WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Zombieland" Director Says a Sequel Will NOT Happen

Posted: January 11th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Zombieland" Director Says a Sequel Will NOT HappenSubmit Comment
While promoting "Gangster Squad," director Ruben Fleischer has been answering questions about the sequel to "Zombieland." While the helmer had hopes of developing a second installment, he just revealed that it will likely never happen.

"There's no immediate plans to make the movie. There's no script. So the likelihood of it happening is slim. But I would not wanna put a nail in that coffin," he said, adding that the proposed sequel would have focused on the characters dealing with threats other than zombies.

Fleischer explained: "The only thing I could really say is that the threat to our heroes wasn't only zombies. They encounter other people that [are] all jockeying for positions."

"Zombieland" hit theaters back in 2009 and went on to gross $102 million globally on a $24 million budget.

Source: Collider


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 10th, 2013 at 9:23:13 PM

We get sh*tloads of unnecessary and unwanted sequels. But the 1 sequel I wouldn't mind seeing if we don't get it. f*ck you Hollywood! !!
cress writes:
on January 10th, 2013 at 9:26:38 PM

Bill Murray was great in Zombieland.

It's funny, because this film came out when no one gave a sh*t about zombies. Now, it's all the rage. Everyone is jumping on the zombie bandwagon. Hell, I was driving by a church the other day and the sign by the road said:

"Jesus Christ--The Original Zombie. Make Him A Part of
Your Life Today!"
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 10th, 2013 at 9:29:25 PM

Zombieland was a classic. Doesn't need a sequel. Good one, Ruben.
jdl107 writes:
on January 10th, 2013 at 9:47:14 PM

Good. The first one was a cross between mildlt entertaining mostly dogsh*t affair.

Bill Murray was... Bill Murray in a barely 5 minute cameo. Nothing special.
jdl107 writes:
on January 10th, 2013 at 9:48:26 PM

How did I screw that up that bad?

"Good. The first one was a mildly entertaining mostly dogsh*t affair."

A cross between?... Geeze.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on January 10th, 2013 at 10:06:28 PM

@Cress - "Jesus Christ--The Original Zombie. Make Him A Part of Your Life Today!"

LOL. You should take a picture of that and post it before they take it down. Funny sh*t that. Yeah, I know what you mean about Zombies being all the rage. I'm liking Season 3 of The Walking Dead and I'm about half way through reading World War Z. Each little segment has enough interest to be an outline for its own small movie. Not sure how the upcoming Brad Pitt's movie version is going to do the novel any justice (it won't). I think they will take a couple of the key significant stories and somehow bring them toether on a global scale like Contagion only with faster virus crazed zombie swarms. Its really about all you can do for a + 2 hour film. A better treatment for World War Z would be an HBO mini-series so they can chronicle each different zombie encounter from around the world and take the proper time to develop and weave them together. Some might say it would be another The Walking Dead. However TWD is a very local intimate character driven storyline about a tight group which almost behaves like a family defending their right to survive. Whereas WWZ is very global in its narrative and reads almost like an X-Files in telling about how humanity failed to act responsibly and timely about this deadly outbreak. We learn of stories of those that profitted from fear (placebo pills), human smuggling over border gaps, discrete military strike forces, mass migrations, government coverups, mass quarantines, extreme survivalists measures etc.
minkowski writes:
on January 10th, 2013 at 10:24:37 PM

I guess the sequel is dead.

The real question: will it stay dead?
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 10th, 2013 at 10:26:45 PM

I goddamn hope so. Really doesn't need a sequel.
minkowski writes:
on January 10th, 2013 at 10:27:13 PM

@Mr. Blonde 'Zombie Christ" is an old meme. The funny thing is it was created to mock Christianity, and so to see a church parroting this Christian insult isn't just ironic, it's pitiable.
minkowski writes:
on January 10th, 2013 at 10:48:57 PM

Alex will run an article tomorrow saying the project is only delayed.
jdl107 writes:
on January 10th, 2013 at 11:14:05 PM

Alex:

"Zombieland Director Says a Sequel Will NOT Happen"

Director, 5 to 6 sentences later:

"So the likelihood of it happening is slim. But I would not wanna put a nail in that coffin"

Slim. Wouldn't want to put a nail in that coffin. Hardly "not gonna happen".

I'm sorry, but this is getting out of hand, I say you fire this funky french tickler and hire Mink instead. At least Mink has the decency to actually read the f*cking articles.
Fightclub1 writes:
on January 10th, 2013 at 11:33:21 PM

I would love another one
minkowski writes:
on January 10th, 2013 at 11:35:37 PM

@jdl: thanks man, but an eggplant lawyer could do a better job with the truth.


"At least Mink has the decency to actually read the f*cking articles."

Usually...



Anyway, like jdl wrote, the director says the movie is NOT dead, while Alex says the movie IS dead.

You can't get more confused (or illiterate) than that, folks.
Electro Rock writes:
on January 10th, 2013 at 11:37:54 PM

They need to make a new zombie movie but use a bunch of actors from other well known zombie films should star. Kinda like an Expendables but for zombies.

Ken Foree, Judith O'Dea, Clu Gallagher, etc

And Joe Polaroid should be Cpt Rhodes one more time.
Electro Rock writes:
on January 10th, 2013 at 11:38:42 PM

They need to make a new zombie movie but use a bunch of actors from other well known zombie films should star. Kinda like an Expendables but for zombies.

Ken Foree, Judith O'Dea, Clu Gallagher, etc

And Joe Pilato should be Cpt Rhodes one more time.
Electro Rock writes:
on January 10th, 2013 at 11:41:19 PM

I hate autospell, double posts, and no edit button.

Silver lining: Joe Polaroid is a new pseudonym for me.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 11th, 2013 at 12:22:05 AM

Damn.. I really liked Zombiand..
pornfly writes:
on January 11th, 2013 at 12:48:59 AM

Dont care
Tonights Person Of Interest
KILLED!
Johnnyb writes:
on January 11th, 2013 at 2:22:30 PM

What about f*ckland? There could always be another possibilities than just zombies!
cress writes:
on January 11th, 2013 at 3:25:04 PM

@Mr. Blonde. I quit watching Walking Dead last January at the midseason break. AMC had a marathon on a couple weeks ago and I watched 8 hrs. straight like the f*cking loser I am(lol). It had me hooked, and is A LOT better than where I left off. They've really picked up the pace. I don't watch tv anymore(too much horsh*t programming, too much useless f*cking talking heads, etc.), and I am very selective when I do watch. Breaking Bad is the best thing I've seen in quite some time. And Walking Dead has improved quite a bit, so I'm going to try to keep up with it. I'd like to watch Dexter, but I'm weary of online places where its free, for fear of having my computer crash again. I've seen Season 1 of it, and enjoyed it as well.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved