WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals
Jul 25th, 2015
Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
Jul 25th, 2015
New Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
Jul 25th, 2015
"Jurassic World" Sequel Gets Release Date, Chris Pratt to Return
Jul 24th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson's "Baywatch" Movie Hires "Horrible Bosses" Director
Jul 24th, 2015
Russell Crowe in Talks to Join "King Kong" Prequel
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2" is Here!
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
Jul 24th, 2015
LeBron James Signs Deal with Warner Bros, "Space Jam 2" Happening?
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "Mississippi Grind" Poker Film
Jul 23rd, 2015
Final Restricted Trailer for "Vacation" Sequel
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Patrick Wilson's "Zipper" Thriller
Jul 23rd, 2015
Full Trailer for "Spectre" James Bond Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for Pixar's "The Good Dinosaur" Animated Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Kung Fu Panda" Director Making "Emoji" Movie
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Pacific Rim 2" to Begin Filming in November
Jul 22nd, 2015
Backstreet Boys and 'NSync Members Unite for "Dead 7" Low-Budget Horror Film
Jul 21st, 2015
Benicio Del Toro May Play Villain in "Star Wars: Episode VIII"
Jul 21st, 2015
Trailer for "Before We Go," Chris Evans' Directorial Debut
Jul 21st, 2015
"The Godfather" Actor Alex Rocco Dead at 79
Jul 21st, 2015
New Trailer for "American Ultra," with Jesse Eisenberg and Kristen Stewart
Jul 21st, 2015
"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening
Jul 20th, 2015
Ava DuVernay Explains Why She Isn't Directing Marvel's "Black Panther"
Jul 20th, 2015
Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?
Jul 19th, 2015
Sam Raimi Comments on Marvel Rebooting "Spider-Man" Franchise
Jul 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Some Kind of Beautiful," with Pierce Brosnan, Jessica Alba and Selma Hayek
Jul 19th, 2015
Trailer for Leonardo DiCaprio's "The Revenant" Thriller is Here!
Jul 18th, 2015
Watch IMAX Trailer for "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 18th, 2015
"X-Men: Apocalypse" Unveils Photos of Apocalypse, Psylocke and Storm
Jul 17th, 2015
"Spider-Man" Reboot Finally Hires Writers
Jul 17th, 2015
Stephen King's "It" Movie Hires a Director
Jul 17th, 2015
Casts of "Batman v Superman" and "Suicide Squad" Unite for Photo Shoot
Jul 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Joy," with Jennifer Lawrence, Bradley Cooper and Robert De Niro
Jul 16th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Every Studio Rejected Steven Soderbergh's "Behind the Candelabra" Because It's Too Gay

Posted: January 5th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Every Studio Rejected Steven SoderberghSubmit Comment
The upcoming "Behind the Candelabra" film is a Liberace biopic that has an impressive cast comprised of Michael Douglass and Matt Damon, and is directed by Oscar-winner Steven Soderbergh (Traffic, Ocean's Eleven). It has a budget of only $5 million, but there wasn't even one studio that was interested in taking on the project.

"Nobody would make it. We went to everybody in town. We needed $5 million. Nobody would do it," said Soderbergh. "They said it was too gay. Everybody. This was after 'Brokeback Mountain,' by the way. I was stunned. It made no sense to any of us."

He went on to say that he can't understand how a little film like "The Girlfriend Experience," that had a porn star in the lead role, ended up with a theatrical release, but "Behind the Candelabra" had to settle for a TV release on HBO.

But he's glad that the film ended up on the network. "[HBO is] great and they're really good at what they do, and ultimately I think more people will see it," explained Soderbergh.

"Behind the Candelabra," which Soderbergh claims is his last movie, will premiere this Spring.

Source: The Wrap


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 39 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 7:29:07 AM

Steven Soderberg is an idiot
bandolero999 writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 8:03:53 AM

From cancer to making out with matt damon.hell of a comeback.
sedibus writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 8:07:28 AM

He doesn't have any good flick at all inside his portfolio.

Not Traffic, not Out of Sight, not Ocean's Eleven, not even Contagion, those are the only flicks I've seen directed by him. I never finished watching Che.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 10:11:36 AM

Every Studio Rejected Steven Soderbergh's "Behind the Candelabra" Because It's Too Gay. Why?

1. Wigs.
2. Would you pay money to see two of Hollywood's traditional standup actors go to town on each other?
3. Liberace doesn't hold interests.


Mr. Blonde writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 10:11:36 AM

Every Studio Rejected Steven Soderbergh's "Behind the Candelabra" Because It's Too Gay. Why?

1. Wigs.
2. Would you pay money to see two of Hollywood's traditional standup actors go to town on each other?
3. Liberace doesn't hold interests.


Mr. Blonde writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 10:11:38 AM

Every Studio Rejected Steven Soderbergh's "Behind the Candelabra" Because It's Too Gay. Why?

1. Wigs.
2. Would you pay money to see two of Hollywood's traditional standup actors go to town on each other?
3. Liberace doesn't hold interests.


Mr. Blonde writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 10:11:38 AM

Every Studio Rejected Steven Soderbergh's "Behind the Candelabra" Because It's Too Gay. Why?

1. Wigs.
2. Would you pay money to see two of Hollywood's traditional standup actors go to town on each other?
3. Liberace doesn't hold interests.


Mr. Blonde writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 10:11:38 AM

Every Studio Rejected Steven Soderbergh's "Behind the Candelabra" Because It's Too Gay. Why?

1. Wigs.
2. Would you pay money to see two of Hollywood's traditional standup actors go to town on each other?
3. Liberace doesn't hold interests.


Mr. Blonde writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 10:12:50 AM

Sorry my submit comment button was acting gay...I mean funny.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 12:08:40 PM


i loved SOLITARY MAN

and it wasn't given a cinema release here

but that sh*t 88 MINUTES was ...
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 12:10:21 PM



@ sedibus

his best so far was SEX LIES AND VIDEOTAPE
minkowski writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 12:54:45 PM

lol. Looks like Soderbergh was trying too hard to get ahead of the Hollywood liberal curve, so far even they rejected his latest effort.

I guess being progressive has its limits one of which is "f*cking with the money".
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 12:57:07 PM



the one you've all been waiting for

http://www.movie2k.to/Django-Unchained-watch-movie-2365977.html
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 1:09:46 PM

the ones you've all been waiting for

http://www.movie2k.to/Django-Unchained-watch-movie-2365977.html

http://www.movie2k.to/Hitchc*ck-watch-movie-2367686.html

http://www.movie2k.to/Zero-Dark-Thirty-watch-movie-2366076.html

Danger-Lips writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 2:05:52 PM

Rejected because it's too gay... Now I know why Mink is still unemployed!
minkowski writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 2:44:10 PM

Matt Damon and Michael Douglass relegated to HBO. Not even Showtime. Ha.
McQueen writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 2:58:03 PM

Hey Mink, is it true you're unemployed right now,
McQueen writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 2:58:33 PM

*?*
minkowski writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 2:58:34 PM

I don't understand. He made the film? Who funded it? HBO? Or did he get the funding, make the movie and then fail to find a willing distributor? And if the latter, wouldn't Soderbergh know enough, be smart enough to secure distribution up front? If the former, why the hell would he insist on making a five million dollar film everyone is telling him no one wants to see made, or even see in theaters? A personal thing? Did he boff Liberace or something?

Soderbergh has to be more than a little soft in the head.
vincere01 writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 3:08:30 PM

^^^sir elton john paid for it. On the condition that he be present during all the male on male matt damon/douglas scenes. He had to be told not to wear sequents as to stop distracting the performers
minkowski writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 3:31:19 PM

^lmao

I do hope you're joking though, vincere.
McQueen writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 3:40:16 PM

So I guess you haven't meant any girl on new year's eve then? Not even a female geek?
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 3:43:12 PM



@ McQueen

''a female geek''

that reminds me..
Kristin Wiig was so cute
and sexy in that sci fi comedy PAUL
McQueen writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 3:49:46 PM

Hey Gerard/Bane, if you really want a really cle
McQueen writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 3:51:36 PM

clean copy of your posts, you should have a better use of Google, just saying.
KillerCOck writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 4:06:56 PM

I hope it really is his last movie.
minkowski writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 4:07:31 PM

@Bane: I know you were talking to someone else, but I never thought Wiig was hot or cute or anything. Best I can say was Scully was always my favorite nerd/geek, or maybe that chick from She's All That. Rachel Leigh Cook. Yeah that's her name.
McQueen writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 4:10:36 PM

^ ^ Still wanking behind your High Tech pc aren't you?
minkowski writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 4:25:27 PM

Hey WP, get off your ass. There's fresh news.

James McAvoy wants to play Gandalf in Silmarillion. New High res Star Trek 2 images.
Cohen talks about leaving Django and more.

www.totalfilm.com

It's where you get your news anyway.
McQueen writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 4:38:56 PM

^ Read on your own you bloody spammer!

Brutal Killingspree writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 4:58:19 PM

***who is this mcqueen c*nt talking too and y is he doing it? looks like a troll two me.
minkowski writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 5:03:45 PM

^^Please don't feed the trolls. Thanks.
McQueen writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 5:08:21 PM

Oh, am I now? You hypocritical c*nt!
pornfly writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 5:44:43 PM

BANE
Solitary Man was in theatres for only a minute here in the states. I wasnt a fan of the ending but i can appreciate it.

Falling Down is tops IMO
It had you hopin he would shoot Barbara Hershey and bang Michelle Pfiefers sister DeeDee on her corpse.
Well it had me hoping anyway

BULLIT are you on bathsalts or what?
Thats kinda lowbrow for you aint it?
pornfly writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 5:55:55 PM

That didnt come off right
BULLIT
Just wanna know what youre drinkin
You get your satisfaction, bruddah
Im not on any particular side
Rocksteddy writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 6:18:39 PM

Laugh out loud.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 12:17:57 AM

http://www.movie2k.to/Django-Unchained-watch-movie-2365977.html

http://blogs.indiewire.com/theplaylist/watch-first-footage-from-only-god-forgives-arrives-in-new-teaser-20130105
Johnnyb writes:
on January 6th, 2013 at 12:00:57 PM

Hahaha, what a way to end your career!
GangsterNutZ writes:
on January 7th, 2013 at 1:13:53 AM

if mink was studio head, he would have green lit this picture, with his weiner

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

It's Official: "Jurassic World" Beats "The Avengers" for Biggest Box Office Opening

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

Marvel and Sony Can't Agree on Which Actor Should Play Spider-Man

"Jurassic World" is a Massive Hit, Chris Pratt to Return for Sequel

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

"Spider-Man" Reboot Announces Actor and Director
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved