WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer Coming in December
Oct 25th, 2014
New "Ant-Man" Set Photos are Possible Spoilers
Oct 25th, 2014
Disney's "John Carter" Actually Cost Over $300 Million to Make
Oct 25th, 2014
"Wonder Woman" Searching for Female Director
Oct 24th, 2014
"The Mummy" Reboot to Follow Navy SEAL in Iraq?
Oct 24th, 2014
Noomi Rapace Discusses "Prometheus 2" Storyline
Oct 24th, 2014
Christian Bale Confirmed For Steve Jobs Biopic, To Appear in Every Frame of the Film
Oct 24th, 2014
"Insidious Chapter 3" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"The Hobbit" Trilogy Becomes Most Expensive Production of All Time
Oct 23rd, 2014
Quicksilver to Return For "X-Men: Apocalypse" and Maybe Solo Film
Oct 23rd, 2014
Restricted Trailer For Mark Wahlberg's "The Gambler" Thriller
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Evangeline Lilly as Hope Pym on Marvel's "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 23rd, 2014
New Trailer for "The Woman in Black" Sequel
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Johnny Depp as The Wolf in Disney's "Into the Woods"
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!
Oct 22nd, 2014
"John Carter" Reboot in the Works, Disney Not Involved
Oct 22nd, 2014
James Wan to Direct "The Conjuring 2," May Direct DC Superhero Film
Oct 22nd, 2014
Ghostface Will NOT Appear in "Scream" TV Series
Oct 22nd, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Oct 22nd, 2014
Adam McKay Plans to Make "Step Brothers 2" in a Few Years
Oct 22nd, 2014
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Dying "Star Trek" Fan Passed Away, JJ Abrams Granted His "Star Trek 2" Wish

Posted: January 6th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Dying "Star Trek" Fan Passed Away, JJ Abrams Granted His "Star Trek 2" WishSubmit Comment
About a week ago, we told you about 42-year-old Dan Craft, who treated fought his leukemia with chemo treatments for over three years. But after a long battle, he was then diagnosed with a completely different cancer that was destroying his liver.

Dan was a huge film fan and actually helped run the New York Asian Film Festival. More than anything, he wanted to see the 9-minute preview of "Star Trek Into Darkness" that was being shown in front of "The Hobbit."

Since doctors could no longer help Dan, his wife knew that these could be her husband's last days. She put him in the car and drove him to see "The Hobbit." Unfortunately, that particular theater didn't show the preview. So she posted a message on Reddit, begging anyone to help Dan see the "Star Trek 2" footage.

In just one day after her plea, "Star Trek 2" director JJ Abrams himself called her, telling her that he had conversations with Paramount Pictures, and will set up a private screening for Dan either to see the preview or possibly the entire film, which won't hit theaters until May 17th.

Now comes the sad news that Dan has passed away (on January 4th at 10:35pm), losing his battle to two forms of cancer. But according to his wife, Abrams made the screening happen, delivering a rough-cut DVD of the film. "It was a wonderful thing to see with Daniel and a wonderful thing to see Daniel enjoy," his wife wrote. "Making someone as ill as he is smile for any length of time really makes a difference."

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 66 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
McQueen writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 7:19:00 AM

Well done JJ for keeping your promise to a dying man. Very good man indeed.
boogiel writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 7:21:15 AM

What a heart wrenching story. I guess Hollywood will make a movie based on this story.
Shogo1307 writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 7:21:27 AM

thats f*cking awesome
boofly00 writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 7:21:50 AM

Not only is JJ Abrams brilliant, but he's kind~ That's such a rare combination in the world today.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 8:25:18 AM

Bravo!!
cress writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 8:54:56 AM

My dad died December 26. I wish I could've done something like this for my pops before he passed, because he loved movies, especially westerns. But the cancer in his brain had left him "lacking" with perception and vision. This is a great thing JJ did.
python6 writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 9:03:38 AM

That just goes to show you that there are truly angels on this planet.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 9:14:20 AM

Hats off JJ very kind thing to do
JensdePens writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 9:25:38 AM

Bravo, certainly on such short notice
crimsonfiend420 writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 10:29:08 AM

Well done JJ. I'm impressed the studios allowed that much humanity and decency. Sorry about your dad Cress! Not an easy time of year to lose a family member.
AYT BALL writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:02:40 AM

@ Cress - Sorry to hear that.

I already liked Abrams but got alot more respect for him now, alot of directors seem to forget they got into this industry because they too were just film fans like the rest of us.
Fat Guy in a Little Coat writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:23:18 AM

Reminded me of http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0489049/

Good to see someone in Hollywood still has a heart
Rambo writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:27:03 AM

rip
OneTime writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 11:45:02 AM

thats awesome
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 12:33:56 PM

Thanks for this article goes to that guy who posted this news two days ago on another unrelated thread.

Thank you, masked avenger.


As for the news, I wonder if Paramount knew the guy was as terminal as he was, and I wonder if they would have screened the film if his prognosis was a bit less punctual and immediate. Definitely a win for marketing. f*cking corporations.

But huge props to Abrams for having a heart, and for putting his humanity before his paycheck. You don't see that much anymore.

Now, just do something about the lens flares, buddy, and I might actually pay to see one of your films.

Maybe.


Probably not.
superman writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 1:23:55 PM

JJ Abrams has done well! It is a beautiful thing to offer and to do for a dying man. Beautiful heart warming gesture. Good job Mr Abrams!
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 2:01:55 PM

I want to eulogize poor Dan. I have what I want to say written out and everything. Here it is:


We are assembled here today to pay final respects to our honored dead. And yet it should be noted, in the midst of our sorrow, this death takes place in the shadow of new life, the sunrise of a new world; a world that our beloved comrade gave his life to protect and nourish. He did not feel this sacrifice a vain or empty one, and we will not debate his profound wisdom at these proceedings. Of my friend, I can only say this: of all the souls I have encountered in my travels, his was the most...human.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 2:15:47 PM

JJ Abrams, What a wicked guy! What an amazingly nice thing to do lol
Mr. Blonde writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 2:30:28 PM

continuing on Mink's eulogy...

(cue bagpipes to Amazing Grace)
and camera shot of a younger Kirstie Alley boobs.

sniff.

sad story indeed. Abrams is the man.
McQueen writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 2:32:54 PM

I am sorry to hear that Cress. I hope you're well despite your unspeakable sadness.

You have all my positive thoughts my friend. I really sympathize for you.
ozzie writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 2:40:55 PM

As I said, a f*cking BOSS.
Inevitable Geometry writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 3:28:06 PM

Good on you JJ... aka mr goldust
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 5:31:36 PM

@Rambo: Denzel would have been righteous. Not sure how you feel about the man, but if they were going to go with a black actor, Denzel would have been awesome. Could've given him an eye patch or something to make him look even more menacing.

And I remember Executive Decision, thinking, hey, there's Seagal, he's going to save the day, and then boom, no, it's Kurt Russell, who by that time was pretty well known (Escape from New York, Big Trouble in Little China). Always thought Kurt would have been better than Douglass in Romancing the Stone/Jewel of the Nile. Douglass just looked too damned soft to be a Indiana Jones type.

Anyway. Stealth. sh*tty movie. Slammed the man into a f*cking mountain IIRC, and I was thinking wtf? You're probably right though. His name would attract more people, plus blacks who wouldn't go otherwise. But damned that was a sh*tty way to red shirt the man.
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 5:32:44 PM

Must be that time of the month for Alex...

Yeah, Happy New Year to you too buddy!
Rambo writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 5:35:14 PM

and it didn't work for the producers...the movie bombed...but at least we got a good look at Biel's tight ass:

http://www.celebs09.com/d/2641-2/jessica_biel_stealth_wnfqNaT.jpg
Rambo writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 5:36:12 PM

Alex is being noble - this thread is reserved only for honorable posts about star trek's advertising schtick...I mean that poor man's death
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 5:41:32 PM

@Rambo: that's a very beautiful ass, sir. Always thought Jessica Alba was overrated when Biel was the one with the better body.
Rambo writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 5:43:37 PM

never cared much for alba...and she was so much in a hurry to have babies at young age and destroy her body.
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 5:44:08 PM

@Cress: sucks to lose your father, I know, and your dad was probably a hell of a lot better a human being than mine, so I know it must be worse for you. Sorry bro.
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 5:47:33 PM

@Rambo: I remember when Alba and Jessica Love Hewitt were the thing. On all the magazine covers. And I was thinking, where the hell is Biel? She has a great body. All the curves in the right places, perfect figure, big beautiful smile, pretty face. Where is she? I just didn't get why the mags thought Hewitt and Alba were so damned great. I saw them and I thought, yeah, they're okay, but damned, there's far better women out there.

sh*t man, I see women here all the time that knock Alba out.
Rambo writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 5:52:59 PM

sh*t man, I see women here all the time that knock Alba out.

not only Alba but half of the women the media is trying to brain wash us to adore.why should I masturbate on Alien 3 look alike women when i walk in the street i see those voluptuous 20 something chicks?
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 5:56:57 PM

^^Exactly. You can sit here in any busy place and watch a hundred go buy in tight spandex. All races, color, heights. No fat women, hardly any you'd turn down if you got the chance, so why even think about one media-sponsored woman like Angelina Jolie when I can dream about some tall tanned beach bunny I saw just yesterday instead?
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 5:58:20 PM

by.
Rambo writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 6:03:49 PM

but then again we are forgetting the women who are looking at all these jolie's and alba's skinny asses and buy all the diet crap products,silicone tits and fashion designers sh*tty clothes to make those idiots happy and rich.
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 6:11:13 PM

Good for you, JJ.
Hats off.
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 6:13:16 PM

^^Tell me about it. Down here in SoCal, women don't do much but exactly what you describe. They dog-jog, do all kinds of silly "exercises" like I see them doing at the beach, and shopping for clothes just to keep up with the other ladies. And they're all into that Pilates bullsh*t with those goofy rubber mats and staying as thin as they can, all of which turns me off.

Funny how Christina Hendricks refused to continue an interview after the host asked her about being a "full figured" woman. lol. Looks good to me, Christina, and if you ever get tired of sucking on cigarettes, I have something you can smoke.
Rambo writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 6:21:55 PM

^yes and that would also be a great exercise for her and for all the other diet obsessed ladies...2 hours sex every day instead of pilates and carrot diet
Rambo writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 6:24:47 PM

from the mouth of the most desired woman in recent history:

http://weknowmemes.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/06/to-all-the-girls-that-think-youre-fat.jpg
pornfly writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 6:26:41 PM

MINK
see if you find the spread that Jessical Biel did when she was 17 and still on that Seventh Heaven show.
I dont think the mag is in circulation anymore
It was a big deal when it came out
*just like my weiner*

Where was Tina Turner before my father died to sit and shimmy Rollin On the River on his face?
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 6:31:54 PM

"It's society who's ugly".

Amen and no sh*t, I say.


And yes, Rambo, sex. Lots and lots of sex. less time for eating and bullsh*t exercises, less time to hear them talk.

Win, win, win.
pornfly writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 6:33:25 PM

GEAR!
Gear magazine
I just HAD to Google it and read that it was her biggest mistake
Ifukinluvit
Celebrity hot chics biggest mistakes are my favorite
MUAHAHAHAaaa
cress writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 6:35:34 PM

Thanks crimson, ayt, bullit, mink
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 6:36:14 PM

@pornfly: who do I look like to you? Your bitch?

Anyway, here's Jessica Alba's ass, age 17, from Idle Hands (no kidding).

http://liminalframeworks.tumblr.com/post/1254622176/the-17-year-old-butt-of-jessica-alba-from-idle
pornfly writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 6:36:34 PM

If i had been famous during my biggest mistakes, Id be living in a cave
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 6:37:11 PM

http://www.celebfanforum.com/showthread.php?73863-Jessica-Biel-quot-Gear-quot-Magazine-2000-March-issue

There you go.
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 6:37:54 PM

"If i had been famous during my biggest mistakes, Id be living in a cave"



Funny. Osama bin Laden ended up in a cave for his biggest mistake.
pornfly writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 6:44:09 PM

Thx for playin MINK but i still enjoy that lil piece of footage to this day
I wouldnt even remember that movie if it wasnt for that booty shot
Ive been kinda turned off to her since she squirted out kids
pornfly writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 6:50:23 PM

If you look at the eye candy over the years, youll notice that the acting gets worse as the looks get better.
I think it all started with Suzanne Sommers and Farrah Fawcett
But as long as they have a good head on their shoulders they can milk it longer than their predicted shelf life
Simon Cowell is even bangin Carmen Elektra!
But i believe itll be all down hill for her after that
Theres no upgrade for her after that is over not at her age and if she does it wont be for very long
vellarod writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 6:54:13 PM

Sad story. JJ did a very good thing.
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 6:58:25 PM

"Simon Cowell is even bangin Carmen Elektra!"

Ugh! Does he even have a clue where that p*ssy has been?
Rambo writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 6:59:53 PM

I don't think she has a clue...
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 7:06:20 PM

Jesus. The stolen 1998 car stereo next to her right ovary should be a clue, right?
Rambo writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 7:10:32 PM

either that or the hasselhoff cheeseburger
pornfly writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 7:16:23 PM

LOL!

Back to The Saint mini-marathon
I didnt know Vincent Price played Simon Templar on the radio
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 7:28:22 PM

^^I had to look that one up.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dkGUI4bnQbQ

Disgusting.
Rambo writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 7:31:08 PM

I was quite shocked when i saw it a few years ago...i always remembered him as knight rider...cool and slick...too much baywatch i guess
pornfly writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 7:43:26 PM

Home made cheeseburgers from now on
How do you tell anybody,"i'll have a cheeseburger"after that!?
pornfly writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 8:15:22 PM

Donald Sutherland a killer on The Saint??
KICKASS
Ranger writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 1:23:52 AM

Cancer is a real c*nt.
Ranger writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 1:40:09 AM

RIP.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I4HcVMaAcII
Venom1970 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 2:00:49 AM

Sad but shows the good in people.

Cress sorry mate, it's hard very hard. I lost my father in 2011 and to this day not a day goes by I don't miss him. Hold the happy thoughts close.
Ranger writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 2:07:13 AM

@cress - sorry to read my friend.
holtlt writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 3:20:46 AM

Cress- sorry compadre. We all gotta go at some point. I guess you have good memories of your father though, and that's what matters.

JJ did a good job, that's when some common sense has been applied. Movie companies should be made by those who grew up watching movies and know the whole idea of film-making.
cress writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 3:31:48 AM

@venom, ranger, holt....thanks
Champ1432 writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 6:20:32 PM

Big props to Abrams for being a man of his word and doing this. I'm sure it would have been easy for him to hide behind the studio. Nice job doing what he can to help out a dying man.
Jarmiez writes:
on January 11th, 2013 at 1:09:09 AM

not to rip from centiment or how awesome abrams is but this reminds me of when i saw fanboys and was like wouldnt it be sick if someone really did that and here it is and boogiel f*ck you dude were all respecting a man that died and you gotta crack some sh*t like usual well i guess its no surprise that literally comments on every post this website makes u sad douche. abrams awesome boogiel douche. awesome post loved this story when i first read it and as sad as it is still do

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer

Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved