WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Fifty Shades of Grey" and "Star Wars" are Top Trailers of 2014
Dec 18th, 2014
Hugh Jackman in Talks for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "The Wolverine 2"
Dec 18th, 2014
Peter Jackson Wants to Make More Tolkien Movies
Dec 18th, 2014
Theaters Refusing to Show "The Interview," Sony Cancels Premiere, Press and Release
Dec 17th, 2014
Chris Pratt and a Dinosaur in New "Jurassic World" Photo
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Doesn't Like Marvel Films, Says Superheroes Should Be Happier
Dec 17th, 2014
Orlando Bloom Says "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" is a Reboot
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Will Direct "Beetlejuice 2," Confirms Winona Ryder Will Return
Dec 17th, 2014
Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy Unveils Pac-Man and Donkey Kong Posters
Dec 17th, 2014
New Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Dec 17th, 2014
First Look at "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 16th, 2014
Quentin Tarantino Interested in "Django Unchained" and "Zorro" Crossover Film
Dec 16th, 2014
Lots of "Ghostbusters 3" Story Details Leaked
Dec 16th, 2014
Trailer for Terrence Malick's "Knight of Cups," with Christian Bale and Natalie Portman
Dec 16th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel Gets New Title and Release Date, JK Simmons Joins Cast
Dec 16th, 2014
Five Actresses in Talks for "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" Role
Dec 16th, 2014
20th Century Fox Planning to Merge "Fantastic Four" With "X-Men"
Dec 15th, 2014
"Aquaman" Film Considering "Mud" Director Jeff Nichols
Dec 15th, 2014
Tim Burton Says "Beetlejuice 2" is Closer Than Ever
Dec 15th, 2014
First Look at Batman's Suit From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" in Color
Dec 15th, 2014
Jeremy Irons Says Alfred in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" is Very Different
Dec 15th, 2014
"Exodus: Gods and Kings" Underperforms at Box Office
Dec 15th, 2014
Disney Still Planning to Make "Indiana Jones 5"
Dec 14th, 2014
Trailer for Fake Movie "MoonQuake Lake," with Ashton Kutcher and Mila Kunis
Dec 14th, 2014
Concept Art From Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Dec 14th, 2014
First Teaser for "Descendants," About Children of Maleficent, Jafar, Cruella and Other Disney Villains
Dec 14th, 2014
Marvel Would Have Recast Spider-Man in "Captain America: Civil War"
Dec 13th, 2014
Sony Asking Sam Raimi and "Captain America 2" Directors For Help With "Spider-Man" Franchise
Dec 13th, 2014
James Gunn Says "Guardians of the Galaxy" and "Avengers" Will NOT Team Up
Dec 13th, 2014
"Ghostbusters 3" Actresses Shortlist Revealed, Sony Planned to Sue Bill Murray
Dec 13th, 2014
Animated "Super Mario Bros" Movie Coming
Dec 13th, 2014
Simon Pegg is an Assassin in "Kill Me Three Times" Trailer
Dec 13th, 2014
Full Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Insurgent" is Here!
Dec 13th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Director Says Most of "X-Men" Characters are Dead in "The Wolverine"

Posted: January 9th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Director Says Most of "X-Men" Characters are Dead in "The Wolverine"Submit Comment
In a new interview with James Mangold, the director spoke about "The Wolverine," explaining that the main idea behind the movie is that the character is immortal and knows that everyone he loves will die.

"Therefore he's living in a kind of isolation," he said. "He gets drawn to Japan by an old friendship and then finds himself in a labyrinth of deceit, caught up in the agendas of mobsters, of wealth, and other powers. His love is gone, his mentors are gone, many of his friends are gone, his own sense of purpose What am I doing? Why do I bother? and his exhaustion is high. He has lived a long time, and he's tired. He's tired of the pain."

Mangold continued: "It's set after 'X-Men 3,' but I wouldn't call it a sequel to 'X-Men 3.' I felt it was really important to find Logan at a moment where he was stripped clean of his duties to the X-Men, his other allegiances, and even stripped clean of his own sense of purpose. A lot of the key ['X-Men'] characters have died [and Wolverine] is no longer a member of some superhero team."

The new movie is set to hit theaters on July 26th.

Source: EW


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 8:58:36 PM

the problem is that they never stay dead.
cress writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 8:58:44 PM

"A lot of the key ['X-Men'] characters have died..."

I'm just going to assume he's talking about Jean Grey and Xavier for the most part. Rogue is also dead, in a sense, being she's no longer a mutant at the end of X3. So I kinda think maybe this is what Mangold means.
cress writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:00:46 PM

And Cyclops. I forgot that Ray-Ban turdpuncher.
pornfly writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:02:42 PM

Doesnt anyone at Marvel care about continuity?

The story lines to these movies are all over the place like a blind person wipin their butthole
BlackDynamite writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:03:54 PM

That would be cool as f*ck, if the end of the movie tied into Days of Future Past.
BlackDynamite writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:04:54 PM

If you forget about continuity for a quick second, and look at the bare bones, this could make for a kickass movie.
minkowski writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:11:20 PM

God, please, PLEASE give this property back to Marvel so they can reboot it properly.

God, it's shining a turd and raping a corpse at the same time.
Cannon writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:15:28 PM

"His own sense of purpose What am I doing? Why do I bother? and his exhaustion is high. He has lived a long time, and he's tired. He's tired of the pain."

So, it's basically a comic book hero who doesn't give a sh*t about anything and just wants to die, so the pain will go away...

Yeah, sounds like a great summer blockbuster adventure for kids.

BlackDynamite writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:23:11 PM

Give the property back to Marvel, so they can make an Old Man Logan movie in 10 years, with an aged Hugh Jackman.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:27:53 PM

This time is more f*ck up than Lohan's life!!
pornfly writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:38:34 PM

I hope youre right BD
Wolverine is my favorite character
But the way these Marvel movies do something right just to f*ck it off has me worried
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:58:10 PM

I meant time line
Stapes writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 10:15:39 PM

Smells like more sh*t. Logan isnt immortal to begin with, his healing factor only retards his aging. No hollywood is looking to retard my favorite childhood comic book character too. f*ck you show biz.
KillerCOck writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 10:29:34 PM

Please Kill him off at the End!
ozzie writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 10:34:24 PM

I was looking forward to this, the Japanese arc being one of my favorite series', but the more I read the less excited I am, it's like origins all over again, not to mention jackmans acting, he never came close to portraying wolverine as he was in the comics.
As i always say though, expect the worst, hope for the best.
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 11:05:49 PM

X-Men Zombies.





That would be titties.
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 11:08:06 PM

Well, as long as this film doesn't blow. So far, it looks pretty bad.



*Sigh*, there goes another great opportunity.
Chris_G writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 11:39:57 PM

I wonder if it will explicitly state things like 'Storm is dead, Rogue is dead' etc or if it is more-so implied.
minkowski writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 11:45:53 PM

Maybe it'll start with an Star Wars Episode 1 rolling title intro listing every dead mutant.
CelluloidMan writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 11:50:52 PM

IDK why Mangold would make such a stupid statement...everyone of the X-Men dies, he's alone, he's isolated.

Man, this guy sucks at building hype for the movie. I mean, does he understand this is (or used to be a) fan favorite franchise? Those people love their Marvel characters! He'll get more questions about where all this will affect the franchise...why this...why that? when really it doesn't matter in Wolverine's tale. Almost everyone hated the third closer...and now this guy is going along with it? WTF?!

All this Mangold f*ck had to say, "This is a standalone Wolverine movie based on the chapters of his famous Japanese saga from the comics." That's it. No more. The fans are happy & maintains that level of excitement for the upcoming movie....how hard is that?

Sorry, the stock of this movie has gone down a bit in my eyes.
Ranger writes:
on January 9th, 2013 at 4:12:44 AM

@cress - did Rogue lose her powers in X3?
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on January 9th, 2013 at 7:38:21 AM

What massive bullsh*t.

He is not immortal and Xavier was shown to be alive but in another body so the 'mentor' is still around. Would of thought that he would logically carry on the school.


But f*ck it, let's not go with the excellent comic story of him being in Japan earlier in his life and come up with some new crap to make the timeline even more complicated.

Like previously said, get FOX off this and give the rights back to Marvel.
Janus writes:
on January 9th, 2013 at 9:26:15 AM

"Doesnt anyone at Marvel care about continuity?"
It's not Marvel, it's FOX and they used to not care. FOX hired Mark Millar last year to build a continuity for their superhero movies, Spider-Man, the X-Men and the Fantastic Four, so that they exist in one universe and could actually meet each other. They basically want to copy the Marvel model of the Avenvers series of movies.
Kayacity writes:
on January 9th, 2013 at 1:49:57 PM

Wow. Everyone here complains about everything. You would think that people just really dont like movies. But everyone here knows that they are going to watch it anyway. How about waiting until the movie comes out to complain.
KillerCOck writes:
on January 9th, 2013 at 3:59:33 PM

Not true! I won't any watch any movie that Hugh Jackman stars in anymore unless the movie Is Directed by someone I like.

I don't give a f*ck about Manold.

Shia LaBeouf Says He Was Raped During His #IAmSorry Stunt

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

TIME Magazine's Top 10 Best and Worst Films of 2014

It's Official: Jared Leto is The Joker and Will Smith is Deadshot in "Suicide Squad"

Christian Bale Says He'll Never Work With "Terminator Salvation" Director Again

Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy

Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"

"Demolition Man" Writer Explains How He Came Up with The Three Seashells

"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Still Rules Box Office, "The Pyramid" Bombed

Marvel Would Have Recast Spider-Man in "Captain America: Civil War"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved