WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "American Sniper," with Bradley Cooper
Dec 18th, 2014
"Fifty Shades of Grey" and "Star Wars" are Top Trailers of 2014
Dec 18th, 2014
Hugh Jackman in Talks for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "The Wolverine 2"
Dec 18th, 2014
Peter Jackson Wants to Make More Tolkien Movies
Dec 18th, 2014
Theaters Refusing to Show "The Interview," Sony Cancels Premiere, Press and Release
Dec 17th, 2014
Chris Pratt and a Dinosaur in New "Jurassic World" Photo
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Doesn't Like Marvel Films, Says Superheroes Should Be Happier
Dec 17th, 2014
Orlando Bloom Says "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" is a Reboot
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Will Direct "Beetlejuice 2," Confirms Winona Ryder Will Return
Dec 17th, 2014
Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy Unveils Pac-Man and Donkey Kong Posters
Dec 17th, 2014
New Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Dec 17th, 2014
First Look at "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 16th, 2014
Quentin Tarantino Interested in "Django Unchained" and "Zorro" Crossover Film
Dec 16th, 2014
Lots of "Ghostbusters 3" Story Details Leaked
Dec 16th, 2014
Trailer for Terrence Malick's "Knight of Cups," with Christian Bale and Natalie Portman
Dec 16th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel Gets New Title and Release Date, JK Simmons Joins Cast
Dec 16th, 2014
Five Actresses in Talks for "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" Role
Dec 16th, 2014
20th Century Fox Planning to Merge "Fantastic Four" With "X-Men"
Dec 15th, 2014
"Aquaman" Film Considering "Mud" Director Jeff Nichols
Dec 15th, 2014
Tim Burton Says "Beetlejuice 2" is Closer Than Ever
Dec 15th, 2014
First Look at Batman's Suit From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" in Color
Dec 15th, 2014
Jeremy Irons Says Alfred in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" is Very Different
Dec 15th, 2014
"Exodus: Gods and Kings" Underperforms at Box Office
Dec 15th, 2014
Disney Still Planning to Make "Indiana Jones 5"
Dec 14th, 2014
Trailer for Fake Movie "MoonQuake Lake," with Ashton Kutcher and Mila Kunis
Dec 14th, 2014
Concept Art From Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Dec 14th, 2014
First Teaser for "Descendants," About Children of Maleficent, Jafar, Cruella and Other Disney Villains
Dec 14th, 2014
Marvel Would Have Recast Spider-Man in "Captain America: Civil War"
Dec 13th, 2014
Sony Asking Sam Raimi and "Captain America 2" Directors For Help With "Spider-Man" Franchise
Dec 13th, 2014
James Gunn Says "Guardians of the Galaxy" and "Avengers" Will NOT Team Up
Dec 13th, 2014
"Ghostbusters 3" Actresses Shortlist Revealed, Sony Planned to Sue Bill Murray
Dec 13th, 2014
Animated "Super Mario Bros" Movie Coming
Dec 13th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Christopher Nolan Says "Man of Steel" Was More Difficult Than "The Dark Knight"

Posted: December 29th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Christopher Nolan Says "Man of Steel" Was More Difficult Than "The Dark Knight"Submit Comment
In an interview with the Hollywood Reporter, Christopher Nolan revealed that making "Man of Steel" has been tougher than making "The Dark Knight" trilogy, which is why he's glad he was only producing and was able to leave all the difficult stuff to director Zack Snyder.

"Taking on Superman and creating that world is far more difficult than creating the world of the Dark Knight," he explained. "[Snyder] has a lot of finishing to do on the movie -- it has a very long post-production schedule because, unlike Batman, Superman flies."

Nolan continued: "Zack was the perfect man to take this on. He is unbelievably skilled at creating a coherent, cohesive world -- whether it's a very stylized world, like '300,' or something that's more challenging, more varied, like he did with 'Watchmen.' I try to be as supportive as I can, and I'm just amazed by what he is doing."

Click here to read more about "Man of Steel."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 7:30:36 AM

"Christopher Nolan revealed that making "Man of Steel" has been tougher than making "The Dark Knight" trilogy, which is why he's glad he was only producing and was able to leave all the difficult stuff to director Zack Snyder"

So, Nolan is a sissy afterall.
bandolero999 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 7:33:42 AM

I had a difficult time watching sucker punch.I need some head from hudgens after that
Avirex writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 8:54:18 AM

^^I need head from Hudgens all the time.
bandolero999 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 9:12:30 AM

Who wouldnt?
Avirex writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 9:22:47 AM

Bryan Singer
pornfly writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 9:43:28 AM

I just hope that it wont be as difficult to watch as TDK/TDKR
supaflywill writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 10:04:47 AM

i have big hopes on this movie .....please do it right .....
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 10:25:59 AM

I hope it isn't a borefest like TDKR.

Hudgens needs to come sh*t in my mouth now!!
Fightclub1 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 10:53:44 AM

My hopes are very high for this
Ranger writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 11:03:47 AM

Same. Looking forward to this.
30YoVirgin writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 12:04:49 PM

i don't care about the haters, but Watchmen was amazing IMO.
matternm58 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 12:10:44 PM

Huge Superman fan. I just think the suit looks weird the way they have it. Everything looks okay but there is no belt so it looks like something is missing, and I'm gonna miss John Williams theme.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 12:26:27 PM

@ bandolero999

@ BadChadB33

http://vakeomusic.com/web/2012/08/22/vanessa-hudgens-stripping-dance-the-frozen-ground-movie-trailer/#
matternm58 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 12:37:26 PM

I want to see the new 52 Superman suit in movies. Mostly I just love the mandarin collar. For those that don't keep up with comics. Here's what the new suit looks like. There are better drawings in the comics but this is the best one I could find on google. This one is from the New 52 Justice League. http://www.professorbeej.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/New-52-Justice-League-Superman.png
Patrick Bateman writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 1:23:38 PM

watchmen was a good effort I really liked it but sucker punch is one of the worst films I have seen in a long while. The trailer for this looks promising though but I will never believe in a trailer for the rest of my life after prometheus, that trailer made the movie look so f*cking good what a let down
minkowski writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 1:37:27 PM

Translation: Man of Steel has lots of CGI versus TDK's practical shots, lots of fantasy versus Nolan's brand of organic and comparatively easier realism.

Or in other words, Nolal had it easier because his comic book movies were about working smarter, not harder.

Having said that, Man of Steel should at least be better than Superman Returns, and that's where I'm parking my expectations.
FBO writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 2:02:39 PM

I think they should get rid of the cape. I know, it's all about the romanticism of times that are long gone, but lets be honest the cape is useless.
minkowski writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 2:14:51 PM

The cape hides his gay latex-stretching ass.

Keep the cape.
matternm58 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 2:24:49 PM

Capes were more like flags that people would wear to either represent where they came or for stylish purposes back in Medieval Europe.
minkowski writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 3:33:57 PM

What a great question! Why don't people ask good questions like this more often?

There's some interesting history behind Superman's cape. He always had it; from the first time he was introduced, in 1938.

The first explanation for Superman's indestructible cape (and his entire costume) was that they were made of indestructible material from Krypton. It was not his cape that he was wrapped in for the voyage to Earth, but his baby blankets! which Ma Kent unraveled (they were knitted or crocheted) and re-knit or re-crocheted the fiber into the costume.

As Superboy grew to Superman the fabric stretched (because he wore it ALL the TIME under his other clothes, and presumably the same thing would happen to Supergirl as she grew from a preteen to a woman. But I digress.)

The PURPOSE of the cape was to have a pocket (which he otherwise doesn't have in his costume.)

[Can you envision a scene where someone said, "Hey Superman, you have to PAY for that window you broke with your sonic boom, flying at super speed!" "Gee, sorry," Superman replied. "I don't have any cash on me right now, could I mail you a check...?"]

He also carried his Clark Kent clothes in there. (Even Spider Man was shown carrying his Peter Parker outfit along, in a little webbing-knapsack, for goodness' sake! Where'd you think he got the idea...?) The Kent suit was chemically treated to be resistant to friction heat, so Supes could fly around without burning his clothes to ashes.

[Also, a little known fact, when young Clark started using glasses to protect his secret ID, and used his heat vision for the first time with them on, the glass melted! He had to find a couple rounded pieces of super-plexiglass from the broken window of his rocket, to make into a pair of glasses that he could use his super vision through! Actually, the heat vision is problematical. When Superman was first introduced, he didn't have it. He just had good, sharp vision. Then, he sort of 'graduated' to being able to see things that were hidden, and this became x-ray vision. Then, some dumb writer got it mixed up and thought that he was projecting beams from his eyes and seeing the reflection, akin to radar, rather than just seeing through things by means of background radiation, or something like that. So, the next writer had Superman use "the heat OF his x-ray vision" to burn or melt things. And that developed into a laser-like projection of energy that Superman could use as a ranged-attack capability. So, you see how he kept on getting more and more powerful, and why it was necessary to cut him down to size!]

At the time of Crisis on Infinite Earths (The DC 'reboot' of the universe, for Superman's 50th anniversary and to straighten out all that messed-up continuity), it was established that the costume was made of ordinary Earth fabric. Superman had a sort of 'force field'-- it was never called that, but Ma Kent mentioned that she noticed that clothes next to his skin never got dirty or torn.

The cape was a different matter, however. It wasn't in contact with his skin and wasn't covered by the force field. For the first year or two after his reintroduction, the cape kept getting torn, burned, shredded, etc. Clark had to have a whole row of them in his closet!

(He probably had to call his mother and say "Gee, sorry Ma, but I just had another fight with Bizarro, and I'm all out of capes! Can I stop by for the weekend?" And his mother would say, "Oh, Son, why do you have to keep getting into fights with other boys...? Why can't you behave decently, the way your father and I raised you...?")

Eventually there came a time when Firestorm the Nuclear man used his atomic restructuring powers to make Superman's costume indestructible. I guess the readers howled so much that they had to bring it back. Or it was causing continuity errors of its own: (Hey, Superman tore his costume in the last issue and didn't have time to repair it, now he's on TV at the White House and his costume is in one piece! What gives?)

Anyhow, I don't know if they changed the costume again since then. I hope this answers your question.

There are one or two other matters that you should know. There was a story done in honor of Siegel and Schuster, who created Superman. In the story, aliens wiped out the concept of heroism from the human species in the past. Thus, in the present, there were no heros, and nobody to resist their invasion.

But two teenagers, who wanted to dream of characters for a story, came up with a guy who could protect them from the bad guys. They put a costume on him that would show his muscles. They put an S on his chest to show that he was Strong. They put boots on him, to protect his feet when he ran fast. And they wanted him to fly. They decided that wings would look silly, so they put a cape on him-- "...to catch the wind!"

And they believed in Superman so strongly, that it overcame the effects of the aliens' hypnosis, and Superman reappeared to save the day.

While this was a great story, there have been some kids throughout the years that thought Superman was able to fly because he was wearing a cape, even as someone answered this question. And, sadly, through the years, there have been kids who put on capes and jumped from high places, expecting to fly, and died as a result.

So, protect the little kids you know who read comics. Warn them that only Superman can fly.
ozzie writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 4:01:55 PM

Nolan is pretty technical when it comes to his work, while snyder is a product of the digital age. I'm still on the fence about this one, but I got to admit that the trailer was pretty cool, the end when he says something about the world not being ready, made me think 'maybe snyder won't d*ck this up'.
ozzie writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 4:05:30 PM

Impressive mink, you know your sh*t dude.
pornfly writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 5:17:31 PM

Nice bit about his glasses MINK
SACdaddy writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 6:21:24 PM

TMI Mink :-)
SACdaddy writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 6:25:06 PM

Mark my words, this movie will be the sh*t. Snyder's eye and Nolan's technical support and quality control should be a great mix. Can't wait.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 30th, 2012 at 12:09:37 AM



i bet
the first 6 minutes of MAN OF STEEL will be leaked same as TDKR


http://www.movieweb.com/news/star-trek-into-darkness-9-minute-imax-preview

Shia LaBeouf Says He Was Raped During His #IAmSorry Stunt

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

TIME Magazine's Top 10 Best and Worst Films of 2014

It's Official: Jared Leto is The Joker and Will Smith is Deadshot in "Suicide Squad"

Christian Bale Says He'll Never Work With "Terminator Salvation" Director Again

Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"

Marvel Would Have Recast Spider-Man in "Captain America: Civil War"

"Demolition Man" Writer Explains How He Came Up with The Three Seashells

"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Still Rules Box Office, "The Pyramid" Bombed

Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved