WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"X-Men" Spin-Off "Deadpool" is Finally Happening, Release Date Announced
Sep 18th, 2014
Trailer For "A Most Violent Year," From "Margin Call" Director
Sep 18th, 2014
Sony Unveils Animation Test For "Popeye" Movie
Sep 18th, 2014
See Batmobile in Action on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set
Sep 18th, 2014
"Jason Borne" Producer Says Both Matt Damon's and Jeremy Renner's Films are in the Works
Sep 18th, 2014
"Paranormal Activity 5" Gets New Title and Release Date
Sep 18th, 2014
New Posters For Matthew McConaughey's "Interstellar" and Brad Pitt's "Fury"
Sep 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Robert Downey Jr's "The Judge"
Sep 18th, 2014
David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull
Sep 17th, 2014
Tom Hardy Says Making "This Means War" Was a Bad Experience
Sep 17th, 2014
Jack Huston to Star in "Ben-Hur" Remake
Sep 17th, 2014
Poster for Disney's "Into the Woods," with Meryl Streep and Johnny Depp
Sep 17th, 2014
Tom Hiddleston to Star in "King Kong" Prequel, "Skull Island"
Sep 16th, 2014
Poster for Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Arrives Online
Sep 16th, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Plot Synopsis Revealed
Sep 16th, 2014
"I Know What You Did Last Summer" is Being Rebooted
Sep 16th, 2014
Leslie Mann in Talks for "Vacation" Sequel as Audrey Griswold
Sep 16th, 2014
"You're Next" Director to Remake "I Saw the Devil" Thriller
Sep 16th, 2014
Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"
Sep 16th, 2014
First Look at "By the Sea," with Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie
Sep 16th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Arrives Online
Sep 16th, 2014
Massive Banner For "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies"
Sep 15th, 2014
First Look: Adam Driver on "Star Wars: Episode VII" Set
Sep 15th, 2014
"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office
Sep 14th, 2014
Lou Ferrigno Says "Hulk" Movie and TV Series are Coming
Sep 14th, 2014
Photos: "Gotham" Star Ben McKenzie Injured on Set
Sep 14th, 2014
First Look at "Transporter" Reboot, Plot Synopsis Revealed
Sep 14th, 2014
First Look: Mark Wahlberg on "Ted 2" Set
Sep 14th, 2014
Batmobile Stolen From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set, Zack Snyder Knows Who Did It
Sep 13th, 2014
First Look at Matthew McConaughey in "The Sea of Trees"
Sep 13th, 2014
First Look at Seth Rogen's "BOO: Bureau of Otherworldly Operations" Animated Film
Sep 13th, 2014
Morgan Freeman Joins "Ben-Hur" Remake
Sep 13th, 2014
Trailer For Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Action Thriller
Sep 13th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Project X" Tops List of Most Pirated Films of 2012

Posted: December 27th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Project X" Tops List of Most Pirated Films of 2012Submit Comment
TorrentFreak released a list of the most pirated movies of 2012, showing that "Project X" comedy took first place, beating films that grossed as much as ten times more in theaters.

"Project X" was illegally downloaded about 8.7 million times, just ahead of "Mission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol" (8.5 million), "The Dark Knight Rises" (8.2 million) and "The Avengers" (8.1 million).

"Project X" was a surprise hit of 2012 by grossing over $100 million globally. Yet, it's the lowest-grossing film on the list. Meanwhile, "The Hunger Games," "Skyfall" and "Ted" are absent from the list.

1. Project X - 8,720,000

2. Mission: Impossible – Ghost Protocol - 8,500,000

3. The Dark Knight Rises - 8,230,000

4. The Avengers - 8,110,000

5. Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows - 7,850,000

6. 21 Jump Street - 7,590,000

7. The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo - 7,420,000

8. The Dictator - 7,330,000

9. Ice Age: Continental Drift - 6,960,000

10. The Twilight Saga Breaking Dawn Part 1 - 6,740,000

Source: TorrentFreak


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 37 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Venom1970 writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 9:24:41 PM

Haven't seen Project X I am not much of a comedy fan unless it has rude Aliens or Bears. I loved The Change Up though.
Ranger writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 10:52:30 PM

Slow news week.




Is Lohan dead yet?

minkowski writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 10:59:59 PM

Project X is right there at the intersection of two curves: profitability, and undesirability.

X marks the spot, I guess.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 11:15:56 PM

And I could care less about this sh*t!!
minkowski writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 11:36:33 PM

More News Alex Missed:

Is Kevin "Fatass" Smith bringing Clerks 3 to Broadway?

http://www.cnn.com/2012/04/03/showbiz/movies/kevin-smith-clerks-3-broadway-ew/index.html

Last week, during a book signing in New York, [Kevin "Fatass" Smith] revealed that his beloved characters might be heading to Broadway. After seeing the hit play, "Seminar," which reminded Smith of the fundamental stagecraft he used to film "Clerks," he suddenly envisioned breathing new life into the franchise with a stage production of "Clerks III" in 2014 to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the original.
telur writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 11:58:00 PM

so who said pirates damage box office?
Herbert Butterfield writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:05:47 AM

Another missed story: Paul Thomas Anderson's next film

http://www.joblo.com/movie-news/paul-thomas-anderson-to-adapt-the-stoner-private-eye-saga-inherent-vice-from-author-thomas-pynchon

Speaking to the NY Times, Paul Thomas Anderson has revealed that his next project will be an adaptation of author Thomas Pynchon's Inherent Vice, a '60's-set private-eye tale, which he's been tossing around adapting for years, with Robert Downey Jr. eyed for the lead role.

Here's the book synopsis:

It's been a while since Doc Sportello has seen his ex- girlfriend. Suddenly she shows up with a story about a plot to kidnap a billionaire land developer whom she just happens to be in love with. It's the tail end of the psychedelic sixties in L.A., and Doc knows that "love" is another of those words going around at the moment, like "trip" or "groovy," except that this one usually leads to trouble.

i can't say that i've ever heard of this novel. has anyone on here read it?
minkowski writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:16:22 AM

^^Sounds good, Hubert. Good news article.

And no I haven't read 'Inherent Vice', but Pynchon's 'Gravity's Rainbow' is considered by many to be one of the best works in the English language.
minkowski writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:20:14 AM

Alex is lazy.

More news and some photos regarding Star Trek Into Darkness villain:

The latest issue of Empire Magazine calls John Harrison a "Starfleet officer turned Galactic terrorist."

“He’s sort of superhuman, pretty much unbeatable,” Benedict c*mberbatch tells Empire of his role in “Star Trek: Into Darkness.” “Brainy and brawny. He manipulates situations. He’s incarcerated when Kirk is talking to him and yet he still gets Kirk to do his work for him. He pushes him into a corner where the only route to salvation is cooperation. There is a real Hannibal Lecter quality to him.”

“He was within Starfleet and has now turned against the organization and is hell-bent on revenge,” director J.J. Abrams tells Empire. “He’s responsible for a very violent, horrific attack in London and then one in the States. He believes he and others were wronged and is focused on destruction. He’s an incredibly brilliant strategist who is aware of various truths that Kirk is not privy to.”

“He is just as intelligent and logical as Spock, but is also one very bad motherf*cker,” franchise star Chris Pine adds.

http://www.aintitcoolnews.com/node/60161
minkowski writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:30:44 AM

Hobbit passes 1/2 Billion Mark

http://www.deadline.com/2012/12/the-hobbit-passes-global-half-billion-mark/






Star Trek Empire covers plus two new stills

http://www.empireonline.com/news/story.asp?NID=36063





Jamie Foxx thanks Tarantino for Spider-Man Gig

http://www.totalfilm.com/news/jamie-foxx-talks-the-amazing-spider-man-2





Marv The Martian and Hong Kong Phooey Test Footage for Failed Films

http://www.cinemablend.com/new/What-Would-Hong-Kong-Phooey-Marvin-Martian-Movies-Look-Like-Watch-Now-34819.html



Top Ten Most Disappointing Films of 2012

http://www.cinemablend.com/new/10-Most-Disappointing-Movies-2012-34820.html




Quentin Tarantino Hates John Ford

http://blogs.indiewire.com/criticwire/quentin-tarantino-says-he-hates-john-ford
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:54:59 AM

Is it bad that I saw 9 out of those 10 films in theaters...
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 2:53:41 AM

8,720,000 downloads Project X !!

One and only reason for that is Alexis Knapp

.......... BA BONG Indeed
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 3:32:09 AM

Top Ten Most Disappointing Films of 2012

Pretty much 50/50 on that list for me Mink, Films like The Watch, Dark Shadows and Brave didn't look that great in the first place.

Prometheus though (i didn't hate the film) still missed it's mark by a long way and was the most disappointing film of 2012 because of the very expectations we all had for that movie.
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 3:36:14 AM

Tan

I don't pay for the cinema and i watched 8 out of 10 of those movies in the cinema, If i paid i guess i would have seen maybe 5.
Venom1970 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 5:15:59 AM

Just started watching Hit & Run, f*cking terrible turned off after 4 mins! I have only ever done that one other time to that terrible movie Cop Out with that foul black man Tracey Morgan.

I know it's jumping the gun but had a very bad feel for the film from the opening scene.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 5:20:06 AM

Trailer-

I guess I just get bored a lot.. I like saying "Ive seen everything that's out right now" whenever a friend asks
Venom1970 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 5:22:33 AM

Re The list of 10 disappointing films , I enjoyed an assortment of the first lot, I haven't seen any from Flight onwards, but they do not interest me whatsoever.

Savages, Dark Shadows, John Carter, The Watch and Prometheus I enjoyed. I won't watch flight, not a fan of Denzel's later work. Les Miserables is something I won't watch as i have no interest at all in musicals. The Liam Neeson one with Geoffrey Rush was great though.
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 5:24:35 AM

Well unless Kristen Bell was being Plated by Kristin Chenoweth in the first 5 minutes, I would have turned that movie off to Venom
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 5:31:35 AM

Tan

I like saying "Ive seen everything that's out right now"

I like saying the samething at The Cave (strip club)

pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 5:32:30 AM

Anybody seen Harry Brown with Michael Caine?
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 5:49:25 AM

Yes porn a few times Very Good ...

It's a dark, Gritty and depressing looking thriller set in the suburbs of London

Michael Caine goes full Charles Bronson when he's pushed to the edge of breaking point.

Caine is brilliant and gives one of his best ever performances. The action is kept very real which makes the film even better, It's not over the top at all.

Wellworth a view IMO 7.5/10
Janus writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 5:54:43 AM

Project X? I haven't even heard about it before. LOL! The other movies I know, most of them I've even seen.
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 6:10:18 AM

Sounds badass TRAILER
where has this movie been?
Seems like it wouldve beaten out Taken2
Thanks btw
Will be checkin it out more sooner than later now
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 6:15:47 AM

It's been around for a couple of years now.

Has a pretty good British cast Ben Drew (aka PlanB) make the step up from so called Rap star to film star pretty well.

When you've seen it let me know what you think mate !
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 6:18:35 AM

Alexis Knapp from Project X should have won that Best Nude Scene hands down (her top) this year !!
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 6:22:35 AM

Shes the one Ryan Phillipe knocked up after he broke up with Reese Witherspoon (no relation to John Witherspoon or Sonny Spoon)
Venom1970 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 6:34:12 AM

Yeah Harry Brown is very good. Little bit Gran Torino but more realistic imo.
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 6:43:42 AM

Thx VENOM
Caine as a good bad guy is almost as satisfying as him being a total baddy
Just got Savages and The Watch today
Didnt like Dark Shadows and will not watch Prometheus till the sequel comes out
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 6:48:56 AM

porn - lol, Yep thats her Very nice !!

I got The Watch, Savages, Paranorman (bloody good film), Total recall and Thats My Boy (another good film one of Sandlers best) this week gonna veg later and watch a few movies, Happy days ..
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 6:52:31 AM

Venom

Very much like Gran Torino but without all the Asians, Being it's set in that part of London seemed very odd and unrealistic , lol
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 6:57:36 AM

porn

Have you seen Mona Lisa with Bob Hoskins and Michael Caine ?

Another good film from Neil Jordan (before he fell off the Hollywood map) and wellworth checking out.

Caine as the nasty, It's only a small role but his presence is felt through the whole film.
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 7:27:11 AM

I dont even think that one even made it over here
I was a huge video store guy back then too
Will do a search
Thx bud
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 9:37:12 AM

No worries mate
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:15:59 PM

Venom- Flight is worth te watch, very good film
Kayacity writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 1:19:40 PM

Stealing is wrong. Stealing is stealing.
minkowski writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 3:25:52 PM

Except piracy isn't necessarily stealing.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 6:01:56 PM



did someone say pirated ?????????

http://www.movie2k.to/Jack-Reacher-watch-movie-2334784.html

Director James Gunn Comments on "Guardians of the Galaxy" Becoming Highest Grossing Movie of 2014

"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America

Warner Bros Has a "No Jokes" Policy For Its Superhero Films?

Joss Whedon Discusses Iron Man's Hulkbuster Suit in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

What Happens to Jimmy Olsen in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?

Lou Ferrigno Says "Hulk" Movie and TV Series are Coming
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved