WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
James Gunn Says "Guardians and the Galaxy" and "Avengers" Superheroes May Soon Meet
Aug 1st, 2014
Thanos is NOT Part of "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Aug 1st, 2014
Trailer for Disney's "Into the Woods," with Chris Pine and Meryl Streep
Aug 1st, 2014
Trailer for "SpongeBob SquarePants: Sponge Out of Water" Arrives Online
Aug 1st, 2014
Frank Darabont Confirmed to Direct "Snow White and the Huntsman" Prequel
Aug 1st, 2014
Trailer for Kate Beckinsale's "Stonehearst Asylum" Thriller
Aug 1st, 2014
"Sharknado 2" Breaks Records with 3.9 Million Viewers
Aug 1st, 2014
New Trailer for Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Dark Comedy
Aug 1st, 2014
First Look at Josh Brolin as Thanos in "Guardians of the Galaxy"
Jul 31st, 2014
"Con Air" Director Wants to Set Sequel in Space
Jul 31st, 2014
New Photos From Disney's "Into the Woods" Musical, with Chris Pine as Prince Charming
Jul 31st, 2014
Jamie Foxx to Play Mike Tyson in Biopic
Jul 31st, 2014
Alex Kurtzman to Direct "The Mummy" Reboot
Jul 31st, 2014
Poster For Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" Western
Jul 31st, 2014
Full Trailer for Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Sci-Fi Film is Here!
Jul 31st, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Post-Credits Scene Leaked Online
Jul 30th, 2014
Trailer for Ben Stiller's "Night at the Museum: Secret of the Tomb"
Jul 30th, 2014
Why is This "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Poster So Offensive?
Jul 30th, 2014
TJ Miller Explains Why He'll Never Work With Director Michael Bay Again
Jul 30th, 2014
New Trailer For "Maze Runner" Sci-Fi Thriller
Jul 30th, 2014
Zoe Saldana Gives an Update on "Avatar" Sequels
Jul 30th, 2014
Trailer for "The Longest Week" Comedy, with Jason Bateman and Olivia Wilde
Jul 30th, 2014
Watch 5 Minutes From "The Simpsons" and "Family Guy" Crossover Episode
Jul 29th, 2014
Sam Raimi and Bruce Campbell Developing "Evil Dead" TV Series
Jul 29th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel Makes Offer to "Attack the Block" Director Joe Cornish
Jul 29th, 2014
Jodie Foster to Direct George Clooney in "Money Monster" Thriller
Jul 29th, 2014
Trailer For The Asylum's "The Expendables" Rip-Off, With Brigitte Nielsen and Vivica A. Fox
Jul 29th, 2014
New Poster for "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies"
Jul 29th, 2014
Extended Restricted Trailer for "Sin City 2: A Dame to Kill For"
Jul 29th, 2014
First Photos From Ben Stiller's "Night at the Museum 3"
Jul 29th, 2014
Photos: Lots of "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Props On Display at Comic-Con
Jul 28th, 2014
"Deadpool" Movie Test Footage Leaked Online
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Controversial "Amazing Spider-Man" Comic Book Hits Stores Today, Fans are Angry

Posted: December 26th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Controversial "Amazing Spider-Man" Comic Book Hits Stores Today, Fans are AngrySubmit Comment
Issue 700 of "The Amazing Spider-Man" hit stores today and contains a story that fans are having trouble accepting. In fact, the feedback has been so negative, that the writer of the comic book, Dan Slott, has been getting death threats on his Twitter account.

SPOILERS AHEAD:

In the new issue, Peter Parker loses a major battle against Doctor Octopus, who has spent the past year fighting to destroy the world as his body slowly died. He then switches minds with Peter, taking on the body of Spider-Man. Peter ends up in Doctor Octopus' body, which succumbing to illness, killing Peter in the process.

"This is Moriarty in the head of Sherlock. This is Prince John inside of Robin Hood. This is the greatest villain inside the body of the greatest hero and trying to do good," said Slott. "This is a guy who's got a whole new lease on life. That's really going to change him."

That's right, Doctor Octopus stops being a bad guy and becomes a hero. "We want to do Spider-Man by way of Batman a little creepier and darker," he continued. "Doc behaving in a manner he's not accustomed to. We see a more sympathetic side of Doctor Octopus. We couldn't have a Spider-Man who was running around murdering people. And I have no interest in seeing that sort of character win."

Source: Various


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
AYT BALL writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 8:57:18 PM

Death threats, really?! Its a comic, and sounds like they are trying something a bit different, never a bad thing.
boogiel writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 9:00:53 PM

Controversial indeed. Let me guess, Dr ock will soon become dr c*ck.
Detrimental writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 9:17:48 PM

But still... He's too iconic. Just because Spidey is replaceable doesn't mean Parker should be. Worst is that there's no good reason to kill him. Characters like him are famed for having episodic immortality, not a fixed cult fandom.
Ranger writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 9:21:26 PM

'Fans' making death threats over Twitter accounts should get a f*cking real life.
ozzie writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 9:40:05 PM

@ boogiel

haha i saw what you did there with the c*ck and the ock haha good one


I thought the point of comic books was to break new ground, this is pretty new.
minkowski writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 9:42:30 PM

In other words, to compete with DC's silly reboot of Batman and the entire DCU, Marvel's f*cking up Spider-Man for increased profits.

Whatever.
TheSkippySpartan writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 9:49:42 PM

Sounds like what they always do in comics anyway, just creating a whole new story arc.

Seriously, these comic nerds need to f*cking chill
pornfly writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 10:02:23 PM

Where were these f*ckers when Bay took Transformers like a Priest at the Sacred Heart of JesusChurch and School?

Marvel just took a risk on somebody so they can do like MINK said and feel the need to play one up with DC when it should be the other way around
DetroitFanRick writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 11:17:28 PM

Yet another example of why I'm glad I quit reading comics years ago.
I'm damned sick and tired of all these continuity-trashing douche nozzles destroying the books I grew up reading.
Marvel and DC can go bankrupt for all I care.
Jarmiez writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 11:25:58 PM

not often but i agrre with u crazy radical f*ckers really death threats u clown babys, you are sad... lol dr c*ck u guys
telur writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 11:56:10 PM

Peter Parker will live again

Ben Reilly did 20 years ago and Parker still live again

don't worry

nobody dies on comic

even Jason Todd live again
minkowski writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 12:07:00 AM

Jason Todd coming back was awesome, I thought, but the return of Bruce Wayne, as he traveled through time, would have been a lot more of a headf*ck if his time-traveling had kept his parents from being murdered, which isn't logically consistent, I know, but then neither is anything Grant Morrison has ever written.
Zeroguy writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 12:24:20 AM

Until Marvel revives Runaways, I'll stick to Image Comics and only Image comics.
thisisntme writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 2:54:44 AM

How long until Peter Parker returns?
Shogo1307 writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 3:15:38 AM

Its spiderman who cares.
Kurskij writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 5:03:01 AM

Death threats on... Twitter?

f*cking kids, whatever happened to newspaper cutouts and blood letters? No one has any sense of style this days.
japaninmotion writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 8:04:31 AM

like people stay dead in comix
japaninmotion writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 8:05:22 AM

NERD RAAAAAAAAAAAAAGE!
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 12:07:53 PM

Why do they keep f*cking with Spdey!?! Use to be a good read before all that clone bullsh*t... Hasn't been the same since...
TrueAvenger12 writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 7:12:38 PM

Spider-man will come back.Didn't they make a big deal about Captain America dying and he came back.....He won't be gone long.

Also anyone making death threats over this kind of stuff is a sad loser with no life.

@Zeroguy- I've been waiting for a new Runaways comic.I really hope it gets made.

Joaquin Phoenix in Talks for Marvel's "Doctor Strange"

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

TJ Miller Explains Why He'll Never Work With Director Michael Bay Again

"Sharknado 2" Breaks Records with 3.9 Million Viewers

Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved