WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Cuba Gooding Jr and John Travolta in "America Crime Story: The People V. OJ Simpson"
May 22nd, 2015
New Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Knock Knock" Thriller
May 22nd, 2015
Brad Pitt's "World War Z" Sequel Gets a Title
May 22nd, 2015
Reese Witherspoon to Star in Disney's Live-Action Tinker Bell Movie "Tink"
May 22nd, 2015
"Fantastic Four" Promo Video Shows Team's Superpowers
May 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for "The Gallows" Horror Film
May 22nd, 2015
New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr
May 21st, 2015
"Independence Day 2" Takes Place 15 Years Later, Same Aliens Return
May 21st, 2015
"Transformers" Sequels and Spin-Offs Get Impressive Writing Team
May 21st, 2015
Trailer for Elijah Wood's "Cooties" Horror Comedy
May 21st, 2015
"The Divergent Series: Allegiant" is Now Filming
May 21st, 2015
Heath Ledger Was Set to Star in "Mad Max: Fury Road"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
May 20th, 2015
Tom Cruise's "Jack Reacher 2" Hires "The Last Samurai" Director
May 20th, 2015
New Trailer for Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy
May 20th, 2015
The Joker is Insane in New "Suicide Squad" Set Photos
May 19th, 2015
First Look at Orgrim From "Warcraft" Film
May 19th, 2015
George Miller Unveils Title of "Mad Max: Fury Road" Sequel
May 19th, 2015
First Look at Mark Wahlberg in "Deepwater Horizon" Oil Disaster Film
May 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Hugh Jackman's "Peter Pan" Prequel
May 19th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson Confirms Return for "Fast and Furious 8" and Spin-Off Talks
May 18th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Steve Jobs" Biopic is Here!
May 18th, 2015
"Pitch Perfect 2" Dominates at Box Office, Easily Beats "Mad Max: Fury Road"
May 18th, 2015
Matthew McConaughey Considering Marvel and DC Superhero Films
May 17th, 2015
"Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos Show Crossbones, The Falcon and Scarlet Witch
May 16th, 2015
Disney Planning "Star Wars" and Marvel TV Channels
May 16th, 2015
Kate Beckinsale Confirmed for "Underworld 5," to Begin Shooting in October
May 15th, 2015
Jackie Chan and Owen Wilson to Return for "Shanghai Dawn"
May 15th, 2015
New Trailer for "Minions" Arrives Online
May 15th, 2015
Trailer for HBO's "True Detective" Season 2, with Colin Farrell and Vince Vaughn
May 15th, 2015
Trailer for DC's "Legends of Tomorrow" Comic Book TV Series
May 15th, 2015
Posters for "American Ultra" Action Comedy, with Jesse Eisenberg and Kristen Stewart
May 15th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Elderly Academy Awards Members Confused by Online Voting, Say They Won't Vote This Year

Posted: December 28th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Elderly Academy Awards Members Confused by Online Voting, Say They WonSubmit Comment
If you've ever wondered why the Academy Awards consistently chooses movies that you have no interest in, it may have something to do with the fact that many Academy members/voters are so old that they are clueless about how to use the internet or even a computer.

The Academy is letting members vote for their picks online and has given them about three weeks to do so. Each members received a letter by mail that instructed them on how to vote online, in addition to providing them with their unique voter numbers. Once online, members had to enter their voter number and then create a password.

But when the Hollywood Reporter reached out to many of the members, it turned out that they were having issues figuring out how to log in and how to use the site. It's so bad, that the voter turnout may reach its lowest level in years.

So what's wrong with the website? Nothing. According to an Academy spokesperson, most of the complains have been about "forgetting or misusing passwords." Below are some quotes from members who attempted to use the voting site:

Voter 1: I received something in the mail that looked like junk mail. So many people may have thrown that away. Then, there's a problem with using caps and noncaps when you sign-in, which I think may be confusing some people, because when you're putting in your password you don't know whether or not you've screwed it up. My son had to show me that I was done voting and what to press in order to submit.

Voter 2: I don't do anything online. I don't even have a computer.

Voter 3: I love seeing that paperwork [instead of voting online]. Do you want to do online banking, or do you want to write a check and walk it in and know that it got there? We're talking about many elderly people who are not that computer literate.

Voter 4: I still haven't voted. I couldn't remember my password, so [after a few tries] they locked me out.

Voter 5: Voters that are older and haven't necessarily done a lot of this kind of stuff online before, it might be confusing. But I've talked to other Academy members who are e-voting, and I haven't heard [anything negative].

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 7:10:31 AM

This is why Hurt Locker won !!

These guys thought it was a bad hip condition and they were all saying they had it.
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 7:17:28 AM

Voter 2 LOL !! Winner ...
Taco writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 7:18:14 AM

Who elects these people?
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 7:25:34 AM

^ Theodore Roosevelt maybe ?
Damon242 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 7:51:14 AM

This explains a lot...
McQueen writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:00:29 AM

Well, if they are soooo old, don't they get to retire at some stage or will they keep voting until they drop dead?
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:09:17 AM

Voter6- GET OFF MY LAWN

Voter7-My teeth hurt

Voter8-OW! I scratched myself too hard!

Vote9-Did you eat all my hard candy?
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:16:24 AM

lol
Avirex writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:24:25 AM

I want to know who nominated Robert Downey for Tropic Thunder.
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:24:56 AM

Thats gonna be me

No, i dont even have a computer, i hate those contraptions!

Meanwhile i have the NORAD of porn in my basement
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:44:35 AM

Dont they get to retire at some stage?

The academy just tells them to 'vote at home' to keep them out of the way
The website is a setup
McQueen writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:53:32 AM

LOL!
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:53:47 AM

The Prince of Kenya just got an idea
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 9:11:02 AM

A Royal Family in Kenya, Now that sounds like a set up, lol
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 9:46:56 AM

Voter 10: I tried to vote through Facebook all i did was walk into a wall

http://blogs.bgsu.edu/gordond/files/2012/09/Funny-but-true1.jpg
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 9:57:41 AM

"I received something in the mail that looked like junk mail."

"looked"

So this old bag didn't even read it before throwing it out?

f*ck, if you're in the acadamy, you have a right to pay attention, as well as vote. If you can't do either you should get f*cking replaced.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 9:58:03 AM

responsibility to pay attention and vote*
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 10:41:34 AM

Um yea ok. Makes so much sense too.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:12:28 PM

LOL porn..

This is too funny, Damned Elderly!!
vincere01 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:20:03 PM

Voter 11- I was logging in to cast my vote when matlock came on. After thag I forgot what I was doing and went to bed. MATLOCK!
vincere01 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:25:27 PM

I'd like someone in the academy to explain to me how tom hanks lost to roberto benini????? No way in hell life is beautiful was better than saving private ryan, or roberto's performence being better than hanks. If u watched the awards people weree already congratulating hanks as the nominees were announced, its was a forgone conclusion that hanks was the best performence. Then beninis dumb as won and started climbing over everyone to get to the stage while screaming, looking like a more annoying borat. Explain to me how THAT happened.
OneTime writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:59:41 PM

lol
minkowski writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 1:24:00 PM

I had no idea Hollywood is located in Miami-Dade County, Florida.
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 2:16:49 PM

How the hell didn't Cocoon and Cocoon Return not sweep all before them at the oscars i wonder !!
Janus writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 3:19:35 PM

@Taco: "Who elects these people?"

Every Academy Award winner automatically becomes a member and a voter.

minkowski writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 4:47:01 PM

"Meanwhile i have the NORAD of porn in my basement"

You keep all the computer equipment next to your bed? How the hell do you sleep....oh, right.

:D

Reed Richards Doesn't Stretch in "Fantastic Four" Reboot

"Jurassic World" to Ignore Last Two Films, to Bring Back T-Rex

Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot

Hugh Jackman and Channing Tatum to Appear in "X-Men: Apocalypse"?

"Fantastic Four" Director Fired From "Star Wars" Spin-Off

Why Wasn't Loki in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"?

New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr

Josh Hartnett Regrets Turning Down Batman Role in "Batman Begins"

Hugh Jackman Confirms "Wolverine 3" is His Last Time as Wolverine

Chris Evans Says Captain America is Probably a Virgin
xobd2.co.uk
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved