WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Arnold Schwarzenegger in "Terminator Genisys"
Oct 31st, 2014
Trailer for Alex Garland's "Ex Machina" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 31st, 2014
Seth Rogen is Steve Wozniak in Steve Jobs Biopic, Starring Christian Bale
Oct 31st, 2014
First Look at "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies"
Oct 31st, 2014
"Terminator Genisys" Storyboards Tease a Massive Battle Scene
Oct 31st, 2014
New Trailer for "SpongeBob SquarePants: Sponge Out of Water" Arrives Online
Oct 31st, 2014
First "Terminator Genisys" Photos, Plot Details Revealed
Oct 30th, 2014
Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot
Oct 30th, 2014
Michael Bay to Direct "13 Hours" Benghazi Film
Oct 30th, 2014
Final Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Oct 30th, 2014
First Poster for Alex Garland's "Ex Machina" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 30th, 2014
Keanu Reeves' Next Film is "Replicas" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 30th, 2014
"Avengers: Infinity War" Trailer Leaked Online
Oct 29th, 2014
First "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Clip is Here!
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Explains Why "Hulk" and "Black Widow" Films are NOT Happening
Oct 29th, 2014
First Look at "Black Panther" Costume
Oct 29th, 2014
"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed
Oct 29th, 2014
"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Unveils Titles, Logos and Release Dates For All Phase 3 Films
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team
Oct 28th, 2014
David Goyer Writing Superman Prequel TV Series "Krypton"?
Oct 28th, 2014
First Look at Emma Watson in "Colonia" Cult Thriller
Oct 28th, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Trailer Coming This Year?
Oct 28th, 2014
Ewan McGregor Says "Trainspotting" Sequel to Shoot in 2016
Oct 28th, 2014
Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in Marvel's "Doctor Strange"!
Oct 27th, 2014
"Furious 7" Unveils Second Poster
Oct 27th, 2014
Jesse Eisenberg May Return as Lex Luthor in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film
Oct 27th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Unveils Title and Poster, Trailer Coming Soon
Oct 27th, 2014
Photos: "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" to Show Funeral of Bruce Wayne's Parents?
Oct 27th, 2014
"Ouija" Easily Beat Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" at Box Office
Oct 27th, 2014
Russell Brand is Quitting Acting Because He's Scared of Money
Oct 27th, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says He Wanted to Play Wolverine and Batman
Oct 26th, 2014
Christopher Nolan No Longer Involved With Warner Bros' Superhero Films
Oct 26th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Michael Keaton Says Third "Batman" Film Would Have Been an Origin Story

Posted: January 7th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Michael Keaton Says Third "Batman" Film Would Have Been an Origin StorySubmit Comment
Michael Keaton and director Tim Burton made "Batman" in 1989 and followed that up with "Batman Returns" in 1992. Even though they were attached to return for a third installment, Warner Bros decided to go with a more family-friendly tone. This resulted in Keaton and Burton dropping out.

Now in a new interview, Keaton revealed that the original plan was to make the third film an origin story, similar to Frank Miller's "Batman: Year One." "You look at where [Christopher Nolan] went, which is exactly what I wanted to do when I was having meetings about the third one," the actor explained. "I said you want to see how this guy started. This could be brilliant. [Warner Bros] didn't want to do it, so I didn't want to do it."

In 2000, the studio reconsidered and hired Darren Aronofsky (Black Swan, The Wrestler) to direct an adaptation of "Batman: Year One." The project was eventually abandoned in favor of "Batman vs Superman," which later also fell apart. This gave Nolan the chance to direct "Batman Begins" in 2005.

Source: WTFPod, CBM


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 51 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:10:06 PM

Eat a d*ck, Warners Brothers
Rich folk and their piss poor decision making
boogiel writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:11:43 PM

Keaton is good as batman but terribly awful as bruce wayne.
cress writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:14:06 PM

Today on the Warner Brothers Commissary menu: d*ck, with a Tossed Salad.

Enjoy!
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:20:49 PM

Hmmmm. I like the idea, and I like the thought of three or four Burton Batman films, but the I seriously doubt Keaton wanted to go "exactly" where Nolan went, unless he means to say he hoped to adapt Year One, just as Nolan essentially did.

And yes, Boogiel, Keaton wasn't a great Wayne, but he was a pretty damned good Batman. Kind of Bale's inverse.
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:26:31 PM

Warner Bros., you need to get your c*cks smashed.
With a jackhammer.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:27:50 PM

unrelated but pretty funny

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bd4XkV5ojT8&feature=player_embedded
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:39:36 PM

I remember posted on here a similar story where WB wanted add "color" to the 3 rd Batman movie and Keaton and Burton didn't like the sound of it.
Stapes writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:41:33 PM

The idea of a prequel was too ahead of its time back then and i wouldnt go so far as to call nolans a true adaptation of year one either. It wasnt as gritty as millers story.
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:45:29 PM

"It wasnt as gritty as millers story."

No mortal man could make a Batman film as gritty as Miller. f*ck.

Here's to the upcoming The Dark Knight Returns Part 2, btw!
pornfly writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:48:30 PM

I always preferred to believe Mask of the Phantasm to be the third Batman movie.
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:48:54 PM

Oh sh*t, part 2 is ready for download (only legally atm).

Come to papa bear!
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:10:51 PM

Sorry. Off-topic I know, but The Dark Knight Returns Part 1 was epic imo and Part 2 is at least one good reason not to go dance an Irish jig in Interstate 5 traffic this year.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:19:13 PM



the Robocop reboot
where Keaton plays Raymond Sellars
head of Omnicorp
he based the character off industry leaders like Steve Jobs and Richard Branson
and insists he’s not a villain
just someone with an opinion at odds with the hero

http://www.geekosystem.com/michael-keaton-wtf-interview/
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:23:29 PM



am i the only one who saw GAME 6

a low budget black comedy that
stars michael keaton and robert downey jr
KillerCOck writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:26:10 PM

Man! I'm probably the only person who prefers Keaton's Wayne. I'm not saying he played the role properly like Bale did, But I Love what Keaton did.

I would've loved to see Burton's version of Year one. I wonder who would've been the Villain?

Dark Knight returns part 1 was great! I loved the music. I felt the film was a bit repetitive doh. I think they kept bringing back memories of his parents too much. 1 good scene would've been enough. Dude is Like in his 50's and keeps looking to them for strength like a kid. He should be inspired by his own damn legacy already.
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:29:44 PM

^^All I can say is, Batman's going to fight Superman in Part 2. Can't f*cking wait!

But I do agree that maybe that was a little heavy-handed, the flashbacks and all, but that's what Miller wrote IIRC and I guess it shows how wayne still sees his parents in everything he does, even his work as a crime-fighter, which was always in their name, really, not his own. I thought it lent him a humanity he otherwise totally lacked.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:36:30 PM



his best performances are...

http://www.dvdsreleasedates.com/covers/pacific-heights-dvd-cover-72.jpg

http://www.movieposterdb.com/posters/07_11/2007/488352/l_488352_9644911a.jpg

http://www.randynewman.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/ThePaper_DVD.jpg

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/d/d7/Game_6_dvd_cover.jpg

http://goldenbookwyrm.files.wordpress.com/2011/06/much-ado-about-nothing-dvd-cover.jpg

http://www.silverdisc.com/images/74/796019822213.jpg

http://c3.cduniverse.ws/resized/250x500/movie/063/1262063.jpg

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/517AR69BFKL._SL500_AA300_.jpg

http://www.dignews.com/legacy/screenshots/beetlejuice_dvd_box.jpg

http://www.silverdisc.com/images/88/883316444375.jpg

sedibus writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:37:11 PM

Yeah, I kind of feel the same way, Keaton's incarnation of Batman was and is the best.

Also Batman and Returns are the best in the series.

Well, 3 and 4 had some good misè en scene which were impressive.

Although Nolan's rendition was nice, once it got over political it collapse exactly as the trailer of TDKR.

So, the first two in the series are the best. Always, at least for me.

Man, what a tremendous piece of sh*t TDKR is.
pornfly writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:40:07 PM

I-5 HAHAHA
I know where that is! HAHAHA
KillerCOck writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:44:46 PM

I see where you're coming from and I don't disagree But I still feel like he should be a man who has owned up to his actions and be Proud by now by the things he's accomplished rather than sulking and crawling in the memories of his tragedies.

Even if he did them in the name of his parents, he is the who did them. One good scene would've been enough and then I think he should've acted as bad ass as he was the rest of the movie. Or Maybe have a a couple of Flashbacks of what happened to Jason instead. It annoyed me that they tip toed around this issue.

I know that's what Miller did but I think a film adaptation of anything opens a door to improvement. I think they missed an opportunity but I'm not sore about it, Just being critical.

I'm excited for Part 2 as well. I would love for them to do Dark Knight Strikes again right after, I actually like that book better. I hope they make it!
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:48:21 PM

@Pornfly: that's cool, bro, maybe you can tell me where it is, and maybe you can also tell me why some Californians wear old coffee cups over their feet and under their flip flops.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:51:38 PM



how many have you seen ? ?

THE MERRY GENTLEMAN

THE COMPANY (tv)

BATMAN

WHITE NOISE

GAME 6

LIVE FROM BAGHDAD (tv)

DESPERATE MEASURES

BATMAN RETURNS

THE PAPER

FRASIER -- season 9 episode 16

MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING

PACIFIC HEIGHTS

CLEAN AND SOBER

BEETLEJUICE

THE OTHER GUYS

NIGHT SHIFT

MULTIPLICITY
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:52:30 PM

@Killerc*ck: you hatin' on my film, motherf*cker? Nah I'm just kidding.

Fair enough. Your criticism are your own and I didn't even notice the flashbacks that much, but I'm used to that sh*t after years of reading the graphic novels.

Besides, you open the door to "improving' Frank Miller's magnum opus and you invite a Matterhorn of hate mail. I think they just said "do a straight-up adaptation" to play it safe, and I think, despite any and all flaws, they did a damned good job.

Best comic book animated film I've seen, probably ever, imo. Even Year One wasn't as good.


And yeah, bro, you can count on Strikes Again getting a film or two, too.
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:53:32 PM

Multiplicity? Oh god. That's one film we could have ALL down without.

Or am I thinking of The Sixth Day?
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:54:06 PM

done.
KillerCOck writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:56:51 PM

I've seen 7 of those. I love Desperate Measures. I've also seen Gung Ho and Jack Frost about 200 times, It always use to be on tv and is still every Xmas.

I've also seen Mr. Mom, Toy Story 3 and My Life.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:58:42 PM



FRASIER
season 9 episode 16

guest star michael keaton

http://www.gorillavid.in/cnb/bt2s62jx161b
Fightclub1 writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:59:54 PM

Keaton was a good batman, but I still think bale is better. He was way to small as batman to me
KillerCOck writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 12:08:43 AM

hahaha! I've watched it twice already so I've noticed everything. That's really my 1 and only criticism about it doh! Other than that I loved it! And I'm a sucker for a good score, The music was just excellent to me.

As for Year One, I really can't get over Batman's voice in that f*ckin movie. It sounded like Brainiac to me at first, I was shocked thinking that Brainiac was in the movie and then to my mutha f*ckin surprise I see that its Bruce Wayne narrating the start of the movie! I struggled so hard watching that movie because of his voice. It was the worst time for me cuz I was stoned too.

I couldn't stop thinking about hacking off my ears from my f*cking everytime he spoke.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 12:10:50 AM



he turned down THE FLY
the part went to jeff goldblum

he turned down the role of
Peter Venkman in Ghostbusters

was considered for the role of Jack Crawford in Silence of the Lambs

was considered for the role of Dr. Curtis McCabe in Vanilla Sky

was considered for the role of Capt. Jack Sparrow in POTC curse black pearl

he was 40 when filming Batman Returns making him the oldest actor to play Batman in a live-action film

his birth-name is Michael Douglas
"Yeah, I had to change my name
because there were two other actors
with that name. One of them is doing quite well from what I understand
the other is
making cheap porn movies..like Basic Instinct

LOL LOL LOL
Rambo writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 12:14:03 AM

@Patrick Bateman

whoa...that clip changed my life...cruise as fedex worker.damn.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 12:15:38 AM



when Burton was dropped as director
Keaton left the franchise

Warner Bros. offered him $15,000,000
but Keaton refused

he was replaced by Val Kilmer

jesus christ !!!!

why would he refuse 15 million dollars ? ? ?
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 12:19:29 AM



@ Killerc*ck

i love Desperate Measures too

himself and andy garcia
where are they now ??

he is the bad guy in Robocop remake..

and garcia was oscar worthy in CITY ISLAND
KillerCOck writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 12:23:09 AM

You know something, I never liked Andy Garcia but I've seen City Island and I loved him in it. He was f*ckin hilarious!
WV-Films writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 1:23:52 AM

I still wish I had my Keaton trilogy. Sorta sucks.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 1:24:01 AM

ok rambo here is a better one

ed harris still stuck in acting mode

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=azOWjmfUqVw&feature=player_embedded
GangsterNutZ writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 1:30:36 AM

joel poomacher should have gone 8mm style on batman forever and had kilmer, tl jones and carey run a train on nicole kidman while chris odonnel sat in the corner and watched like a little beat off troll before snuffing her out. i guess that version wouldnt have had a family-friendly tone to it though
jdl107 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 2:16:08 AM

The Dark Knight Returns Part 1 was actually good? Oh man, I'm going to have to check this out.

I've seen a clip on YouTube, and the voice acting seemed a little shoddy. Hopefully the actual product will prove otherwise.
jdl107 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 2:30:32 AM

"why would he refuse 15 million dollars ? ? ?"

Perhaps he's just a respectable quality over quantity kind of guy. It really isn't that far-fetched, man.

Kind of like how Chappelle refused $50 million in favor of not turning his show into a network run piece of sh*t.
pornfly writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 2:50:37 AM

Cant wait to see both on bluray
You cant f*ck with my Dark Knight
and not the Martin Lawrence movie
http://www.comingsoon.net/news/movienews.php?id=98558
Patrick Bateman writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 2:57:09 AM

was watching howls moving castle last night which was before batman begins and christian bale does his batman voice hilarious
Venom1970 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 3:47:14 AM

I'm still kinda pissed at you Bane for the detailed info about Skyfall. But seeing this is an interesting thread will add my 2 cents worth on great Michael Keaton flicks!

I loved him in
Night Shift insane character turning a normal guy Henry Winkler into the biggest Pimp in the city :)

Night Shift (Obviously)
Batman
Batman Returns
Pacific Heights
Desperate Measures
The Dream Team
White Noise

I also enjoyed his small role in the Other Guys.
Venom1970 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 3:48:05 AM

Lol Porn, that Martin Lawrence film was f*cking terrible!
pornfly writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 4:35:08 AM

VENOM
Why these people choose to do bad movies when they dont have to trips me right the f*ck out
sahlute bud

Which is what Im bout to do rat now
Rambo writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 6:13:49 AM

@Patrick Bateman

that clip is better.check out 'the rock' outtakes for more ed harris craziness.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 9:44:53 AM



@ Venom1970

http://collider.com/james-bond-oscars-tribute/221631/
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 10:28:00 AM



@ GangsterNutZ

''joel poomacher ''

don't you mean joel poo pusher

ha ha ha
Bunny X writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 12:33:21 PM

@Mink yes TDKR pt1 was just about the best DC animated film they've ever made. And I am beyond thrilled for pt2. It's better than most of the DC live actioners but then again, I've watched 4 year old kids soccer matches that were batter than those DC live films.
minkowski writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 1:40:04 PM

^^Yep! hugely awaiting getting Part 2. Gonna be the highlight of my week which, if you think about it, is just a little sad.

O_o
vincere01 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 2:55:30 AM

I like keaton a lot but I gotta call bullsh*t. I've seen him tell multiple versions now about what went down with batman 3. I've heard burton said no to dieect very early, but he still produced. I heard everything from keaton wanting more money to him just flat out saying no. That he wanted to go too dark and wb said no. He has contradicted himself a lot on this subject. One definitive answer please. Thank you
Bunny X writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 12:02:29 PM

@Mink, it made me go and grab my copy and read it again. And if pt2 holds up to the comic the way pt1 did, then that ending fight between supes and bats will be nothing short of biblical. I cannot wait to see that part animated on the screen when supes gets his ass handed to him.

My biggest wish is for a live action movie based on either Batman Beyond or a trilogy of The Dark Knight Returns / The Dark Knight Strikes Again. Catgirl, the Batboys, Flash, Atom and a rematch between Superman and Batman.....

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer

"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!

Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"

Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved