WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Tom Cruise on "Mission: Impossible 5" Set
Aug 22nd, 2014
"Harry Potter" Director David Yates to Return For "Fantastic Beasts" Spin-Off
Aug 22nd, 2014
Trailer For "The Woman in Black" Sequel
Aug 22nd, 2014
Photos: Chris Pratt Dressed as Star-Lord Visits Sick Children at Hospital
Aug 22nd, 2014
First Look at Keanu Reeves in "John Wick" Action Thriller
Aug 22nd, 2014
Steven Spielberg to Turn "Minority Report" Into a TV Series
Aug 22nd, 2014
New Trailer for "The Conjuring" Spin-Off "Annabelle"
Aug 22nd, 2014
New Trailer for "Young Ones" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Nicholas Hoult
Aug 22nd, 2014
New Trailer For Jake Gyllenhaal's "Nightcrawler" Thriller
Aug 21st, 2014
Trailer for Shailene Woodley's "White Bird in a Blizzard" Thriller
Aug 21st, 2014
Photo: Better Look at Henry Cavill in His Superman Costume on Set of "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 21st, 2014
Teaser Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" Leaked Online
Aug 21st, 2014
Trailer for Nicolas Cage's Insane "Outcast" Film
Aug 21st, 2014
Christian Bale and Cate Blanchett Join "Jungle Book: Origins"
Aug 21st, 2014
Trailer: Katie Holmes is a Vigilante in "Miss Meadows"
Aug 21st, 2014
Pierce Brosnan Was Offered Lead in Tim Burton's "Batman," Thought It Was a Joke
Aug 20th, 2014
Trailer for Antonio Banderas' "Automata" Sci-Fi Film
Aug 20th, 2014
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "Men, Women and Children," Directed by Jason Reitman
Aug 20th, 2014
Daughters of Johnny Depp and Kevin Smith to Star in "Yoga Hosers"
Aug 20th, 2014
Photo: Is Scoot McNairy Playing The Flash in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Aug 20th, 2014
Trailer For "A Good Marriage" Thriller, Based on Stephen King's Short Story
Aug 20th, 2014
New Trailer For "Ouija" Supernatural Thriller, Based on Board Game
Aug 20th, 2014
Benedict Cumberbatch is Shere Khan in "The Jungle Book" Film
Aug 20th, 2014
First Look at Paul Rudd in Marvel's "Ant-Man"
Aug 20th, 2014
Mark Wahlberg in Talks for "Deepwater Horizon" BP Oil Disaster Film
Aug 20th, 2014
Photos of Henry Cavill as Superman on Set of "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 19th, 2014
Alfred Molina Wants to Return as Spider-Man Villain Doctor Octopus in "Sinister Six"
Aug 19th, 2014
Trailer for Lifetime's "Saved By the Bell" Movie
Aug 19th, 2014
"Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel Hires Director, Filming to Begin in October
Aug 19th, 2014
"The Fault in Our Stars" Director in Talks for Anne Rice's "Lestat" Vampire Film
Aug 19th, 2014
Milla Jovovich is Pregnant, "Resident Evil: The Final Chapter" Gets Delayed
Aug 18th, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Star Wants More Money, May Get Replaced
Aug 18th, 2014
"The Devil's Advocate" to Become a TV Series
Aug 18th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Godzilla" Reboot Hires Frank Darabont, Joseph Gordon-Levitt Turned Down Lead Role

Posted: January 8th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Godzilla" Reboot Hires Frank Darabont, Joseph Gordon-Levitt Turned Down Lead RoleSubmit Comment
It was just reported that two producers who were working on the upcoming "Godzilla" reboot dropped out of the project due to disagreements. At the same time, Warner Bros finally set a release date of May 16th, 2014 for the film.

Now comes word that director Frank Darabont (Green Mile, Shawshank Redemption, "The Walking Dead") has been hired to provide a final re-write of the script. The previous versions were written by Max Borenstein (Seventh Son) and Drew Pearce (Iron Man 3).

It's also being reported that Joseph Gordon-Levitt (The Dark Knight Rises) was offered the lead role in "Godzilla," but the actor turned it down.

"Godzilla" will be directed by Gareth Edwards (Monsters) and will begin filming in March.

Source: Deadline, Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 9:23:22 PM

Not again
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 9:26:53 PM

I'm literally the only one on planet earth who loved the first 'American' Godzilla! Although I was like 10 when I first saw it lol But nonetheless, I liked it..

I'll watch this.
Big_Daddy writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 9:26:57 PM

iiits rooood rillaaaaaa!!
bandolero999 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 9:30:59 PM

Tanman like i said you'll watch just about anything.not even jean Reno was enjoyable
cress writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 9:54:44 PM

In the film, Godzilla will take a massive sh*t on the ravaged town near the Fukushima nuclear reactor, just because he's a d*ck.
boogiel writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 9:58:42 PM

Unavoidable big flop.
Electro Rock writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:01:21 PM

Doritos Godzilla stunk. That film was made to sell happy meals.

Jet Jaguar or death.
pornfly writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:08:45 PM

Lemme get this right
Two producers quit being writers so the movie will be rewritten by a director of classic movies for a cheapy director??

Sounds like a Japan-plan to me
velocityknown writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:15:07 PM

In other JGL news:

http://www.hitfix.com/news/joseph-gordon-levitt-boards-sin-city-2-and-wont-star-in-guardians-of-the-galaxy
Donyae 420 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:26:06 PM

The original hurt just as much as The Phantom Menace did,only 2 movies I went to see hours before it started.....never again.
cress writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:26:56 PM

Did JGL wear a prosthetic nose in Looper? Or was it thickened eyebrows? Changed his eye color? Still trying to figure that out. If only there was a way to look up such information, some form of technology that I could access....hmmmm.
Donyae 420 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:27:35 PM

Ok...maybe Episode 7 I'll go early to see.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:43:10 PM

If you watch godzilla in reverse its about a friendly giant lizard rebuilding a city and then running back into the ocean
minkowski writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:53:28 PM

^^lol.

Anyway, this has Frank Darabont doing the final re-write, so I'm not *entirely* sure it'll be as bad as the Roland Emmerich abomination.
james236 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:54:47 PM

As a life long Godzilla fan, this pisses me off. I was 10 when the American film came out. I loved it. Emmerich was able to sell it to kids as an adult film. Kids love dark long films that make them feel like adults. i also, was a big Broderick fan, growing up on Wargames.

Around fourteen years old I had an epiphany and realized just how trashy the film was. It truly was the Min Michael Bay transformers of the nineties. The thirty minute mark until about an hour in is an extended, extra serious episode of Felicity. The last half hour of nest seeking was the episode of Friends where the gang is stuck underground because Joey is looking for lost treasure. I might have made that last part up. Kids think because there are no kids on screen that they are being treated to mature cinema. It's really just a sh*ttier version of ID4 without the funny Jewish banter between Jeff Goldblum and his dad. We're left with French coffee jokes, a terrible Puff Daddy cover of Zeplin, and helicopters flying around getting eaten for ninety minutes. The only saving grace for the film would've been keeping in the shot of stepping on the T-Rex skeleton. It was the only original thing in the film.

I won't bother talking about Godzilla 2000. There have been about a dozen quality Godzilla films since 1987. Which is a good number. However, every film had a mid-level or lower budget. Here we have a studio willing to shell out 175 million on production, and another 100 on marketing, and this is what we get. Go f*ck yourselves.
Rambo writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:57:06 PM

Patrick Bateman wins this thread.LOL!
james236 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:57:55 PM

1 year to shoot, edit, cgi, score? Really? Give James Cameron 2 and a half years, and he'd make a better Godzilla film than 95 percent of Americans will ever see. I'll produce and co-write this mother f*cker for 25 dollars an hour.
minkowski writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 11:12:07 PM

I'll do it for free just to brush my teeth with Kathryn Bigelow's panties.
Rambo writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 11:17:19 PM

a milf hunter godzilla....interesting reboot.
pornfly writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 11:28:23 PM

PATRICKBATEMAN KILLED IT
i'm going to apply that to other movies and use it to make hot chics laugh
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 12:02:05 AM

"Godzilla" "Frank Darabont"
That's all I need to know. This'll be tits.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 12:44:00 AM

@Bando

Bassically true.. I give a lot of movies a shot, Sue me lol
supaflywill writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 3:27:12 AM

Clover field ......say no more
Mr. Blonde writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 3:27:37 AM

@Patrick Bateman - LOL.

JGL is smart to avoid this "Matthew Broderick" type starring vehicle as his acting choices have been far more interesting than having to follow the scent of a sh*t stain trail just to chase down a gigantic rampaging iguana. Encouraged that Frank Darabont is working on final rewrite - as The Mist was ripe with scares and gore. And giving Gareth Edwards a bigger budget so he can up his Monsters film making could be a win. Although what's with 2 producers jumping ship? I remain cautiously optimistic.
sedibus writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 4:21:24 AM

Yesterday I saw Django Unchained, and I just finally watched the original Django.

And man, I must say, good for Tarantino he is doing great, but, the Django from 1966 is such a f*cking great flick, with this I was actually cheerly moved by the action sequences, not to mention the flow of the plot, which of course is nothing oscar worthy but better than Tarantino's rendition.

I know it's not a remake or a side-quel or any other kind of parallel universe continuation of some sorts, so don't come up with that f*cking sh*t.

Thank you.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 4:34:39 AM

Wait wait wait.....

Django Unchained is a remake?...
Seriously? How the f*ck didn't I know this... I research every film I watch! Lmao
sedibus writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 5:11:32 AM

Better you put your sh*t sh*t sh*t together Tanman.

I'm sorry, man, my mistake, it's an homage to the 1966 Django film, of course it isn't a remake.

So, anyway, Django Unchained is a piece of f*cked up sh*t compared to the 1966 flick. Not even with that amount of hundred of millions of dollars into its production, I guess its star eat the sh*t out from the budget.

So, Tarantino flick was good entertainment before I saw the original, now is nothing more than a garbage piece of sh*t junk, that its f*cking worthless. I didn't achieved in 146mins aprox. of duration what the original Django achieved in 90 f*cking minutes.

I don't know what the f*ck is going on with f*ckllywood flicks nowadays that are more than 2 hours long "epic" films. Please.

Tanman32123 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:13:19 AM

I don't mink the classical 'epic' Like pearl Harbor was a good one, if you'd call that an epic... Maybe a war epic..

Another good 'epic' would be the King Kong remake
Again, if you'd call that a remake,

Or the Hobbit, Good Flick..
President Baltar writes:
on January 9th, 2013 at 4:20:11 PM

The IMDB page of Godzilla has motherf*ckin' Tommy "The Room" Wiseau attached to star, if that isn't the killing joke, I don't know what is.

"Sharknado 2" Breaks Records with 3.9 Million Viewers

Ronda Rousey Says She Should Have Been Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Bruce Wayne's Age in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed

Robin Williams' Cause of Death Revealed

Anthony Mackie Says He's Ready to Become Captain America

"The Expendables 3" Bombs at the Box Office, "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Still On Top

James Gunn Says "Guardians and the Galaxy" and "Avengers" Superheroes May Soon Meet

"Batman v Superman" Director Zack Snyder Defends Aquaman's Powers

Jackie Chan Discusses "The Expendables 4" and "Rush Hour 4"

Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" Attached to "Sin City: A Dame to Kill For"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved