WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Liam Neeson in "Taken 3"
Sep 23rd, 2014
University of Baltimore Offering Course on Marvel Films
Sep 23rd, 2014
New Trailer for "Kingsman: The Secret Service" Comic Book Film, with Colin Firth and Samuel L. Jackson
Sep 23rd, 2014
Bryan Singer Confirmed to Direct "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Sep 23rd, 2014
Photo: Woman Implants Third Breast in Hopes of MTV Reality Show
Sep 23rd, 2014
William Shatner and Leonard Nimoy to Return For "Star Trek 3"?
Sep 23rd, 2014
"The Maze Runner" Sequel Already Gets Release Date and Concept Art
Sep 22nd, 2014
"Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters" Sequel Has a Finished Script
Sep 22nd, 2014
"The Maze Runner" Easily Beats Liam Neeson's "A Walk Among the Tombstones" at Box Office
Sep 22nd, 2014
Restricted Trailer For "The Interview" Comedy, with James Franco and Seth Rogen
Sep 21st, 2014
"Deadpool" Movie Will Be PG-13
Sep 21st, 2014
Marvel Says "Daredevil" TV Series Won't Make Same Mistakes As Ben Affleck's Movie
Sep 21st, 2014
Is Jennifer Lawrence's "Serena" a Terrible Movie?
Sep 21st, 2014
Roberto Orci Drops Out of "Power Rangers" to Direct "Star Trek 3"
Sep 21st, 2014
Did Aquaman Save superman in "Man of Steel"? Aquaman's Look Possibly Revealed
Sep 20th, 2014
Deadpool Creator Comments on "Deadpool" Movie Announcement
Sep 20th, 2014
Two New Posters for Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Sci-Fi Film
Sep 20th, 2014
"Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel Loses Director
Sep 20th, 2014
Angelina Jolie to Next Direct "Africa"
Sep 20th, 2014
Trailer For "Low Down," with John Hawkes and Elle Fanning
Sep 20th, 2014
If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You
Sep 19th, 2014
Trailer For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Sep 19th, 2014
Matthew McConaughey NOT Returning For "Magic Mike" Sequel
Sep 19th, 2014
Restricted Trailer For "V/H/S: Viral" Horror Film Arrives Online
Sep 19th, 2014
"Insidious: Chapter 3" Unveils First Poster
Sep 19th, 2014
"X-Men" Spin-Off "Deadpool" is Finally Happening, Release Date Announced
Sep 18th, 2014
Trailer For "A Most Violent Year," From "Margin Call" Director
Sep 18th, 2014
Sony Unveils Animation Test For "Popeye" Movie
Sep 18th, 2014
See Batmobile in Action on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set
Sep 18th, 2014
"Jason Borne" Producer Says Both Matt Damon's and Jeremy Renner's Films are in the Works
Sep 18th, 2014
"Paranormal Activity 5" Gets New Title and Release Date
Sep 18th, 2014
New Posters For Matthew McConaughey's "Interstellar" and Brad Pitt's "Fury"
Sep 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Robert Downey Jr's "The Judge"
Sep 18th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Joseph Gordon-Levitt Joins "Sin City 2," Drops Out of Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy"

Posted: January 8th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Joseph Gordon-Levitt Joins "Sin City 2," Drops Out of MarvelSubmit Comment
Directors Robert Rodriguez and Frank Miller announced that Joseph Gordon-Levitt (The Dark Knight Rises) has joined the cast of "Sin City 2: A Dame to Kill For," which is already filming. His will play Johnny, the role that was initially offered to Johnny Depp.

Johnny is described as a cocky gambler on a mission to destroy his most foul enemy at his best game. "Johnny is a new character in the 'Sin City' world and we are excited for what Joseph will bring to the role," said Rodriguez and Miller.

Meanwhile, Gordon-Levitt's busy schedule has taken him out of the running for the lead in Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy." The studio will no longer pursue the actor and is now evaluating other candidates.

Click here to read more about "Sin City: A Dame to Kill For."

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
jdl107 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 7:51:59 AM

I'm pretty aware that everybody here hates JGL, but I mjust say, this is great news. On both fronts.

I don't know his Sin City character, but I'm sure he would be a good addition to that world. But GOTG? No f*cking way.
jdl107 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 7:52:31 AM

*must
Avirex writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 8:02:25 AM

He also dropped out of the upcoming Godzilla flick. Ironically that project will be no better than something dropping out (into the toilet).
Janus writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:02:14 AM

I don't hate JGL. The trolls do.

velocityknown writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:38:44 AM

How can you "drop out" of a project in which you were never officially involved?
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:52:49 AM

Hate him or love him, you do have to admit he's turning out a solid acting career now.
Stapes writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 10:12:31 AM

Always liked JGL. I havent always hated R-Rod. He's a f*cking sh*tty director though. I'm sure he'll find plenty of mexican friends and family to cast though and totally f*ck up the movie with his corner cutting filming techniques. Robert Rodriguez: the laziest man in show business.
blumpkin4 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 10:17:42 AM

even the trolls like him lol! I dont know what jdl107 is talking about
CelluloidMan writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 11:49:58 AM

I disagree Stapes...just check out SIN CITY Prt 1. It is one of (if not) his greatest work. When Rodriguez brings his A game, you can bank on it. Another one that comes to mind is Planet Terror in GRINDHOUSE.

I know what you mean with the comment, though. SPY KID franchises or MACHETE...sometimes I think he does it like actors. He gets some projects for some interest or for the paycheck..you can tell by seeing his friends or family. Kinda "Hey, if I'm doing this, might as well do it with people I want around." The difference is when it comes to his passion projects, he is able to get & work with sone of the best...you can see the effort & hard work.

The reason he's so popular with the studio is he really does it on the cheap & has a fast turn around, because he does everything himself...from directing, editing, and sh*t, even the music.

SIN CITY is a real unusual & experimental flick that paid off. A graphic novel, not really adapted, but translated, some even panel by panel with CGI for its comic book effects and Miller's dialogue...wow, just wow. As I said before, SIN CITY's trailer was one, for me, that really lived up to its trailer.

So Stapes, I know what you mean, but it does not apply to SIN CITY. Cheers, mate.

Hoping the 2nd SIN CITY one out-performs the first one.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 12:26:12 PM

good move
Mr. Blonde writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 12:54:28 PM

@Celluloidman – well said. Ever since Rodriguez directed From Dusk Till Dawn and Desperado, I’ve always cut him some slack (although I’ve stayed away from Spykids in favor of his more adult film content). Also hopeful the sequel will be great since it reunites Rodriguez with Miller, and they have had sufficient amount of time to write a kickass screenplay of this film noir storyline and up the graphics content. It will be good seeing Clive take the lead again as Dwight. And looking forward to an epic battle between Rourke/Marv versus Dennis Haysbert/Manute (Michael Clarke Duncan R.I.P.). I wonder who will play Ava i.e. the Dame to Kill For?

@jdl107 – I think JGL is making some very solid career decisions and is one this generation’s most respected actors. He can afford to be selective in his movie choices because he is in demand – look at how he bowed out of Godzilla and Guardians of the Galaxy in favor of Sin City 2. Not many other actors out there are given this many decent opportunities to chose from. Hell all of these movies will have great hype especially doing the comic con circuits.
bandolero999 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 1:40:23 PM

I'm pretty aware that everybody here hates JGL, but I mjust say, this is great news. On both fronts.

TRANSLATION:I love it when JGL creams pie my ass,and have some of Heath's left over c*m

Saw him in the dark knight rises and he was MEH anyone could of played his role.

haven't seen pooper aka Looper yet

and no,he's not a young Al pacino,deniro,walken,keitel,even Liotta
bandolero999 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 1:48:32 PM

He's a f*cking sh*tty director though. I'm sure he'll find plenty of mexican friends and family to cast though and totally f*ck up the movie with his corner cutting filming techniques.

yep mexicans are always looking for work,but most likely his cousin trejo will make an appearance.Then Trejo will make out with some grade A p*ssy then everybody at the theater will be grossed out.
bandolero999 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 1:52:05 PM

HUSTLE EVERYDAY:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0DOMVVGnI7U&list=LLDJZwG-vOudQdayY6_K74Ew
jdl107 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 2:02:35 PM

"TRANSLATION:I love it when JGL creams pie my ass,and have some of Heath's left over c*m"

Aww, what's the matter, Gordo? What cord did I strike with your illiterate, obese ass?

By the way, it's "cream pies". And add some spaces after your commas, that is if you want anyone to take you seriously.
jdl107 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 2:06:31 PM

"even the trolls like him lol! I dont know what jdl107 is talking about"

You must not be a regular then. Almost every JGL article I've ever read has boasted nothing but hateful comments. But then again, that's how this site is. Mink and myself have called it many times.

When I say "everybody", it's an exaggeration, obviously.

But BadChad is completely right, no one can deny that now.
bandolero999 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 2:30:35 PM

So it's true jgl does cream pies to ya then?
Thanks for correcting my spelling.

Ah nah dude everything but the fat jokes.i don t have male groupies,nor do i want any.ill never contribute to jgl.he's another James Franco to me.

Saw the hesher trailer,ill give it a watch along with looper
KillerCOck writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 3:31:43 PM

Can't Wait!
minkowski writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 4:20:37 PM

Joseph Gordon-Levitt will make a fine edition to the cast of Sin City 2, if it ever actually gets made, and after five years in development hell, I'm not entirely sure it will.

I also suspect Sin City 2 won't be as warmly received as the second, not out of some misplaced negativity, but because that's how these things often work, when the success of the first film looks more and more like something of a fluke with each passing year.

As for Guardians of the Galaxy, I don't think casting at this point much matters. Marvel has earned a lot of positivity, and a lot of acceptance with their films, so it's not like they need a perfectly balanced cast, really. Not like if they don't have the hottest, best younger actors on board, it'll flop.
Rambo writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 4:29:24 PM

this guy is smart..good choice of movies.
minkowski writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 5:34:01 PM

Hmmmm. I'm full of hmmmms today.

Anyway, wonder why no one mentioned this yet:

"Battle not with monsters, lest ye become a monster, and if you gaze into the abyss, the abyss gazes also into you."

Friedrich Nietzsche


Seems remarkably similar to to "To Fight monsters we created monsters". And where do the monsters come from? The abyss, not to be confused with the James Cameron film.

Wonder if del Toror will tie that old Nietzchean chestnut into the film, giving it a moral an thus, in my eyes, improving it, or is Pacific Rim another mindless summer mash-up of Ultraman and Transformers?
minkowski writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 5:34:59 PM

theme, and, and other sh*t.
minkowski writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 5:35:26 PM

Wrong damned thread.
CelluloidMan writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 6:48:01 PM

Forget about HESHER Bando.

JGL is great, but they just don't know what to do with him or his character. He steals every scene, but there's like 2 protagonists: a boy's coming of age & JGL's anarchist, but the director can't decide who to focus on...its a mess in that. Also, it doesn't help itself with its snail pace of a stretched plot...Like I've said, I knew what they were trying to do, but they just didn't get it right, IMO.

If you haven't seen them, you're better off (re)watching THE LOOKOUT or BRICK.
bandolero999 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 7:21:23 PM

Will check them out thanks
minkowski writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 7:35:08 PM

^^^Yeah, I can hook you up with a copy of Brick if you want.

Good movie.
jdl107 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 8:05:14 PM

Ah, Nora Zehetner. Wonder why she doesn't get more roles. Pretty girl.
bandolero999 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 8:16:03 PM

Sure
Blood_Ice-Cream writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 8:36:28 PM

If it ever get's made? It's been filming since November...
minkowski writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 8:47:47 PM

Looks like Josh Brolin was just cast for Sin City 2.
minkowski writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:03:05 PM

"If it ever get's made? It's been filming since November..."

Well sh*t, it's been filming for a month and I didn't know? Where the hell are my priorities?
Johnnyb writes:
on January 9th, 2013 at 3:03:46 PM

Nice that he is staying with WB!

Director James Gunn Comments on "Guardians of the Galaxy" Becoming Highest Grossing Movie of 2014

"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

Did Aquaman Save superman in "Man of Steel"? Aquaman's Look Possibly Revealed

If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You

"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America

David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull

What Happens to Jimmy Olsen in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved