WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for Will Smith's "Concussion" Football Drama
Sep 3rd, 2015
Trailer: Eddie Redmayne is First Transgender Person in "The Danish Girl"
Sep 3rd, 2015
Vincent Cassel is Main Villain in New "Jason Bourne" Film
Sep 3rd, 2015
Trailer for Chloe Moretz's "The 5th Wave" Sci-Fi Thriller
Sep 3rd, 2015
Trailer for Nicolas Cage's "Pay the Ghost" Thriller
Sep 3rd, 2015
"Captain America: Civil War" Concept Art Shows Two Avengers Teams
Aug 30th, 2015
First Look at Michael Fassbender in "Assassin's Creed" Video Game Movie
Aug 29th, 2015
Matt Damon Reveals "Bourne" Sequel Plot Details
Aug 29th, 2015
New Trailer for Jack Black's "Goosebumps"
Aug 29th, 2015
Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Schumer Working on New Comedy
Aug 27th, 2015
Christopher Meloni Joins "Holding Patterns"
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Love the Coopers" Comedy, with John Goodman, Ed Helms and Olivia Wilde
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for Nicholas Hoult's "Kill Your Friends" Crime Thriller
Aug 26th, 2015
James Franco is a Tech Billionaire in "Why Him" Comedy
Aug 26th, 2015
General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 20th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Jungle Cruise," Based on Disney's Theme Park Ride
Aug 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Blunt Force Trauma," with Mickey Rourke and Freida Pinto
Aug 20th, 2015
First Trailer for "Victor Frankenstein," with Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy
Aug 19th, 2015
"Prometheus 2" Delaying Neill Blomkamp's "Alien 5"
Aug 19th, 2015
Freddie Highmore and Odeya Rush Join "Holding Patterns"
Aug 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Matt Damon's "The Martian" is Here!
Aug 19th, 2015
Post-Apocalyptic "Zorro" Reboot is Moving Forward
Aug 19th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for "Star Wars: The Force Awakens"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at "Star Wars: Rogue One" Spin-Off Film
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Aug 18th, 2015
New Photo From Pixar's "Finding Dory"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for "Carol," with Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for Kevin Hart's "Ride Along" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
First Posters for "Alice in Wonderland" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
Bradley Cooper is a Chef in "Burnt" Trailer
Aug 15th, 2015
First Look at Black Panther on "Captain America: Civil War" Set
Aug 13th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Elderly Academy Awards Members Confused by Online Voting, Say They Won't Vote This Year

Posted: December 28th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Elderly Academy Awards Members Confused by Online Voting, Say They WonSubmit Comment
If you've ever wondered why the Academy Awards consistently chooses movies that you have no interest in, it may have something to do with the fact that many Academy members/voters are so old that they are clueless about how to use the internet or even a computer.

The Academy is letting members vote for their picks online and has given them about three weeks to do so. Each members received a letter by mail that instructed them on how to vote online, in addition to providing them with their unique voter numbers. Once online, members had to enter their voter number and then create a password.

But when the Hollywood Reporter reached out to many of the members, it turned out that they were having issues figuring out how to log in and how to use the site. It's so bad, that the voter turnout may reach its lowest level in years.

So what's wrong with the website? Nothing. According to an Academy spokesperson, most of the complains have been about "forgetting or misusing passwords." Below are some quotes from members who attempted to use the voting site:

Voter 1: I received something in the mail that looked like junk mail. So many people may have thrown that away. Then, there's a problem with using caps and noncaps when you sign-in, which I think may be confusing some people, because when you're putting in your password you don't know whether or not you've screwed it up. My son had to show me that I was done voting and what to press in order to submit.

Voter 2: I don't do anything online. I don't even have a computer.

Voter 3: I love seeing that paperwork [instead of voting online]. Do you want to do online banking, or do you want to write a check and walk it in and know that it got there? We're talking about many elderly people who are not that computer literate.

Voter 4: I still haven't voted. I couldn't remember my password, so [after a few tries] they locked me out.

Voter 5: Voters that are older and haven't necessarily done a lot of this kind of stuff online before, it might be confusing. But I've talked to other Academy members who are e-voting, and I haven't heard [anything negative].

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 7:10:31 AM

This is why Hurt Locker won !!

These guys thought it was a bad hip condition and they were all saying they had it.
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 7:17:28 AM

Voter 2 LOL !! Winner ...
Taco writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 7:18:14 AM

Who elects these people?
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 7:25:34 AM

^ Theodore Roosevelt maybe ?
Damon242 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 7:51:14 AM

This explains a lot...
McQueen writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:00:29 AM

Well, if they are soooo old, don't they get to retire at some stage or will they keep voting until they drop dead?
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:09:17 AM

Voter6- GET OFF MY LAWN

Voter7-My teeth hurt

Voter8-OW! I scratched myself too hard!

Vote9-Did you eat all my hard candy?
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:16:24 AM

lol
Avirex writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:24:25 AM

I want to know who nominated Robert Downey for Tropic Thunder.
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:24:56 AM

Thats gonna be me

No, i dont even have a computer, i hate those contraptions!

Meanwhile i have the NORAD of porn in my basement
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:44:35 AM

Dont they get to retire at some stage?

The academy just tells them to 'vote at home' to keep them out of the way
The website is a setup
McQueen writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:53:32 AM

LOL!
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:53:47 AM

The Prince of Kenya just got an idea
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 9:11:02 AM

A Royal Family in Kenya, Now that sounds like a set up, lol
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 9:46:56 AM

Voter 10: I tried to vote through Facebook all i did was walk into a wall

http://blogs.bgsu.edu/gordond/files/2012/09/Funny-but-true1.jpg
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 9:57:41 AM

"I received something in the mail that looked like junk mail."

"looked"

So this old bag didn't even read it before throwing it out?

f*ck, if you're in the acadamy, you have a right to pay attention, as well as vote. If you can't do either you should get f*cking replaced.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 9:58:03 AM

responsibility to pay attention and vote*
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 10:41:34 AM

Um yea ok. Makes so much sense too.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:12:28 PM

LOL porn..

This is too funny, Damned Elderly!!
vincere01 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:20:03 PM

Voter 11- I was logging in to cast my vote when matlock came on. After thag I forgot what I was doing and went to bed. MATLOCK!
vincere01 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:25:27 PM

I'd like someone in the academy to explain to me how tom hanks lost to roberto benini????? No way in hell life is beautiful was better than saving private ryan, or roberto's performence being better than hanks. If u watched the awards people weree already congratulating hanks as the nominees were announced, its was a forgone conclusion that hanks was the best performence. Then beninis dumb as won and started climbing over everyone to get to the stage while screaming, looking like a more annoying borat. Explain to me how THAT happened.
OneTime writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:59:41 PM

lol
minkowski writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 1:24:00 PM

I had no idea Hollywood is located in Miami-Dade County, Florida.
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 2:16:49 PM

How the hell didn't Cocoon and Cocoon Return not sweep all before them at the oscars i wonder !!
Janus writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 3:19:35 PM

@Taco: "Who elects these people?"

Every Academy Award winner automatically becomes a member and a voter.

minkowski writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 4:47:01 PM

"Meanwhile i have the NORAD of porn in my basement"

You keep all the computer equipment next to your bed? How the hell do you sleep....oh, right.

:D

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved