WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Captain America: Civil War" Concept Art Shows Two Avengers Teams
Aug 30th, 2015
First Look at Michael Fassbender in "Assassin's Creed" Video Game Movie
Aug 29th, 2015
Matt Damon Reveals "Bourne" Sequel Plot Details
Aug 29th, 2015
New Trailer for Jack Black's "Goosebumps"
Aug 29th, 2015
Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Schumer Working on New Comedy
Aug 27th, 2015
Christopher Meloni Joins "Holding Patterns"
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Love the Coopers" Comedy, with John Goodman, Ed Helms and Olivia Wilde
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for Nicholas Hoult's "Kill Your Friends" Crime Thriller
Aug 26th, 2015
James Franco is a Tech Billionaire in "Why Him" Comedy
Aug 26th, 2015
General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 20th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Jungle Cruise," Based on Disney's Theme Park Ride
Aug 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Blunt Force Trauma," with Mickey Rourke and Freida Pinto
Aug 20th, 2015
First Trailer for "Victor Frankenstein," with Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy
Aug 19th, 2015
"Prometheus 2" Delaying Neill Blomkamp's "Alien 5"
Aug 19th, 2015
Freddie Highmore and Odeya Rush Join "Holding Patterns"
Aug 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Matt Damon's "The Martian" is Here!
Aug 19th, 2015
Post-Apocalyptic "Zorro" Reboot is Moving Forward
Aug 19th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for "Star Wars: The Force Awakens"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at "Star Wars: Rogue One" Spin-Off Film
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Aug 18th, 2015
New Photo From Pixar's "Finding Dory"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for "Carol," with Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for Kevin Hart's "Ride Along" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
First Posters for "Alice in Wonderland" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
Bradley Cooper is a Chef in "Burnt" Trailer
Aug 15th, 2015
First Look at Black Panther on "Captain America: Civil War" Set
Aug 13th, 2015
First Look at Dolph Lundgren in "Kindergarten Cop" Sequel
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" is Here!
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Life," with Dane DeHaan as James Dean
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Trumbo," with Bryan Cranston and Helen Mirren
Aug 13th, 2015
Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?
Aug 9th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Controversial "Amazing Spider-Man" Comic Book Hits Stores Today, Fans are Angry

Posted: December 26th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Controversial "Amazing Spider-Man" Comic Book Hits Stores Today, Fans are AngrySubmit Comment
Issue 700 of "The Amazing Spider-Man" hit stores today and contains a story that fans are having trouble accepting. In fact, the feedback has been so negative, that the writer of the comic book, Dan Slott, has been getting death threats on his Twitter account.

SPOILERS AHEAD:

In the new issue, Peter Parker loses a major battle against Doctor Octopus, who has spent the past year fighting to destroy the world as his body slowly died. He then switches minds with Peter, taking on the body of Spider-Man. Peter ends up in Doctor Octopus' body, which succumbing to illness, killing Peter in the process.

"This is Moriarty in the head of Sherlock. This is Prince John inside of Robin Hood. This is the greatest villain inside the body of the greatest hero and trying to do good," said Slott. "This is a guy who's got a whole new lease on life. That's really going to change him."

That's right, Doctor Octopus stops being a bad guy and becomes a hero. "We want to do Spider-Man by way of Batman a little creepier and darker," he continued. "Doc behaving in a manner he's not accustomed to. We see a more sympathetic side of Doctor Octopus. We couldn't have a Spider-Man who was running around murdering people. And I have no interest in seeing that sort of character win."

Source: Various


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
AYT BALL writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 8:57:18 PM

Death threats, really?! Its a comic, and sounds like they are trying something a bit different, never a bad thing.
boogiel writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 9:00:53 PM

Controversial indeed. Let me guess, Dr ock will soon become dr c*ck.
Detrimental writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 9:17:48 PM

But still... He's too iconic. Just because Spidey is replaceable doesn't mean Parker should be. Worst is that there's no good reason to kill him. Characters like him are famed for having episodic immortality, not a fixed cult fandom.
Ranger writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 9:21:26 PM

'Fans' making death threats over Twitter accounts should get a f*cking real life.
ozzie writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 9:40:05 PM

@ boogiel

haha i saw what you did there with the c*ck and the ock haha good one


I thought the point of comic books was to break new ground, this is pretty new.
minkowski writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 9:42:30 PM

In other words, to compete with DC's silly reboot of Batman and the entire DCU, Marvel's f*cking up Spider-Man for increased profits.

Whatever.
TheSkippySpartan writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 9:49:42 PM

Sounds like what they always do in comics anyway, just creating a whole new story arc.

Seriously, these comic nerds need to f*cking chill
pornfly writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 10:02:23 PM

Where were these f*ckers when Bay took Transformers like a Priest at the Sacred Heart of JesusChurch and School?

Marvel just took a risk on somebody so they can do like MINK said and feel the need to play one up with DC when it should be the other way around
DetroitFanRick writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 11:17:28 PM

Yet another example of why I'm glad I quit reading comics years ago.
I'm damned sick and tired of all these continuity-trashing douche nozzles destroying the books I grew up reading.
Marvel and DC can go bankrupt for all I care.
Jarmiez writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 11:25:58 PM

not often but i agrre with u crazy radical f*ckers really death threats u clown babys, you are sad... lol dr c*ck u guys
telur writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 11:56:10 PM

Peter Parker will live again

Ben Reilly did 20 years ago and Parker still live again

don't worry

nobody dies on comic

even Jason Todd live again
minkowski writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 12:07:00 AM

Jason Todd coming back was awesome, I thought, but the return of Bruce Wayne, as he traveled through time, would have been a lot more of a headf*ck if his time-traveling had kept his parents from being murdered, which isn't logically consistent, I know, but then neither is anything Grant Morrison has ever written.
Zeroguy writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 12:24:20 AM

Until Marvel revives Runaways, I'll stick to Image Comics and only Image comics.
thisisntme writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 2:54:44 AM

How long until Peter Parker returns?
Shogo1307 writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 3:15:38 AM

Its spiderman who cares.
Kurskij writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 5:03:01 AM

Death threats on... Twitter?

f*cking kids, whatever happened to newspaper cutouts and blood letters? No one has any sense of style this days.
japaninmotion writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 8:04:31 AM

like people stay dead in comix
japaninmotion writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 8:05:22 AM

NERD RAAAAAAAAAAAAAGE!
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 12:07:53 PM

Why do they keep f*cking with Spdey!?! Use to be a good read before all that clone bullsh*t... Hasn't been the same since...
TrueAvenger12 writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 7:12:38 PM

Spider-man will come back.Didn't they make a big deal about Captain America dying and he came back.....He won't be gone long.

Also anyone making death threats over this kind of stuff is a sad loser with no life.

@Zeroguy- I've been waiting for a new Runaways comic.I really hope it gets made.

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved