WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Josh Brolin as Thanos in "Guardians of the Galaxy"
Jul 31st, 2014
"Con Air" Director Wants to Set Sequel in Space
Jul 31st, 2014
New Photos From Disney's "Into the Woods" Musical, with Chris Pine as Prince Charming
Jul 31st, 2014
Jamie Foxx to Play Mike Tyson in Biopic
Jul 31st, 2014
Alex Kurtzman to Direct "The Mummy" Reboot
Jul 31st, 2014
Poster For Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" Western
Jul 31st, 2014
Full Trailer for Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Sci-Fi Film is Here!
Jul 31st, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Post-Credits Scene Leaked Online
Jul 30th, 2014
Trailer for Ben Stiller's "Night at the Museum: Secret of the Tomb"
Jul 30th, 2014
Why is This "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Poster So Offensive?
Jul 30th, 2014
TJ Miller Explains Why He'll Never Work With Director Michael Bay Again
Jul 30th, 2014
New Trailer For "Maze Runner" Sci-Fi Thriller
Jul 30th, 2014
Zoe Saldana Gives an Update on "Avatar" Sequels
Jul 30th, 2014
Trailer for "The Longest Week" Comedy, with Jason Bateman and Olivia Wilde
Jul 30th, 2014
Watch 5 Minutes From "The Simpsons" and "Family Guy" Crossover Episode
Jul 29th, 2014
Sam Raimi and Bruce Campbell Developing "Evil Dead" TV Series
Jul 29th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel Makes Offer to "Attack the Block" Director Joe Cornish
Jul 29th, 2014
Jodie Foster to Direct George Clooney in "Money Monster" Thriller
Jul 29th, 2014
Trailer For The Asylum's "The Expendables" Rip-Off, With Brigitte Nielsen and Vivica A. Fox
Jul 29th, 2014
New Poster for "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies"
Jul 29th, 2014
Extended Restricted Trailer for "Sin City 2: A Dame to Kill For"
Jul 29th, 2014
First Photos From Ben Stiller's "Night at the Museum 3"
Jul 29th, 2014
Photos: Lots of "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Props On Display at Comic-Con
Jul 28th, 2014
"Deadpool" Movie Test Footage Leaked Online
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
"Mad Max: Fury Road" Comic-Con Trailer is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "Air" Sci-Fi Film, From Creator of "The Walking Dead"
Jul 28th, 2014
New Trailer for "Batman" Prequel TV Series "Gotham"
Jul 28th, 2014
Comic-Con Trailer For DC's "Constantine" TV Series
Jul 28th, 2014
"Lucy" Destroys "Hercules" at the Box Office
Jul 27th, 2014
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Comic-Con Trailer Leaked Online!
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 27th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel "Skull Island" Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Elderly Academy Awards Members Confused by Online Voting, Say They Won't Vote This Year

Posted: December 28th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Elderly Academy Awards Members Confused by Online Voting, Say They WonSubmit Comment
If you've ever wondered why the Academy Awards consistently chooses movies that you have no interest in, it may have something to do with the fact that many Academy members/voters are so old that they are clueless about how to use the internet or even a computer.

The Academy is letting members vote for their picks online and has given them about three weeks to do so. Each members received a letter by mail that instructed them on how to vote online, in addition to providing them with their unique voter numbers. Once online, members had to enter their voter number and then create a password.

But when the Hollywood Reporter reached out to many of the members, it turned out that they were having issues figuring out how to log in and how to use the site. It's so bad, that the voter turnout may reach its lowest level in years.

So what's wrong with the website? Nothing. According to an Academy spokesperson, most of the complains have been about "forgetting or misusing passwords." Below are some quotes from members who attempted to use the voting site:

Voter 1: I received something in the mail that looked like junk mail. So many people may have thrown that away. Then, there's a problem with using caps and noncaps when you sign-in, which I think may be confusing some people, because when you're putting in your password you don't know whether or not you've screwed it up. My son had to show me that I was done voting and what to press in order to submit.

Voter 2: I don't do anything online. I don't even have a computer.

Voter 3: I love seeing that paperwork [instead of voting online]. Do you want to do online banking, or do you want to write a check and walk it in and know that it got there? We're talking about many elderly people who are not that computer literate.

Voter 4: I still haven't voted. I couldn't remember my password, so [after a few tries] they locked me out.

Voter 5: Voters that are older and haven't necessarily done a lot of this kind of stuff online before, it might be confusing. But I've talked to other Academy members who are e-voting, and I haven't heard [anything negative].

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 7:10:31 AM

This is why Hurt Locker won !!

These guys thought it was a bad hip condition and they were all saying they had it.
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 7:17:28 AM

Voter 2 LOL !! Winner ...
Taco writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 7:18:14 AM

Who elects these people?
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 7:25:34 AM

^ Theodore Roosevelt maybe ?
Damon242 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 7:51:14 AM

This explains a lot...
McQueen writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:00:29 AM

Well, if they are soooo old, don't they get to retire at some stage or will they keep voting until they drop dead?
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:09:17 AM

Voter6- GET OFF MY LAWN

Voter7-My teeth hurt

Voter8-OW! I scratched myself too hard!

Vote9-Did you eat all my hard candy?
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:16:24 AM

lol
Avirex writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:24:25 AM

I want to know who nominated Robert Downey for Tropic Thunder.
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:24:56 AM

Thats gonna be me

No, i dont even have a computer, i hate those contraptions!

Meanwhile i have the NORAD of porn in my basement
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:44:35 AM

Dont they get to retire at some stage?

The academy just tells them to 'vote at home' to keep them out of the way
The website is a setup
McQueen writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:53:32 AM

LOL!
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:53:47 AM

The Prince of Kenya just got an idea
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 9:11:02 AM

A Royal Family in Kenya, Now that sounds like a set up, lol
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 9:46:56 AM

Voter 10: I tried to vote through Facebook all i did was walk into a wall

http://blogs.bgsu.edu/gordond/files/2012/09/Funny-but-true1.jpg
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 9:57:41 AM

"I received something in the mail that looked like junk mail."

"looked"

So this old bag didn't even read it before throwing it out?

f*ck, if you're in the acadamy, you have a right to pay attention, as well as vote. If you can't do either you should get f*cking replaced.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 9:58:03 AM

responsibility to pay attention and vote*
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 10:41:34 AM

Um yea ok. Makes so much sense too.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:12:28 PM

LOL porn..

This is too funny, Damned Elderly!!
vincere01 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:20:03 PM

Voter 11- I was logging in to cast my vote when matlock came on. After thag I forgot what I was doing and went to bed. MATLOCK!
vincere01 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:25:27 PM

I'd like someone in the academy to explain to me how tom hanks lost to roberto benini????? No way in hell life is beautiful was better than saving private ryan, or roberto's performence being better than hanks. If u watched the awards people weree already congratulating hanks as the nominees were announced, its was a forgone conclusion that hanks was the best performence. Then beninis dumb as won and started climbing over everyone to get to the stage while screaming, looking like a more annoying borat. Explain to me how THAT happened.
OneTime writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:59:41 PM

lol
minkowski writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 1:24:00 PM

I had no idea Hollywood is located in Miami-Dade County, Florida.
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 2:16:49 PM

How the hell didn't Cocoon and Cocoon Return not sweep all before them at the oscars i wonder !!
Janus writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 3:19:35 PM

@Taco: "Who elects these people?"

Every Academy Award winner automatically becomes a member and a voter.

minkowski writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 4:47:01 PM

"Meanwhile i have the NORAD of porn in my basement"

You keep all the computer equipment next to your bed? How the hell do you sleep....oh, right.

:D

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Joaquin Phoenix in Talks for Marvel's "Doctor Strange"

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor

TJ Miller Explains Why He'll Never Work With Director Michael Bay Again

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved