WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Die Hard 5" Surprisingly Gets an R Rating

Posted: January 12th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Die Hard 5" Surprisingly Gets an R RatingSubmit Comment
The first three "Die Hard" films were all R-rated. This is why fans were shocked that 20th Century Fox was pushing to get a PG-13 rating for its fourth installment, called "Live Free or Die Hard."

The reason for the move was because PG-13 movies tend to earn more money than R-rated ones. And it proved to be true in this case, because the fourth film grossed more than all the previous installments.

So now that a fifth movie, called "A Good Day to Die Hard," is ready to be released on February 14th, many thought that the studio would once again push for a PG-13 rating. Not so. It turns out that the MPAA has rated the film and gave it an 'R' rating.

Source: ComingSoon


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Morbius writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 7:35:21 AM

Yippee Ki-yay, Motherf*cker.
boogiel writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 7:44:01 AM

They can add as many f*cks as they want, I'll still have no f*cking interest with this movie.
Morbius writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 7:47:10 AM

Agreed Boogiel.
Rambo writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 9:10:52 AM

a good day to suck hard
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 9:48:21 AM

This hopefully will be the last, shoulda stopped after 3.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 9:50:43 AM

THANK f*ck!

So happy lol
Wallace writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 10:36:00 AM

"And it proved to be true in this case, because the fourth film grossed more than all the previous installments."

Really WP?

The only reason the fourth one grossed more was ticket price inflation.

Adjusted for Ticket Price Inflation, it was actually the least profitable of them all (domestic):

http://www.boxofficemojo.com/franchises/chart/?id=diehard.htm



McQueen writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 10:52:31 AM

I hope it will be slightly better than the 4th one. R is a good sign, why not? I'm in anyway.
supaflywill writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 12:00:41 PM

Not bothered , nothe ride Hardin one more too many ...crap
supaflywill writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 12:01:45 PM

^
Predictive text and I can't be bothered to re write it , die hard sh*t
minkowski writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 1:33:55 PM

I now have some faith for this movie. Not sure though where the decision was made. Did Bruce push for a higher rating? Curious. You'd think the studios would want more money with a PG-13.

Anyway, good news.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 2:51:10 PM



i have an idea
let's piss and moan
about the ''shocking'' violence in this movie
just because a bunch of total strangers
got killed by some nutcase

that will make the world a better place i bet
Phunky Dubbs writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 3:36:42 PM

Allah be praised for this glorious news! My faith in this actually being a worthy sequel is restored.
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 3:41:44 PM

It's still not going to be as awesome as the 1st film.
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 3:44:19 PM

Prometheus got an R-rating, too.
Look how THAT goddamn travesty turned out.
minkowski writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 3:47:56 PM

Yeah but Lindelhof didn't write Die Hard 5.
WV-Films writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 3:53:26 PM

Still waiting for the title: "Eat sh*t and Die Hard."
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 4:23:37 PM

Let's hope it STAYS THAT WAY, Mink.
jdl107 writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 5:01:50 PM

I had a little flash of faith upon reading this, but then I remembered that this movie (Judging by the trailers) somewhat looks like sh*t, imo. No amount of blood or head blasting is going to change that.

Then again it is Die Hard.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 5:13:55 PM

I'm not sure if you guys know already, But I'll say it again...

I cantf*cking wait for This!! :D
jdl107 writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 8:09:38 PM

I'm sorry I didn't mean insult by that. The love the first Die Hard with a passion. The second?... Eh. The third was great. The fourth, not so great.

Overall this series is worth it, sans 2, and 4. 5 doesn't really look like much of an improvement, but who knows 'til it comes out.
Kurskij writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 8:24:03 PM

"i have an idea
let's piss and moan
about the ''shocking'' violence in this movie
just because a bunch of total strangers
got killed by some nutcase"

...
jdl107 writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 8:38:41 PM

Cheers, Kurskij.

*sigh*
Attos writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 11:36:17 PM

I originally wasn't that upset about the last one being PG-13... Until I actually watched it.

It happens in movies all the time- You catch a scene or two where someone is clearly saying something completely different than what you're hearing. Even when the person speaking isn't facing the camera, it's generally still pretty obvious. Sure, that can be slightly irritating to see, but it's usually not a big deal. Especially since it only tends to happen once or twice in most movies, if at all.

But then you have movies like Live Free or Die Hard. See, I was just happy to have McClane on the screen kicking ass again, so I had to go see it opening night. (As all action movies are only correctly viewed on a screen the size of house, with a dozen speakers the size of cars. It's the only proper way to do it.)However, ten minutes into the movie it was already clear that they had filmed it as R rated, then poorly pasted different dialogue over it. I swear it felt like every other f*cking line/scene was butchered by editing. There were even several scenes where the camera was directly pointing at someone who was speaking, but they weren't even moving their mouth. So I got to spend the first half of the movie wondering what the actual dialogue for the movie would have been, rather than the chopped up pile of sh*t I was watching. Then I spent the second half of the movie realizing that I had completely wasted my money and my time watching this version, because I knew when it was time to release the dvd they were obviously going to follow the same stupid f*cking trend of 90% of the last decade worth of movies- UNRATED. I've come to despise that word. All it ever means is that they intentionally cut out what never amounts to be more than a few more minutes of someone saying "f*ck" or seeing a gruesome image for a few extra seconds, just so they could entice people to buy the dvd by putting extra scenes right back where they were already supposed to be. Usually claiming it's the "hardcore" version that I guess the general public was just too sensitive and innocent to see the first time around.

This is why people pirate movies. Because stupid bullsh*t like that is so common in recent years. I certainly download more than my fair share of pirated movies, and it's not even because I'm trying to save money. I just don't want to give my money to the filmmakers unless I actually enjoy their product. I've always felt like our system for viewing and buying movies is a really poor way to go about it. It seems like films should be presented for free originally. I realize this would cause problems as far as theater capacity goes, but maybe they shouldn't be making their debut there anyway. I'd much rather see new movies perhaps be made available on a service much like Netflix. I'm okay paying a reasonable monthly fee in order to see movies before I actually decide to purchase them. You wouldn't buy a painting before you even saw what it looked like, would you? Even the music industry gives you more of an opportunity to know if you would enjoy a band before you buy their album by releasing half of the songs on the radio and music videos. It seems kind of stupid that we have to pay to see something, and if it's terrible you're usually just sh*t out of luck. Most people don't bother going through the line again for a refund. Even if you DID enjoy a movie enough to want a copy for yourself, you have to pay for it AGAIN after waiting months for it to be released... again. It's no wonder there are so many awful movies out there. We've been conditioned to reward filmmakers regardless of how well they do. (Yes, I realize that bad movies tend to make less money than genuinely good films, but I feel like they shouldn't make a dime. No point in trying harder next time if you know people will still pay for a half-assed attempt. For example: Why is Uwe Boll even allowed to direct anymore? We shouldn't even know his name, because he should have been exiled from the entire film-making world five minutes after he stepped on his first set.)

My bad for the long rant that went way off topic. Just had to get that out.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 9:06:32 AM

BEST NEWS OF THE DAY!!!

We saw the new TV trailer at a sushi sports bar last night. A few people (including myself) stood up and cheered when they saw the R rating.
seveltoto writes:
on October 30th, 2017 at 9:44:19 AM

seveltoto writes:
on October 30th, 2017 at 11:45:35 AM

seveltoto writes:
on October 30th, 2017 at 11:45:35 AM

aleale writes:
on November 12th, 2017 at 3:22:47 AM

sevelace writes:
on November 15th, 2017 at 11:49:06 PM

recreator9 writes:
on November 20th, 2017 at 1:15:36 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved