WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Clip Leaked Online
Nov 1st, 2014
It's Official! Channing Tatum to Star in "Gambit" Spin-Off
Nov 1st, 2014
Trailer for "Jingle All the Way 2," with Larry the Cable Guy
Nov 1st, 2014
"Inside" Directors Hired For "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre" Prequel
Nov 1st, 2014
First Look at Arnold Schwarzenegger in "Terminator Genisys"
Oct 31st, 2014
Trailer for Alex Garland's "Ex Machina" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 31st, 2014
Seth Rogen is Steve Wozniak in Steve Jobs Biopic, Starring Christian Bale
Oct 31st, 2014
First Look at "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies"
Oct 31st, 2014
"Terminator Genisys" Storyboards Tease a Massive Battle Scene
Oct 31st, 2014
New Trailer for "SpongeBob SquarePants: Sponge Out of Water" Arrives Online
Oct 31st, 2014
First "Terminator Genisys" Photos, Plot Details Revealed
Oct 30th, 2014
Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot
Oct 30th, 2014
Michael Bay to Direct "13 Hours" Benghazi Film
Oct 30th, 2014
Final Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Oct 30th, 2014
First Poster for Alex Garland's "Ex Machina" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 30th, 2014
Keanu Reeves' Next Film is "Replicas" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 30th, 2014
"Avengers: Infinity War" Trailer Leaked Online
Oct 29th, 2014
First "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Clip is Here!
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Explains Why "Hulk" and "Black Widow" Films are NOT Happening
Oct 29th, 2014
First Look at "Black Panther" Costume
Oct 29th, 2014
"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed
Oct 29th, 2014
"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Unveils Titles, Logos and Release Dates For All Phase 3 Films
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team
Oct 28th, 2014
David Goyer Writing Superman Prequel TV Series "Krypton"?
Oct 28th, 2014
First Look at Emma Watson in "Colonia" Cult Thriller
Oct 28th, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Trailer Coming This Year?
Oct 28th, 2014
Ewan McGregor Says "Trainspotting" Sequel to Shoot in 2016
Oct 28th, 2014
Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in Marvel's "Doctor Strange"!
Oct 27th, 2014
"Furious 7" Unveils Second Poster
Oct 27th, 2014
Jesse Eisenberg May Return as Lex Luthor in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film
Oct 27th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Unveils Title and Poster, Trailer Coming Soon
Oct 27th, 2014
Photos: "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" to Show Funeral of Bruce Wayne's Parents?
Oct 27th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Godzilla" Reboot Hires Frank Darabont, Joseph Gordon-Levitt Turned Down Lead Role

Posted: January 8th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Godzilla" Reboot Hires Frank Darabont, Joseph Gordon-Levitt Turned Down Lead RoleSubmit Comment
It was just reported that two producers who were working on the upcoming "Godzilla" reboot dropped out of the project due to disagreements. At the same time, Warner Bros finally set a release date of May 16th, 2014 for the film.

Now comes word that director Frank Darabont (Green Mile, Shawshank Redemption, "The Walking Dead") has been hired to provide a final re-write of the script. The previous versions were written by Max Borenstein (Seventh Son) and Drew Pearce (Iron Man 3).

It's also being reported that Joseph Gordon-Levitt (The Dark Knight Rises) was offered the lead role in "Godzilla," but the actor turned it down.

"Godzilla" will be directed by Gareth Edwards (Monsters) and will begin filming in March.

Source: Deadline, Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 9:23:22 PM

Not again
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 9:26:53 PM

I'm literally the only one on planet earth who loved the first 'American' Godzilla! Although I was like 10 when I first saw it lol But nonetheless, I liked it..

I'll watch this.
Big_Daddy writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 9:26:57 PM

iiits rooood rillaaaaaa!!
bandolero999 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 9:30:59 PM

Tanman like i said you'll watch just about anything.not even jean Reno was enjoyable
cress writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 9:54:44 PM

In the film, Godzilla will take a massive sh*t on the ravaged town near the Fukushima nuclear reactor, just because he's a d*ck.
boogiel writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 9:58:42 PM

Unavoidable big flop.
Electro Rock writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:01:21 PM

Doritos Godzilla stunk. That film was made to sell happy meals.

Jet Jaguar or death.
pornfly writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:08:45 PM

Lemme get this right
Two producers quit being writers so the movie will be rewritten by a director of classic movies for a cheapy director??

Sounds like a Japan-plan to me
velocityknown writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:15:07 PM

In other JGL news:

http://www.hitfix.com/news/joseph-gordon-levitt-boards-sin-city-2-and-wont-star-in-guardians-of-the-galaxy
Donyae 420 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:26:06 PM

The original hurt just as much as The Phantom Menace did,only 2 movies I went to see hours before it started.....never again.
cress writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:26:56 PM

Did JGL wear a prosthetic nose in Looper? Or was it thickened eyebrows? Changed his eye color? Still trying to figure that out. If only there was a way to look up such information, some form of technology that I could access....hmmmm.
Donyae 420 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:27:35 PM

Ok...maybe Episode 7 I'll go early to see.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:43:10 PM

If you watch godzilla in reverse its about a friendly giant lizard rebuilding a city and then running back into the ocean
minkowski writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:53:28 PM

^^lol.

Anyway, this has Frank Darabont doing the final re-write, so I'm not *entirely* sure it'll be as bad as the Roland Emmerich abomination.
james236 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:54:47 PM

As a life long Godzilla fan, this pisses me off. I was 10 when the American film came out. I loved it. Emmerich was able to sell it to kids as an adult film. Kids love dark long films that make them feel like adults. i also, was a big Broderick fan, growing up on Wargames.

Around fourteen years old I had an epiphany and realized just how trashy the film was. It truly was the Min Michael Bay transformers of the nineties. The thirty minute mark until about an hour in is an extended, extra serious episode of Felicity. The last half hour of nest seeking was the episode of Friends where the gang is stuck underground because Joey is looking for lost treasure. I might have made that last part up. Kids think because there are no kids on screen that they are being treated to mature cinema. It's really just a sh*ttier version of ID4 without the funny Jewish banter between Jeff Goldblum and his dad. We're left with French coffee jokes, a terrible Puff Daddy cover of Zeplin, and helicopters flying around getting eaten for ninety minutes. The only saving grace for the film would've been keeping in the shot of stepping on the T-Rex skeleton. It was the only original thing in the film.

I won't bother talking about Godzilla 2000. There have been about a dozen quality Godzilla films since 1987. Which is a good number. However, every film had a mid-level or lower budget. Here we have a studio willing to shell out 175 million on production, and another 100 on marketing, and this is what we get. Go f*ck yourselves.
Rambo writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:57:06 PM

Patrick Bateman wins this thread.LOL!
james236 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:57:55 PM

1 year to shoot, edit, cgi, score? Really? Give James Cameron 2 and a half years, and he'd make a better Godzilla film than 95 percent of Americans will ever see. I'll produce and co-write this mother f*cker for 25 dollars an hour.
minkowski writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 11:12:07 PM

I'll do it for free just to brush my teeth with Kathryn Bigelow's panties.
Rambo writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 11:17:19 PM

a milf hunter godzilla....interesting reboot.
pornfly writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 11:28:23 PM

PATRICKBATEMAN KILLED IT
i'm going to apply that to other movies and use it to make hot chics laugh
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 12:02:05 AM

"Godzilla" "Frank Darabont"
That's all I need to know. This'll be tits.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 12:44:00 AM

@Bando

Bassically true.. I give a lot of movies a shot, Sue me lol
supaflywill writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 3:27:12 AM

Clover field ......say no more
Mr. Blonde writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 3:27:37 AM

@Patrick Bateman - LOL.

JGL is smart to avoid this "Matthew Broderick" type starring vehicle as his acting choices have been far more interesting than having to follow the scent of a sh*t stain trail just to chase down a gigantic rampaging iguana. Encouraged that Frank Darabont is working on final rewrite - as The Mist was ripe with scares and gore. And giving Gareth Edwards a bigger budget so he can up his Monsters film making could be a win. Although what's with 2 producers jumping ship? I remain cautiously optimistic.
sedibus writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 4:21:24 AM

Yesterday I saw Django Unchained, and I just finally watched the original Django.

And man, I must say, good for Tarantino he is doing great, but, the Django from 1966 is such a f*cking great flick, with this I was actually cheerly moved by the action sequences, not to mention the flow of the plot, which of course is nothing oscar worthy but better than Tarantino's rendition.

I know it's not a remake or a side-quel or any other kind of parallel universe continuation of some sorts, so don't come up with that f*cking sh*t.

Thank you.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 4:34:39 AM

Wait wait wait.....

Django Unchained is a remake?...
Seriously? How the f*ck didn't I know this... I research every film I watch! Lmao
sedibus writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 5:11:32 AM

Better you put your sh*t sh*t sh*t together Tanman.

I'm sorry, man, my mistake, it's an homage to the 1966 Django film, of course it isn't a remake.

So, anyway, Django Unchained is a piece of f*cked up sh*t compared to the 1966 flick. Not even with that amount of hundred of millions of dollars into its production, I guess its star eat the sh*t out from the budget.

So, Tarantino flick was good entertainment before I saw the original, now is nothing more than a garbage piece of sh*t junk, that its f*cking worthless. I didn't achieved in 146mins aprox. of duration what the original Django achieved in 90 f*cking minutes.

I don't know what the f*ck is going on with f*ckllywood flicks nowadays that are more than 2 hours long "epic" films. Please.

Tanman32123 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:13:19 AM

I don't mink the classical 'epic' Like pearl Harbor was a good one, if you'd call that an epic... Maybe a war epic..

Another good 'epic' would be the King Kong remake
Again, if you'd call that a remake,

Or the Hobbit, Good Flick..
President Baltar writes:
on January 9th, 2013 at 4:20:11 PM

The IMDB page of Godzilla has motherf*ckin' Tommy "The Room" Wiseau attached to star, if that isn't the killing joke, I don't know what is.

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer

"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!

Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot

Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved