WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Barack Obama Reviews Steven Spielberg's "Lincoln"

Posted: December 23rd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Barack Obama Reviews Steven SpielbergSubmit Comment
Steven Spielberg's "Lincoln" may not be a movie for everyone, but it will likely get an Oscar nomination for Best Pictures. Spielberg and Daniel Day-Lewis recently visited the US Capitol for a screening of their new movie, which was also attended by President Obama and members of Congress.

Producer Kathleen Kennedy said that Obama was "incredibly moved" by the movie. But with the fiscal cliff looming, USA Today asked the President to give his review of the film. He said:

"Daniel Day-Lewis was sitting next to me. And so, even after the movie, I felt like I was still hanging out with Lincoln. He was masterful in that role. I think it's well publicized that Lincoln is my favorite President, and so to see an intimate depiction of him in his work and the challenges that faced him even in a relatively compressed period of time was incredibly powerful.

I think it's generally a good idea for any President not to compare himself to Lincoln. The magnitude of his challenges and the magnitude of his gifts are of a different scope and scale of any subsequent President.

I do think that there are lessons to be drawn. Part of what Lincoln teaches us is that to pursue the highest ideals and a deeply moral cause requires you also engage and get your hands dirty. And anything we do is going to be somewhat imperfect. And so what we try to do is just tack in the right direction.
"

Source: USA Today


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 9:07:41 AM

f*ck lincoln and f*ck this president.
andthebabymakes3 writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 9:56:42 AM

"Steven Spielberg's "Lincoln" may not be a movie for everyone" WTF?

Klansmen?
Democratic Members of the 1965 Senate?


Ranger writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 12:11:27 PM

I don't dislike Obama at all. I didn't care who won the election. But would someone remind me of what (good) Obama accomplished in his first term? And don't say 'created jobs' because plenty have been lost since.

Presidents have gotten away from being Presidential (and not just Obama... a few before him) and have gone Hollywood. Too much bling, not enough substance.
leilei89 writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 12:22:39 PM

Being Engilsh I can't really comment on the pros and cons of ol' Obama. We only hear over here what the news decides to tell us.
Really want to see this movie though, it's up for 11 golden globes or something, meaning it will end up with a few Oscar nominations i reckon.
blackjesuscom writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 12:37:39 PM

The omission of Frederick Douglas is just a
portion of the convenient oversights in this
film. To get the real truth about Lincoln
and slavery you must listen to noted historian
Lerone Bennett. http://bit.ly/VgwcLN
Stapes writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 12:40:05 PM

Same in the states, leilei. I wonder if obama tried the popcorn trick on Lewis, bet he could have gotten away with it. And obama claiming lincoln as his favorite pres is hilariously ironic on so many levels.
sleepingshane writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 2:28:07 PM

GREAT REVIEW BY AMERICAS FIRST COMMUNIST PRESIDENT. IAM BEING IRONIC BY THE WAY, THE PRESIDENT MURDERED FOR TRYING TO BRING FREEDOM TO THE AMERICAN PEOPLE BY PROPOSING THE GREEN BACK DOLLAR AND FREEDOM FROM THE BANKING SYSTEM REVIEWED BY THE PRESIDENT WHOS GOING TO TAKE YOUR FREEDOMS, WEAPONS, AND MAKE EVERYBODY POOR AND TURN THE GOOD OLD USA INTO THE GOOD OLD UNITED SOVIET AMERICA.
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 3:27:08 PM

It's good to know the Emperor has time for movies when the country's about to go sliding off a cliff into a guaranteed first fiscal quarter recession.

But hey, at least he got to hang out with fellow media celebrities.



"Klansmen? Democratic Members of the 1965 Senate?"

Why are you stuttering?
leilei89 writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 5:13:02 PM

The "popcorn trick?"
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 5:39:27 PM

lol@stapes. Gives new meaning to the phrase slick willy.
Stapes writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 5:47:07 PM

I'll let Ranger explain it, leilei.
Ranger writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 6:08:56 PM

lol... hole in the bottom of the popcorn container. And that's not extra butter you're tasting.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 7:45:56 PM

I liked Lincoln..

My review is in my profile! You gonna read mine Obama!?
sedibus writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 8:02:45 PM

Man, this is some f*cked up topic really.

Can you imagine a President that is more worried to give a Critic about a film of a President that was killed?

What the f*ck. Then, a president that doesn't give a damn sh*t f*ck for a massacre of not only innocent people but little children, so anyway, why bother, right?

Is part of American culture now.
Curbcooler writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 2:17:37 AM

MINK:
Just so your dumbass knows, it was actually your fellow Republicans who requested ther be a senate screening of Lincoln and your fellow rdio servatives and right wing nut jobs insisted that there be a "Lincoln" screening because according to "Mitch Mconnell"(R) it would inspire bi partisanship.

And help stop the Faisal cliff bickering. But we understand MINK, why you would be frustrated at Obama instead of your right Teabagger freinds.
thisisntme writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 4:55:57 AM

Hey Rambo, f*ck you.
thisisntme writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 4:58:16 AM

Thank you Curbcooler. Mink is just another bigot who's head is stuck up his ignorant ass.
velocityknown writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 7:35:29 PM

@Ranger

Believe me, I would like to have an open discussion about the successes and failures of the Obama administration, but I really don't want to indulge this troll of a post that will inevitably turn into a repeat of any politically-charged message board discussion on the internet.

I will say that you don't have to be for or against Obama to call a troll a troll.

Nice troll, Alex. Keep it up. It's getting harder and harder to find a shred of journalistic dignity in any of the articles posted here.
minkowski writes:
on December 24th, 2012 at 9:14:54 PM

I wonder if Lincoln's ghost attended...
Argo writes:
on December 25th, 2012 at 4:19:12 AM

Well it's because of Lincoln that people here can say "f*ck Lincoln."
seveltoto writes:
on October 31st, 2017 at 10:00:11 AM

aleale writes:
on November 12th, 2017 at 9:53:22 AM

sevelace writes:
on November 16th, 2017 at 1:42:01 AM

recreator9 writes:
on November 20th, 2017 at 11:04:00 PM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved