WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Jena Malone is Female Robin in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Oct 18th, 2014
Marvel in Talks with Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in "Doctor Strange"
Oct 18th, 2014
Channing Tatum Not Sure We Need "23 Jump Street"
Oct 18th, 2014
Poster For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Oct 18th, 2014
Photos: Nicolas Cage Protesting Against His "Dying of the Light" Movie
Oct 17th, 2014
James Cameron Discusses Getting "Terminator" Rights Back in 2019
Oct 17th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro Says "Pacific Rim 2" Sets Up "Pacific Rim 3"
Oct 17th, 2014
New Trailer For Angelina Jolie's "Unbroken" World War II Drama
Oct 17th, 2014
Scarlett Johansson Offered $10 Million to Star in "Ghost in the Shell"
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer For Chris Rock's "Top Five" Comedy
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer: Chris Hemsworth Fights a Whale in Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea"
Oct 16th, 2014
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in Ron Howard's "Heart of the Sea" Survival Film
Oct 16th, 2014
James Wan May Direct Another "Saw" Film in 2016
Oct 16th, 2014
Channing Tatum Provides "Gambit" Update
Oct 16th, 2014
Christian Bale in Talks to Star in Steve Jobs Biopic
Oct 16th, 2014
New Teaser For "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Oct 16th, 2014
Warner Bros Announces "The Flash," "Aquaman," "Justice League" and "Green Lantern" Movies
Oct 16th, 2014
Trailer for Nicolas Cage's "Dying of the Light" Thriller
Oct 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Producer Explains Why Nintendo's "Metroid" Movie Fell Apart

Posted: December 28th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Producer Explains Why NintendoSubmit Comment
Back in 2004, it was announced that John Woo (Face/Off) had signed on to direct "Metroid" movie, based on the popular Nintendo video game. The project fell part in 2007, and now producer Brad Foxhoven explained what happened.

"We believed there was a great opportunity for John Woo to bring his style of action into a 'Metroid film.' Nintendo was quite supportive of the idea," he said. "We knew that a lot of the Metroid mythology had many similarities to other well-known sci-fi franchises, so we had to try and propose some fresh ideas that Nintendo would approve. [Character] designs [also] needed to be updated, particularly when seen as a live-action representation."

Foxhoven went on to say that after the failure of the 1993 "Super Mario Bros," Nintendo limited collaboration and attempted to have more control over the creative process, which ultimately killed the project. "Our entire development time was spent exploring the Metroid world, and what we could - and couldn't - do within it."

David Greenwalt ("Buffy the Vampire Slayer") was one of the many writers brought on to work on the movie, which would have been an origin story focusing on the game's hero, Samus Aran, and her life before the events in the video game. Nintendo didn't like the idea.

"Things started to go south when we tried to dig into the character a bit more," Greenwalt explained. "Any film needs a deeper story than what is told in the game. What are [the characters] doing when they are NOT fighting? What is their daily existence and relationships? What are Samus's aspirations, history, and fears? Nintendo appreciated the questions, but had never thought about them before, and ultimately didn't have a lot of answers. In the end, they felt uncomfortable with our team being the ones to propose those answers."

Source: IGN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 10:09:48 PM

Their butthole was still raw from the spanish and british italian plumber movie
I knew it
Smart move Daniel son
Donyae 420 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 10:48:53 PM

Lol pornfly
sedibus writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 10:51:02 PM

I remember playing the Metroid Zero Mission game many times even after I finished it for GB Advance.

I don't give a sh*t about this crap.
Kennyfarthing writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 10:56:32 PM

"Which would have been an origin story focusing on the game's hero, Samus Aran, and her life before the events in the video game. "

Ugh, sounds like it would have been utter sh*t.

Good thing it was killed off.
Avirex writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 11:12:36 PM

For once Nintendo actually made the right decision.
minkowski writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 11:30:37 PM

The Japanese have never been all that great at theatrically commercializing their games, and Nintendo is one of the most...conservative game companies in Japan. Doesn't surprise me they had no idea how to move beyond the games.
Avirex writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 11:35:13 PM

Probably would have starred Milla Jovovich with Paul Walker as the love interest. Directed by Paul W. S. Anderson.

No thanks.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 12:55:04 AM

What about The Legend of Zelda movie?
Kennyfarthing writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 9:54:44 PM

"The Japanese have never been all that great at theatrically commercializing their games, and Nintendo is one of the most...conservative game companies in Japan. Doesn't surprise me they had no idea how to move beyond the games."

You say this like western game companies have had success in turning their game properties into legitimately good movies. I honestly can't think on any.
minkowski writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 10:55:12 PM

^^Yes, but at least Western gaming companies have been open to developing their properties for theater, whereas when asked how to do a Metroid movie, the old men at Nintendo could only do a collective durrrrr.

Halo failed because of lack of funding. The budgetary demands were more than Universal wanted to pay. I think it was Universal...

You also forget that many "Western" game movies are in fact based on Eastern properties. Final Fantasy is from Square Enix, Street Fighter and Resident Evil are from Capcom, I believe.

Yes, we can all name Doom, but that was almost deliberately ill-conceived from the start.

Nevertheless, you're confusing the studios who make the movies and approve the scripts with the game companies, and the matter at hand is Nintendo specifically, a game company, and one that's hasn't effectively caught up with the modern world, either with respect to cinema, or even video games.
Johnnyb writes:
on December 30th, 2012 at 2:01:30 PM

Once again Hollywood f*cker, thanks for ruining a great opportunity with your stupid origins and deep inside stories ideas, which could have being a great scifi film!
Kennyfarthing writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 11:18:42 PM

Ehh i didn't forget "weatern" movies like RE or Final Fantasy, I just didn't mention them, but made it out that it was only western companies outsourcing their game licences to make movies, so thank for disproving you original comment I guess.

Also as for nintendo not catching up with the modern world well i'm not sure what you basing that on if it's to do selling out their licences well I disagree with that,sometimes it fits with properties like pokemon for instance, others it can be potentially damaging to the brand they have to be carful how their stuff is handled it is their bread and butter afterall.

Besides it's not like they HAVE to make films.
koul writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 2:38:31 PM

holy sh*t! totally forgot about the metroid movie, i remember them saying they will make it a very long time ago, now they just recently release some news?

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved