WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!
Oct 22nd, 2014
"John Carter" Reboot in the Works, Disney Not Involved
Oct 22nd, 2014
James Wan to Direct "The Conjuring 2," May Direct DC Superhero Film
Oct 22nd, 2014
Ghostface Will NOT Appear in "Scream" TV Series
Oct 22nd, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Oct 22nd, 2014
Adam McKay Plans to Make "Step Brothers 2" in a Few Years
Oct 22nd, 2014
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Jena Malone is Female Robin in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Oct 18th, 2014
Marvel in Talks with Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in "Doctor Strange"
Oct 18th, 2014
Channing Tatum Not Sure We Need "23 Jump Street"
Oct 18th, 2014
Poster For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Oct 18th, 2014
Photos: Nicolas Cage Protesting Against His "Dying of the Light" Movie
Oct 17th, 2014
James Cameron Discusses Getting "Terminator" Rights Back in 2019
Oct 17th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro Says "Pacific Rim 2" Sets Up "Pacific Rim 3"
Oct 17th, 2014
New Trailer For Angelina Jolie's "Unbroken" World War II Drama
Oct 17th, 2014
Scarlett Johansson Offered $10 Million to Star in "Ghost in the Shell"
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer For Chris Rock's "Top Five" Comedy
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer: Chris Hemsworth Fights a Whale in Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea"
Oct 16th, 2014
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in Ron Howard's "Heart of the Sea" Survival Film
Oct 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Would You Pay $15 to Text During a Movie?

Posted: December 29th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Would You Pay $15 to Text During a Movie?Submit Comment
One of the biggest distractions while watching a film at a movie theater is when someone in the audience takes out their cell phone to text. But during CinemaCon, many theater owners expressed interest in allowing movie-goers use their phones.

Now comes word that the Guthrie Theater in St. Paul, Minnesota has allocated several seats, called "Tweet Seats," for anyone who wants to use the phone for texting during a movie. The theater says that the seats are in a section that doesn't disrupt other patrons.

The seats will be available for Thursday showings of "The Servant of Two Masters," and will cost $15 per seat, which is more than the normal ticket price. The Guthrie Theater says since the movie is so humorous, "tweeting should be a great way to talk about it."

Question: Would you pay $15 for a movie ticket that would allow you to text?

Source: Guthrie Theater


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 39 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 9:38:56 PM

Would you pay $15 for a movie ticket that would allow you to text?


HELL NO !
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 9:59:46 PM

I would pay to beat people texting with my ushers' flashlight
really
Kurskij writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 10:42:18 PM

It's a play, not a movie, Alex. It's a theatre, not a cinema.

Texting from a cinema might be OK under these conditions, but texting during a play is definitely not.

Also people who text or speak on their phones during showings can suck cack or a rabid midget camel, speaking in scientific terms.

OneTime writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 10:54:35 PM

lol

ive yelled at people and made huge scenes in theaters cause of this..same goes for talking..and chatting..

would u pay 20 bucks to sit in a booth so u can chat with ur friend?
sedibus writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 10:56:07 PM

I always turn off my cellphone when I go to cinema. Oh, man, I don't have a cellphone, but when I used to have one, I guess.

But, really, it's very a f*cked up moment when anyone is speaking using that ear dildo while a movie is playing.
minkowski writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 11:14:10 PM

"The seats will be available for Thursday showings of "The Servant of Two Masters,"

How appropriate a film for people caught between the one god of their cellphone and the other god of their pop-cultural entertainment.



"Would you pay $15 for a movie ticket that would allow you to text?"

No, but I would pay fifteen dollars to punch them in the back of the neck, movie or no movie.
Atemisk writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 11:16:46 PM

Here are the real questions and their answers:

Will they pay it? No

Will they still do it? Yes
Cannon writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 11:51:18 PM


I don't even own a cell phone (or any equivalent of) and I've never texted anyone in my entire life. No, I'm not kidding.

pornfly writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 12:00:27 AM

^good
We need you to save your energy for more Ahnold posts
minkowski writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 12:03:52 AM

"I don't even own a cell phone (or any equivalent of) and I've never texted anyone in my entire life. No, I'm not kidding."

I've never done drugs and I don't drink or smoke and I'm damned proud. How many people can say that?
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 12:05:25 AM

Close your phone and watch the movie you big fags...
Fightclub1 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 12:24:05 AM

No
pornfly writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 12:35:21 AM

St. Paul, Minnesota?
Let'em text
There'll be nobody else around to complain
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 12:50:13 AM

Ha!!
FBO writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 1:11:15 AM

Me, I can say that. I've never drank, smoked or done any unprescribed drugs.

As for the texting in a movie thing, just do whole showings like that. Charge $20 a ticket and use the profits to subsidize courteous moviegoers' tickets. And then kick people out on their asses if they brake the rule.
pornfly writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 1:27:21 AM

R I P
Harrey Carey Jr
Venom1970 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 2:17:46 AM

When I goto a cinema I turn my phone onto aeroplane mode. This keeps functions on but disconnects from server. If I am seeing a film I want to see it, not watch my f*cking phone.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 2:21:21 AM

Just like late shows that are for over 18 only, soon they will have certain show times to allow this.

So they will all be in their own screen and no harm no foul.

But to answer the question...no I wouldn't pay it, I have gone to the cinema out of choice to see a film and I will wait until after the film or even the next day to notify anyone about what I thought of said film.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 2:30:25 AM

And if for some reason I do need to use my phone during a movie, I just turn down my brightness so it doesn't bOther people
Ranger writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 3:27:36 AM

@Tanman - not to comment with/against your comment specifically. I've been watching movies in theaters for DECADES, and not once have 'I had to receive a text/email during a movie. Were I to suspect such an important incoming message, I'd either receive it after turning my phone back on AFTER the movie or NOT go to the movie.
trailertrash writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 3:27:55 AM

porn -

He did tell Billy NOT to feed Gizmo after midnight !!

RIP
trailertrash writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 3:45:19 AM

Would you pay $15 for a movie ticket that would allow you to text?

I would rather pay $15 for a ticket where you can't even bring a mobile into the cinema.
pornfly writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 3:45:41 AM

TRAILER
he tried to tell the same thing to Curly Bill
Did he die in Gremlins?
I think he did,i've seen in theatres and so many times but its been so long
TV always show Gremlins2,i'm sick of it already
trailertrash writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 3:52:38 AM

Ranger

I'm with you there mate !

I run a business and i need my phone 24/7, But i walk into a cinema that phone goes off and i will turn it on again when i get outside as i did just yesterday when we watched Parental Guidance (which wasn't bad).

There is no excuse for Texting,Tweeting or what ever while people are trying to watch a film, It's just plain rude,Keep that sh*t for when you're watching a film indoors !
trailertrash writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 4:06:10 AM

porn -

I had to check IMDB, He was the old neighbour i my mind i thought he was the guy that gave Billy Gizmo DUH !! I so need to watch that movie again haven't seen it in years !!
pornfly writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 4:23:49 AM

goodwon TT
Well hey there Billys pappy!
I reckon you came here fixin to buy one of these here Mogwais?
Hoooowee!
COME AWN FLASH, lets get dem damn Duke boys
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 5:18:08 AM




NO but i would pay 150
to have a bullet proof vest next time i go to the cinema
trailertrash writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 6:23:44 AM

porn -

Well baste my boobs and call me a turkey!

;Daisy Duke 1982

http://media.ebaumsworld.com/picture/OTT70ER/DaisyDukeShorts.png
pornfly writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 9:31:46 AM

http://rightinthemustache.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/11/Isaac-Washington.jpg
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 9:53:15 AM

I het wen peepole text dering da movie!
vincere01 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 11:07:16 AM

That better come with free popcorn and drink. Otherwise the young whippersnappers will just buy standadd tickets and keep texting just as they are now.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 2:04:06 PM

Don't get me wrong, I agree with you guys, I just never turn my phone off, I don't text or tweet DURING the movie, But I always turn my brightness down on my iPhone do that if I do happen to get a call or text, I can CHECK it to see whose looking for me or trying to contact me lol, I don't answer :P

Anyways, I know Ranger lol
trailertrash writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 4:45:13 PM

porn - lol
SoftimusPrime writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 6:28:11 PM

I'm not a d*ckhead who disturbs the viewing pleasure of others.

'the movie is so humorous, "tweeting should be a great way to talk about it."'

Can't people REALLY give their social lives a rest even for two f*cking hours?! What can possibly be going on for them to be texting about every f*cking thing?? Watch the movie and discuss LATER you morons.
Ranger writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 7:02:08 PM

Thx. Tanman (for taking my comment(s) in the light in which they are intended).
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 30th, 2012 at 2:39:52 AM

Softomis-

But I'll miss what's trending on twitter!!! :O
afterkwiss writes:
on December 30th, 2012 at 11:36:16 AM

Let's rewrite the question: Would you pay $27 to watch half a movie? If so, has anyone told you you are a moron?
Kayacity writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 1:05:13 PM

Texting is wrong...texting is texting.
koul writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 2:40:15 PM

first of all, who the f*ck would pay that much to text in a movie theater, its a place to watch a movie you dumbass c*cksucking motherf*ckers! any texters should just jump off a f*cking bridge for all i care, if you payed that much then you kill yourself douches

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved