WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Christoph Waltz and Margo Robbie in "Tarzan," From "Harry Potter" Director
Aug 30th, 2014
New Photos of Henry Cavill as Clark Kent on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set
Aug 30th, 2014
First Look: Stan Lee in Kevin Smith's "Yoga Hosers"
Aug 30th, 2014
First Clip From Pixar's "Lava" Short Film
Aug 30th, 2014
Wesley Snipes to Return For "Blade 4"?
Aug 30th, 2014
Liam Neeson Wants to Return as Ra's al Ghul For "Arrow" TV Series
Aug 30th, 2014
What Happens to Jimmy Olsen in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Aug 29th, 2014
Harrison Ford is Feeling Better, "Star Wars: Episode VII" Resumes Filming
Aug 29th, 2014
Ben Kingsley Wants to Return as The Mandarin in "Iron Man 4"
Aug 29th, 2014
Hilary Swank Battles ALS in "You're Not You" Trailer
Aug 29th, 2014
Trailer for "The Rewrite" Comedy, with Hugh Grant and Marisa Tomei
Aug 29th, 2014
Trailer for "The Scribbler" Comic Book Film
Aug 29th, 2014
Jeremy Renner Answers If Hawkeye Will Die in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Aug 29th, 2014
Trailer for "The Daily Show" host Jon Stewart's "Rosewater" Film
Aug 29th, 2014
New Trailer for Jeff Bridges' "Seventh Son" Fantasy Film
Aug 29th, 2014
"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America
Aug 28th, 2014
First Photos of Doctor Doom From "Fantastic Four" Leaked Online?
Aug 28th, 2014
"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died
Aug 28th, 2014
"Underworld" Franchise is Being Rebooted
Aug 28th, 2014
"Pacific Rim" Star Charlie Hunnam May Star in "King Arthur"
Aug 28th, 2014
Three New Photos From "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Aug 28th, 2014
"Cops" Cameraman Killed While Filming TV Show
Aug 28th, 2014
"Looney Tunes" Movie Gets Steve Carell and "X-Men: First Class" Writers
Aug 27th, 2014
Warner Bros Has a "No Jokes" Policy For Its Superhero Films?
Aug 27th, 2014
Henry Cavill Does the Ice Bucket Challenge in His Superman Costume
Aug 27th, 2014
"Da Vinci Code 3" to Begin Filming in April, Tom Hanks Set to Return
Aug 27th, 2014
New "Jurassic World" Set Photo Honors Richard Attenborough
Aug 27th, 2014
First Look at Lucy Lawless in Marvel's "Agents of SHIELD" TV Series
Aug 27th, 2014
Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Unveils IMAX TV Spot
Aug 27th, 2014
Trailer for "The Pyramid" Thriller, From Alexandre Aja
Aug 27th, 2014
"Full House" Sequel Coming to TV, With Original Cast
Aug 26th, 2014
Ben Affleck's "Gone Girl" Thriller Unveils Emmy Awards TV Spot
Aug 26th, 2014
Jeremy Renner Says Hawkeye May Appear in "Captain America 3"
Aug 26th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Hobbit" Beats "Django Unchained" at Box Office, James Bond Crosses $1 Billion Mark

Posted: December 31st, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Hobbit" Beats "Django Unchained" at Box Office, James Bond Crosses $1 Billion MarkSubmit Comment
"The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey" remained in first place at the domestic box office in its third weekend by grossing an additional $33 million. The film has now earned around $690 million globally.

Quentin Tarantino's "Django Unchained" landed in second place with $30.7 million for a six-day total of $64 million. The movie has a 89% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes and cost roughly $100 million to make, which means that it will easily become profitable. And since it will likely be nominated for an Oscar, it has a chance of surpassing "Inglourious Basterds" ($321 million) as the highest-grossing Tarantino film.

"Les Miserables" took third place with $28 million for a new global total of $116 million. The musical has a 72% fresh rating and cost only $61 million. It too will likely be recognized during the Oscars.

The other wide release of the weekend, the Christmas comedy "Parental Guidance," ended up in fourth place with $14.8 million. The new movie grossed $29.6 million during the last six days and cost only $25 million to make. It has a 17% fresh rating.

And even though "Skyfall" landed in 11th place, it has now crossed the $1 billion mark globally, becoming the only James Bond movie to do so.

Meanwhile, Matt Damon's controversial "Promised Land" film opening in 25 theaters, earning only $190,150, which is a disappointing per-theater average of $7,606. The movie will expand to 1,500 locations on January 4th.

Click here to read our "Django Unchained" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
The Boosh writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 3:18:04 AM

n*gger please!
xtlhogciao writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 6:20:58 AM

How is "Promised Land" controversial? Or is the author just throwing the word out there because he hates anything mildly hippyish?
GreenLensman writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 6:22:24 AM

you can take a wee lad to see the hobbit, and you might even take the n*gger out of'em simultaneously
pornfly writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 6:30:31 AM

Imma weeded lad
McQueen writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 7:46:51 AM

"Skyfall" landed in 11th place, it has now crossed the $1 billion mark.."

Wow! I'd never imagined a Bond film would make so much money. Well deserved anyways.


off topic: I saw "Killing Them Softly" and it's crap. Totally pointless story. Brad Pitt's acting is very good but the whole film wasn't worth it to be put on film.

*SPOILER*:

Everybody gets whacked for a miserable heist! Pathetic.
trailertrash writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 9:22:28 AM

Bullit

Damn i was looking forward to that movie, Looked ok to me from the trailers.

On Bond that is great news and amazing figures.

Back in the day if you do the old adjusted ticket price for inflation, Thunderball took just under $600 million at the US boxoffice alone.

Pretty sure it's worldwide figure would be close to that Billion dollar mark to.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 9:45:43 AM

Watcher Django last night, Great film!
Fightclub1 writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 11:35:33 AM

Yeah Django Unchained is awesome
minkowski writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 2:01:54 PM

Cool. MGM can finally write off those ten previous failures, like Red Dawn.



"How is "Promised Land" controversial? Or is the author just throwing the word out there because he hates anything mildly hippyish?"

What?? Promised Land revolves around Matt Damon-style left-wing fearmongering over fracking.
triggax writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 3:47:32 PM

TT,

Don't take Bullits words too seriously.

Killing them Softly was excellent. The performances from everyone involved were absolutely top drawer.

Sprinkle a bit of amazing cinematography and brilliant camera work with a spot of ultra violence and you have Killing them Softly. Bullit is right about the thin plot, but if you understand that the film never really had any kind of purpose other than to show you the brutality and realism of contract killing then the movie is near perfect and the thin plot makes no difference, who needs a plot. I liked it because it never really wanted to be anything other than exactly what it was. It wasn't overly preachy and I learned absolutely nothing. The ending was pretty sick too.

Just check it out and stay excited for it. I gaurantee you, Bullit watched the film in it's entirety. If you find a film that is easy enough to watch from beginning to end, its never a total disappointment.

f*ck the Hobbit btw. What a waste of time that was. The 48fps was fine, I've been watching 48fps for some time now, makes no difference to me, I don't like midgets, they make me feel uncomfortable. I also don't understand the need to stretch every single f*cking though that was into the book into 30 minutes of bullsh*t that does nothing to advance the story. But whatever, its making millions and I am not.
triggax writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 3:50:07 PM

""stretch every single f*cking though that was into the book into 30 minutes of bullsh*t""


Lets try that again,

Stretch every single f*cking THOUGHT that was IN the book, into 30 minutes of bullsh*t.

Lovely.
minkowski writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 4:46:26 PM

Will someone PLEASE kill those crickets!?
triggax writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 5:42:32 PM

............
jdl107 writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 6:07:07 PM

I've only seen Martin Freeman in about 2 to 3 other movies, but for some reason I respect him more than most other actors. Dunno why.

OT: Just finished the "Sherlock" series last night, and while the ending was a bit dark it was a f*cking amazing show. Wish they would put those two on film instead of giving us an americanized brit and an american playing a brit.
jdl107 writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 6:13:02 PM

Forgot my capitals, sorry, grammar Nazi's.
jdl107 writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 6:13:03 PM

Forgot my capitals, sorry, grammar Nazi's.
minkowski writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 6:43:36 PM

I'd like to see Showtime take on Sherlock the way they took on Dexter.
jdl107 writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 7:34:44 PM

That would be very interesting to see, good suggestion. Perhaps then they could finally elaborate on his seven percent solution problem.

"Sin City 2" Bombs at Box Office, "Guardians of the Galaxy" Smashing Records

"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died

Ronda Rousey Says She Should Have Been Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Bruce Wayne's Age in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed

"Sin City 2" is a Box Office Disaster

New "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Story Details Revealed

Bruce Wayne Enjoys MMA Fights in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Robin Williams' Cause of Death Revealed

Joss Whedon Discusses Iron Man's Hulkbuster Suit in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

"The Expendables 3" Bombs at the Box Office, "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Still On Top
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved