WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Schumer Working on New Comedy
Aug 27th, 2015
Christopher Meloni Joins "Holding Patterns"
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Love the Coopers" Comedy, with John Goodman, Ed Helms and Olivia Wilde
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for Nicholas Hoult's "Kill Your Friends" Crime Thriller
Aug 26th, 2015
James Franco is a Tech Billionaire in "Why Him" Comedy
Aug 26th, 2015
General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 20th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Jungle Cruise," Based on Disney's Theme Park Ride
Aug 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Blunt Force Trauma," with Mickey Rourke and Freida Pinto
Aug 20th, 2015
First Trailer for "Victor Frankenstein," with Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy
Aug 19th, 2015
"Prometheus 2" Delaying Neill Blomkamp's "Alien 5"
Aug 19th, 2015
Freddie Highmore and Odeya Rush Join "Holding Patterns"
Aug 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Matt Damon's "The Martian" is Here!
Aug 19th, 2015
Post-Apocalyptic "Zorro" Reboot is Moving Forward
Aug 19th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for "Star Wars: The Force Awakens"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at "Star Wars: Rogue One" Spin-Off Film
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Aug 18th, 2015
New Photo From Pixar's "Finding Dory"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for "Carol," with Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for Kevin Hart's "Ride Along" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
First Posters for "Alice in Wonderland" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
Bradley Cooper is a Chef in "Burnt" Trailer
Aug 15th, 2015
First Look at Black Panther on "Captain America: Civil War" Set
Aug 13th, 2015
First Look at Dolph Lundgren in "Kindergarten Cop" Sequel
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" is Here!
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Life," with Dane DeHaan as James Dean
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Trumbo," with Bryan Cranston and Helen Mirren
Aug 13th, 2015
Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?
Aug 9th, 2015
James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot
Aug 9th, 2015
Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews
Aug 8th, 2015
Three Actresses in Talks for "Gambit" Female Lead
Aug 8th, 2015
Trailer for "By The Sea," with Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie
Aug 8th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Jack Reacher," "This Is 40" and "The Guilt Trip" Underperform in Theaters

Posted: December 23rd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Jack Reacher," "This Is 40" and "The Guilt Trip" Underperform in TheatersSubmit Comment
"The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey" took first place at the box office again, grossing $36 million domestically and $91 million overseas. The film's new worldwide total is now $434 million after two weeks.

All the new releases of the weekend underperformed. Tom Cruise's $60 million "Jack Reacher" thriller only grossed $15.6 million, taking second place. The film has a 63% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

Judd Apatow's "This Is 40," starring Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann, took third place with $12 million. The new movie cost $35 million and has a 50% fresh rating. "The Guilt Trip" comedy, starring Seth Rogen and Barbra Streisand, cost $40 million, but was only able to land in sixth place with $5.4 million. It has a 37% fresh rating.

Meanwhile, Pixar re-released it's 2001 hit "Monsters, Inc" in 2,618 3D theaters, earning an addition $5 million. All the movies hope to get a boost on Christmas Day.

On the specialty side, Kathryn Bigelow's "Zero Dark Thirty" Osama Bin Laden film opened in five theaters to qualify for the Oscars. The new movie grossed $410,000, which is a whopping $82,000 per theater.

Click here to read our "Jack Reacher" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 8:36:29 PM

Fictional dwarfs defeat a real-life dwarf at the box office.
Rambo writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 8:44:16 PM

in other words...stick to mission impossible movies,Tom.
bandolero999 writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 9:05:35 PM

So much for those Jack reacher sequels
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 10:34:22 PM

They should haven't hired an actor with a physical stature that reflects the last name of the character he's playing.
James Holmes writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 10:55:04 PM

I didn't have sh*t to do with this.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:00:04 PM



@ James Holmes

hey james
isn't your hair supposed to be green ????
ozzie writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:00:37 PM

first time poster, minkowski, good one haha

holmes you're a tool.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:02:04 PM



my real name
is BANE by the way
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:12:21 PM

^^Did you get banned, Bane?

@ozzie: thanks bro.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:15:50 PM

@ mink

i guess...

life is hard
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:17:41 PM




Liam Neeson
would be a pretty good JACK REACHER
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:19:03 PM

Why'd you get banned? You were frequently annoying, like me, and I said so outright, but banning you seems to me to be a little extreme.

Anyway, cute cat on your twitter page.
Me, Grimlock writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:21:48 PM

Me Grimlock say you all fools.
Chris_G writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:27:24 PM

I'm glad the headline didn't read something like 'All new openers bomb'...I remember when this site said that Life of Pi and Rise of the Guardians both "bombed"...yet both films have gone on to have strong legs and solid international numbers. Life of Pi will likely be considered a hit when the worldwide figure is looked at, and Guardians will certainly not be qualified as a 'bomb'
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:28:16 PM

@ mink

all jokes aside i swear
thank you for saying that

my cat's name is Lisbeth

(dragon tattoo)
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:29:45 PM



i guess we have to
add LOKI and BANE to this list

http://www.shortlist.com/entertainment/films/50-most-evil-movie-lines?utm_source=Yard&utm_medium=CPC&utm_campaign=Yard
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:31:20 PM




i bought ALICE MADNESS RETURNS on ps3

http://gamingbolt.com/25-most-visually-appealing-games-of-2013?utm_source=wahoha.com&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=wahoha
Me, Grimlock writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:37:21 PM

Jesus, it took American McGee a decade to make a sequel to Alice? God, I remember playing the first one a thousand years ago.
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:44:01 PM

"yet both films have gone on to have strong legs and solid international numbers"

Generally, and traditionally, if a film doesn't do well domestically, it's considered a bomb. Don't ask me why.

@Bane: You do know that Alice game was made entirely inside China by a Chinese game dev company, right?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spicy_Horse
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:55:39 PM

Nevermind. You're not American. sh*t burns me up when someone like American McGee, who used to work for id Software with John Carmack, takes his sh*t oversees to China and then expects me to buy his product and then compares himself to Walt Disney. Yeah, and M. Night is the next Alfred Hitchc*ck.
minkowski writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 12:01:54 AM

Yo, Alexarino! Why didn't you ruin, I'm sorry, run this story?

Big time *sshole Spike Lee says he won't see Django Unchained because "American Slavery Was Not A Sergio Leone Spaghetti Western".

http://blogs.indiewire.com/theplaylist/spike-lee-wont-see-django-unchained-says-american-slavery-was-not-a-sergio-leone-spaghetti-western-20121223


Great story, man, and you totally missed it.

SMH.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 12:06:54 AM

I watched Jack Reacher Today! Lol Pretty good flick, A bit long but still a good flick lol
Brutal Killingspree writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 12:16:26 AM

who else but faggies watch the hobbit? sure is a lot of faggies in the u.s.
Brutal Killingspree writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 12:28:23 AM

now jack reacher thats a movie for men not polesmokers
johnny_boy writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 1:12:51 AM

Heard Tom Cruise is dyslexic. When he read the title of the script Jack Reacher, he mistakenly read it as Jack Reach around
pornfly writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 1:23:10 AM

I guess the 91million from overseas came from faggies as well

Sorry bout that BANE

TANMAN
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZPy9VCovVME&feature=youtube_gdata_player
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 1:33:01 AM



to be honest
i am not much of a game player
but i played RESERVOIR DOGS
and i am really
lookin forward to ALICE MADNESS RETURNS
Kurskij writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 4:39:23 AM

Even though Jack Reacher, Demi Moore is still richer.

BTW, Reacher is doing fine considering the negative feedback after Cruise was cast, so-so marketing and 70's thriller vibe. It'll gross at least $75 mil. in the US and a lot more overseas. So, healthy returns.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 10:12:48 AM

Bane if you got banned or whatever why wouldn't ou just make your next account Bane2? Lol

And Porn I'll check that link Later
minkowski writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 9:36:48 PM

The clever thing, imo, would have been to take the name Baned, to play on his original moniker and the fact he was banned.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 10:43:27 PM

Lmao^ I should have thought of that

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved