WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Oct 9th, 2015
"Ant-Man" Gets a Sequel, Marvel's Phase Three Release Dates Announced
Oct 9th, 2015
Pixar's "Toy Story 4," "Cars 3" and "The Incredibles 2" Get New Release Dates
Oct 9th, 2015
First Look at Disney's New Princess "Moana"
Oct 9th, 2015
Steve McQueen's "Papillon" is Getting a Remake
Oct 9th, 2015
Four Directors Considered for "Fast and Furious 8"
Oct 7th, 2015
"The Flash" Movie Hires Director
Oct 7th, 2015
Restricted Trailer for "Triple Nine," with Casey Affleck and Woody Harrelson
Oct 7th, 2015
Nicolas Cage Turned Down Lead Role in "Lord of the Rings"
Oct 5th, 2015
First Look at Matthew McConaughey in "Gold"
Oct 5th, 2015
"Thor 3" Found Its Director
Oct 5th, 2015
"Power Rangers" Reboot is Testing These Eight Actors
Oct 5th, 2015
James McAvoy in Talks for M. Night Shyamalan's New Supernatural Thriller
Oct 5th, 2015
Final Trailer for "Spectre" James Bond Film
Oct 3rd, 2015
Trailer for Kurt Russell's "Bone Tomahawk" Western
Oct 3rd, 2015
Reboot of "MacGyver" TV Series in the Works with James Wan
Oct 3rd, 2015
Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Oct 2nd, 2015
Final Poster for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2"
Oct 2nd, 2015
Trailer for "The Forest" Supernatural Thriller
Oct 2nd, 2015
New Trailer for Leonardo DiCaprio's "The Revenant" Thriller
Oct 1st, 2015
First Look: Andrew Garfield in Mel Gibson's "Hacksaw Ridge"
Oct 1st, 2015
Matthew Vaughn to Direct "I Am Pilgrim" Thriller
Oct 1st, 2015
Vin Diesel Says "Furious 8" is Part of Last Trilogy
Sep 29th, 2015
Danny Boyle to Shoot "Trainspotting" Sequel Next Summer
Sep 29th, 2015
Matt Damon Would Play Daredevil if Christopher Nolan Directed
Sep 27th, 2015
Ridley Scott Says "Prometheus 2" Will Have Connections to Ripley
Sep 27th, 2015
Sigourney Weaver Joins "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Sep 27th, 2015
Matt Damon Discusses "Bourne" Plot Details
Sep 27th, 2015
First Look at Woody Harrelson as President Johnson in "LBJ" Biopic
Sep 27th, 2015
Title of "Prometheus" Sequel Revealed
Sep 26th, 2015
New "Men in Black" Film Moving Forward Without Will Smith
Sep 26th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Wants Tom Hardy to Replace Him as Wolverine
Sep 26th, 2015
Trailer for "Truth," with Robert Redford and Cate Blanchett
Sep 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Michael Keaton Says Third "Batman" Film Would Have Been an Origin Story

Posted: January 7th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Michael Keaton Says Third "Batman" Film Would Have Been an Origin StorySubmit Comment
Michael Keaton and director Tim Burton made "Batman" in 1989 and followed that up with "Batman Returns" in 1992. Even though they were attached to return for a third installment, Warner Bros decided to go with a more family-friendly tone. This resulted in Keaton and Burton dropping out.

Now in a new interview, Keaton revealed that the original plan was to make the third film an origin story, similar to Frank Miller's "Batman: Year One." "You look at where [Christopher Nolan] went, which is exactly what I wanted to do when I was having meetings about the third one," the actor explained. "I said you want to see how this guy started. This could be brilliant. [Warner Bros] didn't want to do it, so I didn't want to do it."

In 2000, the studio reconsidered and hired Darren Aronofsky (Black Swan, The Wrestler) to direct an adaptation of "Batman: Year One." The project was eventually abandoned in favor of "Batman vs Superman," which later also fell apart. This gave Nolan the chance to direct "Batman Begins" in 2005.

Source: WTFPod, CBM

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 51 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:10:06 PM

Eat a d*ck, Warners Brothers
Rich folk and their piss poor decision making
boogiel writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:11:43 PM

Keaton is good as batman but terribly awful as bruce wayne.
cress writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:14:06 PM

Today on the Warner Brothers Commissary menu: d*ck, with a Tossed Salad.

minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:20:49 PM

Hmmmm. I like the idea, and I like the thought of three or four Burton Batman films, but the I seriously doubt Keaton wanted to go "exactly" where Nolan went, unless he means to say he hoped to adapt Year One, just as Nolan essentially did.

And yes, Boogiel, Keaton wasn't a great Wayne, but he was a pretty damned good Batman. Kind of Bale's inverse.
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:26:31 PM

Warner Bros., you need to get your c*cks smashed.
With a jackhammer.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:27:50 PM

unrelated but pretty funny

BadChadB33 writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:39:36 PM

I remember posted on here a similar story where WB wanted add "color" to the 3 rd Batman movie and Keaton and Burton didn't like the sound of it.
Stapes writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:41:33 PM

The idea of a prequel was too ahead of its time back then and i wouldnt go so far as to call nolans a true adaptation of year one either. It wasnt as gritty as millers story.
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:45:29 PM

"It wasnt as gritty as millers story."

No mortal man could make a Batman film as gritty as Miller. f*ck.

Here's to the upcoming The Dark Knight Returns Part 2, btw!
pornfly writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:48:30 PM

I always preferred to believe Mask of the Phantasm to be the third Batman movie.
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:48:54 PM

Oh sh*t, part 2 is ready for download (only legally atm).

Come to papa bear!
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:10:51 PM

Sorry. Off-topic I know, but The Dark Knight Returns Part 1 was epic imo and Part 2 is at least one good reason not to go dance an Irish jig in Interstate 5 traffic this year.
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:19:13 PM

the Robocop reboot
where Keaton plays Raymond Sellars
head of Omnicorp
he based the character off industry leaders like Steve Jobs and Richard Branson
and insists he’s not a villain
just someone with an opinion at odds with the hero

on January 6th, 2013 at 11:23:29 PM

am i the only one who saw GAME 6

a low budget black comedy that
stars michael keaton and robert downey jr
KillerCOck writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:26:10 PM

Man! I'm probably the only person who prefers Keaton's Wayne. I'm not saying he played the role properly like Bale did, But I Love what Keaton did.

I would've loved to see Burton's version of Year one. I wonder who would've been the Villain?

Dark Knight returns part 1 was great! I loved the music. I felt the film was a bit repetitive doh. I think they kept bringing back memories of his parents too much. 1 good scene would've been enough. Dude is Like in his 50's and keeps looking to them for strength like a kid. He should be inspired by his own damn legacy already.
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:29:44 PM

^^All I can say is, Batman's going to fight Superman in Part 2. Can't f*cking wait!

But I do agree that maybe that was a little heavy-handed, the flashbacks and all, but that's what Miller wrote IIRC and I guess it shows how wayne still sees his parents in everything he does, even his work as a crime-fighter, which was always in their name, really, not his own. I thought it lent him a humanity he otherwise totally lacked.
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:36:30 PM

his best performances are...











sedibus writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:37:11 PM

Yeah, I kind of feel the same way, Keaton's incarnation of Batman was and is the best.

Also Batman and Returns are the best in the series.

Well, 3 and 4 had some good misè en scene which were impressive.

Although Nolan's rendition was nice, once it got over political it collapse exactly as the trailer of TDKR.

So, the first two in the series are the best. Always, at least for me.

Man, what a tremendous piece of sh*t TDKR is.
pornfly writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:40:07 PM

I know where that is! HAHAHA
KillerCOck writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:44:46 PM

I see where you're coming from and I don't disagree But I still feel like he should be a man who has owned up to his actions and be Proud by now by the things he's accomplished rather than sulking and crawling in the memories of his tragedies.

Even if he did them in the name of his parents, he is the who did them. One good scene would've been enough and then I think he should've acted as bad ass as he was the rest of the movie. Or Maybe have a a couple of Flashbacks of what happened to Jason instead. It annoyed me that they tip toed around this issue.

I know that's what Miller did but I think a film adaptation of anything opens a door to improvement. I think they missed an opportunity but I'm not sore about it, Just being critical.

I'm excited for Part 2 as well. I would love for them to do Dark Knight Strikes again right after, I actually like that book better. I hope they make it!
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:48:21 PM

@Pornfly: that's cool, bro, maybe you can tell me where it is, and maybe you can also tell me why some Californians wear old coffee cups over their feet and under their flip flops.
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:51:38 PM

how many have you seen ? ?










FRASIER -- season 9 episode 16







minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:52:30 PM

@Killerc*ck: you hatin' on my film, motherf*cker? Nah I'm just kidding.

Fair enough. Your criticism are your own and I didn't even notice the flashbacks that much, but I'm used to that sh*t after years of reading the graphic novels.

Besides, you open the door to "improving' Frank Miller's magnum opus and you invite a Matterhorn of hate mail. I think they just said "do a straight-up adaptation" to play it safe, and I think, despite any and all flaws, they did a damned good job.

Best comic book animated film I've seen, probably ever, imo. Even Year One wasn't as good.

And yeah, bro, you can count on Strikes Again getting a film or two, too.
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:53:32 PM

Multiplicity? Oh god. That's one film we could have ALL down without.

Or am I thinking of The Sixth Day?
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:54:06 PM

KillerCOck writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:56:51 PM

I've seen 7 of those. I love Desperate Measures. I've also seen Gung Ho and Jack Frost about 200 times, It always use to be on tv and is still every Xmas.

I've also seen Mr. Mom, Toy Story 3 and My Life.
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:58:42 PM

season 9 episode 16

guest star michael keaton

Fightclub1 writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:59:54 PM

Keaton was a good batman, but I still think bale is better. He was way to small as batman to me
KillerCOck writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 12:08:43 AM

hahaha! I've watched it twice already so I've noticed everything. That's really my 1 and only criticism about it doh! Other than that I loved it! And I'm a sucker for a good score, The music was just excellent to me.

As for Year One, I really can't get over Batman's voice in that f*ckin movie. It sounded like Brainiac to me at first, I was shocked thinking that Brainiac was in the movie and then to my mutha f*ckin surprise I see that its Bruce Wayne narrating the start of the movie! I struggled so hard watching that movie because of his voice. It was the worst time for me cuz I was stoned too.

I couldn't stop thinking about hacking off my ears from my f*cking everytime he spoke.
on January 7th, 2013 at 12:10:50 AM

he turned down THE FLY
the part went to jeff goldblum

he turned down the role of
Peter Venkman in Ghostbusters

was considered for the role of Jack Crawford in Silence of the Lambs

was considered for the role of Dr. Curtis McCabe in Vanilla Sky

was considered for the role of Capt. Jack Sparrow in POTC curse black pearl

he was 40 when filming Batman Returns making him the oldest actor to play Batman in a live-action film

his birth-name is Michael Douglas
"Yeah, I had to change my name
because there were two other actors
with that name. One of them is doing quite well from what I understand
the other is
making cheap porn movies..like Basic Instinct

Rambo writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 12:14:03 AM

@Patrick Bateman

whoa...that clip changed my life...cruise as fedex worker.damn.
on January 7th, 2013 at 12:15:38 AM

when Burton was dropped as director
Keaton left the franchise

Warner Bros. offered him $15,000,000
but Keaton refused

he was replaced by Val Kilmer

jesus christ !!!!

why would he refuse 15 million dollars ? ? ?
on January 7th, 2013 at 12:19:29 AM

@ Killerc*ck

i love Desperate Measures too

himself and andy garcia
where are they now ??

he is the bad guy in Robocop remake..

and garcia was oscar worthy in CITY ISLAND
KillerCOck writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 12:23:09 AM

You know something, I never liked Andy Garcia but I've seen City Island and I loved him in it. He was f*ckin hilarious!
WV-Films writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 1:23:52 AM

I still wish I had my Keaton trilogy. Sorta sucks.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 1:24:01 AM

ok rambo here is a better one

ed harris still stuck in acting mode

GangsterNutZ writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 1:30:36 AM

joel poomacher should have gone 8mm style on batman forever and had kilmer, tl jones and carey run a train on nicole kidman while chris odonnel sat in the corner and watched like a little beat off troll before snuffing her out. i guess that version wouldnt have had a family-friendly tone to it though
jdl107 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 2:16:08 AM

The Dark Knight Returns Part 1 was actually good? Oh man, I'm going to have to check this out.

I've seen a clip on YouTube, and the voice acting seemed a little shoddy. Hopefully the actual product will prove otherwise.
jdl107 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 2:30:32 AM

"why would he refuse 15 million dollars ? ? ?"

Perhaps he's just a respectable quality over quantity kind of guy. It really isn't that far-fetched, man.

Kind of like how Chappelle refused $50 million in favor of not turning his show into a network run piece of sh*t.
pornfly writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 2:50:37 AM

Cant wait to see both on bluray
You cant f*ck with my Dark Knight
and not the Martin Lawrence movie
Patrick Bateman writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 2:57:09 AM

was watching howls moving castle last night which was before batman begins and christian bale does his batman voice hilarious
Venom1970 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 3:47:14 AM

I'm still kinda pissed at you Bane for the detailed info about Skyfall. But seeing this is an interesting thread will add my 2 cents worth on great Michael Keaton flicks!

I loved him in
Night Shift insane character turning a normal guy Henry Winkler into the biggest Pimp in the city :)

Night Shift (Obviously)
Batman Returns
Pacific Heights
Desperate Measures
The Dream Team
White Noise

I also enjoyed his small role in the Other Guys.
Venom1970 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 3:48:05 AM

Lol Porn, that Martin Lawrence film was f*cking terrible!
pornfly writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 4:35:08 AM

Why these people choose to do bad movies when they dont have to trips me right the f*ck out
sahlute bud

Which is what Im bout to do rat now
Rambo writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 6:13:49 AM

@Patrick Bateman

that clip is better.check out 'the rock' outtakes for more ed harris craziness.
on January 7th, 2013 at 9:44:53 AM

@ Venom1970

on January 7th, 2013 at 10:28:00 AM

@ GangsterNutZ

''joel poomacher ''

don't you mean joel poo pusher

ha ha ha
Bunny X writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 12:33:21 PM

@Mink yes TDKR pt1 was just about the best DC animated film they've ever made. And I am beyond thrilled for pt2. It's better than most of the DC live actioners but then again, I've watched 4 year old kids soccer matches that were batter than those DC live films.
minkowski writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 1:40:04 PM

^^Yep! hugely awaiting getting Part 2. Gonna be the highlight of my week which, if you think about it, is just a little sad.

vincere01 writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 2:55:30 AM

I like keaton a lot but I gotta call bullsh*t. I've seen him tell multiple versions now about what went down with batman 3. I've heard burton said no to dieect very early, but he still produced. I heard everything from keaton wanting more money to him just flat out saying no. That he wanted to go too dark and wb said no. He has contradicted himself a lot on this subject. One definitive answer please. Thank you
Bunny X writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 12:02:29 PM

@Mink, it made me go and grab my copy and read it again. And if pt2 holds up to the comic the way pt1 did, then that ending fight between supes and bats will be nothing short of biblical. I cannot wait to see that part animated on the screen when supes gets his ass handed to him.

My biggest wish is for a live action movie based on either Batman Beyond or a trilogy of The Dark Knight Returns / The Dark Knight Strikes Again. Catgirl, the Batboys, Flash, Atom and a rematch between Superman and Batman.....

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed

Universal Pictures Already Broke the Record for Highest-Grossing Year

Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Schumer Working on New Comedy
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved