WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Jake Gyllenhaal in "Demolition," From Director of "Dallas Buyers Club"
Jul 31st, 2015
New Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass"
Jul 31st, 2015
Trailer for "The Night Before" Comedy, with Seth Rogen, Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Anthony Mackie
Jul 30th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Bay's "13 Hours" Benghazi Thriller
Jul 30th, 2015
Channing Tatum Quitting "Gambit" Film?
Jul 30th, 2015
Trailer for Mark Ruffalo's "Spotlight," About Pedophile Priests
Jul 30th, 2015
New Trailer for "Sicario" Thriller, with Emily Blunt and Josh Brolin
Jul 30th, 2015
Vince Vaughn Joins Mel Gibson's "Hacksaw Ridge" WWII Film
Jul 30th, 2015
Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals
Jul 25th, 2015
Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
Jul 25th, 2015
New Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
Jul 25th, 2015
"Jurassic World" Sequel Gets Release Date, Chris Pratt to Return
Jul 24th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson's "Baywatch" Movie Hires "Horrible Bosses" Director
Jul 24th, 2015
Russell Crowe in Talks to Join "King Kong" Prequel
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2" is Here!
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
Jul 24th, 2015
LeBron James Signs Deal with Warner Bros, "Space Jam 2" Happening?
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "Mississippi Grind" Poker Film
Jul 23rd, 2015
Final Restricted Trailer for "Vacation" Sequel
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Patrick Wilson's "Zipper" Thriller
Jul 23rd, 2015
Full Trailer for "Spectre" James Bond Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for Pixar's "The Good Dinosaur" Animated Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Kung Fu Panda" Director Making "Emoji" Movie
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Pacific Rim 2" to Begin Filming in November
Jul 22nd, 2015
Backstreet Boys and 'NSync Members Unite for "Dead 7" Low-Budget Horror Film
Jul 21st, 2015
Benicio Del Toro May Play Villain in "Star Wars: Episode VIII"
Jul 21st, 2015
Trailer for "Before We Go," Chris Evans' Directorial Debut
Jul 21st, 2015
"The Godfather" Actor Alex Rocco Dead at 79
Jul 21st, 2015
New Trailer for "American Ultra," with Jesse Eisenberg and Kristen Stewart
Jul 21st, 2015
"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening
Jul 20th, 2015
Ava DuVernay Explains Why She Isn't Directing Marvel's "Black Panther"
Jul 20th, 2015
Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?
Jul 19th, 2015
Sam Raimi Comments on Marvel Rebooting "Spider-Man" Franchise
Jul 19th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Zachary Levi and Jim Sturgess in Talks for Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy" Lead

Posted: December 22nd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Zachary Levi and Jim Sturgess in Talks for MarvelSubmit Comment
Last month, we learned that several actors were competing for the leading role of Peter Quill (Star-Lord) in Marvel's upcoming "Guardians of the Galaxy" film. That list has now been narrowed to just two names, Zachary Levi ("Chuck") and Jim Sturgess (Cloud Atlas, 21).

The original list also included actors Joel Edgerton (Warrior), Jack Huston ("Boardwalk Empire") and Lee Pace (Lincoln), Eddie Redmayne (Les Miserables), Garrett Hedlund (Tron: Legacy), James Marsden (X-Men) and Sullivan Stapleton (Animal Kingdom).

Quill leads a group of alien superheroes who team to protect the solar system from an evil alien race. The good guys are from the future, and another dimension. In the comics, the Guardians worked with The Avengers.

The new movie is directed by James Gunn (Super, Slither) and is set to hit theaters on August 1st, 2014.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on December 22nd, 2012 at 7:37:38 AM

Cloud atlas is not a good reference
Kurskij writes:
on December 22nd, 2012 at 10:21:10 AM

Ok. Don't know what to think about it. Or simply don't care.

PS: finally watched Dredd. Now that's a proper hardcore action movie. Not a single f*ck given by Dredd, nothing learned, no self-searching Just walking around mudering the f*ck out of people. Thirlby was as good as possible, Headey was decent. Technically superb. Too bad it flopped - I guess I'll have to buy blu-ray to support it.
supaflywill writes:
on December 22nd, 2012 at 10:57:39 AM

Hmmm, I'm thinking this will, have as much appeal as the green latern did .... Well if ur 6 yrs old u will pro like it ...
Feanor224 writes:
on December 22nd, 2012 at 12:29:35 PM

@Kirskij. Excellent review of Dredd! Hahaha it really was an awesome movie. I wish it had done better because the planned sequel sounded badass.

For those who doubt, Guardians of the Galaxy has all the potential in the world to be the craziest, bizarre sci-fi superhero team. If the whole thing can be a little tongue in cheek and doesn't take itself too seriously, then it can be both badass but funny.

I mean, it's the director of Slither and Super for God's sake! If it sets that kind of sense I humor, I think it will surprise everyone.
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2012 at 1:05:07 PM

"Just walking around mudering the f*ck out of people."

Heh. And people wonder why some people think it's okay to go Judge Dredd at school.

Die hard is proper action; what you described is a Chechen snuff film.




As for the news, I'll wait till I see some test footage, at least, because anyone can do a voice, and without knowing much more about this movie, I'll assume it's going to have a bevy of CGI characters.
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2012 at 1:09:47 PM

"I mean, it's the director of Slither and Super for God's sakes!"

No offense to you personally, and without haven seen Super, I think if you, you being whoever, think Slither's a great film, or even good, you might possess some serious psychological issues, or, at the very least, you might be somewhat sociopathic, genuinely sociopathic, because Slither was nothing but a 'comedic attempt at torture porn, not exactly the sort of sh*t people with good mental hygiene would actively seek out.

I saw it, thinking it was something along the lines of Night of the Creeps, and had to turn it off before I saw more. Garbage. Not even a story. More like a series of grotesque scenes strung together with the thinnest of plot.

minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2012 at 1:10:32 PM

having.
SaulSilver writes:
on December 22nd, 2012 at 1:35:30 PM

Uhhhh, this makes no sense. I liked Levi on Chuck, was an underrated show...but, how the hell can he be up for this part?? He is already playing Fandral in Thor 2....which is in the same Marvel Cinematic Universe as Guardians of the Galaxy. It's not like other people in the past playing 2 different comic book characters because those were all completely seperate universes. Don't do it, Marvel...your better than that.
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2012 at 1:43:53 PM

Doesn't Peter Quill wear a mask throughout the comics?
Avirex writes:
on December 22nd, 2012 at 1:44:00 PM

I saw a Jim Sturgess film before and the entire time I thought it was Andrew Garfield from Spider-Man.
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2012 at 1:50:24 PM

Has anyone seen Cloud Atlas? Any good? I know Bando says it's sh*t, and that's my preconceived impression as well, but I want to watch it to see for myself. Downloading now, in fact. It has a high rating on IMDb, but I'm not sure if that's trustworthy.
bandolero999 writes:
on December 22nd, 2012 at 2:34:46 PM

I'll watch it for free one day
SaulSilver writes:
on December 22nd, 2012 at 3:15:55 PM

No mink, It's awful. Don't bother.
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2012 at 3:32:49 PM

Really? But it has a great rating on IMDb (8.1), and RT says it's not bad either (63%). Not doubting you, but I'm wondering why.
Janus writes:
on December 22nd, 2012 at 3:40:18 PM

Not true 'cos Zachary Levi is already playing Thor's other brother in the next Thor movie. Marvel does not do double casting in the Avengers series.
Avirex writes:
on December 22nd, 2012 at 5:02:44 PM

@Mink

The quality of the film and story varies from piece to piece much like the nature of it's own intertwining structure. There are scenes that you will love and others that might make you cringe in it's delivery. Overall though I would recommend a viewing for it's approach and daring concept (by Hollywood standards) if for nothing else. I saw it in theaters and I didn't regret it the least bit. Best advice is to view it without preconceived expectations (low or high) and give it a fair shake.
Kurskij writes:
on December 22nd, 2012 at 5:04:04 PM

@mink

"Die hard is proper action; what you described is a Chechen snuff film"

Die Hard is proper action. Dredd is also proper action.

It has: 1. great action. 2. from what I've checked, is true to source material. 3. Manages to establish a believable world in the opening 10 minutes (the remainder of the movie takes place in another world of 1 giant building - also believable). 4. Has strong acting all around. 5. Very well made, earning each $ of it's budget and then some. 5. Has a simple and well told story with (mostly) believable stakes.

"And people wonder why some people think it's okay to go Judge Dredd at school"

What's the connection between my post, the movie in question and this part of your post?
Feanor224 writes:
on December 22nd, 2012 at 6:37:34 PM

@mink

Uhh....there are FAR more twisted "horror genre" films that could be considered torture porn than Slither. The notion that fans if the film are sociopaths or need mental help is just f*cking stupid. Maybe it's not your type of movie , but Slither was hilarious, though yes, featuring many grotesque death scenes. Nathan Fillion, Elizabeth Banks, Michael Rooker, all great. The movie doesn't take itself seriously. It's so gross and over the top you laugh at the ridiculousness of the director trying to make this work.

Super is also the same way. A ridiculous, over the top super hero movie. It's so absurd that you laugh at the violence because its not done in a serious way, almost a parody of itself.

I hope Guardians is the same way. Don't take itself super seriously. Have fun with the adventure element. You got Rocket Racoon, A giant tree alien, a warrior assassin alien, and battles against hordes of invading space aliens.
I want that dark, but humorous tone.
I don't think that's too crazy.
Feanor224 writes:
on December 22nd, 2012 at 6:45:30 PM

@kurskij

There is no connection between violent movies, your post or school shootings. This is just Conservative reactionary bullsh*t. Sane people can see all the violent movies in the world and still know the difference between right and wrong.
Mentally disturbed people will be crazy and censoring movies and TV won't change that.
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2012 at 10:14:36 PM

@Avirex: thanks bro. I'm downloading it now.

And the Tron Legacy soundtrack rocks. Some great synth music in there. Fo' sho'!
triggax writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 12:04:25 AM

Mink.

Cloud Atlas was worth the watch. Believe me.

Dredd was incredible as well. For what it was I was entirely surprised. I loved every minute of it.

As for Slither. If you're not a fan of troma/Lloyd Kaufman. You shouldn't be allowed to have an opinion really. Slither was an excellent genre film. Gunn certainly was not making the movie with any kind of pornographic intentions.

Broaden your damn horizons a bit Mink. You're missing out on a lot of good entertainment being such a negative Nancy.
witwicky-potter writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 1:20:51 AM

I don't think any of these two will end up being chosen for the role though I think Jim would be a better choice.


Mink,I agree with Avirex and Triggax,u should totally dee Cloud atlas.I wouldn't say its the best movie of 2012 as most people say it is,but its one movie you won't regret seeing.
SACdaddy writes:
on December 23rd, 2012 at 8:11:14 AM

What everyone but Mink said.

We've had this Slither discussion before and I'm glad to hear others come to its defense finally. Its a great blend of classic sci-fi and cheesy B-movie horror. Night of the Creep obviously had a lot of influence on Gunn and can be seen all through Slither. The acting and the writing really take it from its B-movie roots though, with hilarious performances by nearly everyone in the cast. That coupled with some good CG effects and even better old school latex monster makeup (that would make Stan Winston proud) made Slither a pretty entertaining cult classic, not this torture porn gorefest Mink makes it out to be.

Super was great in its own weird little way too. That film is nuts though. You've got to have a special sense of humor to make it through that one. To be honest I thought it was kind of making a statement as to what might push some lonely pitiful nuts to the point of vigilante justice/homicide. That might have more Sandy Hook relevance than Slither actually.
GreenLensman writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 5:25:28 AM

To the guy who said Dredd was a "proper hardcore action movie", gfy you dumb f*ck. thanks.

--reasoning--
The entire movie was spent in one building. f*ck off. bitch.
Venom1970 writes:
on December 26th, 2012 at 11:29:14 PM

^ So was the Raid Redemption and that kicked ass.
I enjoyed Dredd, great kick ass violent fun.

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

It's Official: "Jurassic World" Beats "The Avengers" for Biggest Box Office Opening

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase

"Spider-Man" Reboot Announces Actor and Director

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved