WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals
Jul 25th, 2015
Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
Jul 25th, 2015
New Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
Jul 25th, 2015
"Jurassic World" Sequel Gets Release Date, Chris Pratt to Return
Jul 24th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson's "Baywatch" Movie Hires "Horrible Bosses" Director
Jul 24th, 2015
Russell Crowe in Talks to Join "King Kong" Prequel
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2" is Here!
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
Jul 24th, 2015
LeBron James Signs Deal with Warner Bros, "Space Jam 2" Happening?
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "Mississippi Grind" Poker Film
Jul 23rd, 2015
Final Restricted Trailer for "Vacation" Sequel
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Patrick Wilson's "Zipper" Thriller
Jul 23rd, 2015
Full Trailer for "Spectre" James Bond Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for Pixar's "The Good Dinosaur" Animated Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Kung Fu Panda" Director Making "Emoji" Movie
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Pacific Rim 2" to Begin Filming in November
Jul 22nd, 2015
Backstreet Boys and 'NSync Members Unite for "Dead 7" Low-Budget Horror Film
Jul 21st, 2015
Benicio Del Toro May Play Villain in "Star Wars: Episode VIII"
Jul 21st, 2015
Trailer for "Before We Go," Chris Evans' Directorial Debut
Jul 21st, 2015
"The Godfather" Actor Alex Rocco Dead at 79
Jul 21st, 2015
New Trailer for "American Ultra," with Jesse Eisenberg and Kristen Stewart
Jul 21st, 2015
"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening
Jul 20th, 2015
Ava DuVernay Explains Why She Isn't Directing Marvel's "Black Panther"
Jul 20th, 2015
Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?
Jul 19th, 2015
Sam Raimi Comments on Marvel Rebooting "Spider-Man" Franchise
Jul 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Some Kind of Beautiful," with Pierce Brosnan, Jessica Alba and Selma Hayek
Jul 19th, 2015
Trailer for Leonardo DiCaprio's "The Revenant" Thriller is Here!
Jul 18th, 2015
Watch IMAX Trailer for "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 18th, 2015
"X-Men: Apocalypse" Unveils Photos of Apocalypse, Psylocke and Storm
Jul 17th, 2015
"Spider-Man" Reboot Finally Hires Writers
Jul 17th, 2015
Stephen King's "It" Movie Hires a Director
Jul 17th, 2015
Casts of "Batman v Superman" and "Suicide Squad" Unite for Photo Shoot
Jul 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Joy," with Jennifer Lawrence, Bradley Cooper and Robert De Niro
Jul 16th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Hobbit" Beats "Django Unchained" at Box Office, James Bond Crosses $1 Billion Mark

Posted: December 31st, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Hobbit" Beats "Django Unchained" at Box Office, James Bond Crosses $1 Billion MarkSubmit Comment
"The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey" remained in first place at the domestic box office in its third weekend by grossing an additional $33 million. The film has now earned around $690 million globally.

Quentin Tarantino's "Django Unchained" landed in second place with $30.7 million for a six-day total of $64 million. The movie has a 89% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes and cost roughly $100 million to make, which means that it will easily become profitable. And since it will likely be nominated for an Oscar, it has a chance of surpassing "Inglourious Basterds" ($321 million) as the highest-grossing Tarantino film.

"Les Miserables" took third place with $28 million for a new global total of $116 million. The musical has a 72% fresh rating and cost only $61 million. It too will likely be recognized during the Oscars.

The other wide release of the weekend, the Christmas comedy "Parental Guidance," ended up in fourth place with $14.8 million. The new movie grossed $29.6 million during the last six days and cost only $25 million to make. It has a 17% fresh rating.

And even though "Skyfall" landed in 11th place, it has now crossed the $1 billion mark globally, becoming the only James Bond movie to do so.

Meanwhile, Matt Damon's controversial "Promised Land" film opening in 25 theaters, earning only $190,150, which is a disappointing per-theater average of $7,606. The movie will expand to 1,500 locations on January 4th.

Click here to read our "Django Unchained" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
The Boosh writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 3:18:04 AM

n*gger please!
xtlhogciao writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 6:20:58 AM

How is "Promised Land" controversial? Or is the author just throwing the word out there because he hates anything mildly hippyish?
GreenLensman writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 6:22:24 AM

you can take a wee lad to see the hobbit, and you might even take the n*gger out of'em simultaneously
pornfly writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 6:30:31 AM

Imma weeded lad
McQueen writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 7:46:51 AM

"Skyfall" landed in 11th place, it has now crossed the $1 billion mark.."

Wow! I'd never imagined a Bond film would make so much money. Well deserved anyways.


off topic: I saw "Killing Them Softly" and it's crap. Totally pointless story. Brad Pitt's acting is very good but the whole film wasn't worth it to be put on film.

*SPOILER*:

Everybody gets whacked for a miserable heist! Pathetic.
trailertrash writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 9:22:28 AM

Bullit

Damn i was looking forward to that movie, Looked ok to me from the trailers.

On Bond that is great news and amazing figures.

Back in the day if you do the old adjusted ticket price for inflation, Thunderball took just under $600 million at the US boxoffice alone.

Pretty sure it's worldwide figure would be close to that Billion dollar mark to.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 9:45:43 AM

Watcher Django last night, Great film!
Fightclub1 writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 11:35:33 AM

Yeah Django Unchained is awesome
minkowski writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 2:01:54 PM

Cool. MGM can finally write off those ten previous failures, like Red Dawn.



"How is "Promised Land" controversial? Or is the author just throwing the word out there because he hates anything mildly hippyish?"

What?? Promised Land revolves around Matt Damon-style left-wing fearmongering over fracking.
triggax writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 3:47:32 PM

TT,

Don't take Bullits words too seriously.

Killing them Softly was excellent. The performances from everyone involved were absolutely top drawer.

Sprinkle a bit of amazing cinematography and brilliant camera work with a spot of ultra violence and you have Killing them Softly. Bullit is right about the thin plot, but if you understand that the film never really had any kind of purpose other than to show you the brutality and realism of contract killing then the movie is near perfect and the thin plot makes no difference, who needs a plot. I liked it because it never really wanted to be anything other than exactly what it was. It wasn't overly preachy and I learned absolutely nothing. The ending was pretty sick too.

Just check it out and stay excited for it. I gaurantee you, Bullit watched the film in it's entirety. If you find a film that is easy enough to watch from beginning to end, its never a total disappointment.

f*ck the Hobbit btw. What a waste of time that was. The 48fps was fine, I've been watching 48fps for some time now, makes no difference to me, I don't like midgets, they make me feel uncomfortable. I also don't understand the need to stretch every single f*cking though that was into the book into 30 minutes of bullsh*t that does nothing to advance the story. But whatever, its making millions and I am not.
triggax writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 3:50:07 PM

""stretch every single f*cking though that was into the book into 30 minutes of bullsh*t""


Lets try that again,

Stretch every single f*cking THOUGHT that was IN the book, into 30 minutes of bullsh*t.

Lovely.
minkowski writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 4:46:26 PM

Will someone PLEASE kill those crickets!?
triggax writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 5:42:32 PM

............
jdl107 writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 6:07:07 PM

I've only seen Martin Freeman in about 2 to 3 other movies, but for some reason I respect him more than most other actors. Dunno why.

OT: Just finished the "Sherlock" series last night, and while the ending was a bit dark it was a f*cking amazing show. Wish they would put those two on film instead of giving us an americanized brit and an american playing a brit.
jdl107 writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 6:13:02 PM

Forgot my capitals, sorry, grammar Nazi's.
jdl107 writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 6:13:03 PM

Forgot my capitals, sorry, grammar Nazi's.
minkowski writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 6:43:36 PM

I'd like to see Showtime take on Sherlock the way they took on Dexter.
jdl107 writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 7:34:44 PM

That would be very interesting to see, good suggestion. Perhaps then they could finally elaborate on his seven percent solution problem.

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

It's Official: "Jurassic World" Beats "The Avengers" for Biggest Box Office Opening

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

Marvel and Sony Can't Agree on Which Actor Should Play Spider-Man

"Jurassic World" is a Massive Hit, Chris Pratt to Return for Sequel

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

"Spider-Man" Reboot Announces Actor and Director
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved