WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Jurassic World" Trailer is Here!
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Hugh Jackman's "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 26th, 2014
Ridley Scott Won't Direct "Blade Runner 2," Reveals Story Details
Nov 26th, 2014
Michael Fassbender to Star in Danny Boyle's "Steve Jobs" Biopic
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Jennifer Aniston's "Cake" Arrives Online
Nov 26th, 2014
Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 25th, 2014
Michelle MacLaren Will Direct "Wonder Woman" Film
Nov 25th, 2014
Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Nov 25th, 2014
New Trailer For "The Interview" Comedy, with James Franco and Seth Rogen
Nov 25th, 2014
First Posters and Photos of Hugh Jackman in "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 25th, 2014
Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Nov 24th, 2014
First Footage From "Jurassic World" Arrives Online
Nov 24th, 2014
"Wanted" Producer Says Sequel is Still Happening
Nov 24th, 2014
New Photo of Arnold Schwazenegger as T-800 From "Terminator Genisys"
Nov 24th, 2014
"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Dominates at Box Office, Hits Franchise Low
Nov 23rd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Director Says Shared Cinematic Universes Can Be a Mistake
Nov 23rd, 2014
Town Bans Winnie the Pooh for Being Half-Naked
Nov 23rd, 2014
First Poster for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Nov 22nd, 2014
Angelina Jolie Will Quit Acting to Focus on Directing
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for George Lucas' Animated "Strange Magic" Film
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "Pitch Perfect 2" Arrives Online
Nov 21st, 2014
"Zoolander 2" is Moving Forward, Penelope Cruz Joins Cast
Nov 21st, 2014
Stephen King's "The Stand" to Become Four Movies
Nov 21st, 2014
First Look: Patrick Stewart is a White Supremacist in "Green Room" Thriller
Nov 21st, 2014
Mel Gibson May Direct "Hacksaw Ridge," with Andrew Garfield to Star
Nov 21st, 2014
Ridley Scott Promises "a Fresher Form of Alien" in "Prometheus 2"
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Nov 20th, 2014
Trailer for "American Heist" Thriller with Hayden Christensen and Adrien Brody
Nov 20th, 2014
Melissa McCarthy to Star in Live-Action "Tinker Bell" Comedy
Nov 20th, 2014
Al Pacino is an Aging Rock Star in "Danny Collins" Trailer
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for "Peter Pan Live" Musical, with Christopher Walken as Captain Hook
Nov 20th, 2014
Six Actors in Talks for Cyclops and Jean Grey in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 19th, 2014
How Do Horror Fans Choose Movies? Not By Plot or Cast
Nov 19th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Judd Apatow Won't Cut Child Murder Joke from "This Is 40"

Posted: December 21st, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Judd Apatow WonSubmit Comment
After twenty children were shot in Newtown, Connecticut, studios started examining their movies in order to cut any scenes that can be considered insensitive. "Jack Reacher" cancelled its Pittsburgh premiere and re-edited the trailer. Plus, Fox aired old episodes of "Family Guy" and "American Dad," due to some violent scenes in the new ones.

Now comes word that Judd Apatow's "This Is 40" movie contains a joke in which Albert Brooks' Larry character pretends to shoot his children in order to save money on taking care of them. "Line up! Line up for murder! Come on! Who wants to be killed?," the character tells his triplets.

The kids respond: "I do! Murder me!" So Larry pretends to kill them. "Boom, dead. You're dead. All right, the kids are murdered. That will save us some money."

Apatow explained that the joke was written two years ago, but will not remove it from the movie. "In light of recent events, I understand if some people might make an unfortunate association or put it in a context in which it was not intended," he said.

Click here to read more about "This Is 40."

Source: TMZ


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
The Sage writes:
on December 21st, 2012 at 7:04:28 AM

If people truly gave a damn about child murder in this country they would do something about it- not sit on their fat asses and bitch because an artist writes a joke. Free speech anyone?
pornfly writes:
on December 21st, 2012 at 7:07:23 AM

Well I'm sold
That was just hilarious
Why wouldnt he want to keep that
Respect Judds art
And to think only just two years ago he put pen to paper and skeeted out such genious
Is Apatow from Krypton??
I believe our yellow sun has given this man a super sense of humor
Speaking for myself, I plan on fasting for 3days so I do not make a mess in my seat as my body undulates and writhes in hysterical laughter
No medicinal enhancement necessary
Morbius writes:
on December 21st, 2012 at 7:49:04 AM

It's not really a good joke anyway, even without the (recent tragedy).
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 21st, 2012 at 7:54:24 AM

Im with Porn here, That's funny? Why take a good joke out just because of some incencitive cry babies?

It Happened, it sucks. But why take out a joke? Its not gonna bring them back, So just go on with your life's.
McQueen writes:
on December 21st, 2012 at 8:00:40 AM

It doesn't qualify as a joke since it's not even remotely funny.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 21st, 2012 at 10:39:49 AM

Who's gonna see this sh*t anyway?
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 21st, 2012 at 10:41:43 AM

Porn- lol
SoftimusPrime writes:
on December 21st, 2012 at 12:51:04 PM

For once I truly agree with him. The incident is very unfortunate but censoring films as a result for sympathy is ridiculous.
minkowski writes:
on December 21st, 2012 at 1:06:14 PM

"Free speech anyone?"

Uh, free speech only applies to the government censoring the people, not to people censoring the people, and that's what's going on here, just like it's not unConstitutional for radio stations to ditch the Dixie Chicks or Keysha, although it's probably highly desirable.

Anyway. Couple of things, not that anyone gives a sh*t, but I love to hear myself talk, so.

First, will anyone watch a Judd Apatow movie? Probably, but the sort of low, crass people who do won't care if he makes a child-murder joke anyway (but they'll scream bloody murder if someone makes one on here...)

Second, his attempt to out-Seth-McFarlane Seth McFarlane isn't funny. It's called decency, and you'd think Apatow could afford some, but apparently not, and apparently shocking people and making money is more important to him than being a decent person. Jokes about killing children isn't funny, "imo", and it never was and it never will be.

Third, I'll never see it, and I'll never watch anything this guy ever makes. Not that I watch his sh*t anyway.

Fourth, people like Apatow don't do anything but further reduce American culture to it's most base and crude and callous state, and I hope he dies penniless begging for quarters and recycling aluminum cans.

That is all.
Ranger writes:
on December 21st, 2012 at 1:31:01 PM

GOOD FOR APATOW!

I am so f*cking sick of pansy-assed censorship coming out of the US... land of 'Freedom of Speech.' Tom Hanks giving people he meets in public their money back because they didn't like one of his movies, etc.

Grow a f*ckING spine America. You couldn't run a show like 'All in the Family' nowadays because your p*ssy would bleed all night.

Like that one line activists got to put on cigarette packs... now it's 2/3rds the front of the pack. PEOPLE ALREADY KNOW SMOKING ISN'T GOOD FOR YOU! f*ck off. Let people think for themselves, take responsibility. That's now civilization was built! Now with that gone... accountability. Others thinking for us... the feeble-minded, 'retail therapy' masses have turned into human slugs. Useless c*nts.








And yeah, I'm a little choked Armageddon didn't happen.






lol.
Ranger writes:
on December 21st, 2012 at 1:36:14 PM

@mink - I just like it he's sticking to his vision. 'Freedom of Speech' aside... or not.

Enough of this giving in. The 'sensitivities'... this walking on egg shells trying to please EVERYone is impossible. So why try?

Make a movie. People will love it or hate it. That's it.
minkowski writes:
on December 21st, 2012 at 1:59:16 PM

I guess. It comes down to a choice between a decent society wherein making fun of dead children is verboten, and a crass society that has virtually unlimited freedom.

And Ranger, even you and I know All in the Family, politically incorrect show that it was, would have NEVER aired the 'jokes' Apatow and Seth McFarlane use. Never. Archie Bunker would have commited suicide before doing so, because he had far more grace, dignity and humanity than a hundred McFarlanes and Apatows.

One other thing: you mention America in the beginning. When we founded this nation. I can tell you, from what I know, if you had made a joke about killing kids, you would have got your ass kicked.

Hell, Aaron Burr shot Alexander Hamilton to death in a code duella over the fact Hamilton refused to apologize to Burr for not repudiating some local libel.

We tolerate too much in the name of freedom, is what I'm saying, and jokes about murdering children, in light of the recent Newtown massacre, might be that too much.


One last thing: don't think for a minute Apaptow refuses to cut the joke because he's an 'artist', or because he's possessed with some idealism concerning "free speech". It's about money. It's about him staying at top of the comedic shock game. Has nothing to do with anything even remotely approaching principle and ideals, except perhaps Apatow's pervasive principle of an ideal paycheck.
Ranger writes:
on December 21st, 2012 at 2:02:21 PM

I agree with your post 100% mink.
Ranger writes:
on December 21st, 2012 at 2:06:39 PM

Is Apatow's joke tasteless. Absolutely. Should one even joke about killing kids in front of them... no (not even considering the Connecticut shootings). I agree with your comments on Carroll O'Connor.

I'm saying stuff (tasteless or not) that was already into production, or already out there shouldn't have to re-works all that footage because it's either tasteless or because of a shootists actions.

Who doesn't watch 'Friends' and upon seeing the Twin Towers and not get flashbacks. I don't see them re-working all those episodes (don't tell me they have... lol). People should make a movie their way. Paint pictures with tits on them. Make bad fast food. In the end, let the public vote with their dollars.
minkowski writes:
on December 21st, 2012 at 2:23:50 PM

I know FOX cut the exploding plane from the opening scenes of the first season of 24 after the events of 9-11, so I think if 20th Century FOX can be decent enough to remove something that could only tangentially offend someone, Apatow might be a little more accommodating with his response.

The way it reads to me, Apaptow feels the child murder joke is absolutely necessary to maintain the 'artistic integrity' of his film, and I think that's a highly debatable attitude.

It's like he believes he has to have the joke or else the film will lose appreciable value, and if so, he's probably already in trouble.

Anyway, I don't care if he keeps it or not. I'm not watching This is 40, and I never will, and like I said previously, I'll never watch anything he makes, and I think if you believe he should drop the joke, you should do the same. Vote with your money.
Ranger writes:
on December 21st, 2012 at 2:37:52 PM

I just know... the more one listens to those that can be offended, the more we'd here from those that can be offended. Give them the inch, they'll take the mile. You know that mink. Watching out for everyone's sensitivities is impossible. Why try anymore.

There was a brand of cigarettes (they were available in the UK) called 'Death Cigarettes' - all black pack, skull and crossbones. There... f*ck you people trying to stick your warning labels on everything.

If I want to smoke, I'll smoke. If I want to eat a bullet, don't have man's, God's good book tell me that's a sin. Freedom of personal choice.
minkowski writes:
on December 21st, 2012 at 3:16:20 PM

Yeah I get all that, but it's not like Apatow is the Michelangelo of cinema, and his entire arsenal consists of him making crude crass jokes in a blunt attempt to appeal to our most base nature.

I just think, that if it were someone else making the statement he's making, I might be more receptive.


"Give them the inch, they'll take the mile. You know that mink."

Yeah, but we're all c*nts on here, Ranger. In fact, I was thinking about it just this morning. WorstPreviews has ALWAYS been home to total c*nts, and c*nts aren't the people I spend a lot of time worrying about offending. They're kind of disposable, and I, being one of those c*nts, am disposable too, of course (full disclosure).

The difference then is that someone might not know what to expect with this film, and they might come away from The is 40 more than a little pissed. Not offended, which is the reaction of a perhaps a prude, but pissed, and I think Apatow might just realize he's possibly hurting himself here, by not not steadfastly refusing to drop the scene.

It's like Apatow thinks he's too good, too appreciated, too venerable to edit, censure himself, and that's what gets me here, his undeserved, hell, unearned, arrogance and presumption.

Anyway, read Dustin's review. He might be right this one time.
pornfly writes:
on December 21st, 2012 at 3:38:20 PM

The people around Judd know its not funny
but they tell Judd its funny so now HE thinks its funny
We know its not funny
But any publicity is good publicity right

Its not like the Ron Howard movie where Vaughn called a hybrid car gay
That was more standing your ground than this tripe

Im all for comedy but for me, it has to be funny
OR
maybe he knows its not funny but wants to be a prick anyway and leaves the scene in the movie to generate just a tad more attention to a movie that has his whole family in it
pornfly writes:
on December 21st, 2012 at 3:42:15 PM

still a lil groggy, sorry
But you get the core meaning
minkowski writes:
on December 21st, 2012 at 3:56:48 PM

Judd Apaptow is one of those guys who thinks everything is funny until it happens to him, and then he expects flowers, hugs and Hallmark cards.
pornfly writes:
on December 21st, 2012 at 4:31:22 PM

I'll save those for his kids after i destroy their moms vagina, mouth and buttocks
minkowski writes:
on December 21st, 2012 at 4:41:42 PM

To each his own but I'd rather demolish Jessica Chastain.
pornfly writes:
on December 21st, 2012 at 4:53:03 PM

^she consumed alot of soy to plump up her boobs for The Help
Shes one hot vegetarian
minkowski writes:
on December 21st, 2012 at 4:57:30 PM

A vegetarian you say? Cool. She can suck my root and swallow my seed.
Kurskij writes:
on December 21st, 2012 at 5:26:15 PM

Good thing he doesn't follow the usual "oh please don't be offended" route. Bad thing the joke seemingly sucks.

Was there ever a movie with a black homosexual psychopath antagonist with indian roots who sells drugs and hates puppies?
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 22nd, 2012 at 2:14:16 AM

Amen Guys^^
Ranger writes:
on December 22nd, 2012 at 2:23:01 AM

'...read Dustin's review. He might be right this one time.' --- I just threw up a little.

'She can suck my root and swallow my seed.' - lol.
Detrimental writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 1:41:13 AM

I wonder.
Detrimental writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 1:42:11 AM

Wonder complete
Detrimental writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 1:43:08 AM

Wonder complete
Detrimental writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 1:44:27 AM

Wonder complete
Detrimental writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 1:46:25 AM

Wonder complete

It's Official! Channing Tatum to Star in "Gambit" Spin-Off

Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot

Christopher Nolan Hates Post-Credits Scenes, Here's Why

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed

Daniel Bruhl is Villain in "Captain America 3" and "Doctor Strange"

Margot Robbie is Harley Quinn in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film

Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy

Jared Leto May Play The Joker in "Suicide Squad"

"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved