WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer is Here!
Mar 5th, 2015
Warner Bros CEO Says DC Films are Edgier Than Marvel Films
Mar 5th, 2015
Trailer for "Self/Less" Sci-Fi Thriller, with Ryan Reynolds and Ben Kingsley
Mar 5th, 2015
Ian McKellen is Sherlock Holmes in "Mr. Holmes" Trailer
Mar 5th, 2015
Jessie Usher to Star in "Independence Day 2" as Will Smith's Son
Mar 4th, 2015
First Look at Joseph Gordon-Levitt in Oliver Stone's "Snowden"
Mar 4th, 2015
"Tron: Legacy" Director in Talks for "Gran Turismo" Video Game Film
Mar 4th, 2015
New Trailer for Alex Garland's "Ex Machina" Sci-Fi Thriller
Mar 4th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Captain America Poster
Mar 4th, 2015
"Spider-Man" Reboot in Talks with "Cabin in the Woods" Director
Mar 3rd, 2015
Hugh Jackman Open to "Deadpool" Cameo
Mar 3rd, 2015
Restricted Trailer for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Mar 3rd, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Hawkeye Poster
Mar 3rd, 2015
Mark Cuban is US President in "Sharknado 3," Ann Coulter is Vice President
Mar 3rd, 2015
Ethan Hawke Re-Teams with Denzel Washington for "The Magnificent Seven" Remake
Mar 3rd, 2015
Will Smith's "Focus" Takes Top Spot at Box Office
Mar 2nd, 2015
Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment
Mar 1st, 2015
"Star Trek" Actor Leonard Nimoy Dead at 83
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Black Widow, Thor and Nick Fury Posters
Feb 28th, 2015
First Look at Eddie Redmayne as First Transgender Person in "The Danish Girl"
Feb 28th, 2015
Leonardo DiCaprio to Have 24 Personalities in "The Crowded Room"
Feb 28th, 2015
"Brewster's Millions" Remake Gets a Director
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils The Hulk Poster
Feb 27th, 2015
Director Neill Blomkamp Says His "Elysium" Film is Not Very Good
Feb 27th, 2015
Harrison Ford Confirmed for "Blade Runner 2," Director Announced
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp Clarifies His "Alien 5" Comments
Feb 27th, 2015
"Red Sonja" is Happening Again
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp's "Alien" Sequel Will Give Ripley a Proper Ending
Feb 26th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Iron Man Poster
Feb 26th, 2015
Official "Creed" Plot Synopsis Hints at Rocky's Health Issues
Feb 26th, 2015
Four New Photos From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Feb 26th, 2015
"Tomb Raider" Reboot Hires "Divergent" Writer
Feb 26th, 2015
Poster for Marvel's "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Feb 25th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Here We Go Again: Jimmy Fallon May Replace Jay Leno on "The Tonight Show"

Posted: December 19th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Here We Go Again: Jimmy Fallon May Replace Jay Leno on "The Tonight Show"Submit Comment
Back in 2004, Jay Leno promised Conan O'Brien that he would hand over "The Tonight Show" to him one day. That day came in 2009, when Leno retired and Conan took over his job. Unfortunately, the ratings weren't as good as they were under Leno, so NBC decided to give Leno a new show that would be ahead of Conan's "The Tonight Show."

Conan didn't like that idea and decided to leave NBC for TBS just nine months into his new contract. As a result, Leno got his job back, but never saw the kind of ratings he previously had. And now, NBC is starting the entire process of replacing Leno all over again. This time with Jimmy Fallon in mind.

NY Daily News is reporting that since Fallon will likely be hosting "The Tonight Show," talent agents have been contacted by NBC regarding finding a new host for Fallon's late-night show, which currently airs after "The Tonight Show."

Leno signed a contract in 2010 to stay on until 2014 and even took a 50% pay cut to help keep "The Tonight Show" profitable. But now, NBC feels that he's getting too old and wants someone new to replace him. As always, Fallon will be the new host in 2014, but everything will depend on the ratings. Which means that NBC may run right back to Leno if Fallon isn't performing as well as expected. Stay tuned.

Source: NY Daily News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on December 19th, 2012 at 7:27:21 AM

Screw crybaby Jay
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m7G7DV42vhk&feature=youtube_gdata_player

Nuff said
McQueen writes:
on December 19th, 2012 at 7:55:43 AM

And Letterman looks way older than Leno. Not to mention his arrogance. Fallon? Meh! He's not that funny and it's not going to work anyway. So like it is said in the article, I wouldn't be surpised that NBC would run back to Leno. Like him or not, it's not that easy to replace him.

As a petrol head, I'm astonished when I see his fabulous garage.
Feanor224 writes:
on December 19th, 2012 at 8:06:42 AM

Umm....,this is completely incorrect and misleading information.

Regardless of whether you have the dates correct, Conan did NOT leave The Tonight Show for TBS. That is completley false. NBC asked Conan to go back to his original slot. He publically declined that request on TV and NBC fired him. Leno was retaking Conan's slot regardless, not as a result of Conan's actions.

NBC legally barred him from being on TV for something like 6 months. He decided to use his time going on a comedy stage tour. He was lucky to get picked up by TBS almost a year later. Your reporting here is incredibly misleading and incorrect.

Speaking if which....who are we quoting here? If you didn't write "Source: NY Daily News" I'd swear you are making this up. Who said this is happening? Because this sounds fake.


McQueen writes:
on December 19th, 2012 at 8:25:57 AM

Well then, NY Daily news is a tabloid so I wouldn't rely on it.

At that time, Leno was paid $45 mil a year. I doubt anyone would give up that salary so easily. At the end of the day, it was NBC's decision to fire Conan not Leno.
Taco writes:
on December 19th, 2012 at 8:41:35 AM

@ Feanor224,
Just what I was about to say. This article is rubbish and mostly false .
Rambo writes:
on December 19th, 2012 at 9:06:49 AM

Jimmy Fallon sucks.
pornfly writes:
on December 19th, 2012 at 9:08:19 AM

Even better
In case anybody cares
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dXG7l23Dm5w&feature=youtube_gdata_player
pornfly writes:
on December 19th, 2012 at 9:38:38 AM

Or even f*ckin BETTER
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V-9gawf1JCk&feature=youtube_gdata_player
buttabean writes:
on December 19th, 2012 at 10:06:54 AM

Wow this article is horribly incorrect. Not wasting my time explaining the real facts.
velocityknown writes:
on December 19th, 2012 at 10:08:53 AM

Everything @Feanor said and this:

Why does everyone want The Tonight Show? It hasn't been relevant since Johnny Carson left. It's not introducing us to new stars, it's not producing the next great stand-up comic, it's just there for old people.

Everyone should just stick with the show/brand they have built and they'll all be happier for it.
Kurskij writes:
on December 19th, 2012 at 11:16:40 AM

Here I go not giving a f*ck again.

Conan>Leno>Fallon

Ferguson rules
pornfly writes:
on December 19th, 2012 at 12:13:18 PM

In your pants

*balls*
Moose756 writes:
on December 19th, 2012 at 12:15:55 PM

Jimmy Fallon is a tool. The story I would be interested in would be when Craig F. takes over from letterman. It would be a great day for America.
secondbest writes:
on December 19th, 2012 at 1:22:27 PM

"Unfortunately, the ratings weren't as good as they were under Leno, so NBC decided to give Leno a new show that would be ahead of Conan's "The Tonight Show.""
False. Jay Leno was greedy and decided he wanted to be on TV again. Had nothing to do with ratings.

"Conan didn't like that idea and decided to leave NBC for TBS just nine months into his new contract."
False, he was fired and banned from TV for half a year after that.

"As a result, Leno got his job back, but never saw the kind of ratings he previously had."
True. Though he never got back his ratings because everyone knew what he did was dirty.

"But now, NBC feels that he's getting too old and wants someone new to replace him."
False. This in particular has to do with ratings. Letterman is older than Leno (I think) and is doing fine, though I'm biased because I've always felt Letterman to be the funnier of the two.

Boom. Article deconstructed.
vincere01 writes:
on December 19th, 2012 at 1:52:16 PM

@second^^^ kinda afraid to disagree with a man who has a crazy nic cage pic for your display.....but I think ill chance it. Conan did not get fired. Conan had a ton of leverage(legally) with his contact. NBC was on the hook contractually to give Conan a ton of money over many years. What actually happened was....
1. NBC asked Conan to move tonight show back a half hour to start after midnight instead of the usual 11:35pm.
2. Conan declined, on air. He layed out everything very clearly for his viewers. He simply stated that he coveted and loved "the tonight show" for many years. And he finallygt his chance, but that NBC was not giving him a fair amount of time to build viewership. He said he would not allow Leno to be his lead in and push his show back, therefore making the "the tonight show" the "tommorow show". He said it would cease to be the show it was.

3. NBC insisted he move or that they will buy out his contract.

4. Conan then negotiated the buyout of his contract with NBC. Terms of which are as follows(roughly from what I remember) 40-45 million just for him. And another 10-20 million for his staff to hold them over until they found work.Conan was not allowed to speak about the terms of the buyout. Conan was not to appear on television as a host of another talk show for at least 6 months.

4. Conan negotiated with Fox, FX, and TBS. TBS WON.

5. November of that same year Conan on tbs started airing. And many of his staff moved to los Angeles to work on the show with him.
FBO writes:
on December 19th, 2012 at 2:15:01 PM

First off, NBC sucks, they obviously don't know what they're doing.

Secondly,Bad plan, Fallon sucks. If I were in charge I'd start with offers to Jon Stewart, who is his funniest when he's not being political, and Steven Colbert. After they turned me down I'd sign Ellen Degeneres.

Third, Jey Leno is a DOUCHE bag. From what I hear, he has no socially skills off set and treats his staff like utter crap. Every female actor in the industry knows that he'll try to hit on them if they go onto his show.

It's really funny if you can find either Jimmy Kimmel or Howard Stern ranting about Leno.

FBO writes:
on December 19th, 2012 at 2:31:44 PM

Other suitable replacements: Dan c*mmins, Donald Faison, Charlie Sheen, Mindy Kaling, Allison Janney or Joel McHale. OR get Bob and Tom to do it.
FBO writes:
on December 19th, 2012 at 2:33:01 PM

Actually Mark Hoppus would be amazing at it
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 19th, 2012 at 2:45:21 PM

Conan O Brian is the only late show I watch, I think he's the funniest of them all. I f*cking love Conan lol He's my Man Crush :)

Leno was always boring to me and I rarely tuned in for Fallon, But still found him funnier then Leno.
KevDoc writes:
on December 19th, 2012 at 2:59:32 PM

I love Conan but I thought putting him on the Tonight Show was a bad move. It's a long lasting franchise that is known for being "America's late night show." I love Letterman over Leno any day of the week so I gave Conan's Tonight Show a shot. Only good thing was that they had Norm MacDonald on all the time, other than tha something just didnt feel right.

I feel Fallon is a great late night host. He has fun with the guests, the audience, and generally looks like he's having the time of his life every night. He would be a great replacement on the Tonight Show. I feel he can relate to all demographics where the older generations looked at Conan as "not funny". Fallon on the other hand gets love from everyone I feel like. My 60 year old dad loves Jimmy Fallon and hates Conan haha. If this is done the right way, it very well could work
minkowski writes:
on December 19th, 2012 at 4:51:17 PM

Anybody up that late watching old boring white men tell stupid jokes isn't probably worth pandering to anyway, so just cancel all of them imo.

Besides, no one give a flying f*ck about Jimmy Fallon, and even if he did replace Leno, which I doubt, they'd replace Fallon in a month or two, if not sooner.

I say reboot the entire damned show fresh with a new hip host, maybe even someone black, but probably not, and go from there.
cress writes:
on December 19th, 2012 at 4:55:50 PM

The Tonight Show hosted by Space Ghost
pornfly writes:
on December 19th, 2012 at 6:14:53 PM

FBO

*ahem*
mypreviouspostsbutmainlythelastone
*cough*
Champ1432 writes:
on December 19th, 2012 at 6:23:37 PM

Fallon won't work any more than Conan did. I'm pretty sure, being too lazy to look up the numbers, that it's more of an older audience that watches the Tonight Show. They're not going to appreciate Fallon any more than they appreciated Conan. Both of them gear their humor and their shenanigans toward a younger audience. Conan's audience didn't follow him to the Tonight Show, why will Fallon's?

Its just a different type of humor. Conan couldn't be himself fully when he made the switch IMO. The same will happen with Fallon. He'll be far enough away from his usual material to alienate some of his current audience, but still not close enough to what Leno offers now to keep his audience tuned in. Of course, the fact that Conan is overrated and not that funny didn't help him, either.

Who would be better? I honestly don't know. Maybe Jon Stewart, but he'd have to be less political. Maybe Kimmel, but who's to say he would leave ABC, even for a chance at the legendary Tonight Show?
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 20th, 2012 at 12:15:06 AM

Lol I'm watching Conan right now..
Ranger writes:
on December 20th, 2012 at 3:44:20 AM

The BEST I've seen Fallon was when he was interviewed by, oh f*ck... old guy, suspenders... retired. Excellent interviewer... fack! Brain fart!!!

Anyway... on his own, NOT following cue cards, Fallon IS the man of 1000 voices. On his show he laughs at anything and everything his guests say. He never seems at ease. He tries too hard. But on his own... he's funny as hell.

As US talk shows are so formulaic (Graham Norton is a recent discovery of mine... brilliant, and most on here know Craig Ferguson is my fav. as far as US talk show hosts go), I don't see Fallon being any better hosting The Tonight Show.

And Leno and Letterman are both as funny as a kid with cancer.
vincere01 writes:
on December 20th, 2012 at 3:15:29 PM

@ranger u are thinking of Larry king
Agoodz21 writes:
on December 21st, 2012 at 2:00:59 AM

Fallon has his moments but brings way too much of the dry SNL humor as to his performance as a talk show host...Then again anything is funnier then staring at Leno's nut sack chin
Agoodz21 writes:
on December 21st, 2012 at 2:10:32 AM

@Ranger couldn't have said it better. Fallon works his ass off more then all of those old f*cks combined...Kimmel on the other hand puts in half the work and unscripted is always on point...If fallon did the same and didn't make it look like he's forcing himself to be funny and let his comedic instincts do the talking he could really have a show!

Joss Whedon Blames Edgar Wright for Not Having Ant-Man in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

Will Smith Trashes "Another Earth," Vince Vaughn Trashes "The Internship"

More Details on Marvel's Spider-Man Deal, New Spider-Man to be Younger

Mark Ruffalo Discusses The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" and in New Solo Film

Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?

Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment

It's Official: Spider-Man to Appear in Marvel Films

Matthew Vaughn Reveals His Version of Quicksilver Scene in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Director Matthew Vaughn Wanted Two Wolverines in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Confirmed: Neill Blomkamp Will Direct New "Alien" Film
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved