WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment
Mar 1st, 2015
"Star Trek" Actor Leonard Nimoy Dead at 83
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Black Widow, Thor and Nick Fury Posters
Feb 28th, 2015
First Look at Eddie Redmayne as First Transgender Person in "The Danish Girl"
Feb 28th, 2015
Leonardo DiCaprio to Have 24 Personalities in "The Crowded Room"
Feb 28th, 2015
"Brewster's Millions" Remake Gets a Director
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils The Hulk Poster
Feb 27th, 2015
Director Neill Blomkamp Says His "Elysium" Film is Not Very Good
Feb 27th, 2015
Harrison Ford Confirmed for "Blade Runner 2," Director Announced
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp Clarifies His "Alien 5" Comments
Feb 27th, 2015
"Red Sonja" is Happening Again
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp's "Alien" Sequel Will Give Ripley a Proper Ending
Feb 26th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Iron Man Poster
Feb 26th, 2015
Official "Creed" Plot Synopsis Hints at Rocky's Health Issues
Feb 26th, 2015
Four New Photos From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Feb 26th, 2015
"Tomb Raider" Reboot Hires "Divergent" Writer
Feb 26th, 2015
Poster for Marvel's "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Feb 25th, 2015
Arnold Schwarzenegger Says He'll Return For "Terminator Genisys" Sequel
Feb 25th, 2015
Dark "Power Rangers" Short Film with James Van Der Beek
Feb 25th, 2015
"The LEGO Movie" Sequel Announces Director
Feb 25th, 2015
Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?
Feb 24th, 2015
Chris Pratt Comments on Starring in "Indiana Jones 5"
Feb 24th, 2015
Rooney Mara Says "Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" Sequel is Dead
Feb 24th, 2015
New Trailer for Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Action Film, From Director of "Taken"
Feb 24th, 2015
"Fifty Shades of Grey" Still First at Box Office, "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" Bombs
Feb 23rd, 2015
Academy Award Winners Announced!
Feb 22nd, 2015
Steven Spielberg May Direct Chris Pratt in "Indiana Jones 5"
Feb 22nd, 2015
Hugh Jackman Wants to Play Wolverine Until He Dies
Feb 22nd, 2015
"Wonder Woman" Set to Begin Filming This Fall
Feb 22nd, 2015
2015 Razzie Winners Announced!
Feb 22nd, 2015
Trailer for "Infinitely Polar Bear," with Mark Ruffalo and Zoe Saldana
Feb 22nd, 2015
First Look: Jason Momoa is Aquaman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Feb 21st, 2015
Joss Whedon Blames Edgar Wright for Not Having Ant-Man in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Feb 21st, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Project X" Tops List of Most Pirated Films of 2012

Posted: December 27th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Project X" Tops List of Most Pirated Films of 2012Submit Comment
TorrentFreak released a list of the most pirated movies of 2012, showing that "Project X" comedy took first place, beating films that grossed as much as ten times more in theaters.

"Project X" was illegally downloaded about 8.7 million times, just ahead of "Mission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol" (8.5 million), "The Dark Knight Rises" (8.2 million) and "The Avengers" (8.1 million).

"Project X" was a surprise hit of 2012 by grossing over $100 million globally. Yet, it's the lowest-grossing film on the list. Meanwhile, "The Hunger Games," "Skyfall" and "Ted" are absent from the list.

1. Project X - 8,720,000

2. Mission: Impossible – Ghost Protocol - 8,500,000

3. The Dark Knight Rises - 8,230,000

4. The Avengers - 8,110,000

5. Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows - 7,850,000

6. 21 Jump Street - 7,590,000

7. The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo - 7,420,000

8. The Dictator - 7,330,000

9. Ice Age: Continental Drift - 6,960,000

10. The Twilight Saga Breaking Dawn Part 1 - 6,740,000

Source: TorrentFreak


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 37 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Venom1970 writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 9:24:41 PM

Haven't seen Project X I am not much of a comedy fan unless it has rude Aliens or Bears. I loved The Change Up though.
Ranger writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 10:52:30 PM

Slow news week.




Is Lohan dead yet?

minkowski writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 10:59:59 PM

Project X is right there at the intersection of two curves: profitability, and undesirability.

X marks the spot, I guess.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 11:15:56 PM

And I could care less about this sh*t!!
minkowski writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 11:36:33 PM

More News Alex Missed:

Is Kevin "Fatass" Smith bringing Clerks 3 to Broadway?

http://www.cnn.com/2012/04/03/showbiz/movies/kevin-smith-clerks-3-broadway-ew/index.html

Last week, during a book signing in New York, [Kevin "Fatass" Smith] revealed that his beloved characters might be heading to Broadway. After seeing the hit play, "Seminar," which reminded Smith of the fundamental stagecraft he used to film "Clerks," he suddenly envisioned breathing new life into the franchise with a stage production of "Clerks III" in 2014 to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the original.
telur writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 11:58:00 PM

so who said pirates damage box office?
Herbert Butterfield writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:05:47 AM

Another missed story: Paul Thomas Anderson's next film

http://www.joblo.com/movie-news/paul-thomas-anderson-to-adapt-the-stoner-private-eye-saga-inherent-vice-from-author-thomas-pynchon

Speaking to the NY Times, Paul Thomas Anderson has revealed that his next project will be an adaptation of author Thomas Pynchon's Inherent Vice, a '60's-set private-eye tale, which he's been tossing around adapting for years, with Robert Downey Jr. eyed for the lead role.

Here's the book synopsis:

It's been a while since Doc Sportello has seen his ex- girlfriend. Suddenly she shows up with a story about a plot to kidnap a billionaire land developer whom she just happens to be in love with. It's the tail end of the psychedelic sixties in L.A., and Doc knows that "love" is another of those words going around at the moment, like "trip" or "groovy," except that this one usually leads to trouble.

i can't say that i've ever heard of this novel. has anyone on here read it?
minkowski writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:16:22 AM

^^Sounds good, Hubert. Good news article.

And no I haven't read 'Inherent Vice', but Pynchon's 'Gravity's Rainbow' is considered by many to be one of the best works in the English language.
minkowski writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:20:14 AM

Alex is lazy.

More news and some photos regarding Star Trek Into Darkness villain:

The latest issue of Empire Magazine calls John Harrison a "Starfleet officer turned Galactic terrorist."

“He’s sort of superhuman, pretty much unbeatable,” Benedict c*mberbatch tells Empire of his role in “Star Trek: Into Darkness.” “Brainy and brawny. He manipulates situations. He’s incarcerated when Kirk is talking to him and yet he still gets Kirk to do his work for him. He pushes him into a corner where the only route to salvation is cooperation. There is a real Hannibal Lecter quality to him.”

“He was within Starfleet and has now turned against the organization and is hell-bent on revenge,” director J.J. Abrams tells Empire. “He’s responsible for a very violent, horrific attack in London and then one in the States. He believes he and others were wronged and is focused on destruction. He’s an incredibly brilliant strategist who is aware of various truths that Kirk is not privy to.”

“He is just as intelligent and logical as Spock, but is also one very bad motherf*cker,” franchise star Chris Pine adds.

http://www.aintitcoolnews.com/node/60161
minkowski writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:30:44 AM

Hobbit passes 1/2 Billion Mark

http://www.deadline.com/2012/12/the-hobbit-passes-global-half-billion-mark/






Star Trek Empire covers plus two new stills

http://www.empireonline.com/news/story.asp?NID=36063





Jamie Foxx thanks Tarantino for Spider-Man Gig

http://www.totalfilm.com/news/jamie-foxx-talks-the-amazing-spider-man-2





Marv The Martian and Hong Kong Phooey Test Footage for Failed Films

http://www.cinemablend.com/new/What-Would-Hong-Kong-Phooey-Marvin-Martian-Movies-Look-Like-Watch-Now-34819.html



Top Ten Most Disappointing Films of 2012

http://www.cinemablend.com/new/10-Most-Disappointing-Movies-2012-34820.html




Quentin Tarantino Hates John Ford

http://blogs.indiewire.com/criticwire/quentin-tarantino-says-he-hates-john-ford
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:54:59 AM

Is it bad that I saw 9 out of those 10 films in theaters...
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 2:53:41 AM

8,720,000 downloads Project X !!

One and only reason for that is Alexis Knapp

.......... BA BONG Indeed
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 3:32:09 AM

Top Ten Most Disappointing Films of 2012

Pretty much 50/50 on that list for me Mink, Films like The Watch, Dark Shadows and Brave didn't look that great in the first place.

Prometheus though (i didn't hate the film) still missed it's mark by a long way and was the most disappointing film of 2012 because of the very expectations we all had for that movie.
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 3:36:14 AM

Tan

I don't pay for the cinema and i watched 8 out of 10 of those movies in the cinema, If i paid i guess i would have seen maybe 5.
Venom1970 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 5:15:59 AM

Just started watching Hit & Run, f*cking terrible turned off after 4 mins! I have only ever done that one other time to that terrible movie Cop Out with that foul black man Tracey Morgan.

I know it's jumping the gun but had a very bad feel for the film from the opening scene.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 5:20:06 AM

Trailer-

I guess I just get bored a lot.. I like saying "Ive seen everything that's out right now" whenever a friend asks
Venom1970 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 5:22:33 AM

Re The list of 10 disappointing films , I enjoyed an assortment of the first lot, I haven't seen any from Flight onwards, but they do not interest me whatsoever.

Savages, Dark Shadows, John Carter, The Watch and Prometheus I enjoyed. I won't watch flight, not a fan of Denzel's later work. Les Miserables is something I won't watch as i have no interest at all in musicals. The Liam Neeson one with Geoffrey Rush was great though.
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 5:24:35 AM

Well unless Kristen Bell was being Plated by Kristin Chenoweth in the first 5 minutes, I would have turned that movie off to Venom
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 5:31:35 AM

Tan

I like saying "Ive seen everything that's out right now"

I like saying the samething at The Cave (strip club)

pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 5:32:30 AM

Anybody seen Harry Brown with Michael Caine?
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 5:49:25 AM

Yes porn a few times Very Good ...

It's a dark, Gritty and depressing looking thriller set in the suburbs of London

Michael Caine goes full Charles Bronson when he's pushed to the edge of breaking point.

Caine is brilliant and gives one of his best ever performances. The action is kept very real which makes the film even better, It's not over the top at all.

Wellworth a view IMO 7.5/10
Janus writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 5:54:43 AM

Project X? I haven't even heard about it before. LOL! The other movies I know, most of them I've even seen.
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 6:10:18 AM

Sounds badass TRAILER
where has this movie been?
Seems like it wouldve beaten out Taken2
Thanks btw
Will be checkin it out more sooner than later now
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 6:15:47 AM

It's been around for a couple of years now.

Has a pretty good British cast Ben Drew (aka PlanB) make the step up from so called Rap star to film star pretty well.

When you've seen it let me know what you think mate !
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 6:18:35 AM

Alexis Knapp from Project X should have won that Best Nude Scene hands down (her top) this year !!
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 6:22:35 AM

Shes the one Ryan Phillipe knocked up after he broke up with Reese Witherspoon (no relation to John Witherspoon or Sonny Spoon)
Venom1970 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 6:34:12 AM

Yeah Harry Brown is very good. Little bit Gran Torino but more realistic imo.
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 6:43:42 AM

Thx VENOM
Caine as a good bad guy is almost as satisfying as him being a total baddy
Just got Savages and The Watch today
Didnt like Dark Shadows and will not watch Prometheus till the sequel comes out
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 6:48:56 AM

porn - lol, Yep thats her Very nice !!

I got The Watch, Savages, Paranorman (bloody good film), Total recall and Thats My Boy (another good film one of Sandlers best) this week gonna veg later and watch a few movies, Happy days ..
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 6:52:31 AM

Venom

Very much like Gran Torino but without all the Asians, Being it's set in that part of London seemed very odd and unrealistic , lol
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 6:57:36 AM

porn

Have you seen Mona Lisa with Bob Hoskins and Michael Caine ?

Another good film from Neil Jordan (before he fell off the Hollywood map) and wellworth checking out.

Caine as the nasty, It's only a small role but his presence is felt through the whole film.
pornfly writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 7:27:11 AM

I dont even think that one even made it over here
I was a huge video store guy back then too
Will do a search
Thx bud
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 9:37:12 AM

No worries mate
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 12:15:59 PM

Venom- Flight is worth te watch, very good film
Kayacity writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 1:19:40 PM

Stealing is wrong. Stealing is stealing.
minkowski writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 3:25:52 PM

Except piracy isn't necessarily stealing.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 28th, 2012 at 6:01:56 PM



did someone say pirated ?????????

http://www.movie2k.to/Jack-Reacher-watch-movie-2334784.html

Joss Whedon Blames Edgar Wright for Not Having Ant-Man in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

Will Smith Trashes "Another Earth," Vince Vaughn Trashes "The Internship"

More Details on Marvel's Spider-Man Deal, New Spider-Man to be Younger

Mark Ruffalo Discusses The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" and in New Solo Film

It's Official: Spider-Man to Appear in Marvel Films

Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?

Matthew Vaughn Reveals His Version of Quicksilver Scene in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Director Matthew Vaughn Wanted Two Wolverines in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Confirmed: Neill Blomkamp Will Direct New "Alien" Film

Jared Leto Talks Playing The Joker in "Suicide Squad"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved