WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Furious 7" Continues to Dominate at Box Office, "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Released Overseas
Apr 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Descendants," About Children of Disney Villains
Apr 27th, 2015
Reed Richards Doesn't Stretch in "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Apr 26th, 2015
New Footage in Extended "Terminator Genisys" TV Spot
Apr 26th, 2015
"Green Lantern" Writer Hired for "Wolverine 3"
Apr 26th, 2015
First Look at Jared Leto as The Joker from "Suicide Squad"!
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for M. Night Shyamalan's "The Visit" Thriller
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for "Area 51" Horror Film, From Director of "Paranormal Activity"
Apr 25th, 2015
First Look at Jamie Dornan in "Fifty Shades of Grey" Sequel
Apr 25th, 2015
Creepy Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass"
Apr 25th, 2015
First Look at Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy in "Victor Frankenstein"
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for "Barely Lethal" Action Comedy, with Hailee Steinfeld and Jessica Alba
Apr 25th, 2015
Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot
Apr 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Point Break" Remake
Apr 23rd, 2015
EL James' Husband to Write "Fifty Shades of Grey" Sequel
Apr 23rd, 2015
"21 Jump Street" Directors to Helm Animated "Spider-Man" Movie
Apr 23rd, 2015
Photo: Johnny Depp is Crime Boss Whitey Bulger in "Black Mass"
Apr 23rd, 2015
First Look at Johnny Depp in "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"
Apr 22nd, 2015
New Trailer for George Clooney's "Tomorrowland" Sci-Fi Film
Apr 22nd, 2015
First Poster for M. Night Shyamalan's "The Visit" Thriller
Apr 22nd, 2015
Poster for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Southpaw" Boxing Film
Apr 22nd, 2015
New "Jurassic World" Trailer is Here!
Apr 21st, 2015
First Look at Jared Leto as The Joker From "Suicide Squad"?
Apr 21st, 2015
Photos: Marvel Putting Up Tiny "Ant-Man" Billboards
Apr 21st, 2015
"Transformers 5" Coming in 2017
Apr 21st, 2015
Photo: Full Batman Costume From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed
Apr 21st, 2015
Full "Fantastic Four" Trailer is Here!
Apr 20th, 2015
Teaser for "Star Wars" Spin-Off Film Leaked Online!
Apr 20th, 2015
Two "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Teaser Posters
Apr 20th, 2015
"Furious 7" Crosses $1 Billion at Box Office
Apr 20th, 2015
Trailer for Ridiculous "Mega Shark vs Kolossus"
Apr 20th, 2015
Chris Pratt and His Raptors in New "Jurassic World" Poster
Apr 20th, 2015
George Lucas Says Marvel May Remake "Howard the Duck"
Apr 19th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

JJ Abrams to Screen "Star Trek Into Darkness" for a Dying Fan

Posted: December 29th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
JJ Abrams to Screen "Star Trek Into Darkness" for a Dying FanSubmit Comment
A few days ago, the wife of a 41-year-old man posted a message on Reddit, asking for someone to help her husband see the first nine minutes of "Star Trek 2," which has been playing in front of "The Hobbit," before he dies a few weeks from now.

She said that her husband, Dan, was first diagnosed with leukemia, which resulted in chemo treatments for over three years. After a long-fought battle, Dan was then diagnosed with a completely different cancer that is destroying his liver.

Dan is a huge movie fan and actually helps run the New York Asian Film Festival. After getting excited about seeing the first nine minutes of "Star Trek 2," his wife put him in the car and drove him to see "The Hobbit" in IMAX. Unfortunately, that particular theater didn't show the preview.

Knowing that there's nothing else medically that can be done for her husband, she desperately asked for anyone to help Dan see the "Star Trek 2" footage.

But just one day after her plea, "Star Trek 2" director JJ Abrams himself called her, telling her that he had conversations with Paramount Pictures, and will set up a private screening for Dan either to see the first nine minutes or possibly the entire film, which won't hit theaters until May 17th, 2013.

Knowing how secretive Abrams is with his projects, it's great to see a filmmaker understand that making one dying-man happy is worth showing the film six month early.

Source: Reddit


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 7:17:26 AM

All I can say is : Live long and prosper.
bandolero999 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 7:36:21 AM

f*ck that abercrombie star trek.
Avirex writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 8:35:55 AM

Sounds like he needs a new liver more than he does a DVD screener.
pornfly writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 9:10:54 AM

What BANDO said
Just have Next Generation watch their dvds with him
pornfly writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 9:48:17 AM

Excuse me while i make Lisa Lipps my emergency contact
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 9:55:29 AM

I hope i dont die before avengers 2
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 10:04:06 AM

He can have some final disappointment before dying
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 10:17:59 AM

JJ is helluva guy for doing that.
Ranger writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 11:02:11 AM

The sick guy will record it on his cell phone and post it on the internet.

Nice of Abrams to do this.

Dumb of the wife to drive the sick guy to the wrong theater.
superman writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 11:04:15 AM

JJ Abrams is showing he has heart and that he can make an effort to give some happiness to a dying man. This is a rare thing in Hollywood. The fans are not blind to this generosity. Thank you Mr. Abrams.
Rambo writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 11:16:09 AM

well done JJ
vincere01 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 11:17:05 AM

Lucas let a man dying from cancer watch episode 1 months early as well. Tit for tat PR competition? Star wars/star trek are always dueling. I do beleive JJ has been genuine. Just sayin
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 12:18:55 PM



we are ALL dying slowly

maybe i should be sent dvd screeners
for all the oscar contenders
LES MIS
THE MASTER
DJANGO
THE COMPANY YOU KEEP
Shogo1307 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 12:34:36 PM

Vincer that man also died shortly after seeing episode 1 to lol
minkowski writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 1:15:40 PM

I wanted to say something sarcastic and snarky, but then I read the news and thought, if true, and if the husband and wife aren't looking to manipulate someone, and in this day and age you never know, then what Abrams did is pretty f*cking awesome.

Of course all this comes with the caveat that Paramount, being the bean-counters they are, may not sign off on showing the entire film. I could be wrong, but corporations, legally defined as a 'person', don't often display much heart. Regardless, you're a decent guy Abrams, lens flares and all, bud.

Anyway. 41. Hell of a young age to go from f*cking cancer. My best wishes to the family and to Dan.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 1:56:23 PM

That's honestly such a nice thing to do...
JB Abrams is sick!

I hope paramount allows this, Like.. Why wouldn't they? Lol and @Jackey- I hope I don't die before Die Hard 5! Lol
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 2:54:58 PM




at least
he is kind BEFORE they die

(bale remember he visited the victims )
minkowski writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 2:59:28 PM

"Like.. Why wouldn't they?"

Legal matters. The guy would have to sign all kinds of threatening NDAs I bet, saying he won't spoil the movie online by posting a blow-by-blow Wikipedia plot synopsis, because if he did, it could be argued he ruined the film for some potential moveigoers, et cetera.

It's about profit. Paramount's a business, not a charity after all.
minkowski writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 3:11:18 PM

Also, and even more importantly, it sets a precedent. Paramount allows Dan to see the Isnto Darkness ix months before it hits theaters, and before it's even finished, probably, and then they then feel compelled to let any other terminal patient see whatever upcoming film they want, or else they look like evil grinches.

It's kind of a lose-lose situation, and I suspect Dan and Company probably never asked to see the entire film, probably something the rather dumb news media tried to get going without thinking about the ramifications.

Yeah, I seriously doubt Dan will see the full film. I could be wrong; more unlikely sh*t has happened.
ozzie writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 3:54:27 PM

Nice, I thought this guy was alright, now I think he's a f*cking boss. The dude kicks ass at what he does, not to mention he's not a pretentious douchebag. Way to show some compassion JJ. But, mink is probably right when it comes to his rational about the suits, their not known for their random acts of kindness.
trailertrash writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 5:03:04 PM

Good stuff .......... If it happens !
Champ1432 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 5:24:47 PM

Terrible to be going at such a young age. Props to Abrams for doing what he can. Hope the guy gets to see the whole thing.
pornfly writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 5:25:13 PM

JJ and Jonah Hill should bang
swoooop writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 5:28:35 PM

Kudos JJ :) Seems like there is some humanity left inn Hollywood.
pornfly writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 5:32:46 PM

She should ask JJ for the name of a good lawyer for her husband getting misdiagnosed
Didnt kinda the same thing happen to John Ritter?
trailertrash writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 6:05:36 PM

That is true porn.

The John Ritter's family received around 10 million pounds in settlements (they wanted nearly 50 mil), But the doctors they were suing were cleared of negligent in the case.

Not sure if they are still trying pursue the case though.
Ranger writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 6:58:41 PM

Hey, I'm dying and want Charlize Theron to f*ck me.
Rambo writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 7:01:23 PM

maybe the lens flare will heal him
Rambo writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 7:03:42 PM

@ranger

and her reward will be a ranger baby?
Ranger writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 7:57:47 PM

That would be wonderful.
Rambo writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 8:03:10 PM

I now understand what project you were mentioning that is taking your time in the holidays...
Mickael writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 8:10:41 PM

Is the guy going to stay at J.J's house for 2 weeks till he dies, to be sure not to release any spoilers? What if the guy pulls through and doesn't die?
Ranger writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 10:51:06 PM

Then Paramount will hire a turd tamper to give him the bum disease.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 10:57:54 PM

^ Need to do that with Lohan.
minkowski writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 11:01:41 PM

"But, mink is probably right when it comes to his rational about the suits, their not known for their random acts of kindness."

Corporations, as a far back as Adam Smith, have never been known for much of anything except the selfish exploitation of the populace, which is why even Smith, Mr. Capitalist, feared them.

Anyway, I don't expect Paramount to give this guy anything more than a personal venue for the nine minute intro. It's what Dan wanted, it's what he asked for, initially anyway, and there's no way giving what he wants can backfire.
zxz writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 11:33:26 PM

This one actually looks pretty good. I just hope they have some good scientific explanation for using Spock to stop a volcano with his magical Vulcanism. Besides that, I think it's very cool of Abrams to do this for a dying man. He's a real mensch, and for that alone, I'm going to pay to see this when it is released next summer at the nicest possible dinner theater!
minkowski writes:
on December 30th, 2012 at 12:04:22 AM

Dan really should have chosen another film.

'Into Darkness' doesn't really bode well for him.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 30th, 2012 at 12:05:12 AM


hope this works for all of you :)

http://trekweb.com/articles/2012/12/15/9Minute-Prologue-of-Star-Trek-Into-Darkness-Leaks-om-the-Internet-Watch-it-Now-on-YouTube.shtml
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 30th, 2012 at 12:12:37 AM



watch it before it gets removed !!!!!!!

http://www.movieweb.com/news/star-trek-into-darkness-9-minute-imax-preview
minkowski writes:
on December 30th, 2012 at 12:27:23 AM

^^I'll wait for the Blu-Ray version filmed through a pinhole while playing on a 1973 Zenith black and white console television.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 30th, 2012 at 2:36:01 AM

Yea you summed that good nice mink, I still hope he does though, I'm rooting for this guy, but I understand where youre coming from, Paramount could potentially be f*cked if they say yes lol..



New Spider-Man is 15-Year-Old Peter Parker, No Origin Story

Disney Making Live-Action "Winnie the Pooh" Film

Arnold Schwarzenegger Happy He Didn't Star in "Terminator Salvation"

"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon

"Spectre" Opening Sequence is Biggest in History

"Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2" Title Revealed

"Home" and "Get Hard" Perform Well at Box Office

Jennifer Lawrence Says "X-Men: Apocalypse" is Her Last "X-Men" Film

Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Footage Coming Tomorrow
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved