WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Poster for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Nov 22nd, 2014
Angelina Jolie Will Quit Acting to Focus on Directing
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for George Lucas' Animated "Strange Magic" Film
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "Pitch Perfect 2" Arrives Online
Nov 21st, 2014
"Zoolander 2" is Moving Forward, Penelope Cruz Joins Cast
Nov 21st, 2014
Stephen King's "The Stand" to Become Four Movies
Nov 21st, 2014
First Look: Patrick Stewart is a White Supremacist in "Green Room" Thriller
Nov 21st, 2014
Mel Gibson May Direct "Hacksaw Ridge," with Andrew Garfield to Star
Nov 21st, 2014
Ridley Scott Promises "a Fresher Form of Alien" in "Prometheus 2"
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Nov 20th, 2014
Trailer for "American Heist" Thriller with Hayden Christensen and Adrien Brody
Nov 20th, 2014
Melissa McCarthy to Star in Live-Action "Tinker Bell" Comedy
Nov 20th, 2014
Al Pacino is an Aging Rock Star in "Danny Collins" Trailer
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for "Peter Pan Live" Musical, with Christopher Walken as Captain Hook
Nov 20th, 2014
Six Actors in Talks for Cyclops and Jean Grey in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 19th, 2014
How Do Horror Fans Choose Movies? Not By Plot or Cast
Nov 19th, 2014
Will Ferrell Bench Presses Kevin Hart in First "Get Hard" Photos
Nov 19th, 2014
Trailer for Ewan McGregor's "Son of a Gun" Crime Thriller
Nov 19th, 2014
Snoopy and Charlie Brown are Back in "The Peanuts Movie" Trailer
Nov 19th, 2014
Trailer for "Project Almanac" Time-Traveling Thriller
Nov 18th, 2014
"Jurassic World" Unveils New Photos, Trailer Coming Next Week
Nov 18th, 2014
Arnold Schwarzenegger Says "Running Man" Sequel is Happening
Nov 18th, 2014
New Images of Snoopy and Charlie Brown From "The Peanuts Movie"
Nov 18th, 2014
See "Interstellar" as Many Times as You Want for One Price
Nov 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Jeff Bridges' "Seventh Son" Fantasy Film
Nov 18th, 2014
Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy
Nov 17th, 2014
"Captain America 2" Directors May Take Over "The Avengers" Franchise
Nov 17th, 2014
Oscar-Winning "The Hurt Locker" Writer Hired for "Uncharted" Video Game Film
Nov 17th, 2014
"Dumb and Dumber To" Takes First Place at Box Office with $38 Million
Nov 16th, 2014
"Battlestar Galactice" and "Knight Rider" Creator Glen A. Larson Dead at 77
Nov 16th, 2014
New Trailer for "Miss Julie," with Colin Farrell and Jessica Chastain
Nov 16th, 2014
Jude Law is the Villain in Guy Ritchie's "Knights of the Round Table" King Arthur Film
Nov 16th, 2014
Daniel Bruhl is Villain in "Captain America 3" and "Doctor Strange"
Nov 15th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tom Hiddleston Wanted to Direct "Thor" Sequel

Posted: December 25th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tom Hiddleston Wanted to Direct "Thor" SequelSubmit Comment
After actors become successful, they attempt to branch out into other parts of the business, like producing, writing and directing. Ben Affleck has done it and so has Kenneth Branagh, who directed "Thor" and brought on Tom Hiddleston to play the villainous Loki.

Now that Hiddleston is becoming a household name, he is getting interested in getting behind the camera. In fact, he approached Marvel head Kevin Feige about directing the upcoming "Thor" sequel.

The actor recently sat down with Empire magazine and was asked whether he has any interest in directing. "Yes, I do," he replied. "I did ask, half-jokingly, Kevin Feige about directing 'Thor 2' and he said, 'Do you have something to show me?' I said 'no.' He said, 'If you made something and showed me, I might consider it.' But it's better for the world that he said no. It would be such a responsibility, but I think I'd enjoy it."

The job eventually went to Alan Taylor ("Game of Thrones") and is now set to hit theaters on November 8th, 2013.

Source: Empire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on December 25th, 2012 at 7:05:39 AM

Hiddlewho?
Hiddlewhat?
trailertrash writes:
on December 25th, 2012 at 7:08:52 AM

Hiddlef*ck off
trailertrash writes:
on December 25th, 2012 at 7:25:51 AM

^ To directing not you porn, lol
pornfly writes:
on December 25th, 2012 at 7:32:16 AM

another rum and egg nogg for my cohort TRAILERTRASH
boogiel writes:
on December 25th, 2012 at 8:14:47 AM

Hiddleston directing Thor sequel? He could turn out to be sh*t at it.
trailertrash writes:
on December 25th, 2012 at 8:45:04 AM

~~!! Hic ## Hic ## !! Hic ##


............. Don't mind if i do my old mucker porn
yoshi187 writes:
on December 25th, 2012 at 10:05:37 AM

One thing at a time boyo. He's a good actor he should stick to that for a bit
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 25th, 2012 at 11:17:12 AM

Let him have a stab at it.

Merry Christmas to every one on this site even the f*cking trolls. What a motley crew we are.
Attos writes:
on December 25th, 2012 at 12:53:29 PM

I almost feel like he might be decent at it (aside from his profound lack of experience in that field, but I enjoy him as an actor enough to not want him to be distracted from it.

As it stands, he's the only thing that keeps me watching Avenger-related movies. I never even wanted to watch Thor, but I was glad for it after I saw him play what I consider a pretty damn good villain. I hear there's a possibility of Loki making peace with the Avengers/Thor, in which case I'll finally have an excuse to stop watching. (Unless it ends with the predictable betrayal. I'd be fine with that.)
minkowski writes:
on December 25th, 2012 at 1:17:48 PM

If Tyler Perry is allowed behind a camera, I sure as f*ck don't see why Hiddleston can't do the same. Not like he's failed at acting, like, say, Tyler Perry.
Avirex writes:
on December 25th, 2012 at 2:38:23 PM

The current director barely has more experience than he does, so why not.
CelluloidMan writes:
on December 25th, 2012 at 2:41:02 PM

I agree Attos, I like Hiddleston on screen...he makes it look easy which is a sign of a great actor.

He manages to steal almost every scene...take the one before the IM/Thr/CA mash up when Thor takes him out of the plane & their conversation...it's a mixture of effortless drama and a touch of humor at the end in a matter of a few minutes.

As for the directing, Feige had it right. Hiddleston has to show what he can do...worked for Favreau (ZATHURA), Berg (THE RUNDOWN), & DeNiro (A BRONX TALE), no?

BTW, Merry Christmas to all WP, hope you all have a safe one. Drink a cold one (or a doubleshot of whatever's your "poison") for me. Cheers...
coldplayesence writes:
on December 25th, 2012 at 3:08:34 PM

Alan Taylor made Game of Thrones epic and interesting. I didn't like the first one but I might see this one.
KillerCOck writes:
on December 25th, 2012 at 4:56:22 PM

Taylor has been directing shows for like a decade. He's got experience dude.
Ibleedjustfine writes:
on December 25th, 2012 at 5:23:16 PM

Biggest p*ssy villain ever.
Attos writes:
on December 25th, 2012 at 5:27:46 PM

@mink - I almost hate that I like the last Star Trek movie, just because it feels so tainted having Tyler Perry in it for no apparent reason. I remember loudly exclaiming my disapproval in the theater when he came on screen.
minkowski writes:
on December 25th, 2012 at 6:18:09 PM

@attos: christ man, I forgot he was even in Star Trek. lol. Wonder who he blew to get that gig?
Avirex writes:
on December 25th, 2012 at 6:29:30 PM

"Taylor has been directing shows for like a decade. He's got experience dude."

Right. Television shows.
coldplayesence writes:
on December 25th, 2012 at 6:46:12 PM

Breaking Bad has been kicking cinema in the balls since 2008, don't underestimate TV.
minkowski writes:
on December 25th, 2012 at 6:58:06 PM

I know Dexter and 24 and most of the X-Files are all better than half of what I've seen in cinema over the last 12 years.
minkowski writes:
on December 25th, 2012 at 10:52:57 PM

@Rambo:yep. It was like he was wearing a Jeff Bridges mask from 1982. Creepy. They say it was the same tech used to de-age/age Brad Pitt in TCCoBB. Yeah, I guess. Still creepy as hell imo.
minkowski writes:
on December 25th, 2012 at 10:53:50 PM

wrong thread
Avirex writes:
on December 25th, 2012 at 11:59:13 PM

"Breaking Bad has been kicking cinema in the balls since 2008, don't underestimate TV."

Of course, there's plenty of great stories out there. My point was that jumping from TV projects to $150 million major studio projects are not the same thing production wise. Different animals.
Attos writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 2:55:47 AM

Breaking Bad does kick the crap out of most movies I've seen lately. High five to mink for bringing up X-Files. The closest thing we have to that now is Fringe, which is only tolerable because of Denethor, son of Ecthelion.

Also, I haven't seen Tyler Perry's name anywhere near Star Trek Into Darkness. I hope he either doesn't get mentioned, or is only mentioned once, briefly, as they explain how he died an excruciating death.

That movie had an entire collection of above-average casting choices. Chris Pine turned out to be decent (I kind of enjoyed him as one of the Tremor Brothers before that), Zoe Saldana was pretty good (especially considering how badly they could have f*cked up the Uhura role), Zachary Quinto was better than I expected (Heroes.. eh..), Simon Pegg was a surprisingly appropriate choice, I already have strange and unfounded faith in Karl Urban, Anton Yelchin worked out well, John Cho was.. whatever (though I probably couldn't think of someone who could play Sulu much better anyway), Bruce Greenwood is just awesome (which comes with the territory of being BATMAN), and for the first time in my life, I didn't hate Eric Bana.

....Then there was Tyler Perry... Someone had to have suggested him as a joke, and everyone must have been piss drunk that day and just said, "Hell yeah, give that homeless bastard a call."

"In academic vernacular, you cheated."
"Yeah? Well go f*ck yourself, Madea."
Ranger writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 5:16:54 AM

'Now that Hiddleston is becoming a household name...' WTF?!

I didn't even know the actor's name until THIS article. Can I have some of what you're smoking (unless it's penis, which clearly it is)?!
Ranger writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 5:17:13 AM

@BC - Merry Christmas back at ya Bud!
KillerCOck writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 8:00:59 AM

But its a MArvel studio production. They look and feel like TV shows anyway. I understand big budget films are different, but you were comparing him to Loki who hasn't done sh*t behind a camera vs. 10 years of television work and not many sh*tty television shows either.

Avirex writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 8:16:50 AM

I guess my point is no matter who Marvel decided to choose they wouldn't have any experience directing huge projects like this. Studios enjoy choosing the less experienced because they are easier to control and keep on a short collar. Both of these guys are easy for them to do that with.

I mean, lets not forget they originally went with a dramatic female director to handle this. That tells you everything. But yeah, the new guy is a better choice but only by default.

It's Official! Channing Tatum to Star in "Gambit" Spin-Off

Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team

Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot

Christopher Nolan Hates Post-Credits Scenes, Here's Why

"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed

Daniel Bruhl is Villain in "Captain America 3" and "Doctor Strange"

Margot Robbie is Harley Quinn in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film

Jared Leto May Play The Joker in "Suicide Squad"

"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed

Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved