WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Rocky" Spin-Off "Creed"
Jul 1st, 2015
Trailer for Gerard Butler's "Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel, "London Has Fallen"
Jul 1st, 2015
Marlon Wayans Threatening to Make "White Chicks" Sequel
Jul 1st, 2015
Teaser Trailer for Oliver Stone's "Snowden" Film, with Joseph Gordon-Levitt
Jul 1st, 2015
Robert Zemeckis Says He'll Stop Any "Back to the Future" Reboot
Jun 30th, 2015
Titles for "Star Trek 3" and "Guardians of the Galaxy 2" Revealed
Jun 30th, 2015
First Look at Costumes From "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Jun 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Ten Thousand Saints," with Ethan Hawke and Asa Butterfield
Jun 30th, 2015
"Ted 2" Underperforms at Box Office, "Jurassic World" Continues to Dominate
Jun 29th, 2015
"Lucy" and "Colombiana" Sequels in the Works
Jun 27th, 2015
Steven Spielberg Acquires Michael Crichton's "Micro" Novel
Jun 27th, 2015
New "Heroes Reborn" Trailer Arrives Online
Jun 26th, 2015
Photos From New Episodes of "The X-Files"
Jun 26th, 2015
New Trailer for Tom Hardy's "Legend" Thriller
Jun 26th, 2015
Adrian Grenier Would Make "Aquaman" Cameo
Jun 26th, 2015
Shia LaBeouf Hospitalized After Sustaining a Head Injury on Set
Jun 25th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Rampage" Video Game Movie
Jun 25th, 2015
First Look at Gerard Butler in "London Has Fallen"
Jun 25th, 2015
Emma Watson Joins Tom Hanks in "The Circle" Thriller
Jun 25th, 2015
"Spider-Man" Reboot Announces Actor and Director
Jun 24th, 2015
First Trailer for "Paranormal Activity: The Ghost Dimension"
Jun 24th, 2015
Channing Tatum Says He Hates "GI Joe: The Rise of Cobra"
Jun 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Hitman: Agent 47" Reboot
Jun 24th, 2015
Arnold Schwarzenegger to Star in "478" Drama, Darren Aronofsky is Producing
Jun 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Masterminds" Comedy, with Zach Galifianakis and Kristen Wiig
Jun 24th, 2015
Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight
Jun 23rd, 2015
"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase
Jun 23rd, 2015
First Look at Final "Paranormal Activity" Installment
Jun 23rd, 2015
"Titanic" Composer James Horner Dies in Plane Crash
Jun 23rd, 2015
New Trailer for "Dragon Blade," with Jackie Chan and John Cusack
Jun 23rd, 2015
Full Trailer for "7 Days in Hell" Tennis Comedy, with Andy Samberg and Kit Harington
Jun 23rd, 2015
Hugh Jackman Confirmed for "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Jun 21st, 2015
Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay
Jun 20th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Elderly Academy Awards Members Confused by Online Voting, Say They Won't Vote This Year

Posted: December 28th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Elderly Academy Awards Members Confused by Online Voting, Say They WonSubmit Comment
If you've ever wondered why the Academy Awards consistently chooses movies that you have no interest in, it may have something to do with the fact that many Academy members/voters are so old that they are clueless about how to use the internet or even a computer.

The Academy is letting members vote for their picks online and has given them about three weeks to do so. Each members received a letter by mail that instructed them on how to vote online, in addition to providing them with their unique voter numbers. Once online, members had to enter their voter number and then create a password.

But when the Hollywood Reporter reached out to many of the members, it turned out that they were having issues figuring out how to log in and how to use the site. It's so bad, that the voter turnout may reach its lowest level in years.

So what's wrong with the website? Nothing. According to an Academy spokesperson, most of the complains have been about "forgetting or misusing passwords." Below are some quotes from members who attempted to use the voting site:

Voter 1: I received something in the mail that looked like junk mail. So many people may have thrown that away. Then, there's a problem with using caps and noncaps when you sign-in, which I think may be confusing some people, because when you're putting in your password you don't know whether or not you've screwed it up. My son had to show me that I was done voting and what to press in order to submit.

Voter 2: I don't do anything online. I don't even have a computer.

Voter 3: I love seeing that paperwork [instead of voting online]. Do you want to do online banking, or do you want to write a check and walk it in and know that it got there? We're talking about many elderly people who are not that computer literate.

Voter 4: I still haven't voted. I couldn't remember my password, so [after a few tries] they locked me out.

Voter 5: Voters that are older and haven't necessarily done a lot of this kind of stuff online before, it might be confusing. But I've talked to other Academy members who are e-voting, and I haven't heard [anything negative].

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 7:10:31 AM

This is why Hurt Locker won !!

These guys thought it was a bad hip condition and they were all saying they had it.
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 7:17:28 AM

Voter 2 LOL !! Winner ...
Taco writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 7:18:14 AM

Who elects these people?
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 7:25:34 AM

^ Theodore Roosevelt maybe ?
Damon242 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 7:51:14 AM

This explains a lot...
McQueen writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:00:29 AM

Well, if they are soooo old, don't they get to retire at some stage or will they keep voting until they drop dead?
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:09:17 AM

Voter6- GET OFF MY LAWN

Voter7-My teeth hurt

Voter8-OW! I scratched myself too hard!

Vote9-Did you eat all my hard candy?
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:16:24 AM

lol
Avirex writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:24:25 AM

I want to know who nominated Robert Downey for Tropic Thunder.
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:24:56 AM

Thats gonna be me

No, i dont even have a computer, i hate those contraptions!

Meanwhile i have the NORAD of porn in my basement
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:44:35 AM

Dont they get to retire at some stage?

The academy just tells them to 'vote at home' to keep them out of the way
The website is a setup
McQueen writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:53:32 AM

LOL!
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:53:47 AM

The Prince of Kenya just got an idea
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 9:11:02 AM

A Royal Family in Kenya, Now that sounds like a set up, lol
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 9:46:56 AM

Voter 10: I tried to vote through Facebook all i did was walk into a wall

http://blogs.bgsu.edu/gordond/files/2012/09/Funny-but-true1.jpg
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 9:57:41 AM

"I received something in the mail that looked like junk mail."

"looked"

So this old bag didn't even read it before throwing it out?

f*ck, if you're in the acadamy, you have a right to pay attention, as well as vote. If you can't do either you should get f*cking replaced.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 9:58:03 AM

responsibility to pay attention and vote*
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 10:41:34 AM

Um yea ok. Makes so much sense too.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:12:28 PM

LOL porn..

This is too funny, Damned Elderly!!
vincere01 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:20:03 PM

Voter 11- I was logging in to cast my vote when matlock came on. After thag I forgot what I was doing and went to bed. MATLOCK!
vincere01 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:25:27 PM

I'd like someone in the academy to explain to me how tom hanks lost to roberto benini????? No way in hell life is beautiful was better than saving private ryan, or roberto's performence being better than hanks. If u watched the awards people weree already congratulating hanks as the nominees were announced, its was a forgone conclusion that hanks was the best performence. Then beninis dumb as won and started climbing over everyone to get to the stage while screaming, looking like a more annoying borat. Explain to me how THAT happened.
OneTime writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:59:41 PM

lol
minkowski writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 1:24:00 PM

I had no idea Hollywood is located in Miami-Dade County, Florida.
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 2:16:49 PM

How the hell didn't Cocoon and Cocoon Return not sweep all before them at the oscars i wonder !!
Janus writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 3:19:35 PM

@Taco: "Who elects these people?"

Every Academy Award winner automatically becomes a member and a voter.

minkowski writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 4:47:01 PM

"Meanwhile i have the NORAD of porn in my basement"

You keep all the computer equipment next to your bed? How the hell do you sleep....oh, right.

:D

Hugh Jackman on Quitting Wolverine and Making "Deadpool" Cameo

Hugh Jackman Quit Wolverine Role Because of Jerry Seinfeld

It's Official: "Jurassic World" Beats "The Avengers" for Biggest Box Office Opening

Marvel and Sony Can't Agree on Which Actor Should Play Spider-Man

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

"Jurassic World" is a Massive Hit, Chris Pratt to Return for Sequel

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Plot Synopsis Revealed

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

Targon Egerton Wants to Replace Hugh Jackman as Wolverine

Hulk Hogan is the Villain in "The Expendables 4"?
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved