WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer Coming in December
Oct 25th, 2014
New "Ant-Man" Set Photos are Possible Spoilers
Oct 25th, 2014
Disney's "John Carter" Actually Cost Over $300 Million to Make
Oct 25th, 2014
"Wonder Woman" Searching for Female Director
Oct 24th, 2014
"The Mummy" Reboot to Follow Navy SEAL in Iraq?
Oct 24th, 2014
Noomi Rapace Discusses "Prometheus 2" Storyline
Oct 24th, 2014
Christian Bale Confirmed For Steve Jobs Biopic, To Appear in Every Frame of the Film
Oct 24th, 2014
"Insidious Chapter 3" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"The Hobbit" Trilogy Becomes Most Expensive Production of All Time
Oct 23rd, 2014
Quicksilver to Return For "X-Men: Apocalypse" and Maybe Solo Film
Oct 23rd, 2014
Restricted Trailer For Mark Wahlberg's "The Gambler" Thriller
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Evangeline Lilly as Hope Pym on Marvel's "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 23rd, 2014
New Trailer for "The Woman in Black" Sequel
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Johnny Depp as The Wolf in Disney's "Into the Woods"
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!
Oct 22nd, 2014
"John Carter" Reboot in the Works, Disney Not Involved
Oct 22nd, 2014
James Wan to Direct "The Conjuring 2," May Direct DC Superhero Film
Oct 22nd, 2014
Ghostface Will NOT Appear in "Scream" TV Series
Oct 22nd, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Oct 22nd, 2014
Adam McKay Plans to Make "Step Brothers 2" in a Few Years
Oct 22nd, 2014
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Director Says Most of "X-Men" Characters are Dead in "The Wolverine"

Posted: January 9th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Director Says Most of "X-Men" Characters are Dead in "The Wolverine"Submit Comment
In a new interview with James Mangold, the director spoke about "The Wolverine," explaining that the main idea behind the movie is that the character is immortal and knows that everyone he loves will die.

"Therefore he's living in a kind of isolation," he said. "He gets drawn to Japan by an old friendship and then finds himself in a labyrinth of deceit, caught up in the agendas of mobsters, of wealth, and other powers. His love is gone, his mentors are gone, many of his friends are gone, his own sense of purpose What am I doing? Why do I bother? and his exhaustion is high. He has lived a long time, and he's tired. He's tired of the pain."

Mangold continued: "It's set after 'X-Men 3,' but I wouldn't call it a sequel to 'X-Men 3.' I felt it was really important to find Logan at a moment where he was stripped clean of his duties to the X-Men, his other allegiances, and even stripped clean of his own sense of purpose. A lot of the key ['X-Men'] characters have died [and Wolverine] is no longer a member of some superhero team."

The new movie is set to hit theaters on July 26th.

Source: EW


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 8:58:36 PM

the problem is that they never stay dead.
cress writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 8:58:44 PM

"A lot of the key ['X-Men'] characters have died..."

I'm just going to assume he's talking about Jean Grey and Xavier for the most part. Rogue is also dead, in a sense, being she's no longer a mutant at the end of X3. So I kinda think maybe this is what Mangold means.
cress writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:00:46 PM

And Cyclops. I forgot that Ray-Ban turdpuncher.
pornfly writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:02:42 PM

Doesnt anyone at Marvel care about continuity?

The story lines to these movies are all over the place like a blind person wipin their butthole
BlackDynamite writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:03:54 PM

That would be cool as f*ck, if the end of the movie tied into Days of Future Past.
BlackDynamite writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:04:54 PM

If you forget about continuity for a quick second, and look at the bare bones, this could make for a kickass movie.
minkowski writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:11:20 PM

God, please, PLEASE give this property back to Marvel so they can reboot it properly.

God, it's shining a turd and raping a corpse at the same time.
Cannon writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:15:28 PM

"His own sense of purpose What am I doing? Why do I bother? and his exhaustion is high. He has lived a long time, and he's tired. He's tired of the pain."

So, it's basically a comic book hero who doesn't give a sh*t about anything and just wants to die, so the pain will go away...

Yeah, sounds like a great summer blockbuster adventure for kids.

BlackDynamite writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:23:11 PM

Give the property back to Marvel, so they can make an Old Man Logan movie in 10 years, with an aged Hugh Jackman.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:27:53 PM

This time is more f*ck up than Lohan's life!!
pornfly writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:38:34 PM

I hope youre right BD
Wolverine is my favorite character
But the way these Marvel movies do something right just to f*ck it off has me worried
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:58:10 PM

I meant time line
Stapes writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 10:15:39 PM

Smells like more sh*t. Logan isnt immortal to begin with, his healing factor only retards his aging. No hollywood is looking to retard my favorite childhood comic book character too. f*ck you show biz.
KillerCOck writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 10:29:34 PM

Please Kill him off at the End!
ozzie writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 10:34:24 PM

I was looking forward to this, the Japanese arc being one of my favorite series', but the more I read the less excited I am, it's like origins all over again, not to mention jackmans acting, he never came close to portraying wolverine as he was in the comics.
As i always say though, expect the worst, hope for the best.
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 11:05:49 PM

X-Men Zombies.





That would be titties.
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 11:08:06 PM

Well, as long as this film doesn't blow. So far, it looks pretty bad.



*Sigh*, there goes another great opportunity.
Chris_G writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 11:39:57 PM

I wonder if it will explicitly state things like 'Storm is dead, Rogue is dead' etc or if it is more-so implied.
minkowski writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 11:45:53 PM

Maybe it'll start with an Star Wars Episode 1 rolling title intro listing every dead mutant.
CelluloidMan writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 11:50:52 PM

IDK why Mangold would make such a stupid statement...everyone of the X-Men dies, he's alone, he's isolated.

Man, this guy sucks at building hype for the movie. I mean, does he understand this is (or used to be a) fan favorite franchise? Those people love their Marvel characters! He'll get more questions about where all this will affect the franchise...why this...why that? when really it doesn't matter in Wolverine's tale. Almost everyone hated the third closer...and now this guy is going along with it? WTF?!

All this Mangold f*ck had to say, "This is a standalone Wolverine movie based on the chapters of his famous Japanese saga from the comics." That's it. No more. The fans are happy & maintains that level of excitement for the upcoming movie....how hard is that?

Sorry, the stock of this movie has gone down a bit in my eyes.
Ranger writes:
on January 9th, 2013 at 4:12:44 AM

@cress - did Rogue lose her powers in X3?
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on January 9th, 2013 at 7:38:21 AM

What massive bullsh*t.

He is not immortal and Xavier was shown to be alive but in another body so the 'mentor' is still around. Would of thought that he would logically carry on the school.


But f*ck it, let's not go with the excellent comic story of him being in Japan earlier in his life and come up with some new crap to make the timeline even more complicated.

Like previously said, get FOX off this and give the rights back to Marvel.
Janus writes:
on January 9th, 2013 at 9:26:15 AM

"Doesnt anyone at Marvel care about continuity?"
It's not Marvel, it's FOX and they used to not care. FOX hired Mark Millar last year to build a continuity for their superhero movies, Spider-Man, the X-Men and the Fantastic Four, so that they exist in one universe and could actually meet each other. They basically want to copy the Marvel model of the Avenvers series of movies.
Kayacity writes:
on January 9th, 2013 at 1:49:57 PM

Wow. Everyone here complains about everything. You would think that people just really dont like movies. But everyone here knows that they are going to watch it anyway. How about waiting until the movie comes out to complain.
KillerCOck writes:
on January 9th, 2013 at 3:59:33 PM

Not true! I won't any watch any movie that Hugh Jackman stars in anymore unless the movie Is Directed by someone I like.

I don't give a f*ck about Manold.

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer

Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved