WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Guillermo Del Toro Turned Down "Star Wars: Episode VII," Hasn't Abandoned "At the Mountains of Madness"

Posted: January 7th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Guillermo Del Toro Turned Down "Star Wars: Episode VII," HasnSubmit Comment
While promoting his upcoming horror film "Mama," Guillermo Del Toro revealed that he was offered to direct "Star Wars: Episode VII" and that he hasn't given up on "At the Mountains of Madness."

Regarding "Star Wars: Episode VII," Del Toro said: "We got one phone call to my agent saying, 'Is Guillermo interested?' And basically I have so much stuff already of my own... [I turned it down]. It was very flattering. It was just a phone call, it didn't go past that, it was very nice to be asked, but believe it or not, I'm busy enough."

He went on to say that he won't direct any future installments either, but said that director Brad Bird (Mission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol, The Incredibles) is the best person for the job.

Regarding "At the Mountains of Madness," Del Toro previously said that he was forced to abandon the film, because it's too similar to "Prometheus." But after seeing "Prometheus," he has reconsidered dropping out of the project. "I saw [Prometheus] finally," he said. "Yes, there are things in common, but, you know, screw it. Lovecraft was there first."

He continued: "I'm going to try it one more time. We're gonna do a big presentation of the project again at the start of the year and see if any [studios are] interested. Tom [Cruise] is still attached. I think it would be so fantastic to make it with him."

Source: The Playlist


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 11 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 9:26:04 PM

Anything but tom cruise
Big_Daddy writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 9:30:14 PM

I think it would be so fantastic to make it with him."


Who is the pitcher?

By pitcher I mean who gives the c*ck to the other gay persons ass
Trivia Newton John writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 9:47:14 PM

^ What the f*ck are you talking about?
cress writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 9:58:04 PM

Speaking of pitchers, I just watched Trouble With the Curve. Terrible movie.
minkowski writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 11:01:17 PM

Joseph Kosinski for Star Wars. That is all.
Rambo writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 11:03:23 PM

Hasn't Abandoned "At the Mountains of Madness"

looks like he hasn't abandoned his healthy appetite as well.
minkowski writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 11:21:52 PM

How he sees Lovecraft in Prometheus, I have no idea, and if del Toro's mental distillation of the man's work equates to little more than bald, gay Russian boxers in alligator neoprene and driving horseshoe-shaped interstellar station wagons, I suggest he go back and read Lovecraft again.
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 12:19:27 AM

I was finished with Guillermo after Pan's Labyrinth.

And Mink says "Slither" is for mentally unstable people.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 3:50:24 AM

So Guillermo turns down Episode VII and all future instalments. I can only surmise reasons for one of the best fantasy directors to bow out on directing one of the best sci-fi franchises areL

a) he is not about the money
b) he wants more creative freedom to develop his own stories
c) he doesn't want to be locked down with Disney's ambitious delivery schedule
d) too much on his plate literally. He is starting to resemble Kevin Smith.
zxz writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 4:01:17 AM

I'm not a big Tom Cruise fan, but if having Tom Cruise on board can make this happen, with Del Toro directing it, then I am all for it. I've read ATMOM so many times, along with all of Lovecraft's work, that to see it brought to screen by a talent like Del Toro would be a dream come true. Cruise is a good actor, but the problem with Cruise is that so many can't separate his image as a star from his ability as an actor. Who knows, he could be great in this.
BlackDynamite writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:02:26 PM

If Tom Cruise is acting in this, I expect they're going to have to right at least one long running scene.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved