crystal energy work. Are you f*cking kidding me bitch?! Needless to say, I didn't give her an early birthday present by giving her Ranger's 'poop n' wash' (bum to mouth). Reality... the REAL reality sucks sometimes people (David Clennon). Deal with it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hopNAI8Pefg

Ranger writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 11:59:09 AM

Maybe David Clennon thinks we should put these terrorists up at The Ritz, and buy them flowers and candy... maybe he'd think differently (as a prev. post already said) if a plane flew into his trailer with his mother in it.

f*cking goof!

Heroes are those that get righteous justice done. Not self-righteous Academy Board Members.
Ranger writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 12:00:30 PM

The p*ssy even has a 'talent' manager:

michael@greenetalent.com
mrstretch writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 12:13:25 PM

What a little fag
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 12:47:44 PM

What they said^ lol
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 2:33:05 PM

Strange then, they they nominated Schindler's List for advocating genocide.

This guy just wants attention.

Anyway, waterboarding hasn't really led to useful information. I'm not against it as long as the people being "tortured" have earned it by being monsters, but if it only makes the tortured say what the torturers want to hear, whats the point?

It's like capital punishment. I'm not against the state putting down some rabid dog, but if it doesn't bring the dead back, if it doesn't deter other killers, what's the point, other than saving the taxpayer some money?

Anyway, this guy needs to grow up and shut up.
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 2:37:21 PM

"This guy would be wearing 'I heart WaterBoarding' t-shirts if his husband was in one of those towers,planes,Pentagon,ground zero."

Actually....maybe, probably, not.

Quite a few families of 9-11 victims have spoken against torture, which, in this day and age, really just means simulated drowning, and although very unpleasant, isn't fatal. Doesn't even leave a scar.

Surprisingly, most of the people vociferously supporting waterboarding don't even known anyone who lost anyone on 9-11.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 2:44:11 PM



jessica chastain

http://www.worstpreviews.com/images/headlines/temp/temp3874.jpg
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 2:47:12 PM



zero dark lost her shirtyy

http://www.worstpreviews.com/images/headlines/temp/temp3874.jpg
Ranger writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 2:49:21 PM

David sounds like the gerbil broke off the string and is stuck in his ass.
Ranger writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 2:50:42 PM

Nothing beats a nice set of tits (I always say).
Ranger writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 2:52:57 PM

@mink - that's the main reason I do like capital punishment. It saves on the tax-payer.
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 3:02:50 PM

@ranger: capital punishment for Congress, then. Just imagine the savings...
Ranger writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 3:06:55 PM

No sh*t!
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 3:08:29 PM

"Anyway, waterboarding hasn't really led to useful information. I'm not against it as long as the people being "tortured" have earned it by being monsters, but if it only makes the tortured say what the torturers want to hear, whats the point?"

Gotta agree. I think the uncomfortable truth the film brings up is that torture does inevitably lead to some useful information, but is it worth torturing innocent people over? There are plenty of horror stories of people snatched from their homelands and tossed into Guantanamo, forced to squat shackled hand and foot to the floor, blasted for days with heavy metal, shiver uncontrollably in a freezing cell (made freezing intentionally) and obviously waterboarded, FOR YEARS, before being released back to their countries without charge. Do stories like that scare off potential terrorists, or convince more potential terrorists America IS evil and rally them to the cause?

Also, is it worth condoning torture publicly so that countries with far more dubious human rights records get the free pass to do their own 'enhanced interrogations'?

It makes me think of a scene in the book A Feast For Crows where Queen Cersei is chopping off the fingers of a singer, and he's saying "No, No! I never bedded her!!" and she says "Now now, we want the TRUTH" and after enough torture she gets the 'truth' out of him. Of course hes broken and insane after but she got the 'intel' she wanted.
Ranger writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 3:20:13 PM

I'd like to water-board Charliez Theron with my man spray.
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 3:27:35 PM

@MoneyHayabusa: All very true, but the question that comes to mind is: how many of them are truly innocent? Sure, the media made a huge deal out of it when Bush was president, but the very same media hasn't run very many similar stories since 2009. Odd, and the CIA hasn't exactly ended rendition.

Reminds me of the Innocent Project, which is an organization, quite liberal but that's perhaps beside the point, dedicated to setting "innocent" men free. The thing is, the innocent men are often only technically innocent. They were convicted in a court of law by a jury of their peers, but perhaps before DNA. So the IP will go in and see if there's DNA evidence to test after the fact. Often there isn't any, which then leads to IP petitioning the court to set the original conviction aside, which means the men in question may very well be guilty, only that IP has generated enough speculation they are not, a sympathetic appeals court then agrees and a beleaguered and over-worked DA's office declines to retry the case.

In most cases, or the of the ones I've heard, the "innocent" men are only technically innocent. Very rarely are they innocent in the sense DNA conclusively proved someone else did the deed, but the media, which is often hostile to capital punishment, plays it like that's the case.

Kind of the same thing, perhaps, in the case of rendition, not that I'm saying the CIA and the American military don't abuse their power.
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 4:27:25 PM

Waterboarding.

Sounds like Kate Moss taking a shower.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 5:18:19 PM



the academy don't love TDKR either

http://www.movie2k.to/Batman-The-Dark-Knight-Returns-Part-2-watch-movie-2389841.html
pornfly writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 5:58:51 PM

I heard my buddy getting waterboarded during S.E.R.E. school and Im sure hes fine today

Lets Stop The Bitchin
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 6:59:18 PM

David Clennon created the show Ghost Whisperer and J. Edgar.



What the f*ck does this incipit fool know? Just another c*nt who needs to get the gimp.
Stapes writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 7:33:50 PM

True, pornfly. Sere school is not all its cracked up to be. Mando waterboarding. Nice to see a fellow swabby on here.
pornfly writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 7:48:12 PM

STAPES
waterboarding was only for the guys who couldnt remember their training
If that happened you basically failed
They had to come out of character for another buddy of mine
When it was all over he cried like a baby and sobbed all over me
salute bud
Stapes writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 8:01:15 PM

Pornfly, when I say swabby i didnt mean to imply that you got wayerboarded, i was just assuming you were navy. It was just my experience that most sere school guys happened to have been navy. An assumption, my bad. Hooah, hooyah, hoorah, aim high. Whichever applies to you.
jdl107 writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 8:24:23 PM

The Golden Globes are pretty predictable so far. Lol, but when are they not?

I do have to be honest though, Tina Fey is looking rather extravagant tonight. Never thought I'd say that.
jdl107 writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 8:25:46 PM

Oh, yeah. *OT

Anyway, on-topic. f*ck this guy. Sony's response was surprising, I liked it.
Ranger writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 8:28:37 PM

I'd f*ck all of Tina's wounds.

That girl give's me a 6+ on The Expendables-class of boners.
jdl107 writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 8:30:05 PM

"but if it only makes the tortured say what the torturers want to hear, whats the point"

Mhm.

I liken this to the cop torture scene in Reservoir Dogs (Whoa, ironic... Creepy) when Chris Penn says they could beat him all night and eventually he'd tell thenm who "started the Chicago Fire but that don't make f*cking so". Just thought I'd add that since it seems fitting.

Anyway, cheers mate.
jdl107 writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 8:33:45 PM

"I'd f*ck all of Tina's wounds.

That girl give's me a 6+ on The Expendables-class of boners."

Oooh, Ranger, you bad boy. Calm yourself. Next thing you know you'll be telling me about the doo-doo butter milkshakes you'd concoct out of that. And I'm eating, thank you very much.

So, pace yourself.
Ranger writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 8:50:00 PM

nom, nom, nom, nom...
Ranger writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 8:50:33 PM

Mmmm... Tina... that battle scar (above her waist line)... Mmmm...
jdl107 writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 8:56:44 PM

f*cking c*mberbatch better win for Sherlock!

What an unexpected nomination!
jdl107 writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 8:58:08 PM

c*mberbatch lost, but Costner wins for Hatfields & McCoys. I'm happy for you Kevin, but goddamnit. That was a snub and a half.

Either way, good for you, Kevin. That's awesome.
struck21 writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 10:06:03 PM

This movie is winning awards on it's subject matter more so then how good of a movie it is. I am surprised that Syfy didn't toss one out a few months ago, it would of won all the awards it was put up for.

The director has done two movies that I have seen and both so far were less then "great". Hurt Locker was boring, I was about to fall asleep part way through, this one is about a subject matter that we have heard 85%+ of the details in the media and who she made half her movie up for Hollywood. Didn't deserve the nom let alone to win anything.
Gnarkill writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 10:55:54 PM

Its insane that everyone bitchs about every little thing i mean look at spike lee and kat williams its racist bla bla ! EVERYONE should be equals that means NO hate crimes womens and gay rights all that sh*t thrown out the window.. i should be able to punch a woman in the face if she kicks me in the nuts without going to jail...
jdl107 writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 11:55:52 PM

Its insane that everyone bitchs about every little thing i mean look at spike lee and kat williams its racist bla bla ! EVERYONE should be equals that means NO hate crimes womens and gay rights all that sh*t thrown out the window.. i should be able to punch a woman in the face if she kicks me in the nuts without going to jail...

You don't even know what you're talking about, take that sh*t somewhere else.
jdl107 writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 11:56:17 PM

Forgot my quotations, my bad.
pornfly writes:
on January 14th, 2013 at 1:46:30 AM

STAPES
I understood you perfectly
fuggettaboutit
biniwoo writes:
on January 14th, 2013 at 5:23:34 AM


It can't be more torture than watching Ghost Whisperer
The First Rule writes:
on January 14th, 2013 at 11:57:40 AM

What a sick collection of individuals this community is.

It's Official! Channing Tatum to Star in "Gambit" Spin-Off

Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot

Christopher Nolan Hates Post-Credits Scenes, Here's Why

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed

Daniel Bruhl is Villain in "Captain America 3" and "Doctor Strange"

Margot Robbie is Harley Quinn in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film

Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy

Jared Leto May Play The Joker in "Suicide Squad"

"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved