WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy
Apr 17th, 2014
Robin Williams to Return for "Mrs. Doubtfire" Sequel
Apr 17th, 2014
Jerry Bruckheimer on "Pirates of the Caribbean 5," "Top Gun 2" and "Beverly Hills Cop 4"
Apr 17th, 2014
James Franco Didn't Know He Has a Cameo in "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes"
Apr 17th, 2014
Poster for Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 17th, 2014
"The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Contains a Surprising Post-Credits Scene
Apr 17th, 2014
Trailer for Eli Roth's "The Green Inferno" Cannibal Horror Film
Apr 17th, 2014
Antonio Banderas Says "Puss in Boots 2" is Already Being Made
Apr 16th, 2014
"Friday the 13th" Reboot in Talks with "V/H/S" Director
Apr 16th, 2014
Sneak Peek at Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy"
Apr 16th, 2014
Final Trailer for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Sinister Six" Spin-Off May NOT Feature Classic Spider-Man Villains
Apr 16th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio to Star in "The Revenant" Revenge Thriller
Apr 16th, 2014
Will Ferrell, John C. Reilly and Adam McKay Re-Team for "Border Guards" Comedy
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for Chrloe Moretz's "If I Stay"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Hires Paul Walker's Brothers to Help Finish the Film
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for "Third Person," with Liam Neeson and James Franco
Apr 16th, 2014
Andrew Garfield Says Spider-Man is Jewish
Apr 15th, 2014
Channing Tatum Confirms Talks to Play Gambit in "X-Men" Film
Apr 15th, 2014
David Fincher to be Replaced on Steve Jobs Biopic Due to Unreasonable Requests
Apr 15th, 2014
Harrison Ford Excited to Return for "Blade Runner" Sequel
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for David Cronenberg's "Maps to the Stars," with John Cusack and Julianne Moore
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Philip Seymour Hoffman's "God's Pocket" Thriller
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Zoe Saldana's "Rosemary's Baby" TV Series
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Tommy Lee Jones' "The Homesman"
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Jay-Z's "Annie" Remake, With Jamie Foxx and Cameron Diaz
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Ben Affleck's "Gone Girl" Thriller, Directed by David Fincher
Apr 14th, 2014
Pierce Brosnan Says He Was NOT Good Enough as James Bond
Apr 14th, 2014
"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ
Apr 14th, 2014
Watch Opening Battle Sequence From "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 14th, 2014
Spider-Man Battles Electro in New "The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Clip
Apr 14th, 2014
First "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" TV Spot Shows Splinter
Apr 14th, 2014
"Transformers: Age of Extinction" TV Spot From MTV Movie Awards
Apr 14th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Controversial "Amazing Spider-Man" Comic Book Hits Stores Today, Fans are Angry

Posted: December 26th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Controversial "Amazing Spider-Man" Comic Book Hits Stores Today, Fans are AngrySubmit Comment
Issue 700 of "The Amazing Spider-Man" hit stores today and contains a story that fans are having trouble accepting. In fact, the feedback has been so negative, that the writer of the comic book, Dan Slott, has been getting death threats on his Twitter account.

SPOILERS AHEAD:

In the new issue, Peter Parker loses a major battle against Doctor Octopus, who has spent the past year fighting to destroy the world as his body slowly died. He then switches minds with Peter, taking on the body of Spider-Man. Peter ends up in Doctor Octopus' body, which succumbing to illness, killing Peter in the process.

"This is Moriarty in the head of Sherlock. This is Prince John inside of Robin Hood. This is the greatest villain inside the body of the greatest hero and trying to do good," said Slott. "This is a guy who's got a whole new lease on life. That's really going to change him."

That's right, Doctor Octopus stops being a bad guy and becomes a hero. "We want to do Spider-Man by way of Batman a little creepier and darker," he continued. "Doc behaving in a manner he's not accustomed to. We see a more sympathetic side of Doctor Octopus. We couldn't have a Spider-Man who was running around murdering people. And I have no interest in seeing that sort of character win."

Source: Various


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
AYT BALL writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 8:57:18 PM

Death threats, really?! Its a comic, and sounds like they are trying something a bit different, never a bad thing.
boogiel writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 9:00:53 PM

Controversial indeed. Let me guess, Dr ock will soon become dr c*ck.
Detrimental writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 9:17:48 PM

But still... He's too iconic. Just because Spidey is replaceable doesn't mean Parker should be. Worst is that there's no good reason to kill him. Characters like him are famed for having episodic immortality, not a fixed cult fandom.
Ranger writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 9:21:26 PM

'Fans' making death threats over Twitter accounts should get a f*cking real life.
ozzie writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 9:40:05 PM

@ boogiel

haha i saw what you did there with the c*ck and the ock haha good one


I thought the point of comic books was to break new ground, this is pretty new.
minkowski writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 9:42:30 PM

In other words, to compete with DC's silly reboot of Batman and the entire DCU, Marvel's f*cking up Spider-Man for increased profits.

Whatever.
TheSkippySpartan writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 9:49:42 PM

Sounds like what they always do in comics anyway, just creating a whole new story arc.

Seriously, these comic nerds need to f*cking chill
pornfly writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 10:02:23 PM

Where were these f*ckers when Bay took Transformers like a Priest at the Sacred Heart of JesusChurch and School?

Marvel just took a risk on somebody so they can do like MINK said and feel the need to play one up with DC when it should be the other way around
DetroitFanRick writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 11:17:28 PM

Yet another example of why I'm glad I quit reading comics years ago.
I'm damned sick and tired of all these continuity-trashing douche nozzles destroying the books I grew up reading.
Marvel and DC can go bankrupt for all I care.
Jarmiez writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 11:25:58 PM

not often but i agrre with u crazy radical f*ckers really death threats u clown babys, you are sad... lol dr c*ck u guys
telur writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 11:56:10 PM

Peter Parker will live again

Ben Reilly did 20 years ago and Parker still live again

don't worry

nobody dies on comic

even Jason Todd live again
minkowski writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 12:07:00 AM

Jason Todd coming back was awesome, I thought, but the return of Bruce Wayne, as he traveled through time, would have been a lot more of a headf*ck if his time-traveling had kept his parents from being murdered, which isn't logically consistent, I know, but then neither is anything Grant Morrison has ever written.
Zeroguy writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 12:24:20 AM

Until Marvel revives Runaways, I'll stick to Image Comics and only Image comics.
thisisntme writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 2:54:44 AM

How long until Peter Parker returns?
Shogo1307 writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 3:15:38 AM

Its spiderman who cares.
Kurskij writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 5:03:01 AM

Death threats on... Twitter?

f*cking kids, whatever happened to newspaper cutouts and blood letters? No one has any sense of style this days.
japaninmotion writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 8:04:31 AM

like people stay dead in comix
japaninmotion writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 8:05:22 AM

NERD RAAAAAAAAAAAAAGE!
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 12:07:53 PM

Why do they keep f*cking with Spdey!?! Use to be a good read before all that clone bullsh*t... Hasn't been the same since...
TrueAvenger12 writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 7:12:38 PM

Spider-man will come back.Didn't they make a big deal about Captain America dying and he came back.....He won't be gone long.

Also anyone making death threats over this kind of stuff is a sad loser with no life.

@Zeroguy- I've been waiting for a new Runaways comic.I really hope it gets made.

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

Lindsay Lohan Says She Was Almost in "The Avengers," But as Which Character?

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

Marvel Already Set Up Films Through 2028, Lots of Spin-Offs in the Works

"Captain America 3" Directors Hint at Plot Details
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved