WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"24" Movie and "X-Files" Reboot May Happen
Jul 25th, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Confirms Role in "Shazam" Superhero Film
Jul 25th, 2014
"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" Writer Hints at Direction of Third Film
Jul 25th, 2014
Vin Diesel on "xXx 3" and Guillermo Del Toro on "Pacific Rim 2"
Jul 25th, 2014
Poster for "Chappie" Robot Film, with Sharlto Copley and Hugh Jackman
Jul 25th, 2014
New Photo of Ben Affleck as Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 25th, 2014
Restricted Trailer for "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" is Here!
Jul 25th, 2014
First Photos From "Hitman: Agent 47" Reboot
Jul 25th, 2014
Two New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Posters, with Captain America and Black Widow
Jul 24th, 2014
Trailer for "50 Shades of Grey" Arrives Online
Jul 24th, 2014
First Two Posters for "Avengers: Age of Ultron" are Here!
Jul 24th, 2014
First Poster for Marvel's "Ant-Man" is Here!
Jul 24th, 2014
Photos: Batman's Suit From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" On Display at Comic-Con
Jul 24th, 2014
Marvel Takes Old "The Amazing Spider-Man 4" Date, Likely for "Avengers 3"
Jul 24th, 2014
"Hitman: Agent 47" Unveils Comic-Con Banner
Jul 24th, 2014
New Trailer for Pierce Brosnan's "The November Man" Thriller
Jul 24th, 2014
Sony Announces Release Plan for "The Amazing Spider-Man 3" and "Sinister Six"
Jul 24th, 2014
Poster for "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies" Arrives Online
Jul 24th, 2014
"Pirates of the Caribbean 5" and "Sinister 2" Unveil Release Dates
Jul 24th, 2014
Trailer for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Nightcrawler" Thriller
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Mad Max: Fury Road" Unveils First Poster
Jul 23rd, 2014
Marvel Says Real Mandarin and Red Skull May Soon Make an Appearance
Jul 23rd, 2014
Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"
Jul 23rd, 2014
Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Miss Julie," with Colin Farrell and Jessica Chastain
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Predators" Writer to Turn "Deus Ex" Video Game Into a Movie
Jul 23rd, 2014
New Banner for Brad Pitt's "Fury" War Film
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Space Station 76" Sci-Fi Spoof, with Patrick Wilson and Liv Tyler
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Insidious: Chapter 3" is Now Filming, First Photo Revealed
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Cybernatural" Horror Film, From Timur Bekmambetov
Jul 23rd, 2014
Will Ferrell and Adam McKay Reteam for "Manimal" Action Comedy
Jul 22nd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Unveils 5 Minute Clip
Jul 22nd, 2014
Marvel Will Release One Sequel and One New Franchise Each Year
Jul 22nd, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Godzilla" Reboot Hires Frank Darabont, Joseph Gordon-Levitt Turned Down Lead Role

Posted: January 8th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Godzilla" Reboot Hires Frank Darabont, Joseph Gordon-Levitt Turned Down Lead RoleSubmit Comment
It was just reported that two producers who were working on the upcoming "Godzilla" reboot dropped out of the project due to disagreements. At the same time, Warner Bros finally set a release date of May 16th, 2014 for the film.

Now comes word that director Frank Darabont (Green Mile, Shawshank Redemption, "The Walking Dead") has been hired to provide a final re-write of the script. The previous versions were written by Max Borenstein (Seventh Son) and Drew Pearce (Iron Man 3).

It's also being reported that Joseph Gordon-Levitt (The Dark Knight Rises) was offered the lead role in "Godzilla," but the actor turned it down.

"Godzilla" will be directed by Gareth Edwards (Monsters) and will begin filming in March.

Source: Deadline, Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 9:23:22 PM

Not again
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 9:26:53 PM

I'm literally the only one on planet earth who loved the first 'American' Godzilla! Although I was like 10 when I first saw it lol But nonetheless, I liked it..

I'll watch this.
Big_Daddy writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 9:26:57 PM

iiits rooood rillaaaaaa!!
bandolero999 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 9:30:59 PM

Tanman like i said you'll watch just about anything.not even jean Reno was enjoyable
cress writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 9:54:44 PM

In the film, Godzilla will take a massive sh*t on the ravaged town near the Fukushima nuclear reactor, just because he's a d*ck.
boogiel writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 9:58:42 PM

Unavoidable big flop.
Electro Rock writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:01:21 PM

Doritos Godzilla stunk. That film was made to sell happy meals.

Jet Jaguar or death.
pornfly writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:08:45 PM

Lemme get this right
Two producers quit being writers so the movie will be rewritten by a director of classic movies for a cheapy director??

Sounds like a Japan-plan to me
velocityknown writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:15:07 PM

In other JGL news:

http://www.hitfix.com/news/joseph-gordon-levitt-boards-sin-city-2-and-wont-star-in-guardians-of-the-galaxy
Donyae 420 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:26:06 PM

The original hurt just as much as The Phantom Menace did,only 2 movies I went to see hours before it started.....never again.
cress writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:26:56 PM

Did JGL wear a prosthetic nose in Looper? Or was it thickened eyebrows? Changed his eye color? Still trying to figure that out. If only there was a way to look up such information, some form of technology that I could access....hmmmm.
Donyae 420 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:27:35 PM

Ok...maybe Episode 7 I'll go early to see.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:43:10 PM

If you watch godzilla in reverse its about a friendly giant lizard rebuilding a city and then running back into the ocean
minkowski writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:53:28 PM

^^lol.

Anyway, this has Frank Darabont doing the final re-write, so I'm not *entirely* sure it'll be as bad as the Roland Emmerich abomination.
james236 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:54:47 PM

As a life long Godzilla fan, this pisses me off. I was 10 when the American film came out. I loved it. Emmerich was able to sell it to kids as an adult film. Kids love dark long films that make them feel like adults. i also, was a big Broderick fan, growing up on Wargames.

Around fourteen years old I had an epiphany and realized just how trashy the film was. It truly was the Min Michael Bay transformers of the nineties. The thirty minute mark until about an hour in is an extended, extra serious episode of Felicity. The last half hour of nest seeking was the episode of Friends where the gang is stuck underground because Joey is looking for lost treasure. I might have made that last part up. Kids think because there are no kids on screen that they are being treated to mature cinema. It's really just a sh*ttier version of ID4 without the funny Jewish banter between Jeff Goldblum and his dad. We're left with French coffee jokes, a terrible Puff Daddy cover of Zeplin, and helicopters flying around getting eaten for ninety minutes. The only saving grace for the film would've been keeping in the shot of stepping on the T-Rex skeleton. It was the only original thing in the film.

I won't bother talking about Godzilla 2000. There have been about a dozen quality Godzilla films since 1987. Which is a good number. However, every film had a mid-level or lower budget. Here we have a studio willing to shell out 175 million on production, and another 100 on marketing, and this is what we get. Go f*ck yourselves.
Rambo writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:57:06 PM

Patrick Bateman wins this thread.LOL!
james236 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:57:55 PM

1 year to shoot, edit, cgi, score? Really? Give James Cameron 2 and a half years, and he'd make a better Godzilla film than 95 percent of Americans will ever see. I'll produce and co-write this mother f*cker for 25 dollars an hour.
minkowski writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 11:12:07 PM

I'll do it for free just to brush my teeth with Kathryn Bigelow's panties.
Rambo writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 11:17:19 PM

a milf hunter godzilla....interesting reboot.
pornfly writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 11:28:23 PM

PATRICKBATEMAN KILLED IT
i'm going to apply that to other movies and use it to make hot chics laugh
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 12:02:05 AM

"Godzilla" "Frank Darabont"
That's all I need to know. This'll be tits.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 12:44:00 AM

@Bando

Bassically true.. I give a lot of movies a shot, Sue me lol
supaflywill writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 3:27:12 AM

Clover field ......say no more
Mr. Blonde writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 3:27:37 AM

@Patrick Bateman - LOL.

JGL is smart to avoid this "Matthew Broderick" type starring vehicle as his acting choices have been far more interesting than having to follow the scent of a sh*t stain trail just to chase down a gigantic rampaging iguana. Encouraged that Frank Darabont is working on final rewrite - as The Mist was ripe with scares and gore. And giving Gareth Edwards a bigger budget so he can up his Monsters film making could be a win. Although what's with 2 producers jumping ship? I remain cautiously optimistic.
sedibus writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 4:21:24 AM

Yesterday I saw Django Unchained, and I just finally watched the original Django.

And man, I must say, good for Tarantino he is doing great, but, the Django from 1966 is such a f*cking great flick, with this I was actually cheerly moved by the action sequences, not to mention the flow of the plot, which of course is nothing oscar worthy but better than Tarantino's rendition.

I know it's not a remake or a side-quel or any other kind of parallel universe continuation of some sorts, so don't come up with that f*cking sh*t.

Thank you.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 4:34:39 AM

Wait wait wait.....

Django Unchained is a remake?...
Seriously? How the f*ck didn't I know this... I research every film I watch! Lmao
sedibus writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 5:11:32 AM

Better you put your sh*t sh*t sh*t together Tanman.

I'm sorry, man, my mistake, it's an homage to the 1966 Django film, of course it isn't a remake.

So, anyway, Django Unchained is a piece of f*cked up sh*t compared to the 1966 flick. Not even with that amount of hundred of millions of dollars into its production, I guess its star eat the sh*t out from the budget.

So, Tarantino flick was good entertainment before I saw the original, now is nothing more than a garbage piece of sh*t junk, that its f*cking worthless. I didn't achieved in 146mins aprox. of duration what the original Django achieved in 90 f*cking minutes.

I don't know what the f*ck is going on with f*ckllywood flicks nowadays that are more than 2 hours long "epic" films. Please.

Tanman32123 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 9:13:19 AM

I don't mink the classical 'epic' Like pearl Harbor was a good one, if you'd call that an epic... Maybe a war epic..

Another good 'epic' would be the King Kong remake
Again, if you'd call that a remake,

Or the Hobbit, Good Flick..
President Baltar writes:
on January 9th, 2013 at 4:20:11 PM

The IMDB page of Godzilla has motherf*ckin' Tommy "The Room" Wiseau attached to star, if that isn't the killing joke, I don't know what is.

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

Lindsay Lohan Sues "Grand Theft Auto V" for Using Her Likeness

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility

Gary Oldman Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved