WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!
Oct 22nd, 2014
"John Carter" Reboot in the Works, Disney Not Involved
Oct 22nd, 2014
James Wan to Direct "The Conjuring 2," May Direct DC Superhero Film
Oct 22nd, 2014
Ghostface Will NOT Appear in "Scream" TV Series
Oct 22nd, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Oct 22nd, 2014
Adam McKay Plans to Make "Step Brothers 2" in a Few Years
Oct 22nd, 2014
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Jena Malone is Female Robin in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Oct 18th, 2014
Marvel in Talks with Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in "Doctor Strange"
Oct 18th, 2014
Channing Tatum Not Sure We Need "23 Jump Street"
Oct 18th, 2014
Poster For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Oct 18th, 2014
Photos: Nicolas Cage Protesting Against His "Dying of the Light" Movie
Oct 17th, 2014
James Cameron Discusses Getting "Terminator" Rights Back in 2019
Oct 17th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro Says "Pacific Rim 2" Sets Up "Pacific Rim 3"
Oct 17th, 2014
New Trailer For Angelina Jolie's "Unbroken" World War II Drama
Oct 17th, 2014
Scarlett Johansson Offered $10 Million to Star in "Ghost in the Shell"
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer For Chris Rock's "Top Five" Comedy
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer: Chris Hemsworth Fights a Whale in Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea"
Oct 16th, 2014
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in Ron Howard's "Heart of the Sea" Survival Film
Oct 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Hobbit" Beats "Django Unchained" at Box Office, James Bond Crosses $1 Billion Mark

Posted: December 31st, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Hobbit" Beats "Django Unchained" at Box Office, James Bond Crosses $1 Billion MarkSubmit Comment
"The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey" remained in first place at the domestic box office in its third weekend by grossing an additional $33 million. The film has now earned around $690 million globally.

Quentin Tarantino's "Django Unchained" landed in second place with $30.7 million for a six-day total of $64 million. The movie has a 89% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes and cost roughly $100 million to make, which means that it will easily become profitable. And since it will likely be nominated for an Oscar, it has a chance of surpassing "Inglourious Basterds" ($321 million) as the highest-grossing Tarantino film.

"Les Miserables" took third place with $28 million for a new global total of $116 million. The musical has a 72% fresh rating and cost only $61 million. It too will likely be recognized during the Oscars.

The other wide release of the weekend, the Christmas comedy "Parental Guidance," ended up in fourth place with $14.8 million. The new movie grossed $29.6 million during the last six days and cost only $25 million to make. It has a 17% fresh rating.

And even though "Skyfall" landed in 11th place, it has now crossed the $1 billion mark globally, becoming the only James Bond movie to do so.

Meanwhile, Matt Damon's controversial "Promised Land" film opening in 25 theaters, earning only $190,150, which is a disappointing per-theater average of $7,606. The movie will expand to 1,500 locations on January 4th.

Click here to read our "Django Unchained" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
The Boosh writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 3:18:04 AM

n*gger please!
xtlhogciao writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 6:20:58 AM

How is "Promised Land" controversial? Or is the author just throwing the word out there because he hates anything mildly hippyish?
GreenLensman writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 6:22:24 AM

you can take a wee lad to see the hobbit, and you might even take the n*gger out of'em simultaneously
pornfly writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 6:30:31 AM

Imma weeded lad
McQueen writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 7:46:51 AM

"Skyfall" landed in 11th place, it has now crossed the $1 billion mark.."

Wow! I'd never imagined a Bond film would make so much money. Well deserved anyways.


off topic: I saw "Killing Them Softly" and it's crap. Totally pointless story. Brad Pitt's acting is very good but the whole film wasn't worth it to be put on film.

*SPOILER*:

Everybody gets whacked for a miserable heist! Pathetic.
trailertrash writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 9:22:28 AM

Bullit

Damn i was looking forward to that movie, Looked ok to me from the trailers.

On Bond that is great news and amazing figures.

Back in the day if you do the old adjusted ticket price for inflation, Thunderball took just under $600 million at the US boxoffice alone.

Pretty sure it's worldwide figure would be close to that Billion dollar mark to.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 9:45:43 AM

Watcher Django last night, Great film!
Fightclub1 writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 11:35:33 AM

Yeah Django Unchained is awesome
minkowski writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 2:01:54 PM

Cool. MGM can finally write off those ten previous failures, like Red Dawn.



"How is "Promised Land" controversial? Or is the author just throwing the word out there because he hates anything mildly hippyish?"

What?? Promised Land revolves around Matt Damon-style left-wing fearmongering over fracking.
triggax writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 3:47:32 PM

TT,

Don't take Bullits words too seriously.

Killing them Softly was excellent. The performances from everyone involved were absolutely top drawer.

Sprinkle a bit of amazing cinematography and brilliant camera work with a spot of ultra violence and you have Killing them Softly. Bullit is right about the thin plot, but if you understand that the film never really had any kind of purpose other than to show you the brutality and realism of contract killing then the movie is near perfect and the thin plot makes no difference, who needs a plot. I liked it because it never really wanted to be anything other than exactly what it was. It wasn't overly preachy and I learned absolutely nothing. The ending was pretty sick too.

Just check it out and stay excited for it. I gaurantee you, Bullit watched the film in it's entirety. If you find a film that is easy enough to watch from beginning to end, its never a total disappointment.

f*ck the Hobbit btw. What a waste of time that was. The 48fps was fine, I've been watching 48fps for some time now, makes no difference to me, I don't like midgets, they make me feel uncomfortable. I also don't understand the need to stretch every single f*cking though that was into the book into 30 minutes of bullsh*t that does nothing to advance the story. But whatever, its making millions and I am not.
triggax writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 3:50:07 PM

""stretch every single f*cking though that was into the book into 30 minutes of bullsh*t""


Lets try that again,

Stretch every single f*cking THOUGHT that was IN the book, into 30 minutes of bullsh*t.

Lovely.
minkowski writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 4:46:26 PM

Will someone PLEASE kill those crickets!?
triggax writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 5:42:32 PM

............
jdl107 writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 6:07:07 PM

I've only seen Martin Freeman in about 2 to 3 other movies, but for some reason I respect him more than most other actors. Dunno why.

OT: Just finished the "Sherlock" series last night, and while the ending was a bit dark it was a f*cking amazing show. Wish they would put those two on film instead of giving us an americanized brit and an american playing a brit.
jdl107 writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 6:13:02 PM

Forgot my capitals, sorry, grammar Nazi's.
jdl107 writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 6:13:03 PM

Forgot my capitals, sorry, grammar Nazi's.
minkowski writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 6:43:36 PM

I'd like to see Showtime take on Sherlock the way they took on Dexter.
jdl107 writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 7:34:44 PM

That would be very interesting to see, good suggestion. Perhaps then they could finally elaborate on his seven percent solution problem.

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved