WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"The Maze Runner" Sequel Already Gets Release Date and Concept Art
Sep 22nd, 2014
"Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters" Sequel Has a Finished Script
Sep 22nd, 2014
"The Maze Runner" Easily Beats Liam Neeson's "A Walk Among the Tombstones" at Box Office
Sep 22nd, 2014
Restricted Trailer For "The Interview" Comedy, with James Franco and Seth Rogen
Sep 21st, 2014
"Deadpool" Movie Will Be PG-13
Sep 21st, 2014
Marvel Says "Daredevil" TV Series Won't Make Same Mistakes As Ben Affleck's Movie
Sep 21st, 2014
Is Jennifer Lawrence's "Serena" a Terrible Movie?
Sep 21st, 2014
Roberto Orci Drops Out of "Power Rangers" to Direct "Star Trek 3"
Sep 21st, 2014
Did Aquaman Save superman in "Man of Steel"? Aquaman's Look Possibly Revealed
Sep 20th, 2014
Deadpool Creator Comments on "Deadpool" Movie Announcement
Sep 20th, 2014
Two New Posters for Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Sci-Fi Film
Sep 20th, 2014
"Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel Loses Director
Sep 20th, 2014
Angelina Jolie to Next Direct "Africa"
Sep 20th, 2014
Trailer For "Low Down," with John Hawkes and Elle Fanning
Sep 20th, 2014
If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You
Sep 19th, 2014
Trailer For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Sep 19th, 2014
Matthew McConaughey NOT Returning For "Magic Mike" Sequel
Sep 19th, 2014
Restricted Trailer For "V/H/S: Viral" Horror Film Arrives Online
Sep 19th, 2014
"Insidious: Chapter 3" Unveils First Poster
Sep 19th, 2014
"X-Men" Spin-Off "Deadpool" is Finally Happening, Release Date Announced
Sep 18th, 2014
Trailer For "A Most Violent Year," From "Margin Call" Director
Sep 18th, 2014
Sony Unveils Animation Test For "Popeye" Movie
Sep 18th, 2014
See Batmobile in Action on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set
Sep 18th, 2014
"Jason Borne" Producer Says Both Matt Damon's and Jeremy Renner's Films are in the Works
Sep 18th, 2014
"Paranormal Activity 5" Gets New Title and Release Date
Sep 18th, 2014
New Posters For Matthew McConaughey's "Interstellar" and Brad Pitt's "Fury"
Sep 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Robert Downey Jr's "The Judge"
Sep 18th, 2014
David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull
Sep 17th, 2014
Tom Hardy Says Making "This Means War" Was a Bad Experience
Sep 17th, 2014
Jack Huston to Star in "Ben-Hur" Remake
Sep 17th, 2014
Poster for Disney's "Into the Woods," with Meryl Streep and Johnny Depp
Sep 17th, 2014
Tom Hiddleston to Star in "King Kong" Prequel, "Skull Island"
Sep 16th, 2014
Poster for Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Arrives Online
Sep 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Spike Lee Attacks "Django Unchained" for Use of N-Word

Posted: December 24th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Spike Lee Attacks "Django Unchained" for Use of N-WordSubmit Comment
Big-time *sshole Spike Lee has taken aim at Quentin Tarantino and his "Django Unchained" film, telling Vibe magazine that he doesn't like the use of the N-word in the movie.

"I am not going to see ['Django Unchained']. I am not seeing it. It would be disrespectful to my ancestors to see that film," he said, later adding on Twitter: "American slavery was not a Sergio Leone Spaghetti Western. It was a Holocaust. My ancestors are slaves. Stolen from Africa. I will honor them."

Tarantino refuses to apologize, telling MTV: "I think it's kind of ridiculous, because no one can actually say that we use the word more than it was used in 1858 in Mississippi. So since they can't say that, what they're basically [saying] is I should lie. I should pretty it up. I should lie, and I don't lie when it comes to my characters and the stories I tell."

This is nothing new for Lee, who has consistently accused white filmmakers for being racist, including Tarantino, Clint Eastwood and Walt Disney.

Source: Various


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 49 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
funseeker writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 7:06:01 AM

Ahahahaaa Tarantino doesnt lie, i guess ingloriuos basterds was ww2 doc*mentary.
sedibus writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 7:13:55 AM

This guy better make a good adaptation of Old Boy. Period.
cress writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 7:15:41 AM

Jack Palance says: "Spike Lee...I crap bigger than him."
pornfly writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 7:31:09 AM

Spike should definetly stay away from the Tarantino sex tape with Quentin and Sam Jackson then

All they say is the N word
Even the safety word was the N word
pornfly writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 7:32:58 AM

The Spike Lee doc. on the Michael Jackson Bad cd was friggn cool btw
cress writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 7:40:46 AM

Lol pornfly
prowler writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 8:15:02 AM

n*gger n*gger n*gger... Now, Spike, attack me...
Avirex writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 8:29:19 AM

I just love how unbiased the articles are by Alex.

You should let the readers themselves decide whether or not they like the subject or person within the story.

Save the opinion for the reviews please, thank you.
Stapes writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 8:49:25 AM

Who cares, noone reads vibe anyway.... except for "n-words"
crimsonfiend420 writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 9:08:22 AM

Wow, he's gonna hate my indie film "n*ggerella" where instead of a glass slipper and a ball, she just keeps cleaning the step-mother's house for the whole movie. Maybe she drops her glass crack pipe for Prince DeShaun to find. It's still a work in progress.
Rambo writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 9:53:18 AM

n*gger please...
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 10:04:31 AM

Spike Lee is already being a disingenuous revisionist c*nt with his statement. Slaves were voluntarily sold from Africa to America, no one was ever 'stolen'.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 10:07:45 AM

What a dumb f*ck!

How can you make a movie about black slaves and NOT have the word 'n*gger' in the film..

f*ck of Spike Lee!
CelluloidMan writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 11:02:01 AM

It's not the first time Lee has an issue with Tarantino, I think the last time he got so uppity was on PULP FICTION, no?

Sam Jackson, which has worked with both, was interviewed saying that's the way Lee is & usually does it for publicity...

Shame since Lee is very talented, but will probably be remembered more for his militant tirades than his body of work...

I get the feeling Lee would've loved to be in the Black Panthers back in the day...just a feeling.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 11:06:50 AM

f*ck you Spike. I want you as my f*cking slave, so I can call you a n*gger all day!!
bandolero999 writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 11:57:48 AM

That was good badchad just make sure he doesn't procreate with any of the females in your family
vincere01 writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 12:02:52 PM

What to say.....what to say. I hate both of these motherf*ckers equally. While QT might be racist, its still very clear spike is. My ideal conclusion would be if they met on an inner city street, on a steamy summer day. A day where small children are playing in the water sprayed from open fire hydrants. Where everyone is outside sitting on they're front porch steps jarring with neighbors and friends. Where white people are harder to find then waldo in the most evil of where's waldo pictures. They show up and start to insult each other in prelude to a rumble. Just as they are about to lock fists to mouth matt damon falls from the sky in a oscar meyer weiner mobile crushing both to death. And all you hear as the screen fades to black (ok I say black spike?) Is the words. MATT. DAMON!
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 12:18:43 PM

Whoever wrote this article is just baiting you guys to lash out against Lee, and obviously, it is going to work/working.

Here are his exact words when ASKED about Django Unchained: "I can't speak on it 'cause I'm not gonna see it. I'm not seeing it. I think for me...all I'm going to say is that it would be disrespectful to my ancestors to see that film. That's the only thing I'm going to say. I can't disrespect my ancestors. I can't do it...can't do it. Now, I'm not speaking on behalf of anybody but myself. I can't do it." Sure, he continued talking about the film on Twitter when fans ASKED him about it, but his words didn't constitute an attack because the subject was brought up by others.

He said it all in a stern voice, but he wasn't shouting or foaming at the mouth the way worstpreviews would have you believe. I realize that your sometimes libelous headlines are a way to generate clicks and comments for "movie news" that people would otherwise not care about, but it is extremely lame. You probably could have embedded his forty second reply in the "article" or a link, but it wouldn't have served your agenda, would it? And yes, I realize that he can't really form an accurate opinion of the film's depiction of slavery without having seen it. Maybe he got curious and read the script that has been floating around since last spring. I doubt it, but you and I sure as hell don't know.

Just to be clear, although I don't agree with all of any of their politics or "storytelling devices," I am a HUGE fan of Lee, Tarantino, and Eastwood (f*** Walt Disney..haha not really). On a side note, I also don't agree with Lee remaking Oldboy (Park Chan-wook is my favorite director), but I will be seeing it and Django Unchained at the cinema. No, I don't think that I am better than you (worstpreviews staff) for being able to look past a person's politics to enjoy their "art," (subjective, of course) but I wish more people had that ability. And no, I do not enjoy all of the work created by these directors, but in my eyes they have each been more hit than miss.

TLDR: As it is your site, you are free to continue to call Lee a "big-time *sshole" but please, for the sake of Walter Cronkite, stop manipulating interviews to generate "articles" and headlines. I know it makes your job harder, but most of your readers just digest whatever you feed them.
feeheelee writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 12:41:43 PM

Be offended, fine, that's your call, but dude, at least SEE IT before you get on your high horse! Spike Lee, being offended on behalf of the black community since 1957...
johnny_boy writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 1:22:34 PM

Hmmmm.... So his ancestors were STOLEN from Africa? So what part of Africa is he currently living at?
minkowski writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 1:32:47 PM

Spike Lee just hates the fact QT does black films better than him, and the other thing: Spike says slaves were stolen from Africa. You don't steal people, you kidnap them. You steal property, so here he is talking about slaves like the were property because he's too damned stupid to understand the importance of words, but he does understand stealing, which comes as no surprise.



"I think it's kind of ridiculous, because no one can actually say that we use the word more than it was used in 1858 in Mississippi."

Because you were alive back in 1858 in Mississippi right? Because there's a record of how many times the word n*gger was used, right, and there's a record of how many times black people have use the word, right?
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 2:13:53 PM

@minkowski
I might be wrong but I believe that Tarantino is referring to The Adventure of Huckleberry Finn. If that novel (published during that time in that place that he is talking about) is any indication of life back then, he has a point. I haven't read the book since high school, but I don't recall seeing the n-word as many times in any other novel I've read since.
minkowski writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 2:30:22 PM

The word n*gger appears in Huckleberry Finn 219 times, and it was published in the US in 1885, not 1858, so I think perhaps QT's referring to an event preceding the Civil War, not Mark Twain's book, which is a work of fiction that can be said to have come from only one person.

Nevertheless, what I took away from Huck Finn wasn't racism, but Mark Twain's perverse way of attacking racism by using the word so often, kind of like in modern fiction when writers make a villain more evil by portraying him committing murder as brutal as can be imagined.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 2:58:11 PM

Bando- I'd chop his d*ck off on the first day and feed it to the dogs. So no worries there.
Ibleedjustfine writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 3:55:19 PM

But it's ok for you to say "n*gger", right Spike, you stupid little c*nt.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 4:15:05 PM

spike lee is a f*ckin prick

he attacked clint eastwood
because there wasn't enough black soldiers
in FLAGS OF OUR FATHERS

then he went to court
attacking a TV station that had a channel called SPIKE tv
he reckoned he would lose money
oh that people would watch the channel thinking it was about him

f*ck N prick
polardeficit writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 4:28:46 PM

walt disney and eastwood are racists though
minkowski writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 4:32:53 PM

Spike Lee is five foot six. He's a f*cking racist dwarf.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 4:33:48 PM




what a waste of time
to bitch and moan
when he should be working
he is an amazing director

SCHOOL DAZE
DO THE RIGHT THING
MO BETTER BLUES (wesley snipes best)
JUNGLE FEVER (sam jacksons best performance)
MALCOLM X (denzels best performance)
CLOCKERS
GET ON THE BUS (ossie davis best performance)
HE GOT GAME
SUMMER OF SAM
3 A.M
25th HOUR (barry pepper best performance)
INSIDE MAN (clive owen best performance)
MIRACLE AT ST ANNA
RED HOOK SUMMER
OLDBOY ... (the next Drive)
Quidd writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 5:43:50 PM

Here's some racism for Spike:

Why are black peoples palms of their hands and feet white? Cause God had them against a wall when he spray painted them.

Why are Mexicans skin brown? Cause they where sh*tted out after the woman ate too many burritos that night.
trailertrash writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 6:16:44 PM

Has Big Time *sshole Spike ever seen Blazing Saddles i wonder ?!


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TJ_Sqj7JUn8

velocityknown writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 7:22:15 PM

To be fair, Walt Disney was probably racist.
minkowski writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 7:35:06 PM

Probably not, as Walt being a closeted Nazi anti-semite who hated blacks to boot is largely a myth perpetuated by pop-cultural bullsh*t like Family Guy and other worthless programming.

http://www.cartoonbrew.com/disney/why-walt-disney-is-a-jew-hating-hitler-loving-racist-37185.html
Janus writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 7:38:50 PM

Sorry, Tarantino is totally right!
ozzie writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 7:57:03 PM

Spike is just pissed because he's not as revered as before. This guy is such a douchebag, half of his career is a joke with exception to a few cult classics, you guys know which ones I mean, he's past his prime, which he barely had.
minkowski writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 9:18:25 PM

I can't wait till this thread is three of four days old and the angry black racist thugs who frequent this board try to get in a parting ad hominem like they do elsewhere.

You know who you are, cowards.
Frank4969 writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 10:37:24 PM

f*cking stronger blacks sold the weaker blacks to the whites! Blame yourselves for being morons! Dumbass spike lee should be a slave today!!!!!
Damon242 writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 11:28:49 PM

Meanwhile, I'm attacking Spike Lee for lack of an education
rancid meatloaf writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 11:55:56 PM

Doesn't like the n word but gives out the wrong address of a guy he thought committed a hate crime so his family can get jumped by a pack of n words..
AngryAngel writes:
on December 25th, 2012 at 3:23:31 AM

Hey Spike Lee, maybe they use the "N Word" because it's a movie during the time of f*cking slavery. Get off your high horse. Just because you're black doesn't make you the black ambassador. It's film, or art if you prefer, Tarantino was filming a movie about a time in our history where we used the god damn word.
johnny_boy writes:
on December 25th, 2012 at 3:59:42 AM

By the way, i heard slave trade was actually started by blacks, north Africans i believe. So yeah, some thing to consider Spike Lee, a down ass brotha with a Chinese last name
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 25th, 2012 at 8:27:01 AM

What Angry Angel Said!
FBO writes:
on December 25th, 2012 at 10:23:03 AM

Mean while, slavery is alive and well in Africa. Why is it cool for black people to own black people but the second I try to buy one then it becomes a human rights issue!?
Attos writes:
on December 25th, 2012 at 1:27:29 PM

Oh please. If you're going to do an era-based movie, it would be MORE insulting not to use the correct terminology. What if nobody ever said "n*gger" in Boardwalk Empire? It would be ridiculous. I'm sorry, but the word is necessary as long as it fits within the context of the story. Godfather used it. Even Blazing Saddles pulled it off without it sounding too ridiculous. Plus, most of the time it's being used to make someone unlikable (like a "villain") or otherwise promote the idea that a character is an *sshole.

"n*gger" has already been used to death in damn near every rap song in existence anyway. If you're going to overuse it AND be offended by it, it's time for you to grow the f*ck up.
minkowski writes:
on December 25th, 2012 at 2:09:05 PM

I think what's insulting is the left's, Hollywood's, idea, that everyone back then ran around saying the word n*gger every five seconds, because to hear it from them, and boy do we, from 1492 to 1964, everyone from Maine to Baja said n*gger with their every breath.
Attos writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 3:42:37 AM

I wouldn't go so far as to call Spike Lee an "amazing" director. He's made some good films, but he over-saturates damn near all of them with his own inflated sense of "black pride". I don't really enjoy feeling like a movie is trying to preach to me. Especially when the director tends to turn around and attack anything he didn't make himself. If he wasn't comprised of 98% undeserved ego, he might not irritate the absolute sh*t out of me.

Am I the only one convinced that he's going to completely f*cking ruin Oldboy?
Attos writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 4:00:28 AM

"My ancestors are slaves. Stolen from Africa. I will honor them."

Your ancestors are dead, meaning they don't give even the slightest sh*t about honor. Even if they somehow could, I hardly think they would care about some *sshole movie director. Unless he spent the first half of his life as a slave himself, he has no connection to his ancestors, and deserves absolutely none of the apologies, reparations, or respect that they might have been due.

All this over-hyped political correctness needs to f*cking die already. It's not saving or protecting anyone. If anything, it makes for a much more tense society. Ironically, I'm offended by our attempts to not offend anyone.(Black women can be Miss America, but there's also a Miss Black America. Am I not supposed to be offended that we could NEVER have a Miss White America? Can you imagine the uproar if we tried to? Doesn't that seem pretty f*cking stupid and backwards to anyone else?) This isn't grade school anymore. If a WORD still hurts your feelings, all it makes you is childish.
Venom1970 writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 11:14:12 PM

If they weren't taken from Africa he wouldn't be a Hollywood director would he?

If you want to honour your Black Ancestors you n*gger coon porch monkey! Then go back and live in Africa ;)
Darylbd writes:
on December 30th, 2012 at 7:40:57 AM

Oh, PLEASE Spike. Give me a break on your "ancestor" crap. Since your movies now suck ass, you have to say something profound to stay in our thoughts and minds.

Director James Gunn Comments on "Guardians of the Galaxy" Becoming Highest Grossing Movie of 2014

"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

Did Aquaman Save superman in "Man of Steel"? Aquaman's Look Possibly Revealed

If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You

"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America

David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull

What Happens to Jimmy Olsen in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved