WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
James Gunn Says "Guardians and the Galaxy" and "Avengers" Superheroes May Soon Meet
Aug 1st, 2014
Thanos is NOT Part of "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Aug 1st, 2014
Trailer for Disney's "Into the Woods," with Chris Pine and Meryl Streep
Aug 1st, 2014
Trailer for "SpongeBob SquarePants: Sponge Out of Water" Arrives Online
Aug 1st, 2014
Frank Darabont Confirmed to Direct "Snow White and the Huntsman" Prequel
Aug 1st, 2014
Trailer for Kate Beckinsale's "Stonehearst Asylum" Thriller
Aug 1st, 2014
"Sharknado 2" Breaks Records with 3.9 Million Viewers
Aug 1st, 2014
New Trailer for Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Dark Comedy
Aug 1st, 2014
First Look at Josh Brolin as Thanos in "Guardians of the Galaxy"
Jul 31st, 2014
"Con Air" Director Wants to Set Sequel in Space
Jul 31st, 2014
New Photos From Disney's "Into the Woods" Musical, with Chris Pine as Prince Charming
Jul 31st, 2014
Jamie Foxx to Play Mike Tyson in Biopic
Jul 31st, 2014
Alex Kurtzman to Direct "The Mummy" Reboot
Jul 31st, 2014
Poster For Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" Western
Jul 31st, 2014
Full Trailer for Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Sci-Fi Film is Here!
Jul 31st, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Post-Credits Scene Leaked Online
Jul 30th, 2014
Trailer for Ben Stiller's "Night at the Museum: Secret of the Tomb"
Jul 30th, 2014
Why is This "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Poster So Offensive?
Jul 30th, 2014
TJ Miller Explains Why He'll Never Work With Director Michael Bay Again
Jul 30th, 2014
New Trailer For "Maze Runner" Sci-Fi Thriller
Jul 30th, 2014
Zoe Saldana Gives an Update on "Avatar" Sequels
Jul 30th, 2014
Trailer for "The Longest Week" Comedy, with Jason Bateman and Olivia Wilde
Jul 30th, 2014
Watch 5 Minutes From "The Simpsons" and "Family Guy" Crossover Episode
Jul 29th, 2014
Sam Raimi and Bruce Campbell Developing "Evil Dead" TV Series
Jul 29th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel Makes Offer to "Attack the Block" Director Joe Cornish
Jul 29th, 2014
Jodie Foster to Direct George Clooney in "Money Monster" Thriller
Jul 29th, 2014
Trailer For The Asylum's "The Expendables" Rip-Off, With Brigitte Nielsen and Vivica A. Fox
Jul 29th, 2014
New Poster for "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies"
Jul 29th, 2014
Extended Restricted Trailer for "Sin City 2: A Dame to Kill For"
Jul 29th, 2014
First Photos From Ben Stiller's "Night at the Museum 3"
Jul 29th, 2014
Photos: Lots of "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Props On Display at Comic-Con
Jul 28th, 2014
"Deadpool" Movie Test Footage Leaked Online
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Real Iron Man Suit Allows Paralyzed Patients to Walk

Posted: December 29th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Real Iron Man Suit Allows Paralyzed Patients to WalkSubmit Comment
A few years ago, we heard that the military was building an exoskeleton suit, weighing roughly 48 lbs, that would help soldiers carry heavy objects for long distances. The mechanical suit is strapped on to the legs and is controlled by the arms. While it looks like the person is walking normally, the suit is actually doing all the work.

Now comes word that the same suit is being used to help patients with spinal cord injuries to walk again. Several patients, including Robert Woo who was paralyzed in 2007 during a crane collapse in Manhattan, has been testing the new suit.

With a bit of assistance, Woo has been successfully walking around. But in addition to getting part of his life back, the suit also helps against blood clots and bone deterioration. As a result, the exoskeleton has been called the Iron Man suit. "'Daddy is Iron Man. Daddy is Iron Man,'" Woo said about the reaction from his kids.

While the suit is being tested in only thirty hospitals around the world, doctors believe that personal Iron Man suits will become available to own as soon as 2014. The goal for the future is to make the device be controlled by thought.

Suit News Report:


Source: Various


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Kurskij writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 7:30:52 AM

Cyborg kung fu. NOW!
pornfly writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 9:24:59 AM

f*ckin aye!
said horny paralized men everywhere

Crap!
Said hookers everywhere
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 9:41:35 AM

i was expecting like lasers and jet packs...
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 10:07:28 AM

No such thing as a friendly robot, Fox News.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 10:19:22 AM

Porn- lol


Fightclub1 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 10:48:54 AM

That's really cool
minkowski writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 1:17:31 PM

The future is now.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 1:58:25 PM

That's sick lol
jdl107 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 2:09:01 PM

Now that's just f*cked up and weird.
Champ1432 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 5:20:05 PM

Pretty cool, the cost will probably be prohibitive at first, but hopefully this can be something that is a real option to help paralyzed individuals in the near future.
minkowski writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 11:11:48 PM

^^You should see this then

http://www.environmentalgraffiti.com/sciencetech/5-bionic-exoskeleton-suits-of-the-future/1137
minkowski writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 11:46:41 PM

God, I sound like Bane...
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 30th, 2012 at 2:36:48 AM

Ha! ^ f*cking bane lol
GreenLensman writes:
on December 30th, 2012 at 7:46:49 AM

why should paralyzed people get to walk when i don't get to sit in a chair wherever i go, those greedy f*cks
buttabean writes:
on December 30th, 2012 at 9:47:18 AM

I hate how the main stream news makes such a big deal about these suits. Last year a girl graduated from yale with one of these.

I'm paralyzed and see myself never using one because it's not practical for someone with a high level spinal cord injury. yeah sure someone with a low leveel injury could use it temperarily before their skin breaks down. So yes strange scientist, lets dump money into robotic bandaides instead of curing the problem. *sshole lol
minkowski writes:
on December 30th, 2012 at 4:59:40 PM

^^I empathize with your paralysis, as that has to be a difficult situation, but...spinal cord injuries are extremely difficult to repair, especially if the column is entirely separated, which is why so much research has gone into developing exoskeleton systems to help people walk again, simply because there isn't, at this time, even a hint as to how to repair a severely damaged spinal column.

I wish you the best of luck.
jdl107 writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 6:18:02 PM

"^^You should see this then"

If that was directed at me then I must express my thanks, Mink. That was a wonderful read. Although I had read the Troy Hurtubise story a while back it's always interesting.

I'm sure it's not easy because obviously if it was we'd be there, but I wish the inventors of these non-biotic/biotic suits would focus more on not the bulk aspect, but lean like Troy's design.

Joaquin Phoenix in Talks for Marvel's "Doctor Strange"

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

"Sharknado 2" Breaks Records with 3.9 Million Viewers

TJ Miller Explains Why He'll Never Work With Director Michael Bay Again

Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved