WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Director Says Shared Cinematic Universes Can Be a Mistake
Nov 23rd, 2014
Town Bans Winnie the Pooh for Being Half-Naked
Nov 23rd, 2014
First Poster for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Nov 22nd, 2014
Angelina Jolie Will Quit Acting to Focus on Directing
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for George Lucas' Animated "Strange Magic" Film
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "Pitch Perfect 2" Arrives Online
Nov 21st, 2014
"Zoolander 2" is Moving Forward, Penelope Cruz Joins Cast
Nov 21st, 2014
Stephen King's "The Stand" to Become Four Movies
Nov 21st, 2014
First Look: Patrick Stewart is a White Supremacist in "Green Room" Thriller
Nov 21st, 2014
Mel Gibson May Direct "Hacksaw Ridge," with Andrew Garfield to Star
Nov 21st, 2014
Ridley Scott Promises "a Fresher Form of Alien" in "Prometheus 2"
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Nov 20th, 2014
Trailer for "American Heist" Thriller with Hayden Christensen and Adrien Brody
Nov 20th, 2014
Melissa McCarthy to Star in Live-Action "Tinker Bell" Comedy
Nov 20th, 2014
Al Pacino is an Aging Rock Star in "Danny Collins" Trailer
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for "Peter Pan Live" Musical, with Christopher Walken as Captain Hook
Nov 20th, 2014
Six Actors in Talks for Cyclops and Jean Grey in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 19th, 2014
How Do Horror Fans Choose Movies? Not By Plot or Cast
Nov 19th, 2014
Will Ferrell Bench Presses Kevin Hart in First "Get Hard" Photos
Nov 19th, 2014
Trailer for Ewan McGregor's "Son of a Gun" Crime Thriller
Nov 19th, 2014
Snoopy and Charlie Brown are Back in "The Peanuts Movie" Trailer
Nov 19th, 2014
Trailer for "Project Almanac" Time-Traveling Thriller
Nov 18th, 2014
"Jurassic World" Unveils New Photos, Trailer Coming Next Week
Nov 18th, 2014
Arnold Schwarzenegger Says "Running Man" Sequel is Happening
Nov 18th, 2014
New Images of Snoopy and Charlie Brown From "The Peanuts Movie"
Nov 18th, 2014
See "Interstellar" as Many Times as You Want for One Price
Nov 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Jeff Bridges' "Seventh Son" Fantasy Film
Nov 18th, 2014
Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy
Nov 17th, 2014
"Captain America 2" Directors May Take Over "The Avengers" Franchise
Nov 17th, 2014
Oscar-Winning "The Hurt Locker" Writer Hired for "Uncharted" Video Game Film
Nov 17th, 2014
"Dumb and Dumber To" Takes First Place at Box Office with $38 Million
Nov 16th, 2014
"Battlestar Galactice" and "Knight Rider" Creator Glen A. Larson Dead at 77
Nov 16th, 2014
New Trailer for "Miss Julie," with Colin Farrell and Jessica Chastain
Nov 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Project X" Tops List of Most Pirated Films of 2012

Posted: December 27th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Project X" Tops List of Most Pirated Films of 2012Submit Comment
TorrentFreak released a list of the most pirated movies of 2012, showing that "Project X" comedy took first place, beating films that grossed as much as ten times more in theaters.

"Project X" was illegally downloaded about 8.7 million times, just ahead of "Mission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol" (8.5 million), "The Dark Knight Rises" (8.2 million) and "The Avengers" (8.1 million).

"Project X" was a surprise hit of 2012 by grossing over $100 million globally. Yet, it's the lowest-grossing film on the list. Meanwhile, "The Hunger Games," "Skyfall" and "Ted" are absent from the list.

1. Project X - 8,720,000

2. Mission: Impossible – Ghost Protocol - 8,500,000

3. The Dark Knight Rises - 8,230,000

4. The Avengers - 8,110,000

5. Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows - 7,850,000

6. 21 Jump Street - 7,590,000

7. The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo - 7,420,000

8. The Dictator - 7,330,000

9. Ice Age: Continental Drift - 6,960,000

10. The Twilight Saga Breaking Dawn Part 1 - 6,740,000

Source: TorrentFreak


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 37 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Venom1970 writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 9:24:41 PM

Haven't seen Project X I am not much of a comedy fan unless it has rude Aliens or Bears. I loved The Change Up though.
Ranger writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 10:52:30 PM

Slow news week.




Is Lohan dead yet?

minkowski writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 10:59:59 PM

Project X is right there at the intersection of two curves: profitability, and undesirability.

X marks the spot, I guess.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 11:15:56 PM

And I could care less about this sh*t!!
minkowski writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 11:36:33 PM

More News Alex Missed:

Is Kevin "Fatass" Smith bringing Clerks 3 to Broadway?

http://www.cnn.com/2012/04/03/showbiz/movies/kevin-smith-clerks-3-broadway-ew/index.html

Last week, during a book signing in New York, [Kevin "Fatass" Smith] revealed that his beloved characters might be heading to Broadway. After seeing the hit play, "Seminar," which reminded Smith of the fundamental stagecraft he used to film "Clerks," he suddenly envisioned breathing new life into the franchise with a stage production of "Clerks III" in 2014 to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the original.
telur writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 11:58:00 PM

so who said pirates damage box office?
Herbert Butterfield writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:05:47 AM

Another missed story: Paul Thomas Anderson's next film

http://www.joblo.com/movie-news/paul-thomas-anderson-to-adapt-the-stoner-private-eye-saga-inherent-vice-from-author-thomas-pynchon

Speaking to the NY Times, Paul Thomas Anderson has revealed that his next project will be an adaptation of author Thomas Pynchon's Inherent Vice, a '60's-set private-eye tale, which he's been tossing around adapting for years, with Robert Downey Jr. eyed for the lead role.

Here's the book synopsis:

It's been a while since Doc Sportello has seen his ex- girlfriend. Suddenly she shows up with a story about a plot to kidnap a billionaire land developer whom she just happens to be in love with. It's the tail end of the psychedelic sixties in L.A., and Doc knows that "love" is another of those words going around at the moment, like "trip" or "groovy," except that this one usually leads to trouble.

i can't say that i've ever heard of this novel. has anyone on here read it?
minkowski writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:16:22 AM

^^Sounds good, Hubert. Good news article.

And no I haven't read 'Inherent Vice', but Pynchon's 'Gravity's Rainbow' is considered by many to be one of the best works in the English language.
minkowski writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:20:14 AM

Alex is lazy.

More news and some photos regarding Star Trek Into Darkness villain:

The latest issue of Empire Magazine calls John Harrison a "Starfleet officer turned Galactic terrorist."

“He’s sort of superhuman, pretty much unbeatable,” Benedict c*mberbatch tells Empire of his role in “Star Trek: Into Darkness.” “Brainy and brawny. He manipulates situations. He’s incarcerated when Kirk is talking to him and yet he still gets Kirk to do his work for him. He pushes him into a corner where the only route to salvation is cooperation. There is a real Hannibal Lecter quality to him.”

“He was within Starfleet and has now turned against the organization and is hell-bent on revenge,” director J.J. Abrams tells Empire. “He’s responsible for a very violent, horrific attack in London and then one in the States. He believes he and others were wronged and is focused on destruction. He’s an incredibly brilliant strategist who is aware of various truths that Kirk is not privy to.”

“He is just as intelligent and logical as Spock, but is also one very bad motherf*cker,” franchise star Chris Pine adds.

http://www.aintitcoolnews.com/node/60161
minkowski writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:30:44 AM

Hobbit passes 1/2 Billion Mark

http://www.deadline.com/2012/12/the-hobbit-passes-global-half-billion-mark/






Star Trek Empire covers plus two new stills

http://www.empireonline.com/news/story.asp?NID=36063





Jamie Foxx thanks Tarantino for Spider-Man Gig

http://www.totalfilm.com/news/jamie-foxx-talks-the-amazing-spider-man-2





Marv The Martian and Hong Kong Phooey Test Footage for Failed Films

http://www.cinemablend.com/new/What-Would-Hong-Kong-Phooey-Marvin-Martian-Movies-Look-Like-Watch-Now-34819.html



Top Ten Most Disappointing Films of 2012

http://www.cinemablend.com/new/10-Most-Disappointing-Movies-2012-34820.html




Quentin Tarantino Hates John Ford

http://blogs.indiewire.com/criticwire/quentin-tarantino-says-he-hates-john-ford
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:54:59 AM

Is it bad that I saw 9 out of those 10 films in theaters...
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 2:53:41 AM

8,720,000 downloads Project X !!

One and only reason for that is Alexis Knapp

.......... BA BONG Indeed
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 3:32:09 AM

Top Ten Most Disappointing Films of 2012

Pretty much 50/50 on that list for me Mink, Films like The Watch, Dark Shadows and Brave didn't look that great in the first place.

Prometheus though (i didn't hate the film) still missed it's mark by a long way and was the most disappointing film of 2012 because of the very expectations we all had for that movie.
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 3:36:14 AM

Tan

I don't pay for the cinema and i watched 8 out of 10 of those movies in the cinema, If i paid i guess i would have seen maybe 5.
Venom1970 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 5:15:59 AM

Just started watching Hit & Run, f*cking terrible turned off after 4 mins! I have only ever done that one other time to that terrible movie Cop Out with that foul black man Tracey Morgan.

I know it's jumping the gun but had a very bad feel for the film from the opening scene.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 5:20:06 AM

Trailer-

I guess I just get bored a lot.. I like saying "Ive seen everything that's out right now" whenever a friend asks
Venom1970 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 5:22:33 AM

Re The list of 10 disappointing films , I enjoyed an assortment of the first lot, I haven't seen any from Flight onwards, but they do not interest me whatsoever.

Savages, Dark Shadows, John Carter, The Watch and Prometheus I enjoyed. I won't watch flight, not a fan of Denzel's later work. Les Miserables is something I won't watch as i have no interest at all in musicals. The Liam Neeson one with Geoffrey Rush was great though.
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 5:24:35 AM

Well unless Kristen Bell was being Plated by Kristin Chenoweth in the first 5 minutes, I would have turned that movie off to Venom
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 5:31:35 AM

Tan

I like saying "Ive seen everything that's out right now"

I like saying the samething at The Cave (strip club)

pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 5:32:30 AM

Anybody seen Harry Brown with Michael Caine?
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 5:49:25 AM

Yes porn a few times Very Good ...

It's a dark, Gritty and depressing looking thriller set in the suburbs of London

Michael Caine goes full Charles Bronson when he's pushed to the edge of breaking point.

Caine is brilliant and gives one of his best ever performances. The action is kept very real which makes the film even better, It's not over the top at all.

Wellworth a view IMO 7.5/10
Janus writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 5:54:43 AM

Project X? I haven't even heard about it before. LOL! The other movies I know, most of them I've even seen.
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 6:10:18 AM

Sounds badass TRAILER
where has this movie been?
Seems like it wouldve beaten out Taken2
Thanks btw
Will be checkin it out more sooner than later now
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 6:15:47 AM

It's been around for a couple of years now.

Has a pretty good British cast Ben Drew (aka PlanB) make the step up from so called Rap star to film star pretty well.

When you've seen it let me know what you think mate !
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 6:18:35 AM

Alexis Knapp from Project X should have won that Best Nude Scene hands down (her top) this year !!
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 6:22:35 AM

Shes the one Ryan Phillipe knocked up after he broke up with Reese Witherspoon (no relation to John Witherspoon or Sonny Spoon)
Venom1970 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 6:34:12 AM

Yeah Harry Brown is very good. Little bit Gran Torino but more realistic imo.
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 6:43:42 AM

Thx VENOM
Caine as a good bad guy is almost as satisfying as him being a total baddy
Just got Savages and The Watch today
Didnt like Dark Shadows and will not watch Prometheus till the sequel comes out
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 6:48:56 AM

porn - lol, Yep thats her Very nice !!

I got The Watch, Savages, Paranorman (bloody good film), Total recall and Thats My Boy (another good film one of Sandlers best) this week gonna veg later and watch a few movies, Happy days ..
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 6:52:31 AM

Venom

Very much like Gran Torino but without all the Asians, Being it's set in that part of London seemed very odd and unrealistic , lol
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 6:57:36 AM

porn

Have you seen Mona Lisa with Bob Hoskins and Michael Caine ?

Another good film from Neil Jordan (before he fell off the Hollywood map) and wellworth checking out.

Caine as the nasty, It's only a small role but his presence is felt through the whole film.
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 7:27:11 AM

I dont even think that one even made it over here
I was a huge video store guy back then too
Will do a search
Thx bud
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 9:37:12 AM

No worries mate
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:15:59 PM

Venom- Flight is worth te watch, very good film
Kayacity writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 1:19:40 PM

Stealing is wrong. Stealing is stealing.
minkowski writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 3:25:52 PM

Except piracy isn't necessarily stealing.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 6:01:56 PM



did someone say pirated ?????????

http://www.movie2k.to/Jack-Reacher-watch-movie-2334784.html

It's Official! Channing Tatum to Star in "Gambit" Spin-Off

Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team

Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot

Christopher Nolan Hates Post-Credits Scenes, Here's Why

"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed

Daniel Bruhl is Villain in "Captain America 3" and "Doctor Strange"

Margot Robbie is Harley Quinn in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film

Jared Leto May Play The Joker in "Suicide Squad"

Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy

"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved