WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Two Posters for "Avengers: Age of Ultron" are Here!
Jul 24th, 2014
First Poster for Marvel's "Ant-Man" is Here!
Jul 24th, 2014
Photos: Batman's Suit From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" On Display at Comic-Con
Jul 24th, 2014
Marvel Takes Old "The Amazing Spider-Man 4" Date, Likely for "Avengers 3"
Jul 24th, 2014
"Hitman: Agent 47" Unveils Comic-Con Banner
Jul 24th, 2014
New Trailer for Pierce Brosnan's "The November Man" Thriller
Jul 24th, 2014
Sony Announces Release Plan for "The Amazing Spider-Man 3" and "Sinister Six"
Jul 24th, 2014
Poster for "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies" Arrives Online
Jul 24th, 2014
"Pirates of the Caribbean 5" and "Sinister 2" Unveil Release Dates
Jul 24th, 2014
Trailer for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Nightcrawler" Thriller
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Mad Max: Fury Road" Unveils First Poster
Jul 23rd, 2014
Marvel Says Real Mandarin and Red Skull May Soon Make an Appearance
Jul 23rd, 2014
Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"
Jul 23rd, 2014
Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Miss Julie," with Colin Farrell and Jessica Chastain
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Predators" Writer to Turn "Deus Ex" Video Game Into a Movie
Jul 23rd, 2014
New Banner for Brad Pitt's "Fury" War Film
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Space Station 76" Sci-Fi Spoof, with Patrick Wilson and Liv Tyler
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Insidious: Chapter 3" is Now Filming, First Photo Revealed
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Cybernatural" Horror Film, From Timur Bekmambetov
Jul 23rd, 2014
Will Ferrell and Adam McKay Reteam for "Manimal" Action Comedy
Jul 22nd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Unveils 5 Minute Clip
Jul 22nd, 2014
Marvel Will Release One Sequel and One New Franchise Each Year
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "The Imitation Game," with Benedict Cumberbatch and Keira Knightley
Jul 22nd, 2014
Poster for "Toy Story" Special "Toy Story That Time Forgot"
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for Rooney Mara's "Trash" Thriller
Jul 22nd, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Hints He's Set to Play Shazam Superhero
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Predestination" Time-Travel Thriller
Jul 22nd, 2014
Comic-Con Poster for "Jurassic World" Arrives Online
Jul 21st, 2014
"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" Remains on Top at Box Office, "Sex Tape" Bombs
Jul 21st, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Says Hercules Would Beat Superman in a Fight
Jul 21st, 2014
First Teaser Trailer for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Nightcrawler"
Jul 21st, 2014
"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21
Jul 21st, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Producer Explains Why Nintendo's "Metroid" Movie Fell Apart

Posted: December 28th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Producer Explains Why NintendoSubmit Comment
Back in 2004, it was announced that John Woo (Face/Off) had signed on to direct "Metroid" movie, based on the popular Nintendo video game. The project fell part in 2007, and now producer Brad Foxhoven explained what happened.

"We believed there was a great opportunity for John Woo to bring his style of action into a 'Metroid film.' Nintendo was quite supportive of the idea," he said. "We knew that a lot of the Metroid mythology had many similarities to other well-known sci-fi franchises, so we had to try and propose some fresh ideas that Nintendo would approve. [Character] designs [also] needed to be updated, particularly when seen as a live-action representation."

Foxhoven went on to say that after the failure of the 1993 "Super Mario Bros," Nintendo limited collaboration and attempted to have more control over the creative process, which ultimately killed the project. "Our entire development time was spent exploring the Metroid world, and what we could - and couldn't - do within it."

David Greenwalt ("Buffy the Vampire Slayer") was one of the many writers brought on to work on the movie, which would have been an origin story focusing on the game's hero, Samus Aran, and her life before the events in the video game. Nintendo didn't like the idea.

"Things started to go south when we tried to dig into the character a bit more," Greenwalt explained. "Any film needs a deeper story than what is told in the game. What are [the characters] doing when they are NOT fighting? What is their daily existence and relationships? What are Samus's aspirations, history, and fears? Nintendo appreciated the questions, but had never thought about them before, and ultimately didn't have a lot of answers. In the end, they felt uncomfortable with our team being the ones to propose those answers."

Source: IGN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 10:09:48 PM

Their butthole was still raw from the spanish and british italian plumber movie
I knew it
Smart move Daniel son
Donyae 420 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 10:48:53 PM

Lol pornfly
sedibus writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 10:51:02 PM

I remember playing the Metroid Zero Mission game many times even after I finished it for GB Advance.

I don't give a sh*t about this crap.
Kennyfarthing writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 10:56:32 PM

"Which would have been an origin story focusing on the game's hero, Samus Aran, and her life before the events in the video game. "

Ugh, sounds like it would have been utter sh*t.

Good thing it was killed off.
Avirex writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 11:12:36 PM

For once Nintendo actually made the right decision.
minkowski writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 11:30:37 PM

The Japanese have never been all that great at theatrically commercializing their games, and Nintendo is one of the most...conservative game companies in Japan. Doesn't surprise me they had no idea how to move beyond the games.
Avirex writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 11:35:13 PM

Probably would have starred Milla Jovovich with Paul Walker as the love interest. Directed by Paul W. S. Anderson.

No thanks.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 12:55:04 AM

What about The Legend of Zelda movie?
Kennyfarthing writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 9:54:44 PM

"The Japanese have never been all that great at theatrically commercializing their games, and Nintendo is one of the most...conservative game companies in Japan. Doesn't surprise me they had no idea how to move beyond the games."

You say this like western game companies have had success in turning their game properties into legitimately good movies. I honestly can't think on any.
minkowski writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 10:55:12 PM

^^Yes, but at least Western gaming companies have been open to developing their properties for theater, whereas when asked how to do a Metroid movie, the old men at Nintendo could only do a collective durrrrr.

Halo failed because of lack of funding. The budgetary demands were more than Universal wanted to pay. I think it was Universal...

You also forget that many "Western" game movies are in fact based on Eastern properties. Final Fantasy is from Square Enix, Street Fighter and Resident Evil are from Capcom, I believe.

Yes, we can all name Doom, but that was almost deliberately ill-conceived from the start.

Nevertheless, you're confusing the studios who make the movies and approve the scripts with the game companies, and the matter at hand is Nintendo specifically, a game company, and one that's hasn't effectively caught up with the modern world, either with respect to cinema, or even video games.
Johnnyb writes:
on December 30th, 2012 at 2:01:30 PM

Once again Hollywood f*cker, thanks for ruining a great opportunity with your stupid origins and deep inside stories ideas, which could have being a great scifi film!
Kennyfarthing writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 11:18:42 PM

Ehh i didn't forget "weatern" movies like RE or Final Fantasy, I just didn't mention them, but made it out that it was only western companies outsourcing their game licences to make movies, so thank for disproving you original comment I guess.

Also as for nintendo not catching up with the modern world well i'm not sure what you basing that on if it's to do selling out their licences well I disagree with that,sometimes it fits with properties like pokemon for instance, others it can be potentially damaging to the brand they have to be carful how their stuff is handled it is their bread and butter afterall.

Besides it's not like they HAVE to make films.
koul writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 2:38:31 PM

holy sh*t! totally forgot about the metroid movie, i remember them saying they will make it a very long time ago, now they just recently release some news?

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Lindsay Lohan Sues "Grand Theft Auto V" for Using Her Likeness

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

Mark Ruffalo Says New "Hulk" Film Will NOT Be "Planet Hulk"

Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved