WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
M. Night Shyamalan Says "Unbreakable 2" May Still Happen
Jan 31st, 2015
Trailer for "Madame Bovary," with Mia Wasikowska and Paul Giamatti
Jan 31st, 2015
Elijah Wood Joins Nicolas Cage in "The Trust" Cop Thriller
Jan 31st, 2015
"Terminator Genisys" Super Bowl TV Spot, Plus New Poster
Jan 30th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Super Bowl TV Spot
Jan 30th, 2015
Photos: Get a Better Look at Indominus Rex From "Jurassic World"
Jan 30th, 2015
"Minions" Super Bowl TV Spot
Jan 30th, 2015
"The Divergent Series: Insurgent" Super Bowl TV Spot
Jan 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Ted 2" is Here!
Jan 29th, 2015
"The Strangers 2" Gets Director and Plot Synopsis, to Shoot This Spring
Jan 29th, 2015
"Snow White and the Huntsman" Sequel to Bring Back Only Two Dwarves
Jan 29th, 2015
Brad Pitt in Talks for "Africa," Directed by Angelina Jolie
Jan 29th, 2015
Emma Watson is Belle in Disney's Live-Action "Beauty and the Beast" Film
Jan 29th, 2015
Kevin Spacey to Play a Cat in "Nine Lives" Comedy
Jan 29th, 2015
Poster for Dwayne Johnson's "San Andreas" Earthquake Film
Jan 29th, 2015
Disney Wants to Reboot "Indiana Jones" with Chris Pratt
Jan 28th, 2015
Liam Hemsworth Offered Lead Role in "Independence Day" Sequel
Jan 28th, 2015
"Ghostbusters" Reboot Found Its Female Cast
Jan 28th, 2015
Trailer for Tom Hardy's "Child 44" Thriller
Jan 28th, 2015
First Poster for "Ted 2," Trailer Coming on Thursday
Jan 28th, 2015
"Mission: Impossible 5," "Friday the 13th" and "Paranormal Activity 5" Get New Release Dates
Jan 28th, 2015
"Fantastic Four" Trailer is Here!
Jan 27th, 2015
Two New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Magazine Covers, Opening Scene Revealed
Jan 27th, 2015
Fox Confirms "X-Men" TV Series in the Works
Jan 27th, 2015
Joss Whedon Hints He Won't Direct "Avengers: Infinity War"
Jan 27th, 2015
First Look at Michael B. Jordan in Costume From "Fantastic Four," Trailer Coming Today
Jan 27th, 2015
Adam Sandler's "Ridiculous 6" Netflix Film Unveils First Details
Jan 27th, 2015
Trailer for RZA's "The Man With the Iron Fists" Sequel
Jan 27th, 2015
"American Sniper" Still Dominating at Box Office, Johnny Depp's "Mortdecai" Flops
Jan 26th, 2015
"Birdman" Wins at PGA Awards, Becomes Favorite to Win Oscar
Jan 26th, 2015
Trailer: Keanu Reeves in Eli Roth's "Knock Knock" Thriller
Jan 25th, 2015
DreamWorks Downsizes, Delays "How to Train Your Dragon 3"
Jan 25th, 2015
Julia Roberts to Star in "Batkid Begins" Film
Jan 25th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

JJ Abrams Was Offered to Direct "Star Wars: Episode VII"

Posted: December 26th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
JJ Abrams Was Offered to Direct "Star Wars: Episode VII"Submit Comment
Empire magazine sat down with JJ Abrams, who revealed that Disney already offered him the chance to direct "Star Wars: Episode VII," but he turned it down.

"There were the very early conversations and I quickly said that because of my loyalty to 'Star Trek,' and also just being a fan, I wouldn't even want to be involved in the next version," he explained. "I declined any involvement very early on. I'd rather be in the audience not knowing what was coming, rather than being involved in the minutiae of making [the films]."

"Star Wars: Episode VII" is still without a director, but Matthew Vaughn (X-Men: First Class, Kick-Ass) is rumored to be up for the job. Production will begin sometime in 2013 and then the movie will hit theaters during the summer of 2015.

Source: Empire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Avirex writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 12:01:19 AM

sh*t is just being made to sell merchandise anyway. They make billions off that sh*t alone. Its the reason Dinsey/Pixar even made a sequel to 'Cars'.
Master Thought writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 12:06:49 AM

Here comes another Minkowski rant about how much Abrams screwed up Star Trek.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 12:40:26 AM



this reminds me of STAR WARS for some reason

http://collider.com/the-sessions-movie-clips/202055/
Taco writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 2:47:17 AM

Not sure about Mink, but JJ has turned Star Trek from a social and thoughtful look at mankind in the future to a generic action sc fi series. Just your typical fast food cinema hollyturd pans out.
Attos writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 3:22:40 AM

Confirming the fact that nobody at Disney has likely ever even seen Star Wars before.

"Hmmm. Star Wars. Star... Hey, what about that Star Trek guy? It's like the same thing, right? Space and lasers or something?"

I also can't deny that Abrams drastically changed what Star Trek is. However, it's not even close to the first time someone has ruined Star Trek. Three words: Deep Space Nine. (I won't even talk about Nemesis.)

This Star Trek was (mostly) a reboot. There'd be no point in remaking the exact same series again. Sure, it's lost a lot of its deeper meaning, but let's face it- people are too f*cking stupid in general these days to care about things like that anymore. (The fact that there are THREE Transformer movies is a testament to this. So is the fact that Shia Lebouf still has a job.) The old version had a lot more time to flesh things out as well, since they actually had entire seasons of television episodes in which to work with, as well as the films. I really don't think he did that bad of a job, given that he had 2 hours (give or take) to restart a story that's been going on since 1966, as well as reintroduce "alternate" versions of the characters we already knew so well.

Just remember, it could have been Michael Bay. Or Uwe Boll..
Cannon writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 3:23:23 AM

The very fact that Kathleen Kennedy and Disney offered him the job is deppressing in and of itself. Clearly, they're not thinking about what is best for the franchise.

In any event, I'm gladd Abrams said no.
Ranger writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 5:12:12 AM

I'll direct it.

It'll suck, but I'll get paid.

And that's all that matters at the end of the day.
Avirex writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 6:09:53 AM

^^ Can I co-direct the alien orgy scenes?
boogiel writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 6:31:57 AM

@Ranger

Hear, Hear!
Taco writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 6:42:40 AM

@ Attos, JJ did make the "Micheal Bay" Star Trek movie only he added lens flare.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 9:44:34 AM

Well at least he's being Honest..
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 11:59:20 AM

Ranger-lol

We knew he wasn't gonna direct anyway.
minkowski writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 3:23:35 PM

Star Trek died before Abrams. Some time around when Paramount realized the dwindling BabyBoomers weren't bringing in the dough.

They tried to keep the ship afloat by taking TNG big screen, and they tried again with Enterprise, but the demand wasn't there. Not enough Boomers, and those that were were still watching either were burned out on Star Trek since Voyager poorly recycled TNG tv plots or they just got bored and moved on to other more important things, like prostate cancer.

I did like Nemesis, sort of, and it did continue the legacy of Roddenberry, sort of, by topically exploiting Data's mortality, but I felt that was a crude grasp. They shouldn't have killed Data just to give the film a social commentary, and instead they should have either really strengthened Picard's struggle with the Romulan clone guy, like they did with Kirk and Khan, or else they should have just done something else entirely.

As for Deep Space Nine, I hated it. A lot of people loved it and they thought it was the Beast Wars to TNG's G1. Better stories, better acting, blah blah blah. I despised it. I know it was trying to compete with Babylon, but Roddenberry probably would have never signed off on that sh*t, although I hear he gave an early approval for the initial concept before he died, or something like that.

I also know I hated the ugly, dark, metallic sets set statically in space, and I hated the plots with the Bajorans and the Cardassians and I hated Sisko. He was like the black Kirk, or tried to be, with the way he pronounced everything like a retarded robot king reading miniature decrees. He sucked. And so did the Ferengi and Odo and Dax and all the rest of them. sh*tty cast, sh*tty setting, mostly sh*tty stories, and I also felt they were trying to buy off black viewers, as if to say, hey, we know you won't watch a show with whitey because you're racist, so here's one with a black running things. Will you PLEASE watch now, because we really need the ratings.

I also know Brannon Braga was there, writing his ass off, ruining everything he touched and I know lot of Trek fans hated him, hated his stories, hated his direction for the series. I certainly couldn't stand his stupid plot ideas and looking back, he was like the Lindelhof of Star Trek which is funny now that Lindelhof is the Lindelhof of Star Trek, which I'm sure means all kinds of good things for the franchise.
minkowski writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 5:59:07 PM

@taco: exactly. And we could use some more thoughtful sci-fi.
AYT BALL writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 9:00:05 PM

I trust Matthew Vaughn with this....and i didnt mind star trek but was never a huge fan of any series past the first.
Attos writes:
on December 27th, 2012 at 5:43:46 PM

@Taco - Yeah, I'll give you that one. It had been a long day when I wrote that, and it wasn't until after I posted it that I started laughing at myself for comparing it to something Bay would do. Yes, it was 'splosions from start to finish. Though I imagine the casting would have been a thousand times worse if Bay had actually done the movie himself, so there's that.

As far as Nemesis goes, I really WANTED to like that movie, but at a point that late in the series of things, I had higher expectations (however unreasonable they may have been) for it than it ever reached. I have a slightly higher appreciation for it now, though, as I somewhat enjoy Tom Hardy these days and didn't realize it was him until I went back and watched it not too long ago. (Having no clue who he was when it came out, and not exactly remembering it that well afterwards.)

Actor Edward Herrman Dead at 71

Julia Roberts to Star in "Batkid Begins" Film

Henry Cavill Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Split

Anthony Mackie Discusses Becoming Captain America in Marvel Films

Brad Pitt, Christian Bale and Ryan Gosling to Star in "The Big Short"

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Split Into Two Parts?

Michael Moore Hates "American Sniper," Says Snipers are Cowards

"Batman v Superman" Choreographer Teases Fight Between Batman and Superman

Oscar Isaac on Playing Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse," Plus Jean Grey, Cyclops and Storm Have Been Cast

Patrick Stewart and Ian McKellen Will NOT Return for "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved