WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!
Oct 22nd, 2014
"John Carter" Reboot in the Works, Disney Not Involved
Oct 22nd, 2014
James Wan to Direct "The Conjuring 2," May Direct DC Superhero Film
Oct 22nd, 2014
Ghostface Will NOT Appear in "Scream" TV Series
Oct 22nd, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Oct 22nd, 2014
Adam McKay Plans to Make "Step Brothers 2" in a Few Years
Oct 22nd, 2014
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Jena Malone is Female Robin in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Oct 18th, 2014
Marvel in Talks with Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in "Doctor Strange"
Oct 18th, 2014
Channing Tatum Not Sure We Need "23 Jump Street"
Oct 18th, 2014
Poster For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Oct 18th, 2014
Photos: Nicolas Cage Protesting Against His "Dying of the Light" Movie
Oct 17th, 2014
James Cameron Discusses Getting "Terminator" Rights Back in 2019
Oct 17th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro Says "Pacific Rim 2" Sets Up "Pacific Rim 3"
Oct 17th, 2014
New Trailer For Angelina Jolie's "Unbroken" World War II Drama
Oct 17th, 2014
Scarlett Johansson Offered $10 Million to Star in "Ghost in the Shell"
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer For Chris Rock's "Top Five" Comedy
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer: Chris Hemsworth Fights a Whale in Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea"
Oct 16th, 2014
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in Ron Howard's "Heart of the Sea" Survival Film
Oct 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Controversial "Amazing Spider-Man" Comic Book Hits Stores Today, Fans are Angry

Posted: December 26th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Controversial "Amazing Spider-Man" Comic Book Hits Stores Today, Fans are AngrySubmit Comment
Issue 700 of "The Amazing Spider-Man" hit stores today and contains a story that fans are having trouble accepting. In fact, the feedback has been so negative, that the writer of the comic book, Dan Slott, has been getting death threats on his Twitter account.

SPOILERS AHEAD:

In the new issue, Peter Parker loses a major battle against Doctor Octopus, who has spent the past year fighting to destroy the world as his body slowly died. He then switches minds with Peter, taking on the body of Spider-Man. Peter ends up in Doctor Octopus' body, which succumbing to illness, killing Peter in the process.

"This is Moriarty in the head of Sherlock. This is Prince John inside of Robin Hood. This is the greatest villain inside the body of the greatest hero and trying to do good," said Slott. "This is a guy who's got a whole new lease on life. That's really going to change him."

That's right, Doctor Octopus stops being a bad guy and becomes a hero. "We want to do Spider-Man by way of Batman a little creepier and darker," he continued. "Doc behaving in a manner he's not accustomed to. We see a more sympathetic side of Doctor Octopus. We couldn't have a Spider-Man who was running around murdering people. And I have no interest in seeing that sort of character win."

Source: Various


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
AYT BALL writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 8:57:18 PM

Death threats, really?! Its a comic, and sounds like they are trying something a bit different, never a bad thing.
boogiel writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 9:00:53 PM

Controversial indeed. Let me guess, Dr ock will soon become dr c*ck.
Detrimental writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 9:17:48 PM

But still... He's too iconic. Just because Spidey is replaceable doesn't mean Parker should be. Worst is that there's no good reason to kill him. Characters like him are famed for having episodic immortality, not a fixed cult fandom.
Ranger writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 9:21:26 PM

'Fans' making death threats over Twitter accounts should get a f*cking real life.
ozzie writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 9:40:05 PM

@ boogiel

haha i saw what you did there with the c*ck and the ock haha good one


I thought the point of comic books was to break new ground, this is pretty new.
minkowski writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 9:42:30 PM

In other words, to compete with DC's silly reboot of Batman and the entire DCU, Marvel's f*cking up Spider-Man for increased profits.

Whatever.
TheSkippySpartan writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 9:49:42 PM

Sounds like what they always do in comics anyway, just creating a whole new story arc.

Seriously, these comic nerds need to f*cking chill
pornfly writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 10:02:23 PM

Where were these f*ckers when Bay took Transformers like a Priest at the Sacred Heart of JesusChurch and School?

Marvel just took a risk on somebody so they can do like MINK said and feel the need to play one up with DC when it should be the other way around
DetroitFanRick writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 11:17:28 PM

Yet another example of why I'm glad I quit reading comics years ago.
I'm damned sick and tired of all these continuity-trashing douche nozzles destroying the books I grew up reading.
Marvel and DC can go bankrupt for all I care.
Jarmiez writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 11:25:58 PM

not often but i agrre with u crazy radical f*ckers really death threats u clown babys, you are sad... lol dr c*ck u guys
telur writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 11:56:10 PM

Peter Parker will live again

Ben Reilly did 20 years ago and Parker still live again

don't worry

nobody dies on comic

even Jason Todd live again
minkowski writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 12:07:00 AM

Jason Todd coming back was awesome, I thought, but the return of Bruce Wayne, as he traveled through time, would have been a lot more of a headf*ck if his time-traveling had kept his parents from being murdered, which isn't logically consistent, I know, but then neither is anything Grant Morrison has ever written.
Zeroguy writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 12:24:20 AM

Until Marvel revives Runaways, I'll stick to Image Comics and only Image comics.
thisisntme writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 2:54:44 AM

How long until Peter Parker returns?
Shogo1307 writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 3:15:38 AM

Its spiderman who cares.
Kurskij writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 5:03:01 AM

Death threats on... Twitter?

f*cking kids, whatever happened to newspaper cutouts and blood letters? No one has any sense of style this days.
japaninmotion writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 8:04:31 AM

like people stay dead in comix
japaninmotion writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 8:05:22 AM

NERD RAAAAAAAAAAAAAGE!
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 12:07:53 PM

Why do they keep f*cking with Spdey!?! Use to be a good read before all that clone bullsh*t... Hasn't been the same since...
TrueAvenger12 writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 7:12:38 PM

Spider-man will come back.Didn't they make a big deal about Captain America dying and he came back.....He won't be gone long.

Also anyone making death threats over this kind of stuff is a sad loser with no life.

@Zeroguy- I've been waiting for a new Runaways comic.I really hope it gets made.

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved