WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First "Terminator Genisys" Photos, Plot Details Revealed
Oct 30th, 2014
Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot
Oct 30th, 2014
Michael Bay to Direct "13 Hours" Benghazi Film
Oct 30th, 2014
Final Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Oct 30th, 2014
First Poster for Alex Garcia's "Ex Machina" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 30th, 2014
Keanu Reeves' Next Film is "Replicas" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 30th, 2014
"Avengers: Infinity War" Trailer Leaked Online
Oct 29th, 2014
First "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Clip is Here!
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Explains Why "Hulk" and "Black Widow" Films are NOT Happening
Oct 29th, 2014
First Look at "Black Panther" Costume
Oct 29th, 2014
"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed
Oct 29th, 2014
"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Unveils Titles, Logos and Release Dates For All Phase 3 Films
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team
Oct 28th, 2014
David Goyer Writing Superman Prequel TV Series "Krypton"?
Oct 28th, 2014
First Look at Emma Watson in "Colonia" Cult Thriller
Oct 28th, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Trailer Coming This Year?
Oct 28th, 2014
Ewan McGregor Says "Trainspotting" Sequel to Shoot in 2016
Oct 28th, 2014
Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in Marvel's "Doctor Strange"!
Oct 27th, 2014
"Furious 7" Unveils Second Poster
Oct 27th, 2014
Jesse Eisenberg May Return as Lex Luthor in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film
Oct 27th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Unveils Title and Poster, Trailer Coming Soon
Oct 27th, 2014
Photos: "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" to Show Funeral of Bruce Wayne's Parents?
Oct 27th, 2014
"Ouija" Easily Beat Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" at Box Office
Oct 27th, 2014
Russell Brand is Quitting Acting Because He's Scared of Money
Oct 27th, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says He Wanted to Play Wolverine and Batman
Oct 26th, 2014
Christopher Nolan No Longer Involved With Warner Bros' Superhero Films
Oct 26th, 2014
Trailer for Lee Daniels' "Empire" Hip-Hop TV Series, with Terrence Howard
Oct 26th, 2014
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer Coming in December
Oct 25th, 2014
New "Ant-Man" Set Photos are Possible Spoilers
Oct 25th, 2014
Disney's "John Carter" Actually Cost Over $300 Million to Make
Oct 25th, 2014
"Wonder Woman" Searching for Female Director
Oct 24th, 2014
"The Mummy" Reboot to Follow Navy SEAL in Iraq?
Oct 24th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Producer Explains Why Nintendo's "Metroid" Movie Fell Apart

Posted: December 28th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Producer Explains Why NintendoSubmit Comment
Back in 2004, it was announced that John Woo (Face/Off) had signed on to direct "Metroid" movie, based on the popular Nintendo video game. The project fell part in 2007, and now producer Brad Foxhoven explained what happened.

"We believed there was a great opportunity for John Woo to bring his style of action into a 'Metroid film.' Nintendo was quite supportive of the idea," he said. "We knew that a lot of the Metroid mythology had many similarities to other well-known sci-fi franchises, so we had to try and propose some fresh ideas that Nintendo would approve. [Character] designs [also] needed to be updated, particularly when seen as a live-action representation."

Foxhoven went on to say that after the failure of the 1993 "Super Mario Bros," Nintendo limited collaboration and attempted to have more control over the creative process, which ultimately killed the project. "Our entire development time was spent exploring the Metroid world, and what we could - and couldn't - do within it."

David Greenwalt ("Buffy the Vampire Slayer") was one of the many writers brought on to work on the movie, which would have been an origin story focusing on the game's hero, Samus Aran, and her life before the events in the video game. Nintendo didn't like the idea.

"Things started to go south when we tried to dig into the character a bit more," Greenwalt explained. "Any film needs a deeper story than what is told in the game. What are [the characters] doing when they are NOT fighting? What is their daily existence and relationships? What are Samus's aspirations, history, and fears? Nintendo appreciated the questions, but had never thought about them before, and ultimately didn't have a lot of answers. In the end, they felt uncomfortable with our team being the ones to propose those answers."

Source: IGN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 10:09:48 PM

Their butthole was still raw from the spanish and british italian plumber movie
I knew it
Smart move Daniel son
Donyae 420 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 10:48:53 PM

Lol pornfly
sedibus writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 10:51:02 PM

I remember playing the Metroid Zero Mission game many times even after I finished it for GB Advance.

I don't give a sh*t about this crap.
Kennyfarthing writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 10:56:32 PM

"Which would have been an origin story focusing on the game's hero, Samus Aran, and her life before the events in the video game. "

Ugh, sounds like it would have been utter sh*t.

Good thing it was killed off.
Avirex writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 11:12:36 PM

For once Nintendo actually made the right decision.
minkowski writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 11:30:37 PM

The Japanese have never been all that great at theatrically commercializing their games, and Nintendo is one of the most...conservative game companies in Japan. Doesn't surprise me they had no idea how to move beyond the games.
Avirex writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 11:35:13 PM

Probably would have starred Milla Jovovich with Paul Walker as the love interest. Directed by Paul W. S. Anderson.

No thanks.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 12:55:04 AM

What about The Legend of Zelda movie?
Kennyfarthing writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 9:54:44 PM

"The Japanese have never been all that great at theatrically commercializing their games, and Nintendo is one of the most...conservative game companies in Japan. Doesn't surprise me they had no idea how to move beyond the games."

You say this like western game companies have had success in turning their game properties into legitimately good movies. I honestly can't think on any.
minkowski writes:
on December 29th, 2012 at 10:55:12 PM

^^Yes, but at least Western gaming companies have been open to developing their properties for theater, whereas when asked how to do a Metroid movie, the old men at Nintendo could only do a collective durrrrr.

Halo failed because of lack of funding. The budgetary demands were more than Universal wanted to pay. I think it was Universal...

You also forget that many "Western" game movies are in fact based on Eastern properties. Final Fantasy is from Square Enix, Street Fighter and Resident Evil are from Capcom, I believe.

Yes, we can all name Doom, but that was almost deliberately ill-conceived from the start.

Nevertheless, you're confusing the studios who make the movies and approve the scripts with the game companies, and the matter at hand is Nintendo specifically, a game company, and one that's hasn't effectively caught up with the modern world, either with respect to cinema, or even video games.
Johnnyb writes:
on December 30th, 2012 at 2:01:30 PM

Once again Hollywood f*cker, thanks for ruining a great opportunity with your stupid origins and deep inside stories ideas, which could have being a great scifi film!
Kennyfarthing writes:
on December 31st, 2012 at 11:18:42 PM

Ehh i didn't forget "weatern" movies like RE or Final Fantasy, I just didn't mention them, but made it out that it was only western companies outsourcing their game licences to make movies, so thank for disproving you original comment I guess.

Also as for nintendo not catching up with the modern world well i'm not sure what you basing that on if it's to do selling out their licences well I disagree with that,sometimes it fits with properties like pokemon for instance, others it can be potentially damaging to the brand they have to be carful how their stuff is handled it is their bread and butter afterall.

Besides it's not like they HAVE to make films.
koul writes:
on January 5th, 2013 at 2:38:31 PM

holy sh*t! totally forgot about the metroid movie, i remember them saying they will make it a very long time ago, now they just recently release some news?

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer

"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!

Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved