WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Official "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer is Here!
Apr 18th, 2015
Restricted Trailer for Salma Hayek's "The Tale of Tales" Fantasy Film
Apr 18th, 2015
New Poster for Joseph Gordon-Levitt's "The Walk," Directed by Robert Zemeckis
Apr 18th, 2015
New Poster for "Jurassic World," New Trailer Coming on Monday
Apr 18th, 2015
Full "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer Leaked Online!
Apr 17th, 2015
New "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Trailer is Here!
Apr 17th, 2015
Josh Hartnett Regrets Turning Down Batman Role in "Batman Begins"
Apr 17th, 2015
Ryan Gosling in Talks for "Blade Runner" Sequel
Apr 17th, 2015
Trailer for "The Gallows" Horror Film
Apr 17th, 2015
Matthew Vaughn to Direct "Flash Gordon" Remake
Apr 17th, 2015
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Teaser Trailer is Here!
Apr 16th, 2015
"Wonder Woman" Just Hired a New Director
Apr 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Results," with Guy Pearce and Cobie Smulders
Apr 16th, 2015
Jason Sudeikis to Star in "Fletch" Reboot
Apr 16th, 2015
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Footage Coming Tomorrow
Apr 15th, 2015
Trailer for David Spade's "Joe Dirt" Sequel
Apr 15th, 2015
John Cusack is The Beach Boys Founder in "Love and Mercy" Trailer
Apr 15th, 2015
Trailer for Al Pacino's "Manglehorn"
Apr 15th, 2015
Griswolds Visit Walley World in New "Vacation" Photo
Apr 15th, 2015
New Trailer for Marvel's "Ant-Man"
Apr 14th, 2015
Lots of Action in New "Terminator Genisys" Trailer
Apr 14th, 2015
"Wonder Woman" Loses Its Director
Apr 14th, 2015
First Look at Ed Helms and Griswold Family in "Vacation" Sequel
Apr 14th, 2015
Iron Man Fights Ultron in New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Clip
Apr 14th, 2015
Olivia Munn to Play Psylocke in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Apr 14th, 2015
First Look at Derek's Son From "Zoolander 2"
Apr 14th, 2015
Viggo Mortensen Was Offered Wolverine Role in "X-Men"
Apr 13th, 2015
First "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Clip Shows Hulk vs Iron Man Battle
Apr 13th, 2015
"Furious 7" Already Earned $800 Million at Box Office
Apr 13th, 2015
First Photo From "Rocky" Spin-Off "Creed"
Apr 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Scream" TV Series
Apr 13th, 2015
New Spider-Man is 15-Year-Old Peter Parker, No Origin Story
Apr 12th, 2015
First Look at Negasonic Teenage Warhead in "Deadpool"
Apr 12th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Elderly Academy Awards Members Confused by Online Voting, Say They Won't Vote This Year

Posted: December 28th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Elderly Academy Awards Members Confused by Online Voting, Say They WonSubmit Comment
If you've ever wondered why the Academy Awards consistently chooses movies that you have no interest in, it may have something to do with the fact that many Academy members/voters are so old that they are clueless about how to use the internet or even a computer.

The Academy is letting members vote for their picks online and has given them about three weeks to do so. Each members received a letter by mail that instructed them on how to vote online, in addition to providing them with their unique voter numbers. Once online, members had to enter their voter number and then create a password.

But when the Hollywood Reporter reached out to many of the members, it turned out that they were having issues figuring out how to log in and how to use the site. It's so bad, that the voter turnout may reach its lowest level in years.

So what's wrong with the website? Nothing. According to an Academy spokesperson, most of the complains have been about "forgetting or misusing passwords." Below are some quotes from members who attempted to use the voting site:

Voter 1: I received something in the mail that looked like junk mail. So many people may have thrown that away. Then, there's a problem with using caps and noncaps when you sign-in, which I think may be confusing some people, because when you're putting in your password you don't know whether or not you've screwed it up. My son had to show me that I was done voting and what to press in order to submit.

Voter 2: I don't do anything online. I don't even have a computer.

Voter 3: I love seeing that paperwork [instead of voting online]. Do you want to do online banking, or do you want to write a check and walk it in and know that it got there? We're talking about many elderly people who are not that computer literate.

Voter 4: I still haven't voted. I couldn't remember my password, so [after a few tries] they locked me out.

Voter 5: Voters that are older and haven't necessarily done a lot of this kind of stuff online before, it might be confusing. But I've talked to other Academy members who are e-voting, and I haven't heard [anything negative].

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 7:10:31 AM

This is why Hurt Locker won !!

These guys thought it was a bad hip condition and they were all saying they had it.
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 7:17:28 AM

Voter 2 LOL !! Winner ...
Taco writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 7:18:14 AM

Who elects these people?
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 7:25:34 AM

^ Theodore Roosevelt maybe ?
Damon242 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 7:51:14 AM

This explains a lot...
McQueen writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:00:29 AM

Well, if they are soooo old, don't they get to retire at some stage or will they keep voting until they drop dead?
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:09:17 AM

Voter6- GET OFF MY LAWN

Voter7-My teeth hurt

Voter8-OW! I scratched myself too hard!

Vote9-Did you eat all my hard candy?
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:16:24 AM

lol
Avirex writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:24:25 AM

I want to know who nominated Robert Downey for Tropic Thunder.
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:24:56 AM

Thats gonna be me

No, i dont even have a computer, i hate those contraptions!

Meanwhile i have the NORAD of porn in my basement
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:44:35 AM

Dont they get to retire at some stage?

The academy just tells them to 'vote at home' to keep them out of the way
The website is a setup
McQueen writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:53:32 AM

LOL!
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 8:53:47 AM

The Prince of Kenya just got an idea
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 9:11:02 AM

A Royal Family in Kenya, Now that sounds like a set up, lol
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 9:46:56 AM

Voter 10: I tried to vote through Facebook all i did was walk into a wall

http://blogs.bgsu.edu/gordond/files/2012/09/Funny-but-true1.jpg
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 9:57:41 AM

"I received something in the mail that looked like junk mail."

"looked"

So this old bag didn't even read it before throwing it out?

f*ck, if you're in the acadamy, you have a right to pay attention, as well as vote. If you can't do either you should get f*cking replaced.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 9:58:03 AM

responsibility to pay attention and vote*
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 10:41:34 AM

Um yea ok. Makes so much sense too.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:12:28 PM

LOL porn..

This is too funny, Damned Elderly!!
vincere01 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:20:03 PM

Voter 11- I was logging in to cast my vote when matlock came on. After thag I forgot what I was doing and went to bed. MATLOCK!
vincere01 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:25:27 PM

I'd like someone in the academy to explain to me how tom hanks lost to roberto benini????? No way in hell life is beautiful was better than saving private ryan, or roberto's performence being better than hanks. If u watched the awards people weree already congratulating hanks as the nominees were announced, its was a forgone conclusion that hanks was the best performence. Then beninis dumb as won and started climbing over everyone to get to the stage while screaming, looking like a more annoying borat. Explain to me how THAT happened.
OneTime writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:59:41 PM

lol
minkowski writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 1:24:00 PM

I had no idea Hollywood is located in Miami-Dade County, Florida.
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 2:16:49 PM

How the hell didn't Cocoon and Cocoon Return not sweep all before them at the oscars i wonder !!
Janus writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 3:19:35 PM

@Taco: "Who elects these people?"

Every Academy Award winner automatically becomes a member and a voter.

minkowski writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 4:47:01 PM

"Meanwhile i have the NORAD of porn in my basement"

You keep all the computer equipment next to your bed? How the hell do you sleep....oh, right.

:D

New Spider-Man is 15-Year-Old Peter Parker, No Origin Story

Disney Making Live-Action "Winnie the Pooh" Film

Mexico Pays "Spectre" $20 Million to Rewrite Script

Gal Gadot Responds to Criticism That Her Breasts are Too Small to Play Wonder Woman

Disney's "Cinderella" Dominates at Box Office

Arnold Schwarzenegger Happy He Didn't Star in "Terminator Salvation"

Stephen King Comments on Early Screening of Guillermo Del Toro's "Crimson Peak" Horror Film

"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon

"Insurgent" Takes First Place at Box Office, Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Flops

"Spectre" Opening Sequence is Biggest in History
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved