WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Jared Leto as The Joker from "Suicide Squad"!
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for M. Night Shyamalan's "The Visit" Thriller
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for "Area 51" Horror Film, From Director of "Paranormal Activity"
Apr 25th, 2015
First Look at Jamie Dornan in "Fifty Shades of Grey" Sequel
Apr 25th, 2015
Creepy Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass"
Apr 25th, 2015
First Look at Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy in "Victor Frankenstein"
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for "Barely Lethal" Action Comedy, with Hailee Steinfeld and Jessica Alba
Apr 25th, 2015
Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot
Apr 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Point Break" Remake
Apr 23rd, 2015
EL James' Husband to Write "Fifty Shades of Grey" Sequel
Apr 23rd, 2015
"21 Jump Street" Directors to Helm Animated "Spider-Man" Movie
Apr 23rd, 2015
Photo: Johnny Depp is Crime Boss Whitey Bulger in "Black Mass"
Apr 23rd, 2015
First Look at Johnny Depp in "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"
Apr 22nd, 2015
New Trailer for George Clooney's "Tomorrowland" Sci-Fi Film
Apr 22nd, 2015
First Poster for M. Night Shyamalan's "The Visit" Thriller
Apr 22nd, 2015
Poster for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Southpaw" Boxing Film
Apr 22nd, 2015
New "Jurassic World" Trailer is Here!
Apr 21st, 2015
First Look at Jared Leto as The Joker From "Suicide Squad"?
Apr 21st, 2015
Photos: Marvel Putting Up Tiny "Ant-Man" Billboards
Apr 21st, 2015
"Transformers 5" Coming in 2017
Apr 21st, 2015
Photo: Full Batman Costume From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed
Apr 21st, 2015
Full "Fantastic Four" Trailer is Here!
Apr 20th, 2015
Teaser for "Star Wars" Spin-Off Film Leaked Online!
Apr 20th, 2015
Two "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Teaser Posters
Apr 20th, 2015
"Furious 7" Crosses $1 Billion at Box Office
Apr 20th, 2015
Trailer for Ridiculous "Mega Shark vs Kolossus"
Apr 20th, 2015
Chris Pratt and His Raptors in New "Jurassic World" Poster
Apr 20th, 2015
George Lucas Says Marvel May Remake "Howard the Duck"
Apr 19th, 2015
Dinosaur vs Shark in New "Jurassic World" Poster
Apr 19th, 2015
Official "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer is Here!
Apr 18th, 2015
Restricted Trailer for Salma Hayek's "The Tale of Tales" Fantasy Film
Apr 18th, 2015
New Poster for Joseph Gordon-Levitt's "The Walk," Directed by Robert Zemeckis
Apr 18th, 2015
New Poster for "Jurassic World," New Trailer Coming on Monday
Apr 18th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Trailer for Jackie Robinson Biopic "42," with Harrison Ford

Posted: January 11th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Trailer for Jackie Robinson Biopic "42," with Harrison FordSubmit Comment
Warner Bros has unveiled a new trailer for the upcoming Jackie Robinson film "42," starring Harrison Ford, Chadwick Boseman, and Christopher Meloni. Check it out below.

Plot: Boseman plays Robinson, the heroic African American who was the first man to break the color line in the big leagues. Ford plays innovative Dodger's general manager Branch Rickey, the MLB executive who first signed Robinson to the minors and then helped to bring him up to the show.

The new movie is written and directed by Brian Helgeland and is set to hit theaters on April 12th, 2013.

Trailer:


Source: Apple


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on January 10th, 2013 at 9:32:51 PM

Final domestic box office: Less than $50 million.
vincere01 writes:
on January 10th, 2013 at 9:39:49 PM

Baseball movie right around the start of the new season with the hype train going full steam? Based on a iconic baseball player everyone knows? Starring a black guy which covers the black minority (if they all go see tyler perrys sh*t they will go to this) and harrison ford who is beloved by the majority of white people. I'd say this is a sleeper hit. I'd bet my lefty testy that it gets close to or more than 100 million
cress writes:
on January 10th, 2013 at 10:04:17 PM

It's a historical biopic with a minority cast. If "Lincoln", with a big-name cast, big-name director can only manage around $140 million, this will make much less. Another historical drama, "Red Tails", had a minority cast, but wasn't solely two hours of talking--at least there was some action-oriented aerial dogfights. It tanked at the box office
as well. And Harrison Ford hadnt been in a film that the majority has liked in almost 20 years. This flick belongs on HBO.
minkowski writes:
on January 10th, 2013 at 10:16:58 PM

Let's see. No big leads, no high concept. A movie about baseball. Not football. Baseball. And not today's baseball, but baseball from 1942.

I mean, who's going to watch? Kids? Teenagers? No Channing Tatum, no Justin Bieber. Blacks? They don't give a f*ck about Robinson. He's not trying to give them anything and he's not telling them all their problems are the white man's fault. Women? No hunk, no hot male lead, no feminist angle, no romance. White professional men interested in America's most boring past time? Maybe. All 50k of them. Surely not the NASCAR crowd.

Definitely not a 'big tent' film.
minkowski writes:
on January 10th, 2013 at 10:22:16 PM

@Vincere it's not 1988 anymore. People don't flock to see Harrison Ford anymore. Men would see him because he did good action films like The Fugitive and Indiana Jones. Women went to see him because he was sexy. So they say.

And blacks? lol. First off, they're a very small percentage of the total US population. And they don't flock to see anything that isn't a) made by a Wayans or a Perry or b)isn't hugely mainstream.

This sh*t may not even break the 30mil mark.


Moreover, its competition on the 12th: Oblivion. Scary Movie 5. Evil Dead. Two weeks later, Pain and Gain. Another week later, Iron Man 3.
telur writes:
on January 10th, 2013 at 10:23:07 PM

^there is Harrison Ford Mink. He had a fans
minkowski writes:
on January 10th, 2013 at 10:33:58 PM

Yeah. He *had* fans. Had. No one's going to flock to the theater to see a 90 year old Ford in a historical baseball movie. Sorry. I just don't see that happening. Hell, they won't even flock to see Pitt do Moneyball, which made only 75 mil domestic.

http://boxofficemojo.com/movies/?id=moneyball.htm

You guys are dreaming.
minkowski writes:
on January 10th, 2013 at 10:34:57 PM

..wouldn't...

And if I'm wrong and this makes some impressive money, I'll be the first to admit I was wrong.
Ranger writes:
on January 10th, 2013 at 11:10:04 PM

@mink - c'mon... don't make fun of telur's Engwish (see what I did just there?). It's great having her here post regularly over the usual sausage-fest that is WP.

Ranger writes:
on January 10th, 2013 at 11:13:25 PM

I don't want to watch the sex scene between Ford and the Robinson' character. So, this is a miss for me.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 10th, 2013 at 11:29:06 PM

Shouldn't this be on HBO or something?
minkowski writes:
on January 10th, 2013 at 11:31:50 PM

"It's great having her here post regularly over the usual sausage-fest that is WP."

Who cares? Is she hot? That's all I care about!
Cannon writes:
on January 10th, 2013 at 11:36:22 PM


If this gets mediocre reviews it will do mediocre business at the box office, around the $30 to $40 million mark. If it surprises critics and gets largely positive reviews/word-of-mouth, it could likewise end up a surprise family film hit, somewhere in the BALLPARK of $75 to $100 million; most old people who see movies like this aren't gonna give a sh*t about Iron Man 3 the following week.

But, again, it all depends on just how good the movie is, or at least how commercially entertaining/inspiring/heartwarming it can prove to be.
minkowski writes:
on January 10th, 2013 at 11:37:25 PM

@ranger: strangely enough, the word telur is Serbo-Croation for egg, or slang for testicles.

Weird.
minkowski writes:
on January 10th, 2013 at 11:43:31 PM

"most old people who see movies like this aren't gonna give a sh*t about Iron Man 3 the following week."

Most old people don't spend tens of million of dollars at the theater on one movie either. The big spread in demographics is the younger set, and Hollywood damned well knows this.

And I'm not sure where you make the mark at "older", but plenty of 30-45 year olds are either going to go see Iron Man themselves, people like Ranger and I, older comic book fans, or they're going to take their kids.

They're surely not going to take their teenage kids to a baseball history movie, and they're surely not going to take a date, and they're damned too young to care about Jackie anyway.

Again, I could be wrong, but I don't think so. I just don't see enough appeal.

I sure as hell won't see it. Not even a twinge of interest. Not even for Ford. Just seeing him in his ancient condition hurts my memory of him anyway.



So maybe all those 60 to 90 year old move fans will hit a homerun with 42, but I'm calling three strikes, you're out.

Now someone get me a hotdog with relish.
Cannon writes:
on January 10th, 2013 at 11:44:37 PM


I for one like baseball, the history of baseball and Harrison Ford (even the old, cranky version).

f*ck the Evil Dead remake (that nobody asked for), Scary Movie 9 or whatever-who-gives-a-sh*t and Michael Bayís bodybuilding caperórental, at best.

If I hear good things about this film, I might pull a double feature between it and Oblivion, or see both within the same week.
Cannon writes:
on January 10th, 2013 at 11:49:27 PM

When I say old, Iím talking 60s plus. And if the movie gets high praise, it could prove to be the holdover alternative to Iron Man 3 the following week. Itís not like audiences are adverse to seeing a movie after its initial 7-day opening.
minkowski writes:
on January 10th, 2013 at 11:54:55 PM

It ain't gonna make 100 million. That's absurd.

Fact is, and facts being facts, most of the people who deliver the most of a theater's revenue are going to see Evil Dead, Scary Movie and Oblivion.


"Itís not like audiences are adverse to seeing a movie after its initial 7-day opening."

No, but most films, generally, make the bulk of their earnings the first week or two. Stiff competition week one and week two and then there's more on the horizon towards May, end of April.

I won't call it a flop, but Trouble with the Curve only made 35mil.

No offense, Cannon, you're obviously not representative of those people.
Cannon writes:
on January 11th, 2013 at 12:00:54 AM


$100 is highly unlikely, yes. I would say, if this does manage to become relative a box office winner, it could hit $75. But, realistically, it probably won't. I'm only talking feesible possibilities here, is all.

minkowski writes:
on January 11th, 2013 at 12:02:42 AM

75 million? Maybe...



Like I said, if I'm wrong, I'll be the first to say so.
minkowski writes:
on January 11th, 2013 at 12:22:43 AM

I haven't seen the trailer, but I read it uses Jayz rap. True? I also read it isn't in the movie.

Kind of sad they would go that route to sell such a movie. Not only does it cheapen it, it also diminishes the significance of the movie's message through apparent racially pandering.
vincere01 writes:
on January 11th, 2013 at 1:05:22 AM

Success or failure. Either way one thing is for sure, ford will
Be sporting a scowl like he pooped himself
Ranger writes:
on January 11th, 2013 at 1:36:05 AM

At his age... that's likely.
Ranger writes:
on January 11th, 2013 at 1:40:07 AM

@mink. re: telur meaning... lol.

New Spider-Man is 15-Year-Old Peter Parker, No Origin Story

Disney Making Live-Action "Winnie the Pooh" Film

Arnold Schwarzenegger Happy He Didn't Star in "Terminator Salvation"

"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon

"Insurgent" Takes First Place at Box Office, Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Flops

"Spectre" Opening Sequence is Biggest in History

"Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2" Title Revealed

"Home" and "Get Hard" Perform Well at Box Office

Jennifer Lawrence Says "X-Men: Apocalypse" is Her Last "X-Men" Film

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Footage Coming Tomorrow
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved