WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Theaters Refusing to Show "The Interview," Sony Cancels Premiere, Press and Release
Dec 17th, 2014
Chris Pratt and a Dinosaur in New "Jurassic World" Photo
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Doesn't Like Marvel Films, Says Superheroes Should Be Happier
Dec 17th, 2014
Orlando Bloom Says "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" is a Reboot
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Will Direct "Beetlejuice 2," Confirms Winona Ryder Will Return
Dec 17th, 2014
Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy Unveils Pac-Man and Donkey Kong Posters
Dec 17th, 2014
New Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Dec 17th, 2014
First Look at "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 16th, 2014
Quentin Tarantino Interested in "Django Unchained" and "Zorro" Crossover Film
Dec 16th, 2014
Lots of "Ghostbusters 3" Story Details Leaked
Dec 16th, 2014
Trailer for Terrence Malick's "Knight of Cups," with Christian Bale and Natalie Portman
Dec 16th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel Gets New Title and Release Date, JK Simmons Joins Cast
Dec 16th, 2014
Five Actresses in Talks for "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" Role
Dec 16th, 2014
20th Century Fox Planning to Merge "Fantastic Four" With "X-Men"
Dec 15th, 2014
"Aquaman" Film Considering "Mud" Director Jeff Nichols
Dec 15th, 2014
Tim Burton Says "Beetlejuice 2" is Closer Than Ever
Dec 15th, 2014
First Look at Batman's Suit From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" in Color
Dec 15th, 2014
Jeremy Irons Says Alfred in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" is Very Different
Dec 15th, 2014
"Exodus: Gods and Kings" Underperforms at Box Office
Dec 15th, 2014
Disney Still Planning to Make "Indiana Jones 5"
Dec 14th, 2014
Trailer for Fake Movie "MoonQuake Lake," with Ashton Kutcher and Mila Kunis
Dec 14th, 2014
Concept Art From Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Dec 14th, 2014
First Teaser for "Descendants," About Children of Maleficent, Jafar, Cruella and Other Disney Villains
Dec 14th, 2014
Marvel Would Have Recast Spider-Man in "Captain America: Civil War"
Dec 13th, 2014
Sony Asking Sam Raimi and "Captain America 2" Directors For Help With "Spider-Man" Franchise
Dec 13th, 2014
James Gunn Says "Guardians of the Galaxy" and "Avengers" Will NOT Team Up
Dec 13th, 2014
"Ghostbusters 3" Actresses Shortlist Revealed, Sony Planned to Sue Bill Murray
Dec 13th, 2014
Animated "Super Mario Bros" Movie Coming
Dec 13th, 2014
Simon Pegg is an Assassin in "Kill Me Three Times" Trailer
Dec 13th, 2014
Full Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Insurgent" is Here!
Dec 13th, 2014
Trailer for Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Action Film, From Director of "Taken"
Dec 13th, 2014
Trailer for Taylor Lautner's "Tracers" Action Thriller
Dec 12th, 2014
New Trailer for Michael Mann's "Blackhat" Thriller, with Chris Hemsworth
Dec 12th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Jack Reacher," "This Is 40" and "The Guilt Trip" Underperform in Theaters

Posted: December 23rd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Jack Reacher," "This Is 40" and "The Guilt Trip" Underperform in TheatersSubmit Comment
"The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey" took first place at the box office again, grossing $36 million domestically and $91 million overseas. The film's new worldwide total is now $434 million after two weeks.

All the new releases of the weekend underperformed. Tom Cruise's $60 million "Jack Reacher" thriller only grossed $15.6 million, taking second place. The film has a 63% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

Judd Apatow's "This Is 40," starring Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann, took third place with $12 million. The new movie cost $35 million and has a 50% fresh rating. "The Guilt Trip" comedy, starring Seth Rogen and Barbra Streisand, cost $40 million, but was only able to land in sixth place with $5.4 million. It has a 37% fresh rating.

Meanwhile, Pixar re-released it's 2001 hit "Monsters, Inc" in 2,618 3D theaters, earning an addition $5 million. All the movies hope to get a boost on Christmas Day.

On the specialty side, Kathryn Bigelow's "Zero Dark Thirty" Osama Bin Laden film opened in five theaters to qualify for the Oscars. The new movie grossed $410,000, which is a whopping $82,000 per theater.

Click here to read our "Jack Reacher" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 8:36:29 PM

Fictional dwarfs defeat a real-life dwarf at the box office.
Rambo writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 8:44:16 PM

in other words...stick to mission impossible movies,Tom.
bandolero999 writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 9:05:35 PM

So much for those Jack reacher sequels
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 10:34:22 PM

They should haven't hired an actor with a physical stature that reflects the last name of the character he's playing.
James Holmes writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 10:55:04 PM

I didn't have sh*t to do with this.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:00:04 PM



@ James Holmes

hey james
isn't your hair supposed to be green ????
ozzie writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:00:37 PM

first time poster, minkowski, good one haha

holmes you're a tool.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:02:04 PM



my real name
is BANE by the way
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:12:21 PM

^^Did you get banned, Bane?

@ozzie: thanks bro.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:15:50 PM

@ mink

i guess...

life is hard
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:17:41 PM




Liam Neeson
would be a pretty good JACK REACHER
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:19:03 PM

Why'd you get banned? You were frequently annoying, like me, and I said so outright, but banning you seems to me to be a little extreme.

Anyway, cute cat on your twitter page.
Me, Grimlock writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:21:48 PM

Me Grimlock say you all fools.
Chris_G writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:27:24 PM

I'm glad the headline didn't read something like 'All new openers bomb'...I remember when this site said that Life of Pi and Rise of the Guardians both "bombed"...yet both films have gone on to have strong legs and solid international numbers. Life of Pi will likely be considered a hit when the worldwide figure is looked at, and Guardians will certainly not be qualified as a 'bomb'
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:28:16 PM

@ mink

all jokes aside i swear
thank you for saying that

my cat's name is Lisbeth

(dragon tattoo)
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:29:45 PM



i guess we have to
add LOKI and BANE to this list

http://www.shortlist.com/entertainment/films/50-most-evil-movie-lines?utm_source=Yard&utm_medium=CPC&utm_campaign=Yard
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:31:20 PM




i bought ALICE MADNESS RETURNS on ps3

http://gamingbolt.com/25-most-visually-appealing-games-of-2013?utm_source=wahoha.com&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=wahoha
Me, Grimlock writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:37:21 PM

Jesus, it took American McGee a decade to make a sequel to Alice? God, I remember playing the first one a thousand years ago.
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:44:01 PM

"yet both films have gone on to have strong legs and solid international numbers"

Generally, and traditionally, if a film doesn't do well domestically, it's considered a bomb. Don't ask me why.

@Bane: You do know that Alice game was made entirely inside China by a Chinese game dev company, right?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spicy_Horse
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:55:39 PM

Nevermind. You're not American. sh*t burns me up when someone like American McGee, who used to work for id Software with John Carmack, takes his sh*t oversees to China and then expects me to buy his product and then compares himself to Walt Disney. Yeah, and M. Night is the next Alfred Hitchc*ck.
minkowski writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 12:01:54 AM

Yo, Alexarino! Why didn't you ruin, I'm sorry, run this story?

Big time *sshole Spike Lee says he won't see Django Unchained because "American Slavery Was Not A Sergio Leone Spaghetti Western".

http://blogs.indiewire.com/theplaylist/spike-lee-wont-see-django-unchained-says-american-slavery-was-not-a-sergio-leone-spaghetti-western-20121223


Great story, man, and you totally missed it.

SMH.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 12:06:54 AM

I watched Jack Reacher Today! Lol Pretty good flick, A bit long but still a good flick lol
Brutal Killingspree writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 12:16:26 AM

who else but faggies watch the hobbit? sure is a lot of faggies in the u.s.
Brutal Killingspree writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 12:28:23 AM

now jack reacher thats a movie for men not polesmokers
johnny_boy writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 1:12:51 AM

Heard Tom Cruise is dyslexic. When he read the title of the script Jack Reacher, he mistakenly read it as Jack Reach around
pornfly writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 1:23:10 AM

I guess the 91million from overseas came from faggies as well

Sorry bout that BANE

TANMAN
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZPy9VCovVME&feature=youtube_gdata_player
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 1:33:01 AM



to be honest
i am not much of a game player
but i played RESERVOIR DOGS
and i am really
lookin forward to ALICE MADNESS RETURNS
Kurskij writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 4:39:23 AM

Even though Jack Reacher, Demi Moore is still richer.

BTW, Reacher is doing fine considering the negative feedback after Cruise was cast, so-so marketing and 70's thriller vibe. It'll gross at least $75 mil. in the US and a lot more overseas. So, healthy returns.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 10:12:48 AM

Bane if you got banned or whatever why wouldn't ou just make your next account Bane2? Lol

And Porn I'll check that link Later
minkowski writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 9:36:48 PM

The clever thing, imo, would have been to take the name Baned, to play on his original moniker and the fact he was banned.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 10:43:27 PM

Lmao^ I should have thought of that

Shia LaBeouf Says He Was Raped During His #IAmSorry Stunt

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

TIME Magazine's Top 10 Best and Worst Films of 2014

It's Official: Jared Leto is The Joker and Will Smith is Deadshot in "Suicide Squad"

Christian Bale Says He'll Never Work With "Terminator Salvation" Director Again

Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy

Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"

"Demolition Man" Writer Explains How He Came Up with The Three Seashells

"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Still Rules Box Office, "The Pyramid" Bombed

Marvel Would Have Recast Spider-Man in "Captain America: Civil War"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved