WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Director Says "Evil Dead" Remake Has No CGI

Posted: January 6th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Director Says "Evil Dead" Remake Has No CGISubmit Comment
If you watched the restricted trailer for the "Evil Dead" remake, you likely noticed that it's incredibly bloody with lots of gruesome scenes. But according to director Fede Alvarez, the movie doesn't contain a single frame of CGI.

"We didn't do any CGI in the movie. There's no CGI in the movie. Everything you will see is real, which was really demanding," he explained. "This was a very long shoot, 70 days of shooting at night. There's a reason people use CGI it's cheaper and faster, I hate that. We researched a lot of magic tricks and illusion tricks. We really pushed the boundaries, trying to create those illusions."

Alvarez continued: "[The movie] has a particularly bloody ending. The last scene... I want it to be the bloodiest scene ever. And I think it is."

"Evil Dead" is set to hit theaters on April 12th. If you have yet to see the trailer, click here to watch it.

Source: STYD


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:04:18 PM

My hopes went up 110% after reading this.
By god, this is great news.
pornfly writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:18:15 PM

Good news for film making
But i still feel this remake is just cashing in late in the game at the torture porn crowd

Less is more IMO
Freddy was creepier when you could barely make out his face in the first movie
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:24:04 PM

^ That's one worry I have for this film.
But, I think it'll be a different take on Horror completely.
I have my faith firmly placed in this film.
As for the big "reveal", I really don't find that scary, imo.
I found it interesting, though. A great way of Character build up.
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:29:03 PM

Practical effects rule, unless the shot involves spaceships or hordes of little creatures that can't possibly played by dwarfs like Gary Coleman.

On the other hand, I could have sworn I heard Scott say something similar about Prometheus, something to the effect that CGI played a very limited part of the film's visuals, and we all know that was the better part of a lie.

We'll see, not that I care. Sick of torture porn and the fact Alvarez seems to think throwing kegs of blood on-screen, thus pandering to the virtual sadists, makes him something of an innovative auteur doesn't instill me with buckets of confidence.
cress writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:30:03 PM

Which is the more disturbing rape in the woods? The chick being gangbanged by Mr. Oak and Mr. Maple in Evil Dead, or Ned Beatty being introduced to a rousing game of Redneck Buttf*ck in Deliverance?
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:41:43 PM

^^^Depends on whether you live in Texas, or California, probably.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:42:17 PM

My hopes rose to see this on DVD now.
bandolero999 writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:45:05 PM

Still not gonna watch it
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:00:41 PM

I would have watched it, maybe, if it wasn't so gore-heavy.

Try to scare me, please. I dare you, but don't try that Cherry Tropicana sh*t because I know better.
hardcorehogan87 writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:19:08 PM

The more and more I hear about this, the more excited I get. The red-band trailer was awesome and no CGI is about the best news I can get. Definitely in.
jdl107 writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:27:26 PM

Okay.

Doesn't make the film better, just more practical effects-laden.

I wonder what the mentality was in making this film, it's almost like they wanted to make a movie that looked like sh*t.
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:54:41 PM

^lol.
Rambo writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 12:15:54 AM

Director Says "Evil Dead" Remake Has No CGI

so?you want a cookie?
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 12:54:59 AM

Really looking forward to that ending..
pornfly writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 3:16:17 AM

RAMBO
that wouldve been a perfect first post
drewsmit24 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 4:48:11 AM

Evil Dead will be the most ambition horror remake to date im excited im not gonna bitch like you hoes above me
jdl107 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 5:35:00 AM

This has about as much ambition as a monkey waking up to take a morning sh*t.

So don't give me that, ho.
SoftimusPrime writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 6:17:28 AM

That is GOLD. CGI blood is exactly what's been bothering me about slasher movies of the last ten years and also flicks like Ninja Assassin.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 9:19:18 AM

Music to my hears. Now i'm convinced I was too hard initially on this remake attempt. All the news and trailers have been positive since its Com Con debut, and I'm gaining more and more respect for the director every time he speaks. This is the proper way to pay respect to the original imo.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 9:51:24 AM

WELL, I'M IN NOW, DIABLO CODY OR NOT
blinkbomber writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 9:56:19 AM

It can be argued that the original films, given their respective release dates, also "looked like sh*t."

Plus the films are also known, among other things, as gory films.

I don't get it, the hate with this remake, aside from the fact that it is a remake/reboot/reimagining, other than the fact that most of us are a lot older now then we were when we saw the originals, and have possibly grown tired of such aspects.

I'm down to see it, happy there's no CGI, and love the blood... but to each their own.

Also, here's a link to the script if anyone is interested or hasn't read it already.

http://www.scribd.com/doc/118978101/Evil-Dead
jdl107 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:32:35 AM

No, it can't be argued. They do look like sh*t. But that's because the trilogy's over twenty years old. The first one is over thirty years old. So when I say they look like sh*t that's not me trying to insult the old movies. I would never even think to do something like that.

But when I say that this one looks like sh*t, that's pretty sad to me. You'd think given a 30+ time span they would try to make a movie that didn't look worse than the original. (It doesn't help when you think of the year we are currently in.)

Geeze, this has horrid written all over it. From the bland, trite look/tone/feel of it to to the half baked scare attempts in the trailer. Even The f*cking Grudge at least tried to scare, from what I've seen so far this will be littered with pointless, wasted jump scare attempts that any dimwit could see coming from down the road. Not calling you a dimwit, just saying.
jdl107 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:45:54 AM

*clutches at forehead*

Oh god. I just tried to watch that restricted trailer. Gave me a f*cking headache.

Don't understand and probably would never understand why anyone would anticipate this sh*t.
blinkbomber writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:51:26 AM

Nah, I got ya, jdl107. It's a valid opinion. And in the end it's all in the eye of the beholder. I think it's looks great, but then again I'm legally blind so what do I know? lol. I'm just gonna enjoy it because it's the Evil Dead universe! But I'm still dodging a release-day viewing, unless it's a matinee. Damn theaters are crazy these days.
BlackDynamite writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 12:24:30 PM

Not sure if I'm on board with the "last scene is probably the bloodiest ever" route, because there was a lot of blood thrown in the climatic shoot out in Django, and I thought that was nearing excessive.
matternm58 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 12:39:24 PM

I can't wait. So excited.
gotsghostrider writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 5:17:56 PM

It's so rare to see a horror movie that uses all practical effects. My hat is off to you sir

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved