WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Robert Zemeckis Says He'll Stop Any "Back to the Future" Reboot
Jun 30th, 2015
Titles for "Star Trek 3" and "Guardians of the Galaxy 2" Revealed
Jun 30th, 2015
First Look at Costumes From "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Jun 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Ten Thousand Saints," with Ethan Hawke and Asa Butterfield
Jun 30th, 2015
"Ted 2" Underperforms at Box Office, "Jurassic World" Continues to Dominate
Jun 29th, 2015
"Lucy" and "Colombiana" Sequels in the Works
Jun 27th, 2015
Steven Spielberg Acquires Michael Crichton's "Micro" Novel
Jun 27th, 2015
New "Heroes Reborn" Trailer Arrives Online
Jun 26th, 2015
Photos From New Episodes of "The X-Files"
Jun 26th, 2015
New Trailer for Tom Hardy's "Legend" Thriller
Jun 26th, 2015
Adrian Grenier Would Make "Aquaman" Cameo
Jun 26th, 2015
Shia LaBeouf Hospitalized After Sustaining a Head Injury on Set
Jun 25th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Rampage" Video Game Movie
Jun 25th, 2015
First Look at Gerard Butler in "London Has Fallen"
Jun 25th, 2015
Emma Watson Joins Tom Hanks in "The Circle" Thriller
Jun 25th, 2015
"Spider-Man" Reboot Announces Actor and Director
Jun 24th, 2015
First Trailer for "Paranormal Activity: The Ghost Dimension"
Jun 24th, 2015
Channing Tatum Says He Hates "GI Joe: The Rise of Cobra"
Jun 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Hitman: Agent 47" Reboot
Jun 24th, 2015
Arnold Schwarzenegger to Star in "478" Drama, Darren Aronofsky is Producing
Jun 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Masterminds" Comedy, with Zach Galifianakis and Kristen Wiig
Jun 24th, 2015
Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight
Jun 23rd, 2015
"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase
Jun 23rd, 2015
First Look at Final "Paranormal Activity" Installment
Jun 23rd, 2015
"Titanic" Composer James Horner Dies in Plane Crash
Jun 23rd, 2015
New Trailer for "Dragon Blade," with Jackie Chan and John Cusack
Jun 23rd, 2015
Full Trailer for "7 Days in Hell" Tennis Comedy, with Andy Samberg and Kit Harington
Jun 23rd, 2015
Hugh Jackman Confirmed for "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Jun 21st, 2015
Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay
Jun 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Daddy's Home" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg
Jun 20th, 2015
Julia Stiles to Return for "Bourne 5," Viggo Mortensen May Play Villain
Jun 20th, 2015
Channing Tatum Says Gambit Won't Appear in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Jun 20th, 2015
First Look at "Ghostbusters" Reboot, Slimer Will Return
Jun 19th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Director Says Most of "X-Men" Characters are Dead in "The Wolverine"

Posted: January 9th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Director Says Most of "X-Men" Characters are Dead in "The Wolverine"Submit Comment
In a new interview with James Mangold, the director spoke about "The Wolverine," explaining that the main idea behind the movie is that the character is immortal and knows that everyone he loves will die.

"Therefore he's living in a kind of isolation," he said. "He gets drawn to Japan by an old friendship and then finds himself in a labyrinth of deceit, caught up in the agendas of mobsters, of wealth, and other powers. His love is gone, his mentors are gone, many of his friends are gone, his own sense of purpose What am I doing? Why do I bother? and his exhaustion is high. He has lived a long time, and he's tired. He's tired of the pain."

Mangold continued: "It's set after 'X-Men 3,' but I wouldn't call it a sequel to 'X-Men 3.' I felt it was really important to find Logan at a moment where he was stripped clean of his duties to the X-Men, his other allegiances, and even stripped clean of his own sense of purpose. A lot of the key ['X-Men'] characters have died [and Wolverine] is no longer a member of some superhero team."

The new movie is set to hit theaters on July 26th.

Source: EW


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 8:58:36 PM

the problem is that they never stay dead.
cress writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 8:58:44 PM

"A lot of the key ['X-Men'] characters have died..."

I'm just going to assume he's talking about Jean Grey and Xavier for the most part. Rogue is also dead, in a sense, being she's no longer a mutant at the end of X3. So I kinda think maybe this is what Mangold means.
cress writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:00:46 PM

And Cyclops. I forgot that Ray-Ban turdpuncher.
pornfly writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:02:42 PM

Doesnt anyone at Marvel care about continuity?

The story lines to these movies are all over the place like a blind person wipin their butthole
BlackDynamite writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:03:54 PM

That would be cool as f*ck, if the end of the movie tied into Days of Future Past.
BlackDynamite writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:04:54 PM

If you forget about continuity for a quick second, and look at the bare bones, this could make for a kickass movie.
minkowski writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:11:20 PM

God, please, PLEASE give this property back to Marvel so they can reboot it properly.

God, it's shining a turd and raping a corpse at the same time.
Cannon writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:15:28 PM

"His own sense of purpose What am I doing? Why do I bother? and his exhaustion is high. He has lived a long time, and he's tired. He's tired of the pain."

So, it's basically a comic book hero who doesn't give a sh*t about anything and just wants to die, so the pain will go away...

Yeah, sounds like a great summer blockbuster adventure for kids.

BlackDynamite writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:23:11 PM

Give the property back to Marvel, so they can make an Old Man Logan movie in 10 years, with an aged Hugh Jackman.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:27:53 PM

This time is more f*ck up than Lohan's life!!
pornfly writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:38:34 PM

I hope youre right BD
Wolverine is my favorite character
But the way these Marvel movies do something right just to f*ck it off has me worried
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:58:10 PM

I meant time line
Stapes writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 10:15:39 PM

Smells like more sh*t. Logan isnt immortal to begin with, his healing factor only retards his aging. No hollywood is looking to retard my favorite childhood comic book character too. f*ck you show biz.
KillerCOck writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 10:29:34 PM

Please Kill him off at the End!
ozzie writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 10:34:24 PM

I was looking forward to this, the Japanese arc being one of my favorite series', but the more I read the less excited I am, it's like origins all over again, not to mention jackmans acting, he never came close to portraying wolverine as he was in the comics.
As i always say though, expect the worst, hope for the best.
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 11:05:49 PM

X-Men Zombies.





That would be titties.
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 11:08:06 PM

Well, as long as this film doesn't blow. So far, it looks pretty bad.



*Sigh*, there goes another great opportunity.
Chris_G writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 11:39:57 PM

I wonder if it will explicitly state things like 'Storm is dead, Rogue is dead' etc or if it is more-so implied.
minkowski writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 11:45:53 PM

Maybe it'll start with an Star Wars Episode 1 rolling title intro listing every dead mutant.
CelluloidMan writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 11:50:52 PM

IDK why Mangold would make such a stupid statement...everyone of the X-Men dies, he's alone, he's isolated.

Man, this guy sucks at building hype for the movie. I mean, does he understand this is (or used to be a) fan favorite franchise? Those people love their Marvel characters! He'll get more questions about where all this will affect the franchise...why this...why that? when really it doesn't matter in Wolverine's tale. Almost everyone hated the third closer...and now this guy is going along with it? WTF?!

All this Mangold f*ck had to say, "This is a standalone Wolverine movie based on the chapters of his famous Japanese saga from the comics." That's it. No more. The fans are happy & maintains that level of excitement for the upcoming movie....how hard is that?

Sorry, the stock of this movie has gone down a bit in my eyes.
Ranger writes:
on January 9th, 2013 at 4:12:44 AM

@cress - did Rogue lose her powers in X3?
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on January 9th, 2013 at 7:38:21 AM

What massive bullsh*t.

He is not immortal and Xavier was shown to be alive but in another body so the 'mentor' is still around. Would of thought that he would logically carry on the school.


But f*ck it, let's not go with the excellent comic story of him being in Japan earlier in his life and come up with some new crap to make the timeline even more complicated.

Like previously said, get FOX off this and give the rights back to Marvel.
Janus writes:
on January 9th, 2013 at 9:26:15 AM

"Doesnt anyone at Marvel care about continuity?"
It's not Marvel, it's FOX and they used to not care. FOX hired Mark Millar last year to build a continuity for their superhero movies, Spider-Man, the X-Men and the Fantastic Four, so that they exist in one universe and could actually meet each other. They basically want to copy the Marvel model of the Avenvers series of movies.
Kayacity writes:
on January 9th, 2013 at 1:49:57 PM

Wow. Everyone here complains about everything. You would think that people just really dont like movies. But everyone here knows that they are going to watch it anyway. How about waiting until the movie comes out to complain.
KillerCOck writes:
on January 9th, 2013 at 3:59:33 PM

Not true! I won't any watch any movie that Hugh Jackman stars in anymore unless the movie Is Directed by someone I like.

I don't give a f*ck about Manold.

Hugh Jackman on Quitting Wolverine and Making "Deadpool" Cameo

Hugh Jackman Quit Wolverine Role Because of Jerry Seinfeld

It's Official: "Jurassic World" Beats "The Avengers" for Biggest Box Office Opening

Marvel and Sony Can't Agree on Which Actor Should Play Spider-Man

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

"Jurassic World" is a Massive Hit, Chris Pratt to Return for Sequel

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Plot Synopsis Revealed

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

Targon Egerton Wants to Replace Hugh Jackman as Wolverine

Hulk Hogan is the Villain in "The Expendables 4"?
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved