WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America
Aug 28th, 2014
First Photos of Doctor Doom From "Fantastic Four" Leaked Online?
Aug 28th, 2014
"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died
Aug 28th, 2014
"Underworld" Franchise is Being Rebooted
Aug 28th, 2014
"Pacific Rim" Star Charlie Hunnam May Star in "King Arthur"
Aug 28th, 2014
Three New Photos From "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Aug 28th, 2014
"Cops" Cameraman Killed While Filming TV Show
Aug 28th, 2014
"Looney Tunes" Movie Gets Steve Carell and "X-Men: First Class" Writers
Aug 27th, 2014
Warner Bros Has a "No Jokes" Policy For Its Superhero Films?
Aug 27th, 2014
Henry Cavill Does the Ice Bucket Challenge in His Superman Costume
Aug 27th, 2014
"Da Vinci Code 3" to Begin Filming in April, Tom Hanks Set to Return
Aug 27th, 2014
New "Jurassic World" Set Photo Honors Richard Attenborough
Aug 27th, 2014
First Look at Lucy Lawless in Marvel's "Agents of SHIELD" TV Series
Aug 27th, 2014
Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Unveils IMAX TV Spot
Aug 27th, 2014
Trailer for "The Pyramid" Thriller, From Alexandre Aja
Aug 27th, 2014
"Full House" Sequel Coming to TV, With Original Cast
Aug 26th, 2014
Ben Affleck's "Gone Girl" Thriller Unveils Emmy Awards TV Spot
Aug 26th, 2014
Jeremy Renner Says Hawkeye May Appear in "Captain America 3"
Aug 26th, 2014
Tyler Perry Never Heard of David Fincher Until Joining His "Gone Girl" Film
Aug 26th, 2014
"Thor" Star Chris Hemsworth in Talks For "Vacation" Reboot
Aug 26th, 2014
New Photos of Henry Cavill in "The Man From UNCLE"
Aug 26th, 2014
"Shutter Island" to Become a TV Series, Martin Scorsese May Direct
Aug 26th, 2014
Ridley Scott Discusses "Blade Runner" and "Prometheus" Sequels
Aug 26th, 2014
Extended Restricted Trailer for "As Above So Below" Horror Film
Aug 26th, 2014
Joss Whedon Discusses Iron Man's Hulkbuster Suit in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Aug 25th, 2014
Photo of Jeremy Renner's Redesigned Hawkeye Suit From "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Aug 25th, 2014
"Jurassic Park" Star Richard Attenborough Dead at 90
Aug 25th, 2014
"Sin City 2" Bombs at Box Office, "Guardians of the Galaxy" Smashing Records
Aug 25th, 2014
Chloe Moretz Says "Kick-Ass 3" Won't Happen
Aug 25th, 2014
Bruce Wayne Enjoys MMA Fights in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 24th, 2014
Director Rian Johnson Used "Se7en" and "Blade Runner" to Get "Looper" Made
Aug 24th, 2014
Director Josh Trank Unveils Photo of The Thing From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Aug 24th, 2014
"Ant-Man" Set Photo Hints at Hulk's Appearance
Aug 23rd, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

JJ Abrams to Screen "Star Trek Into Darkness" for a Dying Fan

Posted: December 29th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
JJ Abrams to Screen "Star Trek Into Darkness" for a Dying FanSubmit Comment
A few days ago, the wife of a 41-year-old man posted a message on Reddit, asking for someone to help her husband see the first nine minutes of "Star Trek 2," which has been playing in front of "The Hobbit," before he dies a few weeks from now.

She said that her husband, Dan, was first diagnosed with leukemia, which resulted in chemo treatments for over three years. After a long-fought battle, Dan was then diagnosed with a completely different cancer that is destroying his liver.

Dan is a huge movie fan and actually helps run the New York Asian Film Festival. After getting excited about seeing the first nine minutes of "Star Trek 2," his wife put him in the car and drove him to see "The Hobbit" in IMAX. Unfortunately, that particular theater didn't show the preview.

Knowing that there's nothing else medically that can be done for her husband, she desperately asked for anyone to help Dan see the "Star Trek 2" footage.

But just one day after her plea, "Star Trek 2" director JJ Abrams himself called her, telling her that he had conversations with Paramount Pictures, and will set up a private screening for Dan either to see the first nine minutes or possibly the entire film, which won't hit theaters until May 17th, 2013.

Knowing how secretive Abrams is with his projects, it's great to see a filmmaker understand that making one dying-man happy is worth showing the film six month early.

Source: Reddit


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 7:17:26 AM

All I can say is : Live long and prosper.
bandolero999 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 7:36:21 AM

f*ck that abercrombie star trek.
Avirex writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 8:35:55 AM

Sounds like he needs a new liver more than he does a DVD screener.
pornfly writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 9:10:54 AM

What BANDO said
Just have Next Generation watch their dvds with him
pornfly writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 9:48:17 AM

Excuse me while i make Lisa Lipps my emergency contact
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 9:55:29 AM

I hope i dont die before avengers 2
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 10:04:06 AM

He can have some final disappointment before dying
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 10:17:59 AM

JJ is helluva guy for doing that.
Ranger writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 11:02:11 AM

The sick guy will record it on his cell phone and post it on the internet.

Nice of Abrams to do this.

Dumb of the wife to drive the sick guy to the wrong theater.
superman writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 11:04:15 AM

JJ Abrams is showing he has heart and that he can make an effort to give some happiness to a dying man. This is a rare thing in Hollywood. The fans are not blind to this generosity. Thank you Mr. Abrams.
Rambo writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 11:16:09 AM

well done JJ
vincere01 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 11:17:05 AM

Lucas let a man dying from cancer watch episode 1 months early as well. Tit for tat PR competition? Star wars/star trek are always dueling. I do beleive JJ has been genuine. Just sayin
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 12:18:55 PM



we are ALL dying slowly

maybe i should be sent dvd screeners
for all the oscar contenders
LES MIS
THE MASTER
DJANGO
THE COMPANY YOU KEEP
Shogo1307 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 12:34:36 PM

Vincer that man also died shortly after seeing episode 1 to lol
minkowski writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 1:15:40 PM

I wanted to say something sarcastic and snarky, but then I read the news and thought, if true, and if the husband and wife aren't looking to manipulate someone, and in this day and age you never know, then what Abrams did is pretty f*cking awesome.

Of course all this comes with the caveat that Paramount, being the bean-counters they are, may not sign off on showing the entire film. I could be wrong, but corporations, legally defined as a 'person', don't often display much heart. Regardless, you're a decent guy Abrams, lens flares and all, bud.

Anyway. 41. Hell of a young age to go from f*cking cancer. My best wishes to the family and to Dan.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 1:56:23 PM

That's honestly such a nice thing to do...
JB Abrams is sick!

I hope paramount allows this, Like.. Why wouldn't they? Lol and @Jackey- I hope I don't die before Die Hard 5! Lol
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 2:54:58 PM




at least
he is kind BEFORE they die

(bale remember he visited the victims )
minkowski writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 2:59:28 PM

"Like.. Why wouldn't they?"

Legal matters. The guy would have to sign all kinds of threatening NDAs I bet, saying he won't spoil the movie online by posting a blow-by-blow Wikipedia plot synopsis, because if he did, it could be argued he ruined the film for some potential moveigoers, et cetera.

It's about profit. Paramount's a business, not a charity after all.
minkowski writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 3:11:18 PM

Also, and even more importantly, it sets a precedent. Paramount allows Dan to see the Isnto Darkness ix months before it hits theaters, and before it's even finished, probably, and then they then feel compelled to let any other terminal patient see whatever upcoming film they want, or else they look like evil grinches.

It's kind of a lose-lose situation, and I suspect Dan and Company probably never asked to see the entire film, probably something the rather dumb news media tried to get going without thinking about the ramifications.

Yeah, I seriously doubt Dan will see the full film. I could be wrong; more unlikely sh*t has happened.
ozzie writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 3:54:27 PM

Nice, I thought this guy was alright, now I think he's a f*cking boss. The dude kicks ass at what he does, not to mention he's not a pretentious douchebag. Way to show some compassion JJ. But, mink is probably right when it comes to his rational about the suits, their not known for their random acts of kindness.
trailertrash writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 5:03:04 PM

Good stuff .......... If it happens !
Champ1432 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 5:24:47 PM

Terrible to be going at such a young age. Props to Abrams for doing what he can. Hope the guy gets to see the whole thing.
pornfly writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 5:25:13 PM

JJ and Jonah Hill should bang
swoooop writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 5:28:35 PM

Kudos JJ :) Seems like there is some humanity left inn Hollywood.
pornfly writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 5:32:46 PM

She should ask JJ for the name of a good lawyer for her husband getting misdiagnosed
Didnt kinda the same thing happen to John Ritter?
trailertrash writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 6:05:36 PM

That is true porn.

The John Ritter's family received around 10 million pounds in settlements (they wanted nearly 50 mil), But the doctors they were suing were cleared of negligent in the case.

Not sure if they are still trying pursue the case though.
Ranger writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 6:58:41 PM

Hey, I'm dying and want Charlize Theron to f*ck me.
Rambo writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 7:01:23 PM

maybe the lens flare will heal him
Rambo writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 7:03:42 PM

@ranger

and her reward will be a ranger baby?
Ranger writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 7:57:47 PM

That would be wonderful.
Rambo writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 8:03:10 PM

I now understand what project you were mentioning that is taking your time in the holidays...
Mickael writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 8:10:41 PM

Is the guy going to stay at J.J's house for 2 weeks till he dies, to be sure not to release any spoilers? What if the guy pulls through and doesn't die?
Ranger writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 10:51:06 PM

Then Paramount will hire a turd tamper to give him the bum disease.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 10:57:54 PM

^ Need to do that with Lohan.
minkowski writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 11:01:41 PM

"But, mink is probably right when it comes to his rational about the suits, their not known for their random acts of kindness."

Corporations, as a far back as Adam Smith, have never been known for much of anything except the selfish exploitation of the populace, which is why even Smith, Mr. Capitalist, feared them.

Anyway, I don't expect Paramount to give this guy anything more than a personal venue for the nine minute intro. It's what Dan wanted, it's what he asked for, initially anyway, and there's no way giving what he wants can backfire.
zxz writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 11:33:26 PM

This one actually looks pretty good. I just hope they have some good scientific explanation for using Spock to stop a volcano with his magical Vulcanism. Besides that, I think it's very cool of Abrams to do this for a dying man. He's a real mensch, and for that alone, I'm going to pay to see this when it is released next summer at the nicest possible dinner theater!
minkowski writes:
on December 30th, 2012 at 12:04:22 AM

Dan really should have chosen another film.

'Into Darkness' doesn't really bode well for him.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 30th, 2012 at 12:05:12 AM


hope this works for all of you :)

http://trekweb.com/articles/2012/12/15/9Minute-Prologue-of-Star-Trek-Into-Darkness-Leaks-om-the-Internet-Watch-it-Now-on-YouTube.shtml
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 30th, 2012 at 12:12:37 AM



watch it before it gets removed !!!!!!!

http://www.movieweb.com/news/star-trek-into-darkness-9-minute-imax-preview
minkowski writes:
on December 30th, 2012 at 12:27:23 AM

^^I'll wait for the Blu-Ray version filmed through a pinhole while playing on a 1973 Zenith black and white console television.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 30th, 2012 at 2:36:01 AM

Yea you summed that good nice mink, I still hope he does though, I'm rooting for this guy, but I understand where youre coming from, Paramount could potentially be f*cked if they say yes lol..



"Sin City 2" Bombs at Box Office, "Guardians of the Galaxy" Smashing Records

"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died

Ronda Rousey Says She Should Have Been Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Bruce Wayne's Age in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed

"Sin City 2" is a Box Office Disaster

New "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Story Details Revealed

Bruce Wayne Enjoys MMA Fights in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Robin Williams' Cause of Death Revealed

Joss Whedon Discusses Iron Man's Hulkbuster Suit in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

"The Expendables 3" Bombs at the Box Office, "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Still On Top
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved