WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Mark Wahlberg Will Return for "Transformers 5"
Dec 19th, 2014
"Team America: World Police" Screenings Also Cancelled Due to Terrorist Threats
Dec 19th, 2014
20th Century Fox Cancels It's Own North Korea-Based Film
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look: Tom Hanks in Steven Spielberg's Cold War Thriller
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look at Viggo Mortensen's "Captain Fantastic"
Dec 19th, 2014
Trailer for "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "American Sniper," with Bradley Cooper
Dec 18th, 2014
"Fifty Shades of Grey" and "Star Wars" are Top Trailers of 2014
Dec 18th, 2014
Hugh Jackman in Talks for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "The Wolverine 2"
Dec 18th, 2014
Peter Jackson Wants to Make More Tolkien Movies
Dec 18th, 2014
Theaters Refusing to Show "The Interview," Sony Cancels Premiere, Press and Release
Dec 17th, 2014
Chris Pratt and a Dinosaur in New "Jurassic World" Photo
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Doesn't Like Marvel Films, Says Superheroes Should Be Happier
Dec 17th, 2014
Orlando Bloom Says "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" is a Reboot
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Will Direct "Beetlejuice 2," Confirms Winona Ryder Will Return
Dec 17th, 2014
Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy Unveils Pac-Man and Donkey Kong Posters
Dec 17th, 2014
New Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Dec 17th, 2014
First Look at "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 16th, 2014
Quentin Tarantino Interested in "Django Unchained" and "Zorro" Crossover Film
Dec 16th, 2014
Lots of "Ghostbusters 3" Story Details Leaked
Dec 16th, 2014
Trailer for Terrence Malick's "Knight of Cups," with Christian Bale and Natalie Portman
Dec 16th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel Gets New Title and Release Date, JK Simmons Joins Cast
Dec 16th, 2014
Five Actresses in Talks for "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" Role
Dec 16th, 2014
20th Century Fox Planning to Merge "Fantastic Four" With "X-Men"
Dec 15th, 2014
"Aquaman" Film Considering "Mud" Director Jeff Nichols
Dec 15th, 2014
Tim Burton Says "Beetlejuice 2" is Closer Than Ever
Dec 15th, 2014
First Look at Batman's Suit From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" in Color
Dec 15th, 2014
Jeremy Irons Says Alfred in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" is Very Different
Dec 15th, 2014
"Exodus: Gods and Kings" Underperforms at Box Office
Dec 15th, 2014
Disney Still Planning to Make "Indiana Jones 5"
Dec 14th, 2014
Trailer for Fake Movie "MoonQuake Lake," with Ashton Kutcher and Mila Kunis
Dec 14th, 2014
Concept Art From Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Dec 14th, 2014
First Teaser for "Descendants," About Children of Maleficent, Jafar, Cruella and Other Disney Villains
Dec 14th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James McAvoy Wants to Play Gandalf in "The Hobbit" Prequels

Posted: January 7th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James McAvoy Wants to Play Gandalf in "The Hobbit" PrequelsSubmit Comment
James McAvoy and Ian McKellen are set to appear together in the upcoming "X-Men: First Class" sequel as a young Professor X and an old Magneto, respectively. Now, in an interview with Total Film, McAvoy says that he would like to be part of McKellen's other franchise, "The Hobbit/The Lord of the Rings."

"I'd like to play Gandalf," he said of a possible film based on JRR Tolkien's "The Silmarillion," which was published by Tolkien's son in 1977. "It's a collection of poems and songs that chart the ancient history of Middle-earth. My true geek is coming to the fore, but they're really beautiful stories. In part of that is the genesis of Gandalf."

Warner Bros is still planning to released two more "The Hobbit" movies. If the new trilogy is a huge success, it's not impossible that we'll see Gandalf's origin story told in a prequel trilogy.

Source: TotalFilm


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 67 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 6:57:03 AM

First as magneto, and now as gandalf? Well, I'm beginning to think mc avoy is McKellen's real life boy toy.
sedibus writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 7:00:14 AM

I have nothing to say here. There is nothing to say, anyway.
jdl107 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 7:03:25 AM

*laughs*

You're welcome.
jdl107 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 7:10:46 AM

In all seriousness, I'm kind of surprised he'd say this. Shouldn't he know by now that this would be a job for Fassbender?

Sorry to talk/sound like that but it's 20th Century's fault. Not mine. The X-Men casting is what turned poor dude into a young Ian McKellen poster boy.
pornfly writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 7:11:58 AM

McAvoy, Channing Tatum and Ryan'seth plate'Gosling need to go on the SS Minnow for a three hour tour to the Gaylopogos Islands already.
jdl107 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 7:13:23 AM

"My true geek is coming to the fore"

Bullsh*t. If you knew anything about these books you'd know that there is no such thing as a "young" Gandalf.

Since Gandalf's inception he's only had one image, which is that of an old man.
jdl107 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 7:24:01 AM

"McAvoy, Channing Tatum and Ryan'seth plate'Gosling need to go on the SS Minnow for a three hour tour to the Gaylopogos Islands already"

Uh, yeah. What he said.
Rambo writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 7:37:10 AM

gandalf style:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kE445zTvo_8
pornfly writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 8:21:40 AM

WP movin up in the world
http://www.inquisitr.com/402807/robocop-remake-conceptual-artwork-leaked-online/

read first few lines
pornfly writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 8:31:32 AM

CRESS
Truly sorry bout your ol'man
Just read your earlier post
mine passed just after he turned 50
But at least theyr not in pain anymore
Hopefully our loved ones are not together commenting on us the way we comment here.

BadChadB33 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 8:40:28 AM

Good for you McAvoy if you do it, hope you get pounded in the ass from Ian.

Cress-Sorry to hear my friend.
velocityknown writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 8:43:47 AM

The Silmarillion will never happen. Christopher Tolkein isn't selling anything else from his father's work since he's hated everything Jackson and Co have done with the properties they've been given thus far. In fact, they couldn't even name the other 2 great wizards in "The Hobbit" because they're only named in the Silmarillion and they don't have the rights to that.
Evil_Disco writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 9:43:34 AM

Wow.
James McAvoy - The Prequel Guy.
Oh - Did I say that he's a terrible actor?
Well, he is..
jdl107 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:35:23 AM

I think I'm going to have to agree with you, Evil_Disco.

Every time I see his face I think of that car scene in Wanted, where he was shrieking because he was freaking out? *shudders*
minkowski writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 1:21:19 PM

Without consulting Wikipedia, did Tolkien write anything that wasn't Hobbit related, and if so, can it be turned into a three or six part film series, because I need to know just how long I'll have to suffer more of Peter Jackson's films, not that he doesn't have capability and talent, just that's it's obviously being wasted being a corporate shill for whoever is paying for these films.

And yes, that was a very mighty run-on sentence.
That writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 2:00:42 PM

There will be no more Tolkiens for at least 20 years due to the fact that the Tolkien Estate will not be giving out anymore licenses for movies in the future. And Gandalf is hardly in the Silmarillion.
jdl107 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 2:06:46 PM

Forgive the question mark, f*cking typos.

@Mink He has a very un-well known childrens short story called Mr. Bliss, The Adventures of Tom Bombadil, Leaf by Niggle, Roverandom.

As well as several posthumous publications (The Silmarillion being one of them, as well as Unfinished Tales, The History of Middle Earth) The Children of Hurin, The Legend of Sigurd and Gudrun. I know not of others, but he does have quite a few works out there. More than enough to qualify a legit bibliography.
james236 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 2:18:43 PM

I want to f*ck a Hobbit but they're so pudgy. And no ass. I guess they're more of an impossible to reach (ironically) experience.
jdl107 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 2:19:26 PM

OT: Very cool comments made by J.J Abrams.

http://www.comicbookmovie.com/fansites/GraphicCity/news/?a=72227

On the O.T., and very hush, hush.

*groan*
minkowski writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 3:06:05 PM

@jdl: thanks for the info. I had no idea Tolkien wrote as much as he did. He always gets plugged for Hobbit material you never stop to think if he wrote other books or stories.

As for the estate of Tolkien, not sure how I feel about that one. On the one hand, that means the studios don't get to transform his stories into films, and I'm sure Tolkien fans want to see all his works brought to life, and the on the other it means people who had nothing to do with JRs life work control it as though they did, which to me seems like a huge violation of the reasoning behind copyright law. Then again, the studios are no better, if not worse.

Not really a true "on the one hand and then on the other", but whatever.




Oh, and for those that care, which I'm sure number in the negative digits, AICN just massively updated their comment sections with all new software, which is a vast improvement over what they had previously. Entirely threaded and modern, too. See here, e.g.,:

http://www.aintitcool.com/node/60236

*hint hint*
jdl107 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 3:15:30 PM

"Not really a true "on the one hand and then on the other", but whatever."

The points are true, though. Nicely put.

And it's about time. The dated look was one of the reasons I never really took a second glance at the site. Alex... You should consider the "hint hint". It's about that time.
jdl107 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 3:17:21 PM

OT: Was sifting through some old articles last night and came across some classics, like the "Russian Avengers Trailer" article. The comments soared that one above most.

But I also found the "WP Users Speak" article and completely forgot about that route WP was taking... Was there ever a second edition?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 3:21:25 PM

Just stop with this Hobbit sh*t now please.

It is bad enough they are making three prequels, now we might have three more.
jdl107 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 3:23:15 PM

"First as magneto, and now as gandalf? Well, I'm beginning to think mc avoy is McKellen's real life boy toy."

1st point was incorrect. 2nd point is pure speculation, even if it came out of the actors mouth. So even though one would like to have fun with this, it doesn't really make sense.
minkowski writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 3:30:36 PM

@jdl: lol! Man, I forgot all about that thread. I sure was f*cking mean to bando, wasn't I? But as I recall, he started it, and after I volunteered myself in his defense against several members, which is why I went off the wall at him. Not that I needed much.

I sure do use "I" a lot.



"But I also found the "WP Users Speak" article and completely forgot about that route WP was taking... Was there ever a second edition?"

Nope. Was one of those things Alex promised and then abandoned because he realized it would be more difficult than unwrapping a Twinkie, as if Dustin dropping his shorts takes much work.

Hell, Alex didn't even want to do the first article. Told me it was no big deal, and then he published it only after two weeks of me mentioning he hadn't put it up yet.


Anyway, Jackson's work is superb. All of his film look good and are very well made, no doubt, but he tends to make them too long, maybe because he gets tax subsidies from New Zealand so the longer the film the more he makes, and to be honest I think his talent is kind of going stale doing Tolkien movies four-fifths of every decade.
velocityknown writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 3:33:01 PM

Christopher Tolkein is just a child who is mad that Jackson did more to make fans, new and old, appreciate his father's work than he could ever did/will do in publishing his dad's stuff posthumously (with Christopher Tolkein edits).

This isn't to say that Tolkein won't ever sell anything to be produced again. But if he does sell it, it won't have anything to do with Jackson.
pornfly writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 3:37:18 PM

http://www.comingsoon.net/news/movienews.php?id=98558

JIC it wasnt caught in the last batch of articles.
minkowski writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 3:53:41 PM

^^Yep. Said that last night, bro. Now just waiting for it at the usual places. You know, like Wal-mart and Redbox...
jdl107 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 3:54:56 PM

Well to be fair this was when Bando was fairly new, and not really racking up the likability points. Honestly I couldn't really stand the guy, but alas, the Gord has grown on me.

Sucks. Gotta go. Talk to you suckers when I return.
minkowski writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 3:57:32 PM

"the Gord has grown on me."

lol. Yeah me too. Like a wart!

Just kidding bando.
pornfly writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 4:12:54 PM

I figured if it was available for download then it would be available at the 'other' usual places*ahem*
BTW MINK if you wanna get a chic hooked, take her to Coranado Island.
After you go over the bridge, turn right on Main Street i believe and park when you see water.
Breakers Beach is nice too by Hotel Del Coronado.
The dunes spell out Coronado from the air and the apt. Buildings next to the hotel are owned by the Reddinbacher family
Then if you go further down the strand and the SEAL o-course is there.
Its cool to check out during Hell Week
minkowski writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 4:23:23 PM

^^Thanks for the advice, Pornfly. I'll have to try that, or maybe just drive off the Coronado Bridge, film it, and see if I can get hired for XXX:IV.

BTW, what in blazes is Hell Week?
minkowski writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 4:24:14 PM

"I figured if it was available for download then it would be available at the 'other' usual places*ahem*"


Not yet, should be a matter of a days, at most.

Pirates are cheap.
pornfly writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 4:31:47 PM

Hell Week at BUDS for the SEALS
you can hear it for miles
I know you saw Gi Jane
Theres better SEAL movies tho
Theres also a badass cove for snorkeling around where you are i believe
I only gone once
Rambo writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 4:42:55 PM

@pornfly

have you been in contact with Tony Scott last year?
Rambo writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 4:44:02 PM

30 minutes into zero dark thirty...some boring sh*t so far
pornfly writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 4:47:23 PM

Thats funny cuz the Coronado Bay bridge and the Silver Strand can be exploded in case of war.
Also people attempt suicide on that bridge alot its freaky!
It takes a while gettin used to,that bridge.

*exploded*
pornfly writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 4:49:34 PM

Keep up the review RAMBO
Im on the fence on whether i want to see that movie yet
minkowski writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 5:07:49 PM

@pornfly: thanks for the info. Didn't know that about Coronado. Thought it was a motor bridge only, no pedos. Really cool looking though with that huge arc and swing. Must have been a bitch to build. Bet the ACoE built that f*cker. Or not.

And yeah I saw GI JANE with Moore playing GI JOE. Not the greatest flick ever, to be honest; Gina Carano would nail it today. Anyway, nope didn't know what Hell Week meant. I know they have it in colleges, and Detroit has Hell Night, or year, depending if you live there or are just visiting for Halloween, but didn't know the Navy had it. You must have been a SEAL or something. Serving your country. Two thumbs up from me dude.

"Also people attempt suicide on that bridge alot its freaky!"

Yep. Third in the nation after the one in San Fran and another in Seattle. 200 suicides since 1972. Pretty f*cked up. Even a murder on there. Or so I read on Wiki.


@Rambo: keep up the review. Maybe we can get a tradition on here of some kind of MST3K reviews going.
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 5:14:38 PM

Go back to Wanted, James.
The only film of your career when I didn't fall asleep mid-exposition.
pornfly writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 5:16:41 PM

I was stationed there for four years and i had a SEAL,Coast Guard and Rescue Swimmer instructor
It just hit me, that was when creatine was just a tastless powder
But Im glad i didnt have all the cool supplements out now.
I know i got through it the natural way

Its a great town man
Hopefully youre makin the most of it

This aint a Judd Apatow flic so enough of this bromance sentimental sh*t
pornfly writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 5:20:05 PM

McAvoys looks like a post-op Rachel Maddow blahblahblah
Rambo writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 5:21:59 PM

This aint a Judd Apatow flic so enough of this bromance sentimental sh*t

you didn't use the F word 100 times so of course it's not a judd apatow flick
pornfly writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 5:22:06 PM

She was actually hot when she had long hair
Havin that gay library girl scissor-sex
pornfly writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 5:25:01 PM

And i dont have my wife makin out with other dudes either
Wutta weirdo
Loved those Tonya Roberts movies her husband had her do in the 80s though
Rambo writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 5:27:44 PM

gina lynn was doing some crazy things with her boyfriend as well.
pornfly writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 5:34:37 PM

Well yea
He divorced his wife for her and helps raises his kid
That kid will have no prob gettin laid.
Relationships is a whole other game tho but who cares about those
minkowski writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 5:36:58 PM

@pornfly:

"Hopefully youre makin the most of it "

I'm trying, bro. I'm trying. Pretty place, nice weather, great beaches, beautiful women, but everyone I've met has been kind of crazy. Like this one guy I was talking to, every time I asked him a question, he closed one eye and started yelling at me to not yell at him. Weird. Back home it was just racist ghetto black people and hillbillies. And then even worse, there's Tennessee.



"Havin that gay library girl scissor-sex"

it's not gay when women have sex, it's beautiful, It's only gay when men do it.

Oh, and creatine. f*ck that sh*t. You can't mix it with anything except battery acid because it doesn't mix, and then it clogs your teeth, and then it makes you fart. Tried that sh*t twice and I just gave up. Made me sick too.

Now, steroids, there's the answer.


WTF was this thread about? Oh. Yeah. Scotland's Shia LeBeouf.
Rambo writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 5:41:31 PM

who cares about anything when you got a round tight piece of ass like gina's
pornfly writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 5:43:05 PM

Muscle-techs line of supps. puts out the best stuff but its expensive
The competition has gotten better though

it's not gay when women have sex, it's beautiful, It's only gay when men do it.

Im stealin that one
Sounds like a PSA
minkowski writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 5:45:39 PM

@Rambo: are you going to tell us what's going on with Zero Dork 30?
pornfly writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 5:49:28 PM

GINAAAA!
I want three of her

*f*ckmylifewheresmypipe*
Rambo writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 5:51:12 PM

63 minutes now...really depressing movie without much happening...if you want to watch it do it with fast forward.

zero dark thirty,django,lincoln...who the f*ck nominates these sh*t movies for so many awards?the more boring it is the more awards it gets.
pornfly writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 5:51:43 PM

jessica chastain calls it zero dark hurty when i put it in her butt
minkowski writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 6:03:23 PM

Chastain is not bad and I have a hard spot for redheads, but I can think of hotter ones.

"name one, mink"

Okay. You win.
minkowski writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 6:05:50 PM

"the more boring it is the more awards it gets."

Rambo, from what I know, from what I've heard, only award winners get to vote. Well, I know that's true for Academy Awards, not sure about Oscars, but if you've ever seen the 'average" Academy Award winner, they're not young. They think Wilford Brimley is an aphrodisiac just because his oatmeal makes them sh*t.
Rambo writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 6:20:33 PM

lol :-)

what was the most unusual movie to win 'best film' at the oscars? return of the king?
minkowski writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 6:40:25 PM

@Probably...1952. Greatest Show on Earth, beating out Moulin Rouge, High Noon and another one...The Quiet Man I think.
minkowski writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 6:40:47 PM

Kee-rist! @Rambo I meant.
Rambo writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 6:54:32 PM

come to think of it 'Gladiator' was a bit unusual...movie with balls.
Herbert Butterfield writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 7:09:44 PM

perhaps "midnight cowboy" could have been considered an unusual winner at the time seeing as how it was rated X when it won.
minkowski writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 7:20:29 PM

What was it, 1941, when Citizen Kane lost to How Green Was My Valley?

Yep. I remember it like it was yesterday.
Herbert Butterfield writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 7:22:29 PM

i'm sure you do, mink, with your being 102 and all. :)
Herbert Butterfield writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 7:28:59 PM

"zero dark thirty,django,lincoln...who the f*ck nominates these sh*t movies for so many awards?the more boring it is the more awards it gets."

yeah, rambo, i got all three of them off the pirate bay... haven't watched any of them yet and now i'm even less eager to do so.

what i want to know is, after all these months, why is there still so sign of the "the master" screener?

where's bane when you need him?


minkowski writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 7:32:01 PM

BAAAAAAAAAAANE!

(watching Star Trek 2, the good one)
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 8:10:09 PM

This thread has way to many comments over a moron wishing for a phantom paycheck he will never receive.
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 8:11:19 PM

Too^

Shia LaBeouf Says He Was Raped During His #IAmSorry Stunt

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

TIME Magazine's Top 10 Best and Worst Films of 2014

It's Official: Jared Leto is The Joker and Will Smith is Deadshot in "Suicide Squad"

Christian Bale Says He'll Never Work With "Terminator Salvation" Director Again

Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"

Marvel Would Have Recast Spider-Man in "Captain America: Civil War"

"Demolition Man" Writer Explains How He Came Up with The Three Seashells

"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Still Rules Box Office, "The Pyramid" Bombed

Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved