WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Furious 7" Continues to Dominate at Box Office, "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Released Overseas
Apr 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Descendants," About Children of Disney Villains
Apr 27th, 2015
Reed Richards Doesn't Stretch in "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Apr 26th, 2015
New Footage in Extended "Terminator Genisys" TV Spot
Apr 26th, 2015
"Green Lantern" Writer Hired for "Wolverine 3"
Apr 26th, 2015
First Look at Jared Leto as The Joker from "Suicide Squad"!
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for M. Night Shyamalan's "The Visit" Thriller
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for "Area 51" Horror Film, From Director of "Paranormal Activity"
Apr 25th, 2015
First Look at Jamie Dornan in "Fifty Shades of Grey" Sequel
Apr 25th, 2015
Creepy Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass"
Apr 25th, 2015
First Look at Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy in "Victor Frankenstein"
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for "Barely Lethal" Action Comedy, with Hailee Steinfeld and Jessica Alba
Apr 25th, 2015
Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot
Apr 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Point Break" Remake
Apr 23rd, 2015
EL James' Husband to Write "Fifty Shades of Grey" Sequel
Apr 23rd, 2015
"21 Jump Street" Directors to Helm Animated "Spider-Man" Movie
Apr 23rd, 2015
Photo: Johnny Depp is Crime Boss Whitey Bulger in "Black Mass"
Apr 23rd, 2015
First Look at Johnny Depp in "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"
Apr 22nd, 2015
New Trailer for George Clooney's "Tomorrowland" Sci-Fi Film
Apr 22nd, 2015
First Poster for M. Night Shyamalan's "The Visit" Thriller
Apr 22nd, 2015
Poster for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Southpaw" Boxing Film
Apr 22nd, 2015
New "Jurassic World" Trailer is Here!
Apr 21st, 2015
First Look at Jared Leto as The Joker From "Suicide Squad"?
Apr 21st, 2015
Photos: Marvel Putting Up Tiny "Ant-Man" Billboards
Apr 21st, 2015
"Transformers 5" Coming in 2017
Apr 21st, 2015
Photo: Full Batman Costume From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed
Apr 21st, 2015
Full "Fantastic Four" Trailer is Here!
Apr 20th, 2015
Teaser for "Star Wars" Spin-Off Film Leaked Online!
Apr 20th, 2015
Two "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Teaser Posters
Apr 20th, 2015
"Furious 7" Crosses $1 Billion at Box Office
Apr 20th, 2015
Trailer for Ridiculous "Mega Shark vs Kolossus"
Apr 20th, 2015
Chris Pratt and His Raptors in New "Jurassic World" Poster
Apr 20th, 2015
George Lucas Says Marvel May Remake "Howard the Duck"
Apr 19th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Avengers" Voted Most Overrated Film of 2012

Posted: January 3rd, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Avengers" Voted Most Overrated Film of 2012Submit Comment
LA Times put together a poll asking its readers to vote for the most overrated film of 2012. Surprisingly, "The Avengers" took first place with over 85% of the votes.

The comic book film was the highest-grossing film of the year with $1.5 billion in worldwide gross, and still has a very impressive 92% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes. So obviously fans and critics loved the movie.

"Prometheus" ended up taking second place in the poll, but with only 4.62% of the votes. The "Alien" prequel was constantly described as "overrated" after its release, so it's a bit of a shock that so few people still feel that way.

Since "The Avengers" dominated the poll, you would think that "The Dark Knight Rises" would also get a few votes. But it didn't. And neither did "The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn - Part 2," despite the fact that the "Breaking Dawn - Part 1" was the winner in the 2011 poll. "Inception" earned the title in 2010.

1. The Avengers - 85.39%

2. Prometheus - 4.62%

3. Ted - 3.03%

4. Cloud Atlas - 2.38%

5. Project X - 1.78%

6. The Master - 1.78%

7. Brave - 1.02%

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 53 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on January 2nd, 2013 at 9:05:32 PM

That's okay. The LA Times is the most over-rated newspaper in the country. Besides, people always say the most popular anything of the moment is the "most ever-rated". Predictable as f*ck.

What, were you expecting TDKR?
minkowski writes:
on January 2nd, 2013 at 9:05:53 PM

over.
dioncassio01 writes:
on January 2nd, 2013 at 9:20:45 PM

Sorry but where is the sh*t TDKR
minkowski writes:
on January 2nd, 2013 at 9:24:33 PM

And The Dark Knight is the most over-rated movie if all time. has to be. Goddamned thing has a 9.0 on IMDB, only slightly less than The Shawshank Redemption which is notonly a truly perfect and awesome film, it's one that will be remembered and watched a century from now, whereas The Dark Knight won't.

Django Unchained should top this list instead.
boogiel writes:
on January 2nd, 2013 at 9:31:19 PM

"Django Unchained should top this list instead."

@mink

I couldn't agree more.
Danger-Lips writes:
on January 2nd, 2013 at 9:31:25 PM

I loved the Avengers, but I do agree it was a little over rated... Probably because I saw it late after too much hype. Don't really see how Django can be considered over rated; I really liked Django but it has recieved mixed reviews critically. It's Definately in my top 3 Tarrantino films behind Pulp Fiction and Reservoir Dogs.
Danger-Lips writes:
on January 2nd, 2013 at 9:34:00 PM

Alex still taking shots at TDKR lol
vincere01 writes:
on January 2nd, 2013 at 9:40:34 PM

Totally agree. All things marvel from iron man 2 onward has blown hard. Fumbled badly on IM2 and now seem to just be coasting by, milking it something fierce. Marvel will go down as the bigger milker, bigger than lucas. Wait and see people
bandolero999 writes:
on January 2nd, 2013 at 9:57:01 PM

I still prefer Avengers over Dark Knight rises.
Tom Hardy was the only one that did a good job in that.If he would of bulked up like 20 more pounds of muscle,he would of been menacing.
jdl107 writes:
on January 2nd, 2013 at 10:03:07 PM

"I really liked Django but it has recieved mixed reviews critically."

89% fresh rating on RT. General Consensus is: "Another 'incendiary' masterpiece from Quentin Tarantino".

Now that's not my consensus... That's just me saying you're wrong.
jdl107 writes:
on January 2nd, 2013 at 10:04:03 PM

But I don't mean any offense with my comment. So please don't be.
bandolero999 writes:
on January 2nd, 2013 at 10:05:51 PM

for DJANGO as soon as the German dude died.IT JUST SUCKED FOR ME.but the shoot out scene was dope though.

though spelled correctly not DOH like some f*cking retards in this site who are stupider than Americans.
Danger-Lips writes:
on January 2nd, 2013 at 10:06:10 PM

Well is that a general consensus or one person's quote?
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 2nd, 2013 at 10:10:56 PM

Where is TDKR? The more I watch the more I hate that movie?
Danger-Lips writes:
on January 2nd, 2013 at 10:24:09 PM

@jdl sorry I meant to say it received mixed reviews amongst the black community
LearJet writes:
on January 2nd, 2013 at 10:32:07 PM

Who the heck did they poll?
Panda writes:
on January 2nd, 2013 at 10:37:46 PM

"Goddamned thing has a 9.0 on IMDB, only slightly less than The Shawshank Redemption which is notonly a truly perfect and awesome film, it's one that will be remembered and watched a century from now, whereas The Dark Knight won't."

I think this is actually my first time commenting on here but I've followed WP for quite some time. Had to repost minks quote because I was just telling my wife the same thing the other night, except I was speaking more about Shawshank in general, not comparing it to any particular movie. Most intelligent comment i've read on this site.

Danger-Lips writes:
on January 2nd, 2013 at 10:42:11 PM

I prefer family guy's rendition
Danger-Lips writes:
on January 2nd, 2013 at 10:43:03 PM

Only kidding, but the silent fart scene always cracks me up!
jdl107 writes:
on January 2nd, 2013 at 10:44:40 PM

A general consensus of over 200 critics. Half, maybe more, are considered "Top Critics".

That doesn't mean anything to me, but on a general basis that does mean it has received more than it's share of favourable reviews.

Loved the movie, btw. For some reason though it didn't feel like a Tarantino movie to me. Perhaps requires further viewing.
Danger-Lips writes:
on January 2nd, 2013 at 10:53:30 PM

Fair enough, the point I was trying to make was that I didn't feel it was overrated.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 2nd, 2013 at 10:57:41 PM

Who would ever call Inception overrated?...

Also, I can't believe this got that many votes.
Dark8 writes:
on January 2nd, 2013 at 11:35:57 PM

@dangerfag
Danger-Lips writes:
on January 2nd, 2013 at 11:46:55 PM

That's Mr. Dangerfag to you!
minkowski writes:
on January 2nd, 2013 at 11:53:07 PM

@Panda: thanks bro. Shawshank is one of my favorite films of all time, not that I have 'favorites', it's just a perfect, perfect film that deserves all the praise it can get. I love it, especially the part where they tar the roof.


As for Django Unchained, haven't seen it, and I'm sure it's a good film. QT hasn't made a bad one yet, although it's hard to say that because he's recycled the same stuff pretty liberally, but to hear it from the critics, Django is the epitome of cinematic excellence, and I didn't even think that highly of Pulp Fiction, arguably QT's most acclaimed film.

Whatever.
Ranger writes:
on January 2nd, 2013 at 11:56:10 PM

I go into movies with no expectations (plus a bottle of KY massage oil for those slow moments) - thus avoiding disappointments.
Ranger writes:
on January 2nd, 2013 at 11:58:35 PM

I was just mentioning 'Shawshank' to a lady friend not 2 hours ago (and I meant the movie, not some pervie move I use on first dates, I've already nailed her in the bum, so I left that move in my arsenal for the next one).
agentofcha0s writes:
on January 2nd, 2013 at 11:59:52 PM

@Mink i agree. i watched pulp fiction last night and kept thinking what a boring pointless pile of sh*t.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on January 3rd, 2013 at 12:03:15 AM

"Overrated" is the most overrated phrase of all time. Also, it literally means nothing since all forms of cinema, music, art, and literature are gauged subjectively based on opinion. And nobody's opinion is greater than anybody else's.

Except maybe minkowski's.
minkowski writes:
on January 3rd, 2013 at 12:08:13 AM

@Agentofchaos: I badmouth QT mostly because of the show people put on about his movies, but he's not a bad filmmaker. Not even close. But you're right, I thought Pulp Fiction was...weird. Hard to say. It tried so hard to be memorable, with the Travolta and Thurman scenes and Sam running his yap, but I can recall two scenes: one, the gay rape moment, and two the scene where Travolta dies, probably because thematically, they're both tightly related.

In fact, of all of QT's works, two moments stand out for me. One, in Jackie Brown where DeNiro bangs Fonda on roller skates, and two, the moment in Kill Bill with the song 'Battle Without Honor or Humanity' playing and her slashing people. Something like that. That's it.

And maybe the p*ssy Wagon.
minkowski writes:
on January 3rd, 2013 at 12:12:33 AM

@Ranger: the day they make popcorn flavored lube, you'll be the perfect pervert.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 3rd, 2013 at 12:16:54 AM

^ You sure they haven't already Mink?
agentofcha0s writes:
on January 3rd, 2013 at 12:22:17 AM

@mink i agree i don't think hes bad but him as a whole, hes just too overrated. Reservoir dogs i like, but also over rated. pulp fiction too overrated. Jackie Brown is good and under rated. kill bill vol 1 was awesome and vol 2 wasn't as good imo. never seen death proof but i heard it sucked! lol i loved inglorious basterds and am yet
agentofcha0s writes:
on January 3rd, 2013 at 12:24:55 AM

To watch django. maybe i went out of subject but.. i just think pulp fiction isnt his best work. xD
Danger-Lips writes:
on January 3rd, 2013 at 12:29:23 AM

^ how many other film makers out there have made as many movies as you've listed that people have seen? I don't think he's overrated
minkowski writes:
on January 3rd, 2013 at 12:33:03 AM

@badchad: it'll be perfect when it no longer gives a Ranger a painful burning sensation when he pisses.

hahahaha...ugh.


@agentofchaos: I saw Deathproof. Not a bad film, but there's this moment when one car drives on top of the other, and it's all drawn out and QT even made a point of getting a pretty close shot on this chick's head as Russell's car wheels rev violently against her skull, and I was thinking, why? Why? It adds nothing to the story at all. Yes, most of the girls die, and yes this is the setup for the revenge we all know is coming, and I'm not all that squeamish, but there was no point but to show the audience QT can shock the hell out of you Roger Corman style. Kurt was good otherwise but the female lead was weak and the film, overall, wasn't very memorable at all, which is one of his weaknesses, imo.

I haven't seen Inglorious Basterds yet, so no comment.

And the scene where DeNiro wastes Fonda in the mall parking lot in Jackie Brown stuck with me. Very brutal and unexpected and DeNiro nailed that role like he nailed Fonda.
minkowski writes:
on January 3rd, 2013 at 12:35:41 AM

"how many other film makers out there have made as many movies as you've listed that people have seen? I don't think he's overrated"


QT gets more acclaim than James Cameron, and almost as much as Chris Nolan, and I think both of them, Jimmy and Chrissy, have worked a hell of a lot harder and done a hell of a lot more work in various genres than QT.

To me, that makes Quentin just a tad over-rated.
minkowski writes:
on January 3rd, 2013 at 12:37:49 AM

QT does have some solid camerawork, but none of it is as inventive as say, what the Wachoffski Things did in The Matrix and Nolan did in Inception.

Maybe QT should, I don't know, expand his mind outside early seventies Grindhouse exploitation/revenge films, or is that all he can do?
agentofcha0s writes:
on January 3rd, 2013 at 12:51:46 AM

@mink. so you suggest i watch it? and yeah bro watch inglorious. And yeah i liked deniro. it was different to his other roles. i just didnt like how he was sams bitch? Strange.. quentins movies all somehow are based on revenge. o.o and funny.. i was guna say chris nolan but i knew that then I'd be called a fanboy.
CelluloidMan writes:
on January 3rd, 2013 at 1:03:02 AM

THE AVENGERS overrated? I don't know about that...needs some perspective, since it is a niche movie. If you're not really a comic fan per se, you would say it was overrated, but the 1.5 billions doesn't lie.

I'd say it would be overrated if in about 5 years, it'd be in the $5 bin in Wal-mart. People got sick of it, realized it wasn't that popular or good for repeated viewing for which I doubt it'll happen. TWILIGHT comes to mind, though...

Same goes the other way around...underrated movies could be labeled as cult classics or "sleeper hits" in a way. Flick didn't stick, but with time, more people liked it that it gets fans...THE BIG LEBOWSKI comes to mind.

Only way, IMHO, to find out is with time...so who knows. The paying public will be the ones with the last word in years to come.
thelazybum writes:
on January 3rd, 2013 at 1:48:10 AM

85% for The Avengers, now thats way too over overrated.TDKR should share the number.

@mink "it's one that will be remembered and watched a century from now, whereas The Dark Knight won't"

Not complaining about Shawshank redemption which is obviously one to watch if you claim yourself to be a movie freak.but I don't see people forgetting about TDK either.Century from now, people would still reminisce Joker of TDK.

Rambo writes:
on January 3rd, 2013 at 2:40:29 AM

overrated?

what a joke...it was the best film of 2012,that is if you are a mentally retarded.
Damon242 writes:
on January 3rd, 2013 at 4:09:56 AM

Why is this surprising? Take the gimmick of all of these characters being together in one film and you have a general plot with many narrative shortcuts.

It's popcorn, for the very fact that it's entertaining without being anything else.

TDKR definitely belongs on that list, for being popcorn trying to act like something greater.
Damon242 writes:
on January 3rd, 2013 at 4:12:12 AM

**generic
Džeko writes:
on January 3rd, 2013 at 4:21:41 AM

Personally I wouldn't call it the most overrated but it certainly deserves to be on that list and yes,TDKR should be there to as well as Cabin in the Woods.
30YoVirgin writes:
on January 3rd, 2013 at 5:44:58 AM

YES!! FOR SATAN'S SAKE SOMEONE FINALLY SAID IT
afterkwiss writes:
on January 3rd, 2013 at 7:41:32 AM

I totally agree ...
BlackDynamite writes:
on January 3rd, 2013 at 11:46:42 AM

I like Django Unchained, but its getting a lot more buzz than it should be.
BlackDynamite writes:
on January 3rd, 2013 at 11:56:27 AM

"Not a bad film, but there's this moment when one car drives on top of the other, and it's all drawn out and QT even made a point of getting a pretty close shot on this chick's head as Russell's car wheels rev violently against her skull, and I was thinking, why? Why?"

He does something similar multiple times in Django, with a slave and a few hungry dogs, Mink.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 3rd, 2013 at 1:59:09 PM



there was so much talk about TDKR

i saw it twice in the cinema
and i don't wanna watch it again
Argo writes:
on January 4th, 2013 at 12:14:55 AM

Was expecting TDKR to be on the lost. Usually those with lower IQ will put on a list like this a movie that they can't understand.
Johnnyb writes:
on January 4th, 2013 at 4:25:40 PM

The Avengers make it to the list but not TDKR, f*ck it! I always wonder in which world we are living it?
Evil_Disco writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 5:24:20 AM

The Avengers? The most overrated movie of 2012?


..duh..

New Spider-Man is 15-Year-Old Peter Parker, No Origin Story

Disney Making Live-Action "Winnie the Pooh" Film

Arnold Schwarzenegger Happy He Didn't Star in "Terminator Salvation"

"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon

"Spectre" Opening Sequence is Biggest in History

"Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2" Title Revealed

"Home" and "Get Hard" Perform Well at Box Office

Jennifer Lawrence Says "X-Men: Apocalypse" is Her Last "X-Men" Film

Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Footage Coming Tomorrow
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved