WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr
May 21st, 2015
"Independence Day 2" Takes Place 15 Years Later, Same Aliens Return
May 21st, 2015
"Transformers" Sequels and Spin-Offs Get Impressive Writing Team
May 21st, 2015
Trailer for Elijah Wood's "Cooties" Horror Comedy
May 21st, 2015
"The Divergent Series: Allegiant" is Now Filming
May 21st, 2015
Heath Ledger Was Set to Star in "Mad Max: Fury Road"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
May 20th, 2015
Tom Cruise's "Jack Reacher 2" Hires "The Last Samurai" Director
May 20th, 2015
New Trailer for Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy
May 20th, 2015
The Joker is Insane in New "Suicide Squad" Set Photos
May 19th, 2015
First Look at Orgrim From "Warcraft" Film
May 19th, 2015
George Miller Unveils Title of "Mad Max: Fury Road" Sequel
May 19th, 2015
First Look at Mark Wahlberg in "Deepwater Horizon" Oil Disaster Film
May 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Hugh Jackman's "Peter Pan" Prequel
May 19th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson Confirms Return for "Fast and Furious 8" and Spin-Off Talks
May 18th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Steve Jobs" Biopic is Here!
May 18th, 2015
"Pitch Perfect 2" Dominates at Box Office, Easily Beats "Mad Max: Fury Road"
May 18th, 2015
Matthew McConaughey Considering Marvel and DC Superhero Films
May 17th, 2015
"Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos Show Crossbones, The Falcon and Scarlet Witch
May 16th, 2015
Disney Planning "Star Wars" and Marvel TV Channels
May 16th, 2015
Kate Beckinsale Confirmed for "Underworld 5," to Begin Shooting in October
May 15th, 2015
Jackie Chan and Owen Wilson to Return for "Shanghai Dawn"
May 15th, 2015
New Trailer for "Minions" Arrives Online
May 15th, 2015
Trailer for HBO's "True Detective" Season 2, with Colin Farrell and Vince Vaughn
May 15th, 2015
Trailer for DC's "Legends of Tomorrow" Comic Book TV Series
May 15th, 2015
Posters for "American Ultra" Action Comedy, with Jesse Eisenberg and Kristen Stewart
May 15th, 2015
Six Minute Trailer for "Supergirl" TV Series
May 14th, 2015
Trailer for "The Intern" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Anne Hathaway
May 14th, 2015
"X-Men" Spin-Off Announced, Called "The New Mutants"
May 14th, 2015
New Trailer for Guillermo Del Toro's "Crimson Peak" Horror Film
May 14th, 2015
Trailer: Bradley Cooper is Back in "Limitless" TV Series
May 14th, 2015
"The Craft" Remake in the Works
May 14th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Producer Explains Why Nintendo's "Metroid" Movie Fell Apart

Posted: December 28th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Producer Explains Why NintendoSubmit Comment
Back in 2004, it was announced that John Woo (Face/Off) had signed on to direct "Metroid" movie, based on the popular Nintendo video game. The project fell part in 2007, and now producer Brad Foxhoven explained what happened.

"We believed there was a great opportunity for John Woo to bring his style of action into a 'Metroid film.' Nintendo was quite supportive of the idea," he said. "We knew that a lot of the Metroid mythology had many similarities to other well-known sci-fi franchises, so we had to try and propose some fresh ideas that Nintendo would approve. [Character] designs [also] needed to be updated, particularly when seen as a live-action representation."

Foxhoven went on to say that after the failure of the 1993 "Super Mario Bros," Nintendo limited collaboration and attempted to have more control over the creative process, which ultimately killed the project. "Our entire development time was spent exploring the Metroid world, and what we could - and couldn't - do within it."

David Greenwalt ("Buffy the Vampire Slayer") was one of the many writers brought on to work on the movie, which would have been an origin story focusing on the game's hero, Samus Aran, and her life before the events in the video game. Nintendo didn't like the idea.

"Things started to go south when we tried to dig into the character a bit more," Greenwalt explained. "Any film needs a deeper story than what is told in the game. What are [the characters] doing when they are NOT fighting? What is their daily existence and relationships? What are Samus's aspirations, history, and fears? Nintendo appreciated the questions, but had never thought about them before, and ultimately didn't have a lot of answers. In the end, they felt uncomfortable with our team being the ones to propose those answers."

Source: IGN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 10:09:48 PM

Their butthole was still raw from the spanish and british italian plumber movie
I knew it
Smart move Daniel son
Donyae 420 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 10:48:53 PM

Lol pornfly
sedibus writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 10:51:02 PM

I remember playing the Metroid Zero Mission game many times even after I finished it for GB Advance.

I don't give a sh*t about this crap.
Kennyfarthing writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 10:56:32 PM

"Which would have been an origin story focusing on the game's hero, Samus Aran, and her life before the events in the video game. "

Ugh, sounds like it would have been utter sh*t.

Good thing it was killed off.
Avirex writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 11:12:36 PM

For once Nintendo actually made the right decision.
minkowski writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 11:30:37 PM

The Japanese have never been all that great at theatrically commercializing their games, and Nintendo is one of the most...conservative game companies in Japan. Doesn't surprise me they had no idea how to move beyond the games.
Avirex writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 11:35:13 PM

Probably would have starred Milla Jovovich with Paul Walker as the love interest. Directed by Paul W. S. Anderson.

No thanks.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 12:55:04 AM

What about The Legend of Zelda movie?
Kennyfarthing writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 9:54:44 PM

"The Japanese have never been all that great at theatrically commercializing their games, and Nintendo is one of the most...conservative game companies in Japan. Doesn't surprise me they had no idea how to move beyond the games."

You say this like western game companies have had success in turning their game properties into legitimately good movies. I honestly can't think on any.
minkowski writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 10:55:12 PM

^^Yes, but at least Western gaming companies have been open to developing their properties for theater, whereas when asked how to do a Metroid movie, the old men at Nintendo could only do a collective durrrrr.

Halo failed because of lack of funding. The budgetary demands were more than Universal wanted to pay. I think it was Universal...

You also forget that many "Western" game movies are in fact based on Eastern properties. Final Fantasy is from Square Enix, Street Fighter and Resident Evil are from Capcom, I believe.

Yes, we can all name Doom, but that was almost deliberately ill-conceived from the start.

Nevertheless, you're confusing the studios who make the movies and approve the scripts with the game companies, and the matter at hand is Nintendo specifically, a game company, and one that's hasn't effectively caught up with the modern world, either with respect to cinema, or even video games.
Johnnyb writes:
on December 30th, 2012 at 2:01:30 PM

Once again Hollywood f*cker, thanks for ruining a great opportunity with your stupid origins and deep inside stories ideas, which could have being a great scifi film!
Kennyfarthing writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 11:18:42 PM

Ehh i didn't forget "weatern" movies like RE or Final Fantasy, I just didn't mention them, but made it out that it was only western companies outsourcing their game licences to make movies, so thank for disproving you original comment I guess.

Also as for nintendo not catching up with the modern world well i'm not sure what you basing that on if it's to do selling out their licences well I disagree with that,sometimes it fits with properties like pokemon for instance, others it can be potentially damaging to the brand they have to be carful how their stuff is handled it is their bread and butter afterall.

Besides it's not like they HAVE to make films.
koul writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 2:38:31 PM

holy sh*t! totally forgot about the metroid movie, i remember them saying they will make it a very long time ago, now they just recently release some news?

Reed Richards Doesn't Stretch in "Fantastic Four" Reboot

"Jurassic World" to Ignore Last Two Films, to Bring Back T-Rex

Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot

Hugh Jackman and Channing Tatum to Appear in "X-Men: Apocalypse"?

"Fantastic Four" Director Fired From "Star Wars" Spin-Off

Why Wasn't Loki in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"?

Josh Hartnett Regrets Turning Down Batman Role in "Batman Begins"

Hugh Jackman Confirms "Wolverine 3" is His Last Time as Wolverine

Chris Evans Says Captain America is Probably a Virgin

Will Poulter is Pennywise in Stephen King's "It" Remake
xobd2.co.uk
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved