WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Furious 7" Continues to Dominate at Box Office, "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Released Overseas
Apr 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Descendants," About Children of Disney Villains
Apr 27th, 2015
Reed Richards Doesn't Stretch in "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Apr 26th, 2015
New Footage in Extended "Terminator Genisys" TV Spot
Apr 26th, 2015
"Green Lantern" Writer Hired for "Wolverine 3"
Apr 26th, 2015
First Look at Jared Leto as The Joker from "Suicide Squad"!
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for M. Night Shyamalan's "The Visit" Thriller
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for "Area 51" Horror Film, From Director of "Paranormal Activity"
Apr 25th, 2015
First Look at Jamie Dornan in "Fifty Shades of Grey" Sequel
Apr 25th, 2015
Creepy Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass"
Apr 25th, 2015
First Look at Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy in "Victor Frankenstein"
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for "Barely Lethal" Action Comedy, with Hailee Steinfeld and Jessica Alba
Apr 25th, 2015
Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot
Apr 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Point Break" Remake
Apr 23rd, 2015
EL James' Husband to Write "Fifty Shades of Grey" Sequel
Apr 23rd, 2015
"21 Jump Street" Directors to Helm Animated "Spider-Man" Movie
Apr 23rd, 2015
Photo: Johnny Depp is Crime Boss Whitey Bulger in "Black Mass"
Apr 23rd, 2015
First Look at Johnny Depp in "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"
Apr 22nd, 2015
New Trailer for George Clooney's "Tomorrowland" Sci-Fi Film
Apr 22nd, 2015
First Poster for M. Night Shyamalan's "The Visit" Thriller
Apr 22nd, 2015
Poster for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Southpaw" Boxing Film
Apr 22nd, 2015
New "Jurassic World" Trailer is Here!
Apr 21st, 2015
First Look at Jared Leto as The Joker From "Suicide Squad"?
Apr 21st, 2015
Photos: Marvel Putting Up Tiny "Ant-Man" Billboards
Apr 21st, 2015
"Transformers 5" Coming in 2017
Apr 21st, 2015
Photo: Full Batman Costume From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed
Apr 21st, 2015
Full "Fantastic Four" Trailer is Here!
Apr 20th, 2015
Teaser for "Star Wars" Spin-Off Film Leaked Online!
Apr 20th, 2015
Two "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Teaser Posters
Apr 20th, 2015
"Furious 7" Crosses $1 Billion at Box Office
Apr 20th, 2015
Trailer for Ridiculous "Mega Shark vs Kolossus"
Apr 20th, 2015
Chris Pratt and His Raptors in New "Jurassic World" Poster
Apr 20th, 2015
George Lucas Says Marvel May Remake "Howard the Duck"
Apr 19th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Producer Explains Why Nintendo's "Metroid" Movie Fell Apart

Posted: December 28th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Producer Explains Why NintendoSubmit Comment
Back in 2004, it was announced that John Woo (Face/Off) had signed on to direct "Metroid" movie, based on the popular Nintendo video game. The project fell part in 2007, and now producer Brad Foxhoven explained what happened.

"We believed there was a great opportunity for John Woo to bring his style of action into a 'Metroid film.' Nintendo was quite supportive of the idea," he said. "We knew that a lot of the Metroid mythology had many similarities to other well-known sci-fi franchises, so we had to try and propose some fresh ideas that Nintendo would approve. [Character] designs [also] needed to be updated, particularly when seen as a live-action representation."

Foxhoven went on to say that after the failure of the 1993 "Super Mario Bros," Nintendo limited collaboration and attempted to have more control over the creative process, which ultimately killed the project. "Our entire development time was spent exploring the Metroid world, and what we could - and couldn't - do within it."

David Greenwalt ("Buffy the Vampire Slayer") was one of the many writers brought on to work on the movie, which would have been an origin story focusing on the game's hero, Samus Aran, and her life before the events in the video game. Nintendo didn't like the idea.

"Things started to go south when we tried to dig into the character a bit more," Greenwalt explained. "Any film needs a deeper story than what is told in the game. What are [the characters] doing when they are NOT fighting? What is their daily existence and relationships? What are Samus's aspirations, history, and fears? Nintendo appreciated the questions, but had never thought about them before, and ultimately didn't have a lot of answers. In the end, they felt uncomfortable with our team being the ones to propose those answers."

Source: IGN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 10:09:48 PM

Their butthole was still raw from the spanish and british italian plumber movie
I knew it
Smart move Daniel son
Donyae 420 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 10:48:53 PM

Lol pornfly
sedibus writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 10:51:02 PM

I remember playing the Metroid Zero Mission game many times even after I finished it for GB Advance.

I don't give a sh*t about this crap.
Kennyfarthing writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 10:56:32 PM

"Which would have been an origin story focusing on the game's hero, Samus Aran, and her life before the events in the video game. "

Ugh, sounds like it would have been utter sh*t.

Good thing it was killed off.
Avirex writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 11:12:36 PM

For once Nintendo actually made the right decision.
minkowski writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 11:30:37 PM

The Japanese have never been all that great at theatrically commercializing their games, and Nintendo is one of the most...conservative game companies in Japan. Doesn't surprise me they had no idea how to move beyond the games.
Avirex writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 11:35:13 PM

Probably would have starred Milla Jovovich with Paul Walker as the love interest. Directed by Paul W. S. Anderson.

No thanks.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 12:55:04 AM

What about The Legend of Zelda movie?
Kennyfarthing writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 9:54:44 PM

"The Japanese have never been all that great at theatrically commercializing their games, and Nintendo is one of the most...conservative game companies in Japan. Doesn't surprise me they had no idea how to move beyond the games."

You say this like western game companies have had success in turning their game properties into legitimately good movies. I honestly can't think on any.
minkowski writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 10:55:12 PM

^^Yes, but at least Western gaming companies have been open to developing their properties for theater, whereas when asked how to do a Metroid movie, the old men at Nintendo could only do a collective durrrrr.

Halo failed because of lack of funding. The budgetary demands were more than Universal wanted to pay. I think it was Universal...

You also forget that many "Western" game movies are in fact based on Eastern properties. Final Fantasy is from Square Enix, Street Fighter and Resident Evil are from Capcom, I believe.

Yes, we can all name Doom, but that was almost deliberately ill-conceived from the start.

Nevertheless, you're confusing the studios who make the movies and approve the scripts with the game companies, and the matter at hand is Nintendo specifically, a game company, and one that's hasn't effectively caught up with the modern world, either with respect to cinema, or even video games.
Johnnyb writes:
on December 30th, 2012 at 2:01:30 PM

Once again Hollywood f*cker, thanks for ruining a great opportunity with your stupid origins and deep inside stories ideas, which could have being a great scifi film!
Kennyfarthing writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 11:18:42 PM

Ehh i didn't forget "weatern" movies like RE or Final Fantasy, I just didn't mention them, but made it out that it was only western companies outsourcing their game licences to make movies, so thank for disproving you original comment I guess.

Also as for nintendo not catching up with the modern world well i'm not sure what you basing that on if it's to do selling out their licences well I disagree with that,sometimes it fits with properties like pokemon for instance, others it can be potentially damaging to the brand they have to be carful how their stuff is handled it is their bread and butter afterall.

Besides it's not like they HAVE to make films.
koul writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 2:38:31 PM

holy sh*t! totally forgot about the metroid movie, i remember them saying they will make it a very long time ago, now they just recently release some news?

New Spider-Man is 15-Year-Old Peter Parker, No Origin Story

Disney Making Live-Action "Winnie the Pooh" Film

Arnold Schwarzenegger Happy He Didn't Star in "Terminator Salvation"

"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon

"Spectre" Opening Sequence is Biggest in History

"Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2" Title Revealed

"Home" and "Get Hard" Perform Well at Box Office

Jennifer Lawrence Says "X-Men: Apocalypse" is Her Last "X-Men" Film

Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Footage Coming Tomorrow
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved