WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Captain America: Civil War" Concept Art Shows Two Avengers Teams
Aug 30th, 2015
First Look at Michael Fassbender in "Assassin's Creed" Video Game Movie
Aug 29th, 2015
Matt Damon Reveals "Bourne" Sequel Plot Details
Aug 29th, 2015
New Trailer for Jack Black's "Goosebumps"
Aug 29th, 2015
Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Schumer Working on New Comedy
Aug 27th, 2015
Christopher Meloni Joins "Holding Patterns"
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Love the Coopers" Comedy, with John Goodman, Ed Helms and Olivia Wilde
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for Nicholas Hoult's "Kill Your Friends" Crime Thriller
Aug 26th, 2015
James Franco is a Tech Billionaire in "Why Him" Comedy
Aug 26th, 2015
General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 20th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Jungle Cruise," Based on Disney's Theme Park Ride
Aug 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Blunt Force Trauma," with Mickey Rourke and Freida Pinto
Aug 20th, 2015
First Trailer for "Victor Frankenstein," with Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy
Aug 19th, 2015
"Prometheus 2" Delaying Neill Blomkamp's "Alien 5"
Aug 19th, 2015
Freddie Highmore and Odeya Rush Join "Holding Patterns"
Aug 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Matt Damon's "The Martian" is Here!
Aug 19th, 2015
Post-Apocalyptic "Zorro" Reboot is Moving Forward
Aug 19th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for "Star Wars: The Force Awakens"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at "Star Wars: Rogue One" Spin-Off Film
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Aug 18th, 2015
New Photo From Pixar's "Finding Dory"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for "Carol," with Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for Kevin Hart's "Ride Along" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
First Posters for "Alice in Wonderland" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
Bradley Cooper is a Chef in "Burnt" Trailer
Aug 15th, 2015
First Look at Black Panther on "Captain America: Civil War" Set
Aug 13th, 2015
First Look at Dolph Lundgren in "Kindergarten Cop" Sequel
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" is Here!
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Life," with Dane DeHaan as James Dean
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Trumbo," with Bryan Cranston and Helen Mirren
Aug 13th, 2015
Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?
Aug 9th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

White House Responds to Petition Demanding Construction of Real "Star Wars" Death Star

Posted: January 12th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
White House Responds to Petition Demanding Construction of Real "Star Wars" Death StarSubmit Comment
In America, if enough people sign a petition requesting something from the White House, the US government would have to respond. A few weeks ago, people took advantage of that by asking the White House to begin construction of a Death Star by 2016. The petition got enough signatures, which resulted in the White House issuing an official response, and it's pretty great.

The statement, cleverly titled "This Isn't The Petition Response You're Looking For," was written by Paul Shawcross, Chief of the Science and Space at the White House. And it's full of "Star Wars" references.

He wrote: "The Administration shares your desire for job creation and a strong national defense, but a Death Star isn't on the horizon. Here are a few reasons:

* The construction of the Death Star has been estimated to cost more than $850,000,000,000,000,000. We're working hard to reduce the deficit, not expand it.

* The Administration does not support blowing up planets.

* Why would we spend countless taxpayer dollars on a Death Star with a fundamental flaw that can be exploited by a one-man starship?"

Shawcross used the rest of the statement to promote real achievements in American science and space exploration, urging anyone interested in "Star Wars" to consider a career in science.

Source: White House


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 7:38:00 AM

Of all the petitions on that site and they always pick the dumbest ones.
Evil_Disco writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 7:54:34 AM

I mean.. How can one even come up with a suggestion like this? Build a Death Star?
What's next - you demand pigs to be able to speak?
Take it anyway you want, but Americans are f*cking morons.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 9:47:10 AM

Reading their responses, are they trying to be funny for once?
McQueen writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 10:20:01 AM

"...urging anyone interested in "Star Wars" to consider a career in science."

There is a golden opportunity for you Minky.
Ranger writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 12:14:19 PM

Building a Death Star would be easier than paying off the debt though.
Ranger writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 12:17:30 PM

And these nerds (not geeks, geeks have talents) even distracting their lives to sign such a thing to suggest a bankrupt government build something (useless) other than fund an educational system, health care, debt relief (not for Katrina victims because they're poor black folk not sitting on oil reserves, but Iraq is). f*cking morons. Every name on that petition should be made volunteers for the Soylent Green Initiative.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 12:50:19 PM

You've got to be kidding me... LOL
hellsingfan writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 12:53:29 PM

Excuse me ranger I'm one of those nerds that you speak off and I find what you said rude and offensive
kmurg writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 1:23:28 PM

It was a good response to the petition. You guys need to have a better sense of humor. If a petition on the white house website reaches a certain amount of signed people (~25000) they must review and respond to the petition.
Electro Rock writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 1:29:31 PM

I'm starting a petition for a remastered complete series release of The Rifleman and The Mighty Heros. And a platinum 33rd anniversary release of Going Ape.
minkowski writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 1:36:50 PM

That's a very droll reply, no doubt, but really, I think the government should spend their time working on important matters, not addressing idiotic petitions drawn up by Star Wars nerds.
Ranger writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 2:36:21 PM

@hellsingfan - my apology to you sir.
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 2:47:30 PM

This is the stupidest f*cking thing I have ever heard in my life.
Cannon writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 4:25:56 PM


Completely unrealistic. Now, a lightsaber on the other hand...

pornfly writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 4:32:32 PM

YEA ELECTRO
GOING APE
GOING APE
GOING APE.....
swoooop writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 4:56:49 PM

$850,000,000,000,000,000??
Design it inn California, and assemble it inn China.
Cost: $850 and some dead kids.
jdl107 writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 5:12:39 PM

I'm a cynical, captious piece of sh*t. But I actually found that title to be funny.

Although the rest is a little bland.
swoooop writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 6:18:20 PM

http://youtu.be/xh3Wveg4DMk

ITS NOT A TUMOR!!!
matternm58 writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 9:31:04 PM

For one it was not a fundamental flaw. It was an exhaust port. Your car has a tail pipe doesn't it. Well that's exactly what the f*ck that was. Some people are just so dumb. Yes I just went into serious star wars mode lol.
matternm58 writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 9:33:50 PM

On a more serious note. What person in the white house in their right mind would even bother looking at this other than entertainment and unstoppable laughter.
DeVries writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 9:52:42 PM

How about every single f*cking moron that signed this petition is now considered a slave to built a Death Star for free ?
minkowski writes:
on January 12th, 2013 at 10:47:59 PM

I seriously doubt *labor* is a significant portion of the 850 quadrillion dollar cost of building the death star, DeVries...
Electro Rock writes:
on January 13th, 2013 at 2:57:03 AM

You didn't build that......somebody else made that happen.

@Porn: Is that movie not the best ever?

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved