WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Star Trek" Actor Leonard Nimoy Dead at 83
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Black Widow, Thor and Nick Fury Posters
Feb 28th, 2015
First Look at Eddie Redmayne as First Transgender Person in "The Danish Girl"
Feb 28th, 2015
Leonardo DiCaprio to Have 24 Personalities in "The Crowded Room"
Feb 28th, 2015
"Brewster's Millions" Remake Gets a Director
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils The Hulk Poster
Feb 27th, 2015
Director Neill Blomkamp Says His "Elysium" Film is Not Very Good
Feb 27th, 2015
Harrison Ford Confirmed for "Blade Runner 2," Director Announced
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp Clarifies His "Alien 5" Comments
Feb 27th, 2015
"Red Sonja" is Happening Again
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp's "Alien" Sequel Will Give Ripley a Proper Ending
Feb 26th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Iron Man Poster
Feb 26th, 2015
Official "Creed" Plot Synopsis Hints at Rocky's Health Issues
Feb 26th, 2015
Four New Photos From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Feb 26th, 2015
"Tomb Raider" Reboot Hires "Divergent" Writer
Feb 26th, 2015
Poster for Marvel's "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Feb 25th, 2015
Arnold Schwarzenegger Says He'll Return For "Terminator Genisys" Sequel
Feb 25th, 2015
Dark "Power Rangers" Short Film with James Van Der Beek
Feb 25th, 2015
"The LEGO Movie" Sequel Announces Director
Feb 25th, 2015
Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?
Feb 24th, 2015
Chris Pratt Comments on Starring in "Indiana Jones 5"
Feb 24th, 2015
Rooney Mara Says "Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" Sequel is Dead
Feb 24th, 2015
New Trailer for Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Action Film, From Director of "Taken"
Feb 24th, 2015
"Fifty Shades of Grey" Still First at Box Office, "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" Bombs
Feb 23rd, 2015
Academy Award Winners Announced!
Feb 22nd, 2015
Steven Spielberg May Direct Chris Pratt in "Indiana Jones 5"
Feb 22nd, 2015
Hugh Jackman Wants to Play Wolverine Until He Dies
Feb 22nd, 2015
"Wonder Woman" Set to Begin Filming This Fall
Feb 22nd, 2015
2015 Razzie Winners Announced!
Feb 22nd, 2015
Trailer for "Infinitely Polar Bear," with Mark Ruffalo and Zoe Saldana
Feb 22nd, 2015
First Look: Jason Momoa is Aquaman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Feb 21st, 2015
Joss Whedon Blames Edgar Wright for Not Having Ant-Man in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Feb 21st, 2015
Jared Leto Talks Playing The Joker in "Suicide Squad"
Feb 21st, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Joseph Gordon-Levitt Joins "Sin City 2," Drops Out of Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy"

Posted: January 8th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Joseph Gordon-Levitt Joins "Sin City 2," Drops Out of MarvelSubmit Comment
Directors Robert Rodriguez and Frank Miller announced that Joseph Gordon-Levitt (The Dark Knight Rises) has joined the cast of "Sin City 2: A Dame to Kill For," which is already filming. His will play Johnny, the role that was initially offered to Johnny Depp.

Johnny is described as a cocky gambler on a mission to destroy his most foul enemy at his best game. "Johnny is a new character in the 'Sin City' world and we are excited for what Joseph will bring to the role," said Rodriguez and Miller.

Meanwhile, Gordon-Levitt's busy schedule has taken him out of the running for the lead in Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy." The studio will no longer pursue the actor and is now evaluating other candidates.

Click here to read more about "Sin City: A Dame to Kill For."

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
jdl107 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 7:51:59 AM

I'm pretty aware that everybody here hates JGL, but I mjust say, this is great news. On both fronts.

I don't know his Sin City character, but I'm sure he would be a good addition to that world. But GOTG? No f*cking way.
jdl107 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 7:52:31 AM

*must
Avirex writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 8:02:25 AM

He also dropped out of the upcoming Godzilla flick. Ironically that project will be no better than something dropping out (into the toilet).
Janus writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:02:14 AM

I don't hate JGL. The trolls do.

velocityknown writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:38:44 AM

How can you "drop out" of a project in which you were never officially involved?
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:52:49 AM

Hate him or love him, you do have to admit he's turning out a solid acting career now.
Stapes writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 10:12:31 AM

Always liked JGL. I havent always hated R-Rod. He's a f*cking sh*tty director though. I'm sure he'll find plenty of mexican friends and family to cast though and totally f*ck up the movie with his corner cutting filming techniques. Robert Rodriguez: the laziest man in show business.
blumpkin4 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 10:17:42 AM

even the trolls like him lol! I dont know what jdl107 is talking about
CelluloidMan writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 11:49:58 AM

I disagree Stapes...just check out SIN CITY Prt 1. It is one of (if not) his greatest work. When Rodriguez brings his A game, you can bank on it. Another one that comes to mind is Planet Terror in GRINDHOUSE.

I know what you mean with the comment, though. SPY KID franchises or MACHETE...sometimes I think he does it like actors. He gets some projects for some interest or for the paycheck..you can tell by seeing his friends or family. Kinda "Hey, if I'm doing this, might as well do it with people I want around." The difference is when it comes to his passion projects, he is able to get & work with sone of the best...you can see the effort & hard work.

The reason he's so popular with the studio is he really does it on the cheap & has a fast turn around, because he does everything himself...from directing, editing, and sh*t, even the music.

SIN CITY is a real unusual & experimental flick that paid off. A graphic novel, not really adapted, but translated, some even panel by panel with CGI for its comic book effects and Miller's dialogue...wow, just wow. As I said before, SIN CITY's trailer was one, for me, that really lived up to its trailer.

So Stapes, I know what you mean, but it does not apply to SIN CITY. Cheers, mate.

Hoping the 2nd SIN CITY one out-performs the first one.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 12:26:12 PM

good move
Mr. Blonde writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 12:54:28 PM

@Celluloidman – well said. Ever since Rodriguez directed From Dusk Till Dawn and Desperado, I’ve always cut him some slack (although I’ve stayed away from Spykids in favor of his more adult film content). Also hopeful the sequel will be great since it reunites Rodriguez with Miller, and they have had sufficient amount of time to write a kickass screenplay of this film noir storyline and up the graphics content. It will be good seeing Clive take the lead again as Dwight. And looking forward to an epic battle between Rourke/Marv versus Dennis Haysbert/Manute (Michael Clarke Duncan R.I.P.). I wonder who will play Ava i.e. the Dame to Kill For?

@jdl107 – I think JGL is making some very solid career decisions and is one this generation’s most respected actors. He can afford to be selective in his movie choices because he is in demand – look at how he bowed out of Godzilla and Guardians of the Galaxy in favor of Sin City 2. Not many other actors out there are given this many decent opportunities to chose from. Hell all of these movies will have great hype especially doing the comic con circuits.
bandolero999 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 1:40:23 PM

I'm pretty aware that everybody here hates JGL, but I mjust say, this is great news. On both fronts.

TRANSLATION:I love it when JGL creams pie my ass,and have some of Heath's left over c*m

Saw him in the dark knight rises and he was MEH anyone could of played his role.

haven't seen pooper aka Looper yet

and no,he's not a young Al pacino,deniro,walken,keitel,even Liotta
bandolero999 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 1:48:32 PM

He's a f*cking sh*tty director though. I'm sure he'll find plenty of mexican friends and family to cast though and totally f*ck up the movie with his corner cutting filming techniques.

yep mexicans are always looking for work,but most likely his cousin trejo will make an appearance.Then Trejo will make out with some grade A p*ssy then everybody at the theater will be grossed out.
bandolero999 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 1:52:05 PM

HUSTLE EVERYDAY:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0DOMVVGnI7U&list=LLDJZwG-vOudQdayY6_K74Ew
jdl107 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 2:02:35 PM

"TRANSLATION:I love it when JGL creams pie my ass,and have some of Heath's left over c*m"

Aww, what's the matter, Gordo? What cord did I strike with your illiterate, obese ass?

By the way, it's "cream pies". And add some spaces after your commas, that is if you want anyone to take you seriously.
jdl107 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 2:06:31 PM

"even the trolls like him lol! I dont know what jdl107 is talking about"

You must not be a regular then. Almost every JGL article I've ever read has boasted nothing but hateful comments. But then again, that's how this site is. Mink and myself have called it many times.

When I say "everybody", it's an exaggeration, obviously.

But BadChad is completely right, no one can deny that now.
bandolero999 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 2:30:35 PM

So it's true jgl does cream pies to ya then?
Thanks for correcting my spelling.

Ah nah dude everything but the fat jokes.i don t have male groupies,nor do i want any.ill never contribute to jgl.he's another James Franco to me.

Saw the hesher trailer,ill give it a watch along with looper
KillerCOck writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 3:31:43 PM

Can't Wait!
minkowski writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 4:20:37 PM

Joseph Gordon-Levitt will make a fine edition to the cast of Sin City 2, if it ever actually gets made, and after five years in development hell, I'm not entirely sure it will.

I also suspect Sin City 2 won't be as warmly received as the second, not out of some misplaced negativity, but because that's how these things often work, when the success of the first film looks more and more like something of a fluke with each passing year.

As for Guardians of the Galaxy, I don't think casting at this point much matters. Marvel has earned a lot of positivity, and a lot of acceptance with their films, so it's not like they need a perfectly balanced cast, really. Not like if they don't have the hottest, best younger actors on board, it'll flop.
Rambo writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 4:29:24 PM

this guy is smart..good choice of movies.
minkowski writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 5:34:01 PM

Hmmmm. I'm full of hmmmms today.

Anyway, wonder why no one mentioned this yet:

"Battle not with monsters, lest ye become a monster, and if you gaze into the abyss, the abyss gazes also into you."

Friedrich Nietzsche


Seems remarkably similar to to "To Fight monsters we created monsters". And where do the monsters come from? The abyss, not to be confused with the James Cameron film.

Wonder if del Toror will tie that old Nietzchean chestnut into the film, giving it a moral an thus, in my eyes, improving it, or is Pacific Rim another mindless summer mash-up of Ultraman and Transformers?
minkowski writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 5:34:59 PM

theme, and, and other sh*t.
minkowski writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 5:35:26 PM

Wrong damned thread.
CelluloidMan writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 6:48:01 PM

Forget about HESHER Bando.

JGL is great, but they just don't know what to do with him or his character. He steals every scene, but there's like 2 protagonists: a boy's coming of age & JGL's anarchist, but the director can't decide who to focus on...its a mess in that. Also, it doesn't help itself with its snail pace of a stretched plot...Like I've said, I knew what they were trying to do, but they just didn't get it right, IMO.

If you haven't seen them, you're better off (re)watching THE LOOKOUT or BRICK.
bandolero999 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 7:21:23 PM

Will check them out thanks
minkowski writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 7:35:08 PM

^^^Yeah, I can hook you up with a copy of Brick if you want.

Good movie.
jdl107 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 8:05:14 PM

Ah, Nora Zehetner. Wonder why she doesn't get more roles. Pretty girl.
bandolero999 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 8:16:03 PM

Sure
Blood_Ice-Cream writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 8:36:28 PM

If it ever get's made? It's been filming since November...
minkowski writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 8:47:47 PM

Looks like Josh Brolin was just cast for Sin City 2.
minkowski writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:03:05 PM

"If it ever get's made? It's been filming since November..."

Well sh*t, it's been filming for a month and I didn't know? Where the hell are my priorities?
Johnnyb writes:
on January 9th, 2013 at 3:03:46 PM

Nice that he is staying with WB!

Joss Whedon Blames Edgar Wright for Not Having Ant-Man in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

Will Smith Trashes "Another Earth," Vince Vaughn Trashes "The Internship"

More Details on Marvel's Spider-Man Deal, New Spider-Man to be Younger

Mark Ruffalo Discusses The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" and in New Solo Film

It's Official: Spider-Man to Appear in Marvel Films

Matthew Vaughn Reveals His Version of Quicksilver Scene in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Director Matthew Vaughn Wanted Two Wolverines in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?

Confirmed: Neill Blomkamp Will Direct New "Alien" Film

Jared Leto Talks Playing The Joker in "Suicide Squad"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved