WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Texas Chainsaw 3D" Massacred Its Box Office Competition

Posted: January 7th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Texas Chainsaw 3D" Massacred Its Box Office CompetitionSubmit Comment
It was believed that "The Hobbit," "Django Unchained" and "Les Miserables" would battle for first place at the domestic box office this weekend, But "Texas Chainsaw 3D" exceeded expectations by grossing $23 million, which was enough to beat all of its competition.

The film, which is a sequel to Tobe Hooper 1974 original, cost only $20 million to make, but has a lousy 21% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes. A sequel is already being planned.

"Django Unchained" ended up in second place with $20.1 million, breaking the $100 million mark domestically. It's currently on track to become the highest-grossing Quentin Tarantino film. "Inglourious Basterds" holds that record with $120 million.

"The Hobbit" took third place by grossing another $17.5 million. It has now earned $820 million worldwide. "Les Miserables" took fourth with $16.1 million, bringing its domestic total past the $100 million mark, the fastest for any musical.

As expected, Matt Damon's "Promised Land" continued to struggle as it expanded nationwide. The movie placed tenth with $4.3 million and has a fresh rating of 50%. This is another Damon passion project after "Green Zone" that bombed. "Green Zone" was released in 2010 and only grossed $35 million domestically on a $100 million project.

Click here to read our "Texas Chainsaw 3D" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:07:05 PM

That is assf*ck. Sure, I can understand the Hobbit. That film was a disaster.
But Django Unchained? Are you f*cking kidding me? What is so great about Texas Chainsaw? Are the audiences of today really that f*cking retarded?
boogiel writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:07:21 PM

HOLLYWOOD HORROR SCRIPT 101
-A group of school/college kids go to a strange place for camping
-There is a psycho/monster/genetically modified animal in that place
-A dumb blonde who is ready to strip off anytime and unfortunately gets killed while having sex
-An overconfident boy who gets killed too
-For some stupid reason,they would try to split in groups and get killed one-by-one
-Have a scene where a person goes to wash,bends down to wash and then when he/she looks up,the psycho is behind him
-Everyone except the main characters get killed
-The main characters somehow kill the psycho/monster
-But just after the credits roll,they show a scene to make sure there will be a sequel taken

feel free to add if you want.
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:08:39 PM

Oh, wait. I'm calling the people who are responsible for the Transformers sequels retarded.
I'm being entirely too nice.
cress writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:19:27 PM

I think I'll check out "Alexis Texas DD" instead.
ozzie writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:21:38 PM

I saw this coming, don't know how or why, but I did.
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:21:50 PM

I saw it. It was total f*cking trash.

Good thing I didn't pay to see it.

People are idiots.

That is all.

:D
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:29:13 PM

Mink, where do you get your torrent/Downloads of full films?
I haven't seen Texas Chainsaw, but from what I've heard from Jeremy Jahns and Rotten Tomatoes, it's pretty bad. I want to see it out of curiosity.
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:39:33 PM

@rocksteddy: I didn't download that turd, although I should have. I sneaked into the theater. Like I'm paying for that sh*t. It was either that or Jackson's latest, and I didn't bring my Preparation H for The Hobbit.
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:40:31 PM

"Mink, where do you get your torrent/Downloads of full films?"

The Pirate Bay. There are proxies if your country block access.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:44:38 PM

^ Been wondering if that's where you go Mink.
pornfly writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:46:17 PM

No matter how much money TCM, Friday13,Halloween,Nightmare on Elm Street makes there will always be sequels.
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:51:01 PM

Thanks!
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:51:43 PM

@Badchad: isn't many options left, bro. Megaupload's takedown killed all the file lockers, the feds have been knocking on USENETs door pretty hard, and RLSLOG is getting murdered by the MPAA. Even Demonoid got sh*tcanned.

There's private torrent sites, but I hate ratios.
jdl107 writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:23:38 PM

Boogiel says add if you want, I say, no thanks. I can go watch a sh*tty Scream flick if I want a lesson in steps.
jdl107 writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:31:16 PM

Demonoid got the can? f*ck. Not that I mind, Demonoid kind've bugged me. I remember BitJunkie was my site, I sh*t you not they had some VERY VERY obscure files. But guess what happened.

I was introduced to TPB, but if I had my way I would more than gladly campaign for BitJunkie or it's uploaders to come back.
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:40:31 PM

^^Yep. BTjunkie shutdown on their own. They saw which way the wind was blowing and said goodbye. Can't say I blame them, but as an indexer, like ISOhunt but perhaps better, their departure broke access to a lot of esoteric sh*t.

Man, I still recall the golden age of Suprnova. Those were the days. Fresh feeds, great interface, hard to fine stuff.
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:43:59 PM

I take back what I said. Looks like Demonoid is online, in Hong Kong, but is working sporadically at best, and with limited functionality.
jdl107 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 12:37:55 AM

I really probably shouldn't be writing sh*t like this, but Django is out Mink.

I have no idea what's up with all these DvdScrs, but damn... Careful who trust with that sh*t. Idiots.

Ah who am I to complain, that's $9 I get to keep in my pocket.
minkowski writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 12:49:18 AM

^^I've noticed there's sh*tload of them out in the last few months. And BluRays are hitting faster than the store can get them in some cases.

But you're right, jdl, someone's head is going to roll over those DVDscreeners. lol.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 12:53:34 AM

I've seen all 3 movies lol.. And what's wrong with the hobbit! Your crazy of you think that was done badly..
jdl107 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 12:55:14 AM

So far this year I've noticed that if a movie has (Usually) exactly a month before it's released, a Blu-ray always comes. Even movies who's first home destination is the U.S. they still get leaked, somehow. Don't get it, but I'm not about to complain.

Regarding movies that have just come out though I think it's safe to say you'll find a screener for it. As long as it's a movie who's distributor is running a "FYC" campaign.
jdl107 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 1:00:32 AM

I f*cking hated Looper, and everytime I see that ad for it I feel like venting.
jdl107 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 1:01:48 AM

It doesn't help that whenever I see the ad Peter Travers (One of the few reviewers whom I respect) calls it "groundbreaking".

You what's groundbreaking? That f*cking comment.
jdl107 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 1:02:04 AM

Groundbreakingly dim.
jdl107 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 1:33:48 AM

"I've seen all 3 movies"

Of what? Lord of the Rings?

And yeah, whoever says The Hobbit isn't well made is just not the thinking type. I can see why people wouldn't like it, or the LotR's trilogy, but they are very far from "not" well made.
jdl107 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 1:38:13 AM

Peter Jackson is the Martin Campbell of the fantasy genre. Most of his movies (save for The Frighteners) pretty much blow unless it's adapted from Tolkien.

It was either this morning or yesterday, but James McAvoy commented on how he would like to play "Young Gandalf" in The Silmarillion. Ha. Well that shows how much he knows Tolkien's work. Nil.
SaulSilver writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 2:12:59 AM

I haven't seen it, nor will I likely ever...but in related news, TC3D's Star Alexandra DaDDario is smoking f*cking hot.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 2:23:24 AM

@jdl

I meant The hobbit, Chainsaw and Django.

Lol I watch a LOT of films in the theaters, I watched 63 in 2011 and 58 in 2012 lol..

Btw My reviews of The hobbit and Chainsaw are in my profile. Lol
jdl107 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 2:37:04 AM

Save for ticket inflation where I come from that's about $600 a year.

Admirable...
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 3:37:07 AM

Lol, Yea.. And I barely even work :P
matternm58 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 12:43:38 PM

I think it's awesome that they recap the original Tobe Hopper's and show footage and the last few minutes and this one takes place exactly where that one left off. It was pretty good. Now of course you have your idiots in there that get slaughtered as is tradition with all slasher flicks, but the story was actually pretty good. That the townspeople became the very monsters they were trying to destroy, making you feel sorry for Leatherface and the girl. I liked it.
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 2:12:26 PM

i heard it sucked peep
BlackDynamite writes:
on January 8th, 2013 at 5:07:01 PM

HAHAHA OH sh*t. That title is so clever. It would've taken me a whole 3 seconds to think of that one. Ladies and Gentlemen, we are in the presence of a comedic genius.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved