WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "Men, Women and Children," Directed by Jason Reitman
Aug 20th, 2014
Daughters of Johnny Depp and Kevin Smith to Star in "Yoga Hosers"
Aug 20th, 2014
Photo: Is Scoot McNairy Playing The Flash in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Aug 20th, 2014
Trailer For "A Good Marriage" Thriller, Based on Stephen King's Short Story
Aug 20th, 2014
New Trailer For "Ouija" Supernatural Thriller, Based on Board Game
Aug 20th, 2014
Benedict Cumberbatch is Shere Khan in "The Jungle Book" Film
Aug 20th, 2014
First Look at Paul Rudd in Marvel's "Ant-Man"
Aug 20th, 2014
Mark Wahlberg in Talks for "Deepwater Horizon" BP Oil Disaster Film
Aug 20th, 2014
Photos of Henry Cavill as Superman on Set of "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 19th, 2014
Alfred Molina Wants to Return as Spider-Man Villain Doctor Octopus in "Sinister Six"
Aug 19th, 2014
Trailer for Lifetime's "Saved By the Bell" Movie
Aug 19th, 2014
"Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel Hires Director, Filming to Begin in October
Aug 19th, 2014
"The Fault in Our Stars" Director in Talks for Anne Rice's "Lestat" Vampire Film
Aug 19th, 2014
Milla Jovovich is Pregnant, "Resident Evil: The Final Chapter" Gets Delayed
Aug 18th, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Star Wants More Money, May Get Replaced
Aug 18th, 2014
"The Devil's Advocate" to Become a TV Series
Aug 18th, 2014
Photo: Marc Webb Unveils Concept Art From "The Amazing Spider-Man" Spin-Off "Sinister Six"
Aug 18th, 2014
Video: Robin Williams Recorded Message of Hope For Terminally Ill Woman
Aug 18th, 2014
First Posters for Antonio Banderas' "Automata" Sci-Fi Film
Aug 18th, 2014
"The Expendables 3" Bombs at the Box Office, "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Still On Top
Aug 17th, 2014
Concept Art of Main Villain and Han Solo From "Star Wars: Episode VII"
Aug 17th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio, Tom Hardy and Tobey Maguire Sign On for Animal Poaching Film
Aug 17th, 2014
Jackie Chan Discusses "The Expendables 4" and "Rush Hour 4"
Aug 16th, 2014
Sylvester Stallone Started Training For "Rambo 5"
Aug 16th, 2014
New "Dumb and Dumber To" Posters Parody Scarlett Johansson's "Lucy" Film
Aug 16th, 2014
Sylvester Stallone Recalls His Terrible "Star Wars" Audition
Aug 16th, 2014
First Look at Paul Thomas Anderson's "Inherent Vice," with Joaquin Phoenix and Josh Brolin
Aug 16th, 2014
New Trailer for Elijah Wood's "Open Windows" Thriller
Aug 16th, 2014
Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" Attached to "Sin City: A Dame to Kill For"
Aug 15th, 2014
First Look at Stormtroopers From "Star Wars: Episode VII"
Aug 15th, 2014
First Clip From Robin Williams' "Merry Friggin' Christmas"
Aug 15th, 2014
Simon Cowell Making a "Betty Boop" Movie
Aug 15th, 2014
Trailer for "Rudderless," with Billy Crudup and Anton Yelchin
Aug 15th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Jack Reacher," "This Is 40" and "The Guilt Trip" Underperform in Theaters

Posted: December 23rd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Jack Reacher," "This Is 40" and "The Guilt Trip" Underperform in TheatersSubmit Comment
"The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey" took first place at the box office again, grossing $36 million domestically and $91 million overseas. The film's new worldwide total is now $434 million after two weeks.

All the new releases of the weekend underperformed. Tom Cruise's $60 million "Jack Reacher" thriller only grossed $15.6 million, taking second place. The film has a 63% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

Judd Apatow's "This Is 40," starring Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann, took third place with $12 million. The new movie cost $35 million and has a 50% fresh rating. "The Guilt Trip" comedy, starring Seth Rogen and Barbra Streisand, cost $40 million, but was only able to land in sixth place with $5.4 million. It has a 37% fresh rating.

Meanwhile, Pixar re-released it's 2001 hit "Monsters, Inc" in 2,618 3D theaters, earning an addition $5 million. All the movies hope to get a boost on Christmas Day.

On the specialty side, Kathryn Bigelow's "Zero Dark Thirty" Osama Bin Laden film opened in five theaters to qualify for the Oscars. The new movie grossed $410,000, which is a whopping $82,000 per theater.

Click here to read our "Jack Reacher" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 8:36:29 PM

Fictional dwarfs defeat a real-life dwarf at the box office.
Rambo writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 8:44:16 PM

in other words...stick to mission impossible movies,Tom.
bandolero999 writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 9:05:35 PM

So much for those Jack reacher sequels
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 10:34:22 PM

They should haven't hired an actor with a physical stature that reflects the last name of the character he's playing.
James Holmes writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 10:55:04 PM

I didn't have sh*t to do with this.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:00:04 PM



@ James Holmes

hey james
isn't your hair supposed to be green ????
ozzie writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:00:37 PM

first time poster, minkowski, good one haha

holmes you're a tool.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:02:04 PM



my real name
is BANE by the way
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:12:21 PM

^^Did you get banned, Bane?

@ozzie: thanks bro.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:15:50 PM

@ mink

i guess...

life is hard
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:17:41 PM




Liam Neeson
would be a pretty good JACK REACHER
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:19:03 PM

Why'd you get banned? You were frequently annoying, like me, and I said so outright, but banning you seems to me to be a little extreme.

Anyway, cute cat on your twitter page.
Me, Grimlock writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:21:48 PM

Me Grimlock say you all fools.
Chris_G writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:27:24 PM

I'm glad the headline didn't read something like 'All new openers bomb'...I remember when this site said that Life of Pi and Rise of the Guardians both "bombed"...yet both films have gone on to have strong legs and solid international numbers. Life of Pi will likely be considered a hit when the worldwide figure is looked at, and Guardians will certainly not be qualified as a 'bomb'
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:28:16 PM

@ mink

all jokes aside i swear
thank you for saying that

my cat's name is Lisbeth

(dragon tattoo)
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:29:45 PM



i guess we have to
add LOKI and BANE to this list

http://www.shortlist.com/entertainment/films/50-most-evil-movie-lines?utm_source=Yard&utm_medium=CPC&utm_campaign=Yard
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:31:20 PM




i bought ALICE MADNESS RETURNS on ps3

http://gamingbolt.com/25-most-visually-appealing-games-of-2013?utm_source=wahoha.com&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=wahoha
Me, Grimlock writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:37:21 PM

Jesus, it took American McGee a decade to make a sequel to Alice? God, I remember playing the first one a thousand years ago.
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:44:01 PM

"yet both films have gone on to have strong legs and solid international numbers"

Generally, and traditionally, if a film doesn't do well domestically, it's considered a bomb. Don't ask me why.

@Bane: You do know that Alice game was made entirely inside China by a Chinese game dev company, right?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spicy_Horse
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 11:55:39 PM

Nevermind. You're not American. sh*t burns me up when someone like American McGee, who used to work for id Software with John Carmack, takes his sh*t oversees to China and then expects me to buy his product and then compares himself to Walt Disney. Yeah, and M. Night is the next Alfred Hitchc*ck.
minkowski writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 12:01:54 AM

Yo, Alexarino! Why didn't you ruin, I'm sorry, run this story?

Big time *sshole Spike Lee says he won't see Django Unchained because "American Slavery Was Not A Sergio Leone Spaghetti Western".

http://blogs.indiewire.com/theplaylist/spike-lee-wont-see-django-unchained-says-american-slavery-was-not-a-sergio-leone-spaghetti-western-20121223


Great story, man, and you totally missed it.

SMH.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 12:06:54 AM

I watched Jack Reacher Today! Lol Pretty good flick, A bit long but still a good flick lol
Brutal Killingspree writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 12:16:26 AM

who else but faggies watch the hobbit? sure is a lot of faggies in the u.s.
Brutal Killingspree writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 12:28:23 AM

now jack reacher thats a movie for men not polesmokers
johnny_boy writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 1:12:51 AM

Heard Tom Cruise is dyslexic. When he read the title of the script Jack Reacher, he mistakenly read it as Jack Reach around
pornfly writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 1:23:10 AM

I guess the 91million from overseas came from faggies as well

Sorry bout that BANE

TANMAN
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZPy9VCovVME&feature=youtube_gdata_player
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 1:33:01 AM



to be honest
i am not much of a game player
but i played RESERVOIR DOGS
and i am really
lookin forward to ALICE MADNESS RETURNS
Kurskij writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 4:39:23 AM

Even though Jack Reacher, Demi Moore is still richer.

BTW, Reacher is doing fine considering the negative feedback after Cruise was cast, so-so marketing and 70's thriller vibe. It'll gross at least $75 mil. in the US and a lot more overseas. So, healthy returns.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 10:12:48 AM

Bane if you got banned or whatever why wouldn't ou just make your next account Bane2? Lol

And Porn I'll check that link Later
minkowski writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 9:36:48 PM

The clever thing, imo, would have been to take the name Baned, to play on his original moniker and the fact he was banned.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 10:43:27 PM

Lmao^ I should have thought of that

"Sharknado 2" Breaks Records with 3.9 Million Viewers

Ronda Rousey Says She Should Have Been Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

TJ Miller Explains Why He'll Never Work With Director Michael Bay Again

Bruce Wayne's Age in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed

Robin Williams' Cause of Death Revealed

Anthony Mackie Says He's Ready to Become Captain America

James Gunn Says "Guardians and the Galaxy" and "Avengers" Superheroes May Soon Meet

"Batman v Superman" Director Zack Snyder Defends Aquaman's Powers

"The Expendables 3" Bombs at the Box Office, "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Still On Top

Jackie Chan Discusses "The Expendables 4" and "Rush Hour 4"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved