WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Captain America: Civil War" Concept Art Shows Two Avengers Teams
Aug 30th, 2015
First Look at Michael Fassbender in "Assassin's Creed" Video Game Movie
Aug 29th, 2015
Matt Damon Reveals "Bourne" Sequel Plot Details
Aug 29th, 2015
New Trailer for Jack Black's "Goosebumps"
Aug 29th, 2015
Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Schumer Working on New Comedy
Aug 27th, 2015
Christopher Meloni Joins "Holding Patterns"
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Love the Coopers" Comedy, with John Goodman, Ed Helms and Olivia Wilde
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for Nicholas Hoult's "Kill Your Friends" Crime Thriller
Aug 26th, 2015
James Franco is a Tech Billionaire in "Why Him" Comedy
Aug 26th, 2015
General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 20th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Jungle Cruise," Based on Disney's Theme Park Ride
Aug 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Blunt Force Trauma," with Mickey Rourke and Freida Pinto
Aug 20th, 2015
First Trailer for "Victor Frankenstein," with Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy
Aug 19th, 2015
"Prometheus 2" Delaying Neill Blomkamp's "Alien 5"
Aug 19th, 2015
Freddie Highmore and Odeya Rush Join "Holding Patterns"
Aug 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Matt Damon's "The Martian" is Here!
Aug 19th, 2015
Post-Apocalyptic "Zorro" Reboot is Moving Forward
Aug 19th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for "Star Wars: The Force Awakens"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at "Star Wars: Rogue One" Spin-Off Film
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Aug 18th, 2015
New Photo From Pixar's "Finding Dory"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for "Carol," with Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for Kevin Hart's "Ride Along" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
First Posters for "Alice in Wonderland" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
Bradley Cooper is a Chef in "Burnt" Trailer
Aug 15th, 2015
First Look at Black Panther on "Captain America: Civil War" Set
Aug 13th, 2015
First Look at Dolph Lundgren in "Kindergarten Cop" Sequel
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" is Here!
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Life," with Dane DeHaan as James Dean
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Trumbo," with Bryan Cranston and Helen Mirren
Aug 13th, 2015
Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?
Aug 9th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Real Iron Man Suit Allows Paralyzed Patients to Walk

Posted: December 29th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Real Iron Man Suit Allows Paralyzed Patients to WalkSubmit Comment
A few years ago, we heard that the military was building an exoskeleton suit, weighing roughly 48 lbs, that would help soldiers carry heavy objects for long distances. The mechanical suit is strapped on to the legs and is controlled by the arms. While it looks like the person is walking normally, the suit is actually doing all the work.

Now comes word that the same suit is being used to help patients with spinal cord injuries to walk again. Several patients, including Robert Woo who was paralyzed in 2007 during a crane collapse in Manhattan, has been testing the new suit.

With a bit of assistance, Woo has been successfully walking around. But in addition to getting part of his life back, the suit also helps against blood clots and bone deterioration. As a result, the exoskeleton has been called the Iron Man suit. "'Daddy is Iron Man. Daddy is Iron Man,'" Woo said about the reaction from his kids.

While the suit is being tested in only thirty hospitals around the world, doctors believe that personal Iron Man suits will become available to own as soon as 2014. The goal for the future is to make the device be controlled by thought.

Suit News Report:


Source: Various


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Kurskij writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 7:30:52 AM

Cyborg kung fu. NOW!
pornfly writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 9:24:59 AM

f*ckin aye!
said horny paralized men everywhere

Crap!
Said hookers everywhere
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 9:41:35 AM

i was expecting like lasers and jet packs...
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 10:07:28 AM

No such thing as a friendly robot, Fox News.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 10:19:22 AM

Porn- lol


Fightclub1 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 10:48:54 AM

That's really cool
minkowski writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 1:17:31 PM

The future is now.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 1:58:25 PM

That's sick lol
jdl107 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 2:09:01 PM

Now that's just f*cked up and weird.
Champ1432 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 5:20:05 PM

Pretty cool, the cost will probably be prohibitive at first, but hopefully this can be something that is a real option to help paralyzed individuals in the near future.
minkowski writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 11:11:48 PM

^^You should see this then

http://www.environmentalgraffiti.com/sciencetech/5-bionic-exoskeleton-suits-of-the-future/1137
minkowski writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 11:46:41 PM

God, I sound like Bane...
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 30th, 2012 at 2:36:48 AM

Ha! ^ f*cking bane lol
GreenLensman writes:
on December 30th, 2012 at 7:46:49 AM

why should paralyzed people get to walk when i don't get to sit in a chair wherever i go, those greedy f*cks
buttabean writes:
on December 30th, 2012 at 9:47:18 AM

I hate how the main stream news makes such a big deal about these suits. Last year a girl graduated from yale with one of these.

I'm paralyzed and see myself never using one because it's not practical for someone with a high level spinal cord injury. yeah sure someone with a low leveel injury could use it temperarily before their skin breaks down. So yes strange scientist, lets dump money into robotic bandaides instead of curing the problem. *sshole lol
minkowski writes:
on December 30th, 2012 at 4:59:40 PM

^^I empathize with your paralysis, as that has to be a difficult situation, but...spinal cord injuries are extremely difficult to repair, especially if the column is entirely separated, which is why so much research has gone into developing exoskeleton systems to help people walk again, simply because there isn't, at this time, even a hint as to how to repair a severely damaged spinal column.

I wish you the best of luck.
jdl107 writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 6:18:02 PM

"^^You should see this then"

If that was directed at me then I must express my thanks, Mink. That was a wonderful read. Although I had read the Troy Hurtubise story a while back it's always interesting.

I'm sure it's not easy because obviously if it was we'd be there, but I wish the inventors of these non-biotic/biotic suits would focus more on not the bulk aspect, but lean like Troy's design.

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved