WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer Coming in December
Oct 25th, 2014
New "Ant-Man" Set Photos are Possible Spoilers
Oct 25th, 2014
Disney's "John Carter" Actually Cost Over $300 Million to Make
Oct 25th, 2014
"Wonder Woman" Searching for Female Director
Oct 24th, 2014
"The Mummy" Reboot to Follow Navy SEAL in Iraq?
Oct 24th, 2014
Noomi Rapace Discusses "Prometheus 2" Storyline
Oct 24th, 2014
Christian Bale Confirmed For Steve Jobs Biopic, To Appear in Every Frame of the Film
Oct 24th, 2014
"Insidious Chapter 3" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"The Hobbit" Trilogy Becomes Most Expensive Production of All Time
Oct 23rd, 2014
Quicksilver to Return For "X-Men: Apocalypse" and Maybe Solo Film
Oct 23rd, 2014
Restricted Trailer For Mark Wahlberg's "The Gambler" Thriller
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Evangeline Lilly as Hope Pym on Marvel's "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 23rd, 2014
New Trailer for "The Woman in Black" Sequel
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Johnny Depp as The Wolf in Disney's "Into the Woods"
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!
Oct 22nd, 2014
"John Carter" Reboot in the Works, Disney Not Involved
Oct 22nd, 2014
James Wan to Direct "The Conjuring 2," May Direct DC Superhero Film
Oct 22nd, 2014
Ghostface Will NOT Appear in "Scream" TV Series
Oct 22nd, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Oct 22nd, 2014
Adam McKay Plans to Make "Step Brothers 2" in a Few Years
Oct 22nd, 2014
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Every Studio Rejected Steven Soderbergh's "Behind the Candelabra" Because It's Too Gay

Posted: January 5th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Every Studio Rejected Steven SoderberghSubmit Comment
The upcoming "Behind the Candelabra" film is a Liberace biopic that has an impressive cast comprised of Michael Douglass and Matt Damon, and is directed by Oscar-winner Steven Soderbergh (Traffic, Ocean's Eleven). It has a budget of only $5 million, but there wasn't even one studio that was interested in taking on the project.

"Nobody would make it. We went to everybody in town. We needed $5 million. Nobody would do it," said Soderbergh. "They said it was too gay. Everybody. This was after 'Brokeback Mountain,' by the way. I was stunned. It made no sense to any of us."

He went on to say that he can't understand how a little film like "The Girlfriend Experience," that had a porn star in the lead role, ended up with a theatrical release, but "Behind the Candelabra" had to settle for a TV release on HBO.

But he's glad that the film ended up on the network. "[HBO is] great and they're really good at what they do, and ultimately I think more people will see it," explained Soderbergh.

"Behind the Candelabra," which Soderbergh claims is his last movie, will premiere this Spring.

Source: The Wrap


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 39 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 7:29:07 AM

Steven Soderberg is an idiot
bandolero999 writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 8:03:53 AM

From cancer to making out with matt damon.hell of a comeback.
sedibus writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 8:07:28 AM

He doesn't have any good flick at all inside his portfolio.

Not Traffic, not Out of Sight, not Ocean's Eleven, not even Contagion, those are the only flicks I've seen directed by him. I never finished watching Che.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 10:11:36 AM

Every Studio Rejected Steven Soderbergh's "Behind the Candelabra" Because It's Too Gay. Why?

1. Wigs.
2. Would you pay money to see two of Hollywood's traditional standup actors go to town on each other?
3. Liberace doesn't hold interests.


Mr. Blonde writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 10:11:36 AM

Every Studio Rejected Steven Soderbergh's "Behind the Candelabra" Because It's Too Gay. Why?

1. Wigs.
2. Would you pay money to see two of Hollywood's traditional standup actors go to town on each other?
3. Liberace doesn't hold interests.


Mr. Blonde writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 10:11:38 AM

Every Studio Rejected Steven Soderbergh's "Behind the Candelabra" Because It's Too Gay. Why?

1. Wigs.
2. Would you pay money to see two of Hollywood's traditional standup actors go to town on each other?
3. Liberace doesn't hold interests.


Mr. Blonde writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 10:11:38 AM

Every Studio Rejected Steven Soderbergh's "Behind the Candelabra" Because It's Too Gay. Why?

1. Wigs.
2. Would you pay money to see two of Hollywood's traditional standup actors go to town on each other?
3. Liberace doesn't hold interests.


Mr. Blonde writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 10:11:38 AM

Every Studio Rejected Steven Soderbergh's "Behind the Candelabra" Because It's Too Gay. Why?

1. Wigs.
2. Would you pay money to see two of Hollywood's traditional standup actors go to town on each other?
3. Liberace doesn't hold interests.


Mr. Blonde writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 10:12:50 AM

Sorry my submit comment button was acting gay...I mean funny.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 12:08:40 PM


i loved SOLITARY MAN

and it wasn't given a cinema release here

but that sh*t 88 MINUTES was ...
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 12:10:21 PM



@ sedibus

his best so far was SEX LIES AND VIDEOTAPE
minkowski writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 12:54:45 PM

lol. Looks like Soderbergh was trying too hard to get ahead of the Hollywood liberal curve, so far even they rejected his latest effort.

I guess being progressive has its limits one of which is "f*cking with the money".
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 12:57:07 PM



the one you've all been waiting for

http://www.movie2k.to/Django-Unchained-watch-movie-2365977.html
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 1:09:46 PM

the ones you've all been waiting for

http://www.movie2k.to/Django-Unchained-watch-movie-2365977.html

http://www.movie2k.to/Hitchc*ck-watch-movie-2367686.html

http://www.movie2k.to/Zero-Dark-Thirty-watch-movie-2366076.html

Danger-Lips writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 2:05:52 PM

Rejected because it's too gay... Now I know why Mink is still unemployed!
minkowski writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 2:44:10 PM

Matt Damon and Michael Douglass relegated to HBO. Not even Showtime. Ha.
McQueen writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 2:58:03 PM

Hey Mink, is it true you're unemployed right now,
McQueen writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 2:58:33 PM

*?*
minkowski writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 2:58:34 PM

I don't understand. He made the film? Who funded it? HBO? Or did he get the funding, make the movie and then fail to find a willing distributor? And if the latter, wouldn't Soderbergh know enough, be smart enough to secure distribution up front? If the former, why the hell would he insist on making a five million dollar film everyone is telling him no one wants to see made, or even see in theaters? A personal thing? Did he boff Liberace or something?

Soderbergh has to be more than a little soft in the head.
vincere01 writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 3:08:30 PM

^^^sir elton john paid for it. On the condition that he be present during all the male on male matt damon/douglas scenes. He had to be told not to wear sequents as to stop distracting the performers
minkowski writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 3:31:19 PM

^lmao

I do hope you're joking though, vincere.
McQueen writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 3:40:16 PM

So I guess you haven't meant any girl on new year's eve then? Not even a female geek?
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 3:43:12 PM



@ McQueen

''a female geek''

that reminds me..
Kristin Wiig was so cute
and sexy in that sci fi comedy PAUL
McQueen writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 3:49:46 PM

Hey Gerard/Bane, if you really want a really cle
McQueen writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 3:51:36 PM

clean copy of your posts, you should have a better use of Google, just saying.
KillerCOck writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 4:06:56 PM

I hope it really is his last movie.
minkowski writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 4:07:31 PM

@Bane: I know you were talking to someone else, but I never thought Wiig was hot or cute or anything. Best I can say was Scully was always my favorite nerd/geek, or maybe that chick from She's All That. Rachel Leigh Cook. Yeah that's her name.
McQueen writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 4:10:36 PM

^ ^ Still wanking behind your High Tech pc aren't you?
minkowski writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 4:25:27 PM

Hey WP, get off your ass. There's fresh news.

James McAvoy wants to play Gandalf in Silmarillion. New High res Star Trek 2 images.
Cohen talks about leaving Django and more.

www.totalfilm.com

It's where you get your news anyway.
McQueen writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 4:38:56 PM

^ Read on your own you bloody spammer!

Brutal Killingspree writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 4:58:19 PM

***who is this mcqueen c*nt talking too and y is he doing it? looks like a troll two me.
minkowski writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 5:03:45 PM

^^Please don't feed the trolls. Thanks.
McQueen writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 5:08:21 PM

Oh, am I now? You hypocritical c*nt!
pornfly writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 5:44:43 PM

BANE
Solitary Man was in theatres for only a minute here in the states. I wasnt a fan of the ending but i can appreciate it.

Falling Down is tops IMO
It had you hopin he would shoot Barbara Hershey and bang Michelle Pfiefers sister DeeDee on her corpse.
Well it had me hoping anyway

BULLIT are you on bathsalts or what?
Thats kinda lowbrow for you aint it?
pornfly writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 5:55:55 PM

That didnt come off right
BULLIT
Just wanna know what youre drinkin
You get your satisfaction, bruddah
Im not on any particular side
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 6:18:39 PM

Laugh out loud.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 12:17:57 AM

http://www.movie2k.to/Django-Unchained-watch-movie-2365977.html

http://blogs.indiewire.com/theplaylist/watch-first-footage-from-only-god-forgives-arrives-in-new-teaser-20130105
Johnnyb writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 12:00:57 PM

Hahaha, what a way to end your career!
GangsterNutZ writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 1:13:53 AM

if mink was studio head, he would have green lit this picture, with his weiner

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer

Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved