WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

David S. Goyer Says Marvel Will Reboot "Blade" Without Wesley Snipes

Posted: January 7th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
David S. Goyer Says Marvel Will Reboot "Blade" Without Wesley SnipesSubmit Comment
Back in 2011, it was reported that the rights to the Blade characters has reverted back to Marvel. Now, David S. Goyer, who wrote the first two "Blade" films and directed the third one, revealed that Marvel will likely reboot the franchise.

"Now that Marvel/Disney have recaptured the rights, I'm sure it will be [remade]. They made too much money on that character to not reboot him at some point," he said, adding that Disney won't care that Blade is a much darker character than Captain America and Iron Man. "Between merchandise and whatnot, that little character generated almost a billion dollars."

When asked if he thinks Wesley Snipes will be asked to return for the reboot, Goyer said: "I don't think so." That's not much of a surprise, since Snipes is so much older now and was difficult to work with, especially for Goyer, who had to threaten the actor several times that he'll finish "Blade Trinity" without him.

Source: CraveOnline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 46 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 9:24:37 PM

How bout a white guy INStead
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 9:25:09 PM

That's gay! I love the blade series l Just f*cking wait for him to get released and work on a 4th!
Big_Daddy writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 9:28:01 PM

3 by far was the sh*ttiest of them all.
bandolero999 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 9:37:59 PM

Ah Wesley your such a f*ck UP
cress writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 9:47:36 PM

I'm still pissed they rebooted Superman without Christopher Reeve. A corpse in a wheelchair flying through Metropolis would've been a fresh take on a classic character.
Electro Rock writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:05:48 PM

Wes was great. Too bad for him.
boogiel writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:08:57 PM

"How bout a white guy INStead"


@bando

What a great idea. That or Michael Jai White as the new blade.
pornfly writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:11:11 PM

Wesley has the other convicts call him by his movie titles instead of his name.
pornfly writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:12:21 PM

Partly because hes crazy but mostly because Wesley is a 'pound me in the ass' name
velocityknown writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:14:29 PM

"That's not much of a surprise, since Snipes is so much older now and was difficult to work with, especially for Goyer, who had to threaten the actor several times that he'll finish "Blade Trinity" without him."

What a well-written sentence.
minkowski writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:56:56 PM

No sh*t. Who does your proofreading, Alex? M.C. Escher?

Anyway, Wesley is old, so I can see why they'd want to go ahead with someone else, someone younger but please, no white people or Asians for the role.

Blade is a black character and Wesley nailed the role, (weak) pun intended, so I hope they get someone just as perfectly appropriate, which I doubt they can.
Rambo writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 11:01:03 PM

the first blade was great.director had so many potential,too bad he decided to disappear after the underrated LXG.
Donyae 420 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 11:08:57 PM

Boogiel...Michael Jai is the only replacement,you are so right!
Stapes writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 11:11:59 PM

Jai white? No freaking way, guy's too old for the role too. My vote is for jaden smith.
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 11:13:58 PM

Michael Jai White can be Blade.
minkowski writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 11:18:14 PM

@Rambo: the first Blade is damned near perfect, the second not so much, but still not entirely horrible, and the third is a goddamned parody of the first.

Trinity is almost like something you'd see the Japanese make, where they take a once-respected character and combine him with some super-deformed anime cartoon. You could almost see Ryan Reynold's eyes pop out of his head Looney Toons style.

Hell, only Space Jam destroyed a respectable black man faster than Blade Trinity.
Rambo writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 11:18:27 PM

My vote is for jaden smith

that was a joke right?
Rambo writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 11:22:34 PM

@mink

what I didn't like about both sequels(and especially about trinity)is that they had too many characters and the focus turned away from snipes.in the first it was all about a lonely snipes and his bad ass hunt for deacon frost and his gang...the second wasn't bad and had some good action scenes and the third was turd.
minkowski writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 11:32:56 PM

@Rambo: I would have been okay with Biel as Whistler's daughter (and they shouldn't have brought Whistler back anyway after he died in the first film, or they shouldn't have killed him in the first place) but Ryan Reynolds was simply a bridge too damned far for me, and to be honest, the guy, outside Van Wilder, makes me a little sick.

He basically ruined the entire film, or ruined it more than it was already ruined, with his stupid quips and expressions. It was like they thought they had to have him in there for the women. What a total sell out. Only thing worse would have them putting Will Smith, doing his Fresh Prince schtick, in there instead.
minkowski writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 11:33:46 PM

And no Micheal Jai White. Wesley as Blade or no damned Blade at all.
james236 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 12:04:59 AM

@ Rambo

I think your picks are usually awesome. But....lxg... That makes my list for 50 worst movies of the decade
KillerCOck writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 12:07:03 AM

I just hope they don't ask Goyer to come back.

the First BLade is one of my favorite movies of all time, I wish they had started this reboot sooner and got Idris Elba to star. He'd still be awesome now but I think people are gonna start getting sick of this guy soon.

I think Lamman Rucker has good look for the role but I'm not sure about his acting. If they go with someone younger then Lee Thompson Young and Columbus Short are the only people I could see doing it.

If they make him white, Bradley Cooper all the way!!!!! hahahaha!
Electro Rock writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 12:24:12 AM

I vote Michael Winslow. That sh*t would rule.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 12:45:21 AM

I'd watch that lol.. ^
james236 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 1:03:53 AM

Jaleel white has that glasses look down. He might be available.
Ranger writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 1:23:26 AM

M.C. Escher?



lol.
Avirex writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 2:31:41 AM

If Idris Elba was less known and had martial arts skills he'd be a decent choice. Wasn't Blade originally in Europe in the comics? It would be different enough in theory not to be a carbon copy. Even then I seriously doubt anyone can top the original. The only things wrong with are badly aged effects and aged fight sequences. Not enough reason to reboot though.
pornfly writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 2:44:48 AM

Blade Beyond with Snipes or Elba in reboot
vincere01 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 2:48:24 AM

If someone even suggests jamie foxx. I. Will. Find. You.
vincere01 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 2:49:18 AM

My vote goes to black guy number 2 from cloud atlas
Venom1970 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 2:55:21 AM

Well I would like to see one of the following take the lead role.

Ernie Hudson,Ving Rhames, Danny Glover or maybe Carl Weathers or Mr.T are available :P

Seriously though, Michael Jai White would be the best for this role but I doubt they would use him. Some f*ckhole like Chris Brown will get the role.
KillerCOck writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 3:20:42 AM

hahaaha! ya Right!
afterkwiss writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 3:24:23 AM

Blade without Snipes? Why bother ...
supaflywill writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 3:25:40 AM

Averix , good choice in elbra , he would be a very good tbh , the TV series was horse sh*t , the effects in the first one was the only spoilers , the second was ok , but the 3rd was bollocks ...just didnt seem serious enough like the first ....snipes iis f*cked anyway, shame tho would of enjoyed another instalment . Elbra to me as well the only way forward !
Mr. Blonde writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 3:37:19 AM

Sam "Bad Mutherf*cka" Jackson.

Call it Blade Flashforward.
Mudders writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 6:51:40 AM

what about tyrese " woah woah woah" gibson

jokes

im not sure there are any decent young black actors to take this on....

cuba gooding jr?

jamie foxx?

chiwetel ejiofor?

dare i say will smith?

who knows...who really cares that much if it doesnt get off the ground?

SACdaddy writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 7:11:10 AM

Wesley was and still is perfect for the part. The dude ages almost is as well as his character so they should just bring him back. Its also a good opportunity to take advantage of a more subdued Snipes who should appreciate anything given to him upon his release.

Goyer is the problem. He obviously loses it if he's given too much power or has to write a 3rd installment of a trilogy (ie TDKR). Plus Trinity was his first directing gig which combined with his terrible script and even worse casting was a recipe for disaster. Wesley just didn't respect the guy. His bad for taking a job he knew was horse sh*t, but he still should have put more effort into the work as a professional. Can't blame Goyer for not wanting him back really. But who gives a f*ck what Goyer wants anyway? Without a decent director his writing is NOTHING. Get off your high horse Dave.
Bunny X writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 11:54:42 AM

As @Mink said, Blade 1 was nearly perfect. Even the look of the film was spot on. The "liveliness" of 2 and 3 made me sick to my stomach. It was like B1 was the indie superhero film and 2 and 3 became mainstream and big budget. Hell, even the soundtrack to 1 was superior to the other 2.
If a reboot is done, Snipes can take the mantle again. He's older sure, but he prob looks like he hasn't aged out the role yet. MJW is too cartoonish for the role and can't act to save his life.
If they want to go younger, there's a crop of guys from the movie Red Tails, they could pick from.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 1:50:08 PM

Bunny: Yes finally some else realizes how terrible an actor MJW is. Seriously Black Dynamite is his only decent role, and thats just because his amateur acting skills fit well with the grindhouse style.

As far as the acting crop in Red Tails, please tell me that was a joke. I know the writing was horrendous but even a seasoned vet like Howard (who should be able to inject some quality into the role) failed miserably in that film. Now The Wire might be a better source of talent for casting a new Blade.
BlackDynamite writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 6:04:16 PM

I wouldn't mind seeing Tyler Perry, Samuel L. Jackson, or Idris Elba as Blade.

Just Serious.

They should make Blade an Asian this time, and cast Ken Jeong.
CelluloidMan writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 7:29:28 PM

I'd watch a new BLADE...if Goyer wasn't involved.

Don't get me started on that guy.... f*cker could've closed a great trilogy instead he sh*t on the Blade legacy.

I'd be pissed if I was Snipes too.

I think Goyer is better at taking credit for original or adapting ideas for screenplays than anything behind the camera.
BlackDynamite writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 8:09:52 PM

I would say Djimon Hounsou, But I'd prefer to see him in Black Panther.
Venom1970 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 8:18:11 PM

Reading all this, I'm going with Wesley. Idris Elba is in to many Marvel Films now, Both Thor and the latest horrible Ghost Rider which I believe was worst Marvel Film I have ever seen.

Wesley kinda is Blade, he will be beefed up too after prison.

Michael Jai White is a bad actor but looks would pull it off. If he doesn't have to speak often might work.

Whistler HAS to be Kris Kristofferson he was f*cking awesome in that role.
struck21 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 11:00:10 PM

Donald Glover!! Well not really but might as well do as this movie will suck.
vincere01 writes:
on January 9th, 2013 at 1:15:58 PM

@mudders I warned you.....
cphere writes:
on January 10th, 2013 at 9:47:00 PM

I say MADEA should be Blade! Bar None! Who wouldnt wanna see a badd-ass pissed off black gramma kick vampire ass?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved