WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Full Trailer for Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Sci-Fi Film is Here!
Jul 31st, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Post-Credits Scene Leaked Online
Jul 30th, 2014
Trailer for Ben Stiller's "Night at the Museum: Secret of the Tomb"
Jul 30th, 2014
Why is This "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Poster So Offensive?
Jul 30th, 2014
TJ Miller Explains Why He'll Never Work With Director Michael Bay Again
Jul 30th, 2014
New Trailer For "Maze Runner" Sci-Fi Thriller
Jul 30th, 2014
Zoe Saldana Gives an Update on "Avatar" Sequels
Jul 30th, 2014
Trailer for "The Longest Week" Comedy, with Jason Bateman and Olivia Wilde
Jul 30th, 2014
Watch 5 Minutes From "The Simpsons" and "Family Guy" Crossover Episode
Jul 29th, 2014
Sam Raimi and Bruce Campbell Developing "Evil Dead" TV Series
Jul 29th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel Makes Offer to "Attack the Block" Director Joe Cornish
Jul 29th, 2014
Jodie Foster to Direct George Clooney in "Money Monster" Thriller
Jul 29th, 2014
Trailer For The Asylum's "The Expendables" Rip-Off, With Brigitte Nielsen and Vivica A. Fox
Jul 29th, 2014
New Poster for "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies"
Jul 29th, 2014
Extended Restricted Trailer for "Sin City 2: A Dame to Kill For"
Jul 29th, 2014
First Photos From Ben Stiller's "Night at the Museum 3"
Jul 29th, 2014
Photos: Lots of "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Props On Display at Comic-Con
Jul 28th, 2014
"Deadpool" Movie Test Footage Leaked Online
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
"Mad Max: Fury Road" Comic-Con Trailer is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "Air" Sci-Fi Film, From Creator of "The Walking Dead"
Jul 28th, 2014
New Trailer for "Batman" Prequel TV Series "Gotham"
Jul 28th, 2014
Comic-Con Trailer For DC's "Constantine" TV Series
Jul 28th, 2014
"Lucy" Destroys "Hercules" at the Box Office
Jul 27th, 2014
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Comic-Con Trailer Leaked Online!
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 27th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel "Skull Island" Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
Full "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Banner Revealed
Jul 27th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Sequel Confirmed, Release Date Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
"Godzilla 2" Announced, Three Monsters Revealed
Jul 27th, 2014
Four Character Posters for Tom Hardy's "Mad Max: Fury Road"
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at The Thing From "Fantastic Four" Reboot?
Jul 26th, 2014
Trailer for Kevin Smith's "Tusk" Horror Film
Jul 26th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Hobbit" Beats "Django Unchained" at Box Office, James Bond Crosses $1 Billion Mark

Posted: December 31st, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Hobbit" Beats "Django Unchained" at Box Office, James Bond Crosses $1 Billion MarkSubmit Comment
"The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey" remained in first place at the domestic box office in its third weekend by grossing an additional $33 million. The film has now earned around $690 million globally.

Quentin Tarantino's "Django Unchained" landed in second place with $30.7 million for a six-day total of $64 million. The movie has a 89% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes and cost roughly $100 million to make, which means that it will easily become profitable. And since it will likely be nominated for an Oscar, it has a chance of surpassing "Inglourious Basterds" ($321 million) as the highest-grossing Tarantino film.

"Les Miserables" took third place with $28 million for a new global total of $116 million. The musical has a 72% fresh rating and cost only $61 million. It too will likely be recognized during the Oscars.

The other wide release of the weekend, the Christmas comedy "Parental Guidance," ended up in fourth place with $14.8 million. The new movie grossed $29.6 million during the last six days and cost only $25 million to make. It has a 17% fresh rating.

And even though "Skyfall" landed in 11th place, it has now crossed the $1 billion mark globally, becoming the only James Bond movie to do so.

Meanwhile, Matt Damon's controversial "Promised Land" film opening in 25 theaters, earning only $190,150, which is a disappointing per-theater average of $7,606. The movie will expand to 1,500 locations on January 4th.

Click here to read our "Django Unchained" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
The Boosh writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 3:18:04 AM

n*gger please!
xtlhogciao writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 6:20:58 AM

How is "Promised Land" controversial? Or is the author just throwing the word out there because he hates anything mildly hippyish?
GreenLensman writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 6:22:24 AM

you can take a wee lad to see the hobbit, and you might even take the n*gger out of'em simultaneously
pornfly writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 6:30:31 AM

Imma weeded lad
McQueen writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 7:46:51 AM

"Skyfall" landed in 11th place, it has now crossed the $1 billion mark.."

Wow! I'd never imagined a Bond film would make so much money. Well deserved anyways.


off topic: I saw "Killing Them Softly" and it's crap. Totally pointless story. Brad Pitt's acting is very good but the whole film wasn't worth it to be put on film.

*SPOILER*:

Everybody gets whacked for a miserable heist! Pathetic.
trailertrash writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 9:22:28 AM

Bullit

Damn i was looking forward to that movie, Looked ok to me from the trailers.

On Bond that is great news and amazing figures.

Back in the day if you do the old adjusted ticket price for inflation, Thunderball took just under $600 million at the US boxoffice alone.

Pretty sure it's worldwide figure would be close to that Billion dollar mark to.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 9:45:43 AM

Watcher Django last night, Great film!
Fightclub1 writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 11:35:33 AM

Yeah Django Unchained is awesome
minkowski writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 2:01:54 PM

Cool. MGM can finally write off those ten previous failures, like Red Dawn.



"How is "Promised Land" controversial? Or is the author just throwing the word out there because he hates anything mildly hippyish?"

What?? Promised Land revolves around Matt Damon-style left-wing fearmongering over fracking.
triggax writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 3:47:32 PM

TT,

Don't take Bullits words too seriously.

Killing them Softly was excellent. The performances from everyone involved were absolutely top drawer.

Sprinkle a bit of amazing cinematography and brilliant camera work with a spot of ultra violence and you have Killing them Softly. Bullit is right about the thin plot, but if you understand that the film never really had any kind of purpose other than to show you the brutality and realism of contract killing then the movie is near perfect and the thin plot makes no difference, who needs a plot. I liked it because it never really wanted to be anything other than exactly what it was. It wasn't overly preachy and I learned absolutely nothing. The ending was pretty sick too.

Just check it out and stay excited for it. I gaurantee you, Bullit watched the film in it's entirety. If you find a film that is easy enough to watch from beginning to end, its never a total disappointment.

f*ck the Hobbit btw. What a waste of time that was. The 48fps was fine, I've been watching 48fps for some time now, makes no difference to me, I don't like midgets, they make me feel uncomfortable. I also don't understand the need to stretch every single f*cking though that was into the book into 30 minutes of bullsh*t that does nothing to advance the story. But whatever, its making millions and I am not.
triggax writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 3:50:07 PM

""stretch every single f*cking though that was into the book into 30 minutes of bullsh*t""


Lets try that again,

Stretch every single f*cking THOUGHT that was IN the book, into 30 minutes of bullsh*t.

Lovely.
minkowski writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 4:46:26 PM

Will someone PLEASE kill those crickets!?
triggax writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 5:42:32 PM

............
jdl107 writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 6:07:07 PM

I've only seen Martin Freeman in about 2 to 3 other movies, but for some reason I respect him more than most other actors. Dunno why.

OT: Just finished the "Sherlock" series last night, and while the ending was a bit dark it was a f*cking amazing show. Wish they would put those two on film instead of giving us an americanized brit and an american playing a brit.
jdl107 writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 6:13:02 PM

Forgot my capitals, sorry, grammar Nazi's.
jdl107 writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 6:13:03 PM

Forgot my capitals, sorry, grammar Nazi's.
minkowski writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 6:43:36 PM

I'd like to see Showtime take on Sherlock the way they took on Dexter.
jdl107 writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 7:34:44 PM

That would be very interesting to see, good suggestion. Perhaps then they could finally elaborate on his seven percent solution problem.

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Joaquin Phoenix in Talks for Marvel's "Doctor Strange"

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility

Gary Oldman Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved