WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!
Oct 22nd, 2014
"John Carter" Reboot in the Works, Disney Not Involved
Oct 22nd, 2014
James Wan to Direct "The Conjuring 2," May Direct DC Superhero Film
Oct 22nd, 2014
Ghostface Will NOT Appear in "Scream" TV Series
Oct 22nd, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Oct 22nd, 2014
Adam McKay Plans to Make "Step Brothers 2" in a Few Years
Oct 22nd, 2014
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Jena Malone is Female Robin in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Oct 18th, 2014
Marvel in Talks with Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in "Doctor Strange"
Oct 18th, 2014
Channing Tatum Not Sure We Need "23 Jump Street"
Oct 18th, 2014
Poster For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Oct 18th, 2014
Photos: Nicolas Cage Protesting Against His "Dying of the Light" Movie
Oct 17th, 2014
James Cameron Discusses Getting "Terminator" Rights Back in 2019
Oct 17th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro Says "Pacific Rim 2" Sets Up "Pacific Rim 3"
Oct 17th, 2014
New Trailer For Angelina Jolie's "Unbroken" World War II Drama
Oct 17th, 2014
Scarlett Johansson Offered $10 Million to Star in "Ghost in the Shell"
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer For Chris Rock's "Top Five" Comedy
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer: Chris Hemsworth Fights a Whale in Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea"
Oct 16th, 2014
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in Ron Howard's "Heart of the Sea" Survival Film
Oct 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Real Iron Man Suit Allows Paralyzed Patients to Walk

Posted: December 29th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Real Iron Man Suit Allows Paralyzed Patients to WalkSubmit Comment
A few years ago, we heard that the military was building an exoskeleton suit, weighing roughly 48 lbs, that would help soldiers carry heavy objects for long distances. The mechanical suit is strapped on to the legs and is controlled by the arms. While it looks like the person is walking normally, the suit is actually doing all the work.

Now comes word that the same suit is being used to help patients with spinal cord injuries to walk again. Several patients, including Robert Woo who was paralyzed in 2007 during a crane collapse in Manhattan, has been testing the new suit.

With a bit of assistance, Woo has been successfully walking around. But in addition to getting part of his life back, the suit also helps against blood clots and bone deterioration. As a result, the exoskeleton has been called the Iron Man suit. "'Daddy is Iron Man. Daddy is Iron Man,'" Woo said about the reaction from his kids.

While the suit is being tested in only thirty hospitals around the world, doctors believe that personal Iron Man suits will become available to own as soon as 2014. The goal for the future is to make the device be controlled by thought.

Suit News Report:


Source: Various


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Kurskij writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 7:30:52 AM

Cyborg kung fu. NOW!
pornfly writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 9:24:59 AM

f*ckin aye!
said horny paralized men everywhere

Crap!
Said hookers everywhere
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 9:41:35 AM

i was expecting like lasers and jet packs...
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 10:07:28 AM

No such thing as a friendly robot, Fox News.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 10:19:22 AM

Porn- lol


Fightclub1 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 10:48:54 AM

That's really cool
minkowski writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 1:17:31 PM

The future is now.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 1:58:25 PM

That's sick lol
jdl107 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 2:09:01 PM

Now that's just f*cked up and weird.
Champ1432 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 5:20:05 PM

Pretty cool, the cost will probably be prohibitive at first, but hopefully this can be something that is a real option to help paralyzed individuals in the near future.
minkowski writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 11:11:48 PM

^^You should see this then

http://www.environmentalgraffiti.com/sciencetech/5-bionic-exoskeleton-suits-of-the-future/1137
minkowski writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 11:46:41 PM

God, I sound like Bane...
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 30th, 2012 at 2:36:48 AM

Ha! ^ f*cking bane lol
GreenLensman writes:
on December 30th, 2012 at 7:46:49 AM

why should paralyzed people get to walk when i don't get to sit in a chair wherever i go, those greedy f*cks
buttabean writes:
on December 30th, 2012 at 9:47:18 AM

I hate how the main stream news makes such a big deal about these suits. Last year a girl graduated from yale with one of these.

I'm paralyzed and see myself never using one because it's not practical for someone with a high level spinal cord injury. yeah sure someone with a low leveel injury could use it temperarily before their skin breaks down. So yes strange scientist, lets dump money into robotic bandaides instead of curing the problem. *sshole lol
minkowski writes:
on December 30th, 2012 at 4:59:40 PM

^^I empathize with your paralysis, as that has to be a difficult situation, but...spinal cord injuries are extremely difficult to repair, especially if the column is entirely separated, which is why so much research has gone into developing exoskeleton systems to help people walk again, simply because there isn't, at this time, even a hint as to how to repair a severely damaged spinal column.

I wish you the best of luck.
jdl107 writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 6:18:02 PM

"^^You should see this then"

If that was directed at me then I must express my thanks, Mink. That was a wonderful read. Although I had read the Troy Hurtubise story a while back it's always interesting.

I'm sure it's not easy because obviously if it was we'd be there, but I wish the inventors of these non-biotic/biotic suits would focus more on not the bulk aspect, but lean like Troy's design.

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved